Lone Survivor

Lone Survivor Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Berg immerses us so completely into the horror of these men’s situation that we are gripped throughout. The fighting is incredibly intense.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Dec 28, 2013
    75
    Berg is relentlessly unsparing.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 9, 2014
    75
    Lone Survivor is primarily about the unflinching bravery of SEALs executing their mission and looking out for one another, even as they’re coming to grips with the reality of how this thing is going to end.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 8, 2014
    67
    Lone Survivor is a somber celebration of courage and endurance that manages to steer clear of jingoism and moral judgments.
  5. 63
    The characters are only superficially sketched in, but we still fear for them, understand their code and above all else, appreciate the dirty, bloody, high-risk work these professionals do. That they go through all this and risk everything, by choice, is something Berg, to his credit, never lets us forget.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 25, 2013
    60
    You may salute Lone Survivor for its desperate intensity; but the film remains pinned down by its military and political dilemma: between gung-ho and F—, no.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    Berg may be adhering to the basic facts, but his movie’s childish machismo is a disgrace to all involved.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 87
  2. Negative: 4 out of 87
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn'tThis movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    bravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, arebravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, are all fought without public understanding, approval, and, most terrible of all for soldiers, backing! they gave their all! i feel good to be an american again! i am grateful to these men for being able to sleep in my own bed tonight. i went to the zoo today. when did the iraqis, saudis, vietnamese, afghans, go to the zoo? you use the word "zoo" around them, and, you will get a blank! this is oscar material, gentlemen!! this movie, "lone survivor", was written with blood still on this soldier's hands! this is war! this is the way it is! this is why we need to see these movies every time they come out. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction thanI don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For Hollywood depicting a true story those are pretty high marks in my experience. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sensitive to graphic violence but if you want to experience heroism and courage without politics this is the film for you. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    An Action packed , thrill ride throughout the whole film. Mark Wahlberg at his greatest...after watching this movie you almost forget toAn Action packed , thrill ride throughout the whole film. Mark Wahlberg at his greatest...after watching this movie you almost forget to realize that it's based on an actual real life situation which makes it an even better watch. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    This movie is one of the more solid war films in recent memory. It obvious that we know what happens considering the title but there is stillThis movie is one of the more solid war films in recent memory. It obvious that we know what happens considering the title but there is still an element of shock factor to this. Its nice to see some movies based on the war in Iraq now that the conflict has calmed down a bit. Now we get to hear about all the heroes that emerged over the time of the conflict. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    7
    Berg did for war films what Peckinpah did for westerns with Wild Bunch. You can't leave the theater without remembering the violence of warBerg did for war films what Peckinpah did for westerns with Wild Bunch. You can't leave the theater without remembering the violence of war --- no bloody lipstick for bullet wounds here. The entire film was tension filled even with a too predictable conclusion. What would have been better than knowing only one survived as indicated by the title would have been if it were someone other than Mark Wahlberg. I really like him, have seen most all of his films, he played the part well, but it made the ending as to which one was to survive even more predictable. What could have been a great movie, therefore, wasn't. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    The warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion inThe warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion in there. Within the realms of hollow characters and dull editing, Mark Wahlberg's big movie to kick off a year where is in something bigger in the oncoming train wreck of Transformers, he has just set the bar. Clearly trying to emote something heartfelt and crushing here, it falls to the depths of boredom without a doubt. Sometimes these movies fly high, but most crash the surface of dry sand with no penetration, I couldn't care less about this dribble. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.