Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Berg immerses us so completely into the horror of these men’s situation that we are gripped throughout. The fighting is incredibly intense.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Dec 28, 2013
    75
    Berg is relentlessly unsparing.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 9, 2014
    75
    Lone Survivor is primarily about the unflinching bravery of SEALs executing their mission and looking out for one another, even as they’re coming to grips with the reality of how this thing is going to end.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 8, 2014
    67
    Lone Survivor is a somber celebration of courage and endurance that manages to steer clear of jingoism and moral judgments.
  5. 63
    The characters are only superficially sketched in, but we still fear for them, understand their code and above all else, appreciate the dirty, bloody, high-risk work these professionals do. That they go through all this and risk everything, by choice, is something Berg, to his credit, never lets us forget.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 25, 2013
    60
    You may salute Lone Survivor for its desperate intensity; but the film remains pinned down by its military and political dilemma: between gung-ho and F—, no.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    Berg may be adhering to the basic facts, but his movie’s childish machismo is a disgrace to all involved.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 75
  2. Negative: 4 out of 75
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    Miraculous, intense, and patriotic. This movie was outstanding and beyond. Full of compassion and showed the true face of what our soldiers can go through and what they have. It is a celebration of sacrifice and triumph. Excellent film making made sure that it was as accurate as possible. I highly recommend this movie to those who have a true interest in war movies. Defiantly the best since Saving Private Ryan and the TV series Band of Brothers. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    First I have to say I rarely write reviews. Just left the theater and I was compelled to give my opinion of this movie. First and foremost the movie kept my interest from the second it started until the ending credits and beyond...Almost didn't want to leave the theater....one of the most moving movies I've seen in some time. I've read some of the reviews and agreed with most, its as good as a war film with true emotion as ur going to get. In my humble opinion it was as good as Saving private Ryan! Not as meticulous as a Spielberg film but just as enjoyable...I'm not a military guy but after seeing this movie I have a renewed respect for these guys. I almost wished I was younger to join such a Nobel cause....These guys albeit mostly in danger are truly living. Sorry getting off course...acting was very believable and loved the back ground music...Peter Berg did a fine job off telling this unbelievable story of our real life super heroes. However I left the theater hating the enemy and loving the fact that I am an American!!! Although there is a bit of a twist towards the end that gives us food for thought. Sometimes not everyone who we think are our enemies are...I highly recommend this movie! Collapse
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    There is a little bit of testosterone overload in Lone Survivor, but that's true of most Hollywood war films. The gun battle is brutally graphic and the men can't seem to speak without saying the "F" word, so don't go to this movie if you're squeamish or prudish. I thought it was a well made film, but it wasn't anything new that I haven't seen in other war films, especially war films set in Vietnam such as Platoon. It certainly isn't a film I would want to see again as I don't find all the graphic violence entertaining, but the film is certainly a reminder of what our military personnel are going through to keep this country safe. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Action.. patriotism...pride...compassion...and appreciation are all you need to know about this movie.
    Plots.. sub-plots...
    acting...dialogue.. etc.. don't really cross your mind when you are watching this movie.
    its simply a good time at the movie. You will leave the theater feeling enormous pride to live under the same airspace as our military men and women that risk their lives day in and day out
    Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    7
    Berg did for war films what Peckinpah did for westerns with Wild Bunch. You can't leave the theater without remembering the violence of war --- no bloody lipstick for bullet wounds here. The entire film was tension filled even with a too predictable conclusion. What would have been better than knowing only one survived as indicated by the title would have been if it were someone other than Mark Wahlberg. I really like him, have seen most all of his films, he played the part well, but it made the ending as to which one was to survive even more predictable. What could have been a great movie, therefore, wasn't. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    The warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion in there. Within the realms of hollow characters and dull editing, Mark Wahlberg's big movie to kick off a year where is in something bigger in the oncoming train wreck of Transformers, he has just set the bar. Clearly trying to emote something heartfelt and crushing here, it falls to the depths of boredom without a doubt. Sometimes these movies fly high, but most crash the surface of dry sand with no penetration, I couldn't care less about this dribble. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers