User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 72
  2. Negative: 8 out of 72
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillS.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    Anyone who votes less than 10 for this movie did not understand it, and therefore is an idiot.
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This film follows (and transcends) the European "art film" model of a non linear narrative, oblique dialogue and double characters (a la Luis Buñuel and Krzysztof Kieślowski). However it is also injected with American action film motifs combined with truly odd Lynchian touches that make this one of the most remarkable films of the 90's. The party scene is one of the scariest sequencesThis film follows (and transcends) the European "art film" model of a non linear narrative, oblique dialogue and double characters (a la Luis Buñuel and Krzysztof Kieślowski). However it is also injected with American action film motifs combined with truly odd Lynchian touches that make this one of the most remarkable films of the 90's. The party scene is one of the scariest sequences caught on film...ever. Expand
  3. Bart
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    David Lynch does not make movies for buisness. His movies do not have a target audience becasue he does not care about audiences nor does he care or know the meaning of this film. If you can deal with that than you will love this movie. If you are a visual person you will also love this movie for it has a very unique dreamlike look that only David Lynch can master.
  4. Joris
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    This is not a movie, this is Art. You have to analyze Lynch' surrealism like a dream, with all the archetypal creeps and weird characters as subconscious projections around a few protagonists. The critics are retarded and don't seem to get it. It's awesome and breathtaking from beginning to finale. One of my favourites -Mulholland Drive is even better!
  5. ZackH.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This was my first contact with Mr. Lynch's work. I watched it not knowing what to expect at all. When the final credits showed up, I was shocked! I sincerely thought that was the most nonsensical garbage of a movie I watched in the past decade! Despite that, I just couldn't get it out of my head for the following 4 hours. More than that: I was actually obsessed with it! Late at This was my first contact with Mr. Lynch's work. I watched it not knowing what to expect at all. When the final credits showed up, I was shocked! I sincerely thought that was the most nonsensical garbage of a movie I watched in the past decade! Despite that, I just couldn't get it out of my head for the following 4 hours. More than that: I was actually obsessed with it! Late at night that day, in bed, still trying to figure out what in the world I had just watched, I got the "revelation". Instantly, without watching the movie again, I was convinced this was one of the best movies of the decade! Thank you Mr. Lynch for providing an island of originality in an ocean of linear, dumbed-down, conservative story-telling. Lynch does on film what Escher does on canvas. Collapse
  6. RichardJ.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    A Brilliant Masterpiece. Thank God (David Lynch) for people like Zack H. and Joris and Horatio A. and Will S.
  7. HoratioA.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This movie is terrific. David Lynch has the ability to create the most nighmarish, yet unforgettable characters.
  8. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    52? Seriously? This movie is absolutely brilliant. If you're someone who enjoys being fed meaning then it's simply not for you. Those prepared to feel their own way and drop the barriers between dream and "reality" will find an intangible joy in unusual and familiar dark places. When I first watched Mulholland Drive I felt cheated, disturbed and confused. I've since learned to give in to52? Seriously? This movie is absolutely brilliant. If you're someone who enjoys being fed meaning then it's simply not for you. Those prepared to feel their own way and drop the barriers between dream and "reality" will find an intangible joy in unusual and familiar dark places. When I first watched Mulholland Drive I felt cheated, disturbed and confused. I've since learned to give in to the confusion and explore all the gaps between my stupid expectations. I find it rather offensive that Mulholland Drive has such a high rating in comparison to Lost Highway and can only assume that it's due to the nudity and lesbian scenes. I really hope that isn't true. David Lynch uses sex as a vehicle for something far more erotic and devastatingly honest. His movies leave me twisting for truth and dreaming within dreams that turn on themselves and walk their way "back" into life. I will always have a sincere love and respect for the artist that showed me what I want by failing to deliver what I learned to need. Thank you for denying me this and granting me so much more. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. The film actually deserves four stars for its imaginative style and astonishing suspense, zero stars for its shameless exploitation of violent shocks and loveless sensuality.
  2. David Lynch's eye-popping imagery is buried under an avalanche of self-indulgence.
  3. 50
    It's a soulless and dull bit of showmanship, but it sure sounds profound.