Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Berg immerses us so completely into the horror of these men’s situation that we are gripped throughout. The fighting is incredibly intense.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Dec 28, 2013
    75
    Berg is relentlessly unsparing.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 9, 2014
    75
    Lone Survivor is primarily about the unflinching bravery of SEALs executing their mission and looking out for one another, even as they’re coming to grips with the reality of how this thing is going to end.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 8, 2014
    67
    Lone Survivor is a somber celebration of courage and endurance that manages to steer clear of jingoism and moral judgments.
  5. 63
    The characters are only superficially sketched in, but we still fear for them, understand their code and above all else, appreciate the dirty, bloody, high-risk work these professionals do. That they go through all this and risk everything, by choice, is something Berg, to his credit, never lets us forget.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 25, 2013
    60
    You may salute Lone Survivor for its desperate intensity; but the film remains pinned down by its military and political dilemma: between gung-ho and F—, no.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    Berg may be adhering to the basic facts, but his movie’s childish machismo is a disgrace to all involved.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 82
  2. Negative: 5 out of 82
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn'tThis movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    bravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, arebravo! to all involved! i had to see this movie today! it is true to life. a masterpiece! the afghan war, the iraq war, the vietnam war, are all fought without public understanding, approval, and, most terrible of all for soldiers, backing! they gave their all! i feel good to be an american again! i am grateful to these men for being able to sleep in my own bed tonight. i went to the zoo today. when did the iraqis, saudis, vietnamese, afghans, go to the zoo? you use the word "zoo" around them, and, you will get a blank! this is oscar material, gentlemen!! this movie, "lone survivor", was written with blood still on this soldier's hands! this is war! this is the way it is! this is why we need to see these movies every time they come out. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction thanI don't give out a lot of tens and from a cinematic perspective I guess this one isn't but you'll never see a more intense war depiction than Lone Survivor. Marcus Luttrell has stated he is 85% satisfied with how it turned out. For Hollywood depicting a true story those are pretty high marks in my experience. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sensitive to graphic violence but if you want to experience heroism and courage without politics this is the film for you. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    This was a great movie, don't agree with the people that says that the characters are shallow or empty, they are soldiers, special forces,This was a great movie, don't agree with the people that says that the characters are shallow or empty, they are soldiers, special forces, guys used to be silent, get in do the job get out period. It has intense battle scenes, like when I'm playing a shooter vg. Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    I wasn't expecting much from this film but damn it's amazing! All the actors do a fine job, Marky Mark actually being the worst out of the 4I wasn't expecting much from this film but damn it's amazing! All the actors do a fine job, Marky Mark actually being the worst out of the 4 probably but still doing an excellent job. This film is exactly what it says, brutal and realistic. It is because of these factors that the film is so immersive! The intro is great for understanding what these seals go through in training and gives you a respect for them right off the bat. The start of the actual movie is a bit boring and typically americanised in a way, but it works for elements later on in building the characters and actually freling genuinely sorry for any characters loss which not too many movies can pull off this well in this realistic and actually emotionally distressing way. The middle section of this movie is unmissable and the main reason you should pick up this film. Also, direction in this middle section is superbly done. Bravo Peter Berg. The last section loses steam but is still a good and actually satisfying ending to see. I also like how an american film pays it's respects to afghani's and pays homage to the tribes law they follow. A lot of american films could have easily missed that out just to pay respects to the americans. I say this is a great movie in many ways, and well worth a visit! Pick it up! Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    I didn't expect too much from this film, that may be why I liked it. But none the less, this movie tells an amazing true story, with action!I didn't expect too much from this film, that may be why I liked it. But none the less, this movie tells an amazing true story, with action! Drama! Not a lot of comedy...barely any, but that's a war movie right?
    This isn't the kind if movie to dazzle at the awards ceremonies, but. It will dazzle to everyone who watches it. This year, or any year. People will continue to watch this movie. Much like Zero Dark Thirty.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    The warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion inThe warfare and battle genre is depicted quite flashy and irrelevant these days, be it as it may in Lone Survivor, there is actual emotion in there. Within the realms of hollow characters and dull editing, Mark Wahlberg's big movie to kick off a year where is in something bigger in the oncoming train wreck of Transformers, he has just set the bar. Clearly trying to emote something heartfelt and crushing here, it falls to the depths of boredom without a doubt. Sometimes these movies fly high, but most crash the surface of dry sand with no penetration, I couldn't care less about this dribble. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Trailers