Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Berg immerses us so completely into the horror of these men’s situation that we are gripped throughout. The fighting is incredibly intense.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Dec 28, 2013
    75
    Berg is relentlessly unsparing.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 9, 2014
    75
    Lone Survivor is primarily about the unflinching bravery of SEALs executing their mission and looking out for one another, even as they’re coming to grips with the reality of how this thing is going to end.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 8, 2014
    67
    Lone Survivor is a somber celebration of courage and endurance that manages to steer clear of jingoism and moral judgments.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    The characters are only superficially sketched in, but we still fear for them, understand their code and above all else, appreciate the dirty, bloody, high-risk work these professionals do. That they go through all this and risk everything, by choice, is something Berg, to his credit, never lets us forget.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 25, 2013
    60
    You may salute Lone Survivor for its desperate intensity; but the film remains pinned down by its military and political dilemma: between gung-ho and F—, no.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    Berg may be adhering to the basic facts, but his movie’s childish machismo is a disgrace to all involved.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This movie was a brutally beautiful tribute to the men killed during Operation Red Wing. Having read the book multiple times I knew I wasn't going to be surprised by anything in the movie but I was still moved by actually seeing what these men endured. Peter Berg did a great job telling this story. Marcus Luttrell did an awesome job keeping it honest. Thank God for our military and their willingness to serve selflessly. Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This story is the very definition of Hero, Pain, Love, Brotherhood, Family, Spirit and Humanity coming together regardless of cultures and backgrounds. It put things into perspective for me. These men have families, wives, little ones and yet they volunteer to put there lives on the line for what they believe most. Our freedom. My Wife broke down at the end of the movie and I almost lost my nerves. You FEEL everything in this movie. Best War movie since Saving Private Ryan. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    This movie shows the kind of hell the military has o go through at times, sad sorry of these courageous soldiers that never give up and put their teams interests above their own lives. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    There is a little bit of testosterone overload in Lone Survivor, but that's true of most Hollywood war films. The gun battle is brutally graphic and the men can't seem to speak without saying the "F" word, so don't go to this movie if you're squeamish or prudish. I thought it was a well made film, but it wasn't anything new that I haven't seen in other war films, especially war films set in Vietnam such as Platoon. It certainly isn't a film I would want to see again as I don't find all the graphic violence entertaining, but the film is certainly a reminder of what our military personnel are going through to keep this country safe. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Action.. patriotism...pride...compassion...and appreciation are all you need to know about this movie.
    Plots.. sub-plots...
    acting...dialogue.. etc.. don't really cross your mind when you are watching this movie.
    its simply a good time at the movie. You will leave the theater feeling enormous pride to live under the same airspace as our military men and women that risk their lives day in and day out
    Expand
  6. May 25, 2014
    7
    Lone Survivor is a war movie about the true story of four Navy Seals team members set out to kill a taliban war leader Ahmad Shahd. While the movie lacks solid character biulding it surpasses in its action and realism. Some of the fire fights they get into are brutally intense thats were the realism takes it to another level. The cast was great for the film Mark Wahlberg, Ben Foster, Eric Bana, Emile Hirsch, Taylor Kitsch all did amazing jobs for thier portrayal as the soldiers. Its a very emotional movie seeing the team try and try again to get saved but only to fail again and again also i think will shock some people when they watch it because of the realism style. Peter Berg really surprised me with this one his past couple movies i didnt really care for and seeing that the last movie i liked of his was The Kingdom another war based film it seems he can do this genre pretty well.

    Overall i give it a 7.5
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2014
    0
    While the action scenes are ok, mind you those don't start until you are an hour into the two hour film, there is no emotion what so ever. It's hard to care about the characters, based on real soldiers in a real situation, when the plot and dialogue is so incredibly shallow and generic. Needless subplots and no character development killed this movie in my opinion. It's not worth watching. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers