Universal Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 12, 2003
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 608 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
469
Mixed:
46
Negative:
93
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
TonyB.Sep 18, 2005
Easily the most overrated film of 2003, this is yet another indication that critics' views often cannot be taken seriously. I was warned by friends that this was a dreadful bore, but I listened to Roger Ebert and many of his colleagues instead.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BobA.Jan 15, 2006
A nice concept with good performances but in the end, its a meaningful ending slapped onto a film that never thematically gets us there. (like being walked to third base, and thinking the movie had hit a triple). In essence a less stylized, A nice concept with good performances but in the end, its a meaningful ending slapped onto a film that never thematically gets us there. (like being walked to third base, and thinking the movie had hit a triple). In essence a less stylized, less meaty version of In the Mood for Love. Would have worked great as a short. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
mgNov 10, 2006
Translation, please I
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MichaelS.Dec 30, 2003
A pretentious waste of time and money. the worst sin: who cares about either of these folks? answer: daddy coppola.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarieH.Jan 27, 2007
The creepy angst that pervades this film is uncomfortable to watch, and frankly doesn't tell me anything except that Bob is a bored, and vaguely meaningless person. I must have missed the funny parts.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
AriB.Jan 24, 2007
Skip this movie! There are too many other films much better than this over-rated bore.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
2
JosephB.Jan 11, 2008
I could not believe when I saw this film that it was the same thing all the critics had been raving about. Overlong, underplotted, little or no character development, overtly racist...it's well acted and shot, but the film has no heart.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
0
CatherineJan 13, 2007
What a shame to waste money on such a bland, uninteresting, cliché movie. My family has not yet forgiven me for bringing this video home one evening. Humour? Where? I am not quite sure where the Oscars came from and I wonder what the What a shame to waste money on such a bland, uninteresting, cliché movie. My family has not yet forgiven me for bringing this video home one evening. Humour? Where? I am not quite sure where the Oscars came from and I wonder what the critics have been watching lately. It must be one of the worst films I have ever seen and I normally like Bill Murray! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
3
JackB.Nov 1, 2007
There are a few redeeming qualities to this movie: (a) scarlett, (b) bill, (c) the ending. Why there are more non-redeeming qualities are as follows: (1) it's frankly not believable, (2) cliche' typical daddy save me There are a few redeeming qualities to this movie: (a) scarlett, (b) bill, (c) the ending. Why there are more non-redeeming qualities are as follows: (1) it's frankly not believable, (2) cliche' typical daddy save me complex-fantasy, (3) creating boring mood is plain boring (4) annoying by design to group Japanese culture as boring & silly, (5) it's pretentious & works hard to be clever (6) it's devoid of making a connection (7) effectively leaves audience empty. The most frustrating part is this movie has more potential. Both these characters could have pulled off so much more, could still keep that somber mood & developed more mystery & intrigue. I kept wanting more of Bill to step out, and needed more of Scarlett to bust. I have no patience for shallowness. This girl is in Tokyo. He is in Tokyo. Hard to be lost (souls) That is not believable. If they were in the middle of the Guam - maybe. If they can't bring energy to Tokyo, then they can't bring energy at all, and therefore these characters are frankly hopeless and that is the most unattractive part of this film. Why waste time with people that cant barely save themselves in the best of world-class circumstances. Yawn..ZZZZZzzzz. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
1
JoeB.Jan 8, 2009
This may be the worst movie I have ever seen. I'm only giving it a "1" because I love Bill Murray. This movie is an hour and some odd minutes of my life I will never get back. Unfortunately, it is highly representative of a generation This may be the worst movie I have ever seen. I'm only giving it a "1" because I love Bill Murray. This movie is an hour and some odd minutes of my life I will never get back. Unfortunately, it is highly representative of a generation that needs to stop complaining and get off it's ass and get a life. No real plot, no drama, no climax, no deep discovery culminating in a social statement. It's about two pathetic souls that don't even know how to amuse themselves let alone each other. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful
1
jediboyJun 17, 2011
This movie is a poor piece of film, over-hyped by critics for no other reason save that the director's father is Francis Ford Coppola. Features Bill Murray and Scarlett Johannson in Tokyo for separate reasons. Japan and the Japanese areThis movie is a poor piece of film, over-hyped by critics for no other reason save that the director's father is Francis Ford Coppola. Features Bill Murray and Scarlett Johannson in Tokyo for separate reasons. Japan and the Japanese are portrayed in a poor (and stereotyping) fashion, (video games, karaoke, gadgets, and the misprounciations of "Ls" as "Rs").

There is borderline racism in this movie, as the way these two lead roles act, as if lost, estranged, abandoned, or stranded on the moon surrounded by Aliens. I've been to Japan (I'm a western European) and found no such culture shock. That is really the premise that this movie is built on - culture shock of White Western people finding themselves in Japan. And that is where it fell down for me. In terms of comedy, it was billed as "Bill Murray - comedy genius - at his best." Far from it. I like Murray (Quick Change, Stripes, Caddyshack, etc.) This was just not funny, and I do not think there is any attempt for him to be funny.

Scarlett. Well she does not do anything wrong, but does not do anything right either. All in all, a very poor script. Very poor direction. A complete lack of substance, with ignorance and racism creeping in at times.

Such a time sink.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
BrandonMOct 30, 2008
Nothing happens. Honestly, this may be the worst movie I have ever seen. It's a long movie where a guy goes to Japan and meets a friend. Theres no humor, no drama, no climax, no resolution, no theme, nothing. NOTHING! It's not like Nothing happens. Honestly, this may be the worst movie I have ever seen. It's a long movie where a guy goes to Japan and meets a friend. Theres no humor, no drama, no climax, no resolution, no theme, nothing. NOTHING! It's not like I'm missing some underlying plot, or missing the subtleties of the love/friendship these 2 lonely people share in a foreign land, but that entertainment lasts all of 5 seconds. I implore you, don't see this movie and then later pretend it meant something, because it certainly did not. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful
0
NigelMJul 26, 2009
Don't listen to the pretentious reviews here, this is a bad film plain and simple. Boring, meandering tosh.
5 of 11 users found this helpful
1
EdF.Jul 17, 2008
A film should have one of the following: Good plot/story Good dialogue Visually good looking Action Lost in Translation has none.
4 of 9 users found this helpful
0
AllanODec 3, 2008
Both me and my Asian wife thought this was way too slow with no real content. Very boring. I see very little humour, most of which plays on the Asian culture, which was not funny to one familiar with it. No real plot, no finish, no point.. I Both me and my Asian wife thought this was way too slow with no real content. Very boring. I see very little humour, most of which plays on the Asian culture, which was not funny to one familiar with it. No real plot, no finish, no point.. I got all the subtleties, but I was expecting some amount of entertainment, I want the two hours of my life back. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful
0
mawNov 8, 2009
I didn't get this movie. Is there something wrong with me?
4 of 9 users found this helpful
0
andreekaMar 6, 2015
an a very boring film. it just about talking, talking, talking, and really talking. i still wonder why this movie got nominated for best picture in so many awards.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
PeteM.Jun 15, 2006
i guess i didnt get it or something but it was not that good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
john24Jun 25, 2012
Great .
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
ErikN.Oct 19, 2006
Possibly the worst movie I've ever seen. It's hard to put it any more bluntly than that. 2 hours of my life I'll never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IrishLadLadNov 10, 2005
Horrible. A contrived piece of rubbish. Billed by the critics as "Comical Genius" and "Murray at his best", but nother could be further from the truth. Absolutely, the worst movie I've seen since Vanilla Sky. The only explanation as to Horrible. A contrived piece of rubbish. Billed by the critics as "Comical Genius" and "Murray at his best", but nother could be further from the truth. Absolutely, the worst movie I've seen since Vanilla Sky. The only explanation as to why it got an nominations/awards is because Francis Ford Coppola's daughter made it, and so the critics felt obliged to sing its praises. Rubbish from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesM.Nov 19, 2005
I think the most frustrating thing about this awful film is that in all of its tedious scenes of nothingness and disposable dialogue, nothing at all is being said. The director was not trying to make a film that meant anything, she obviously I think the most frustrating thing about this awful film is that in all of its tedious scenes of nothingness and disposable dialogue, nothing at all is being said. The director was not trying to make a film that meant anything, she obviously wanted to make art for the sake of art. Forget the hype, this film is a complete and utter failure, and practically unwatchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SomethingSep 10, 2005
The worst film ever made. Boring, pointless, meandering garbage that feels as though it was conceived by an infant. Sofia's dumb script is so tedious that the movie becomes instantly forgettable. I would sooner watch Deuce Bigalow 2. The worst film ever made. Boring, pointless, meandering garbage that feels as though it was conceived by an infant. Sofia's dumb script is so tedious that the movie becomes instantly forgettable. I would sooner watch Deuce Bigalow 2. The makers of that film put more effort into it than anyone did in "Lost In Translation", which should have been lost in a dumpster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YMar 3, 2006
Given a choice between sticking pins in my eyes or watching Lost in Translation again, I would have to go with the eye/pin thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffF.Apr 25, 2006
Two people walk around Tokyo for 90 min singing kareoke. Whoop de Doo. Sophia Coppola is as talentless as a director as she is as an actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MatabolixJul 26, 2006
Not funny, not interesting. Just shallow and unintelligent. Pity, I like Murray and was looking forward to this one. Do something else with your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MovieGuysFeb 2, 2014
Boring, tedious, pointless: the many adjectives I can use to describe this movie. The Coppola family usually directs such great films (The Godfather!), but Sofia's slow-moving melodramatic car wreck is dumb and unintelligent with an easilyBoring, tedious, pointless: the many adjectives I can use to describe this movie. The Coppola family usually directs such great films (The Godfather!), but Sofia's slow-moving melodramatic car wreck is dumb and unintelligent with an easily forgettable script and nothing else going for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
syr44Jan 10, 2014
Wow, who are these critics that gave this horrible movie high marks?? Easily the worst movie I've ever had the displeasure of wasting 102 minutes of my life. How anyone can say this is 'art', or 'poetic' is beyond me. It's plain awful,Wow, who are these critics that gave this horrible movie high marks?? Easily the worst movie I've ever had the displeasure of wasting 102 minutes of my life. How anyone can say this is 'art', or 'poetic' is beyond me. It's plain awful, only seeing the light of day cuz it's daddy Coppola's little girl. She's not following in daddy's footsteps, but he apparently owns the critics and some narcissistic moviegoers. No other possible reason for this tripe to have favorable reviews. I usually don't buy into critics, but I failed on this one. My bad. Sofia, find new work. Oh, I am so sorry I watched this movie till the end expecting it to get better!! It can't, and won't get better. Save yourselves!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SUETIGGERSFeb 15, 2014
It's reassuring to see that I'm not so alone in really hating this movie. I now know better specifically why it drove me nuts watching it. I gave it a one just because of the visuals.
I kept waiting and waiting and waiting for something to
It's reassuring to see that I'm not so alone in really hating this movie. I now know better specifically why it drove me nuts watching it. I gave it a one just because of the visuals.
I kept waiting and waiting and waiting for something to happen. But, it didn't. I'm not an action-oriented person but this movie barely breathes...and that's supposed to be what? something worth my time? Thanks to all these reviewers for helping me see others saw the sublime nothingness I saw.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
Why is this film so praised? Our protagonists are a naive stuck-up girl right out of college and an equally stuck-up cynical actor. Neither show any real interest in Japanese culture (he's even quite disrespectful) and neither makes anyWhy is this film so praised? Our protagonists are a naive stuck-up girl right out of college and an equally stuck-up cynical actor. Neither show any real interest in Japanese culture (he's even quite disrespectful) and neither makes any really attempt to connect with the Japanese (even though they both get the chance to connect). Even though she seems to have a degree in philosophy and he seems to be somewhat of an intellectual type, their interactions remain mostly superficial. And still, their interaction with one another is pretty much everything we get to see for this entire film. I guess this film appeals to people just as pretentious and shallow as the main protagonist (which is the only reason I can think of to explain its popularity), but I personally found it hard to connect with either of them AT ALL.

Further, I wonder how much sense it makes for their relationship to have remained purely platonic. Both seem to be estranged from their respective spouses, his wife is on the other side of the ocean, her husband is on a photo shoot for several days, both act like they haven't had sex in a long time, she's a beautiful impressionable young girl, he's a famous actor, they both don't shun alcohol and at one point they become close enough to lie together on a bed while he touches her feet. Maybe it's just me, but I personally find it hard to believe they didn't end up having sex together considering the aforementioned conditions. Anyway, the shame and confusion arising from such a situation (after both realise they made a mistake cheating their respective spouse) would at least have made a far more interesting film to watch Maybe this film appeals to people who never spent more than a few days in a foreign country, but having spent about 3 months in Poland I couldn't see anything I haven't experienced myself AT A FAR GREATER INTENSITY. For me, this makes "Lost In Translation" as exciting to watch as two people sitting at a bus stop waiting for the bus to arrive. Actually the latter would probably be more interesting, because the bus doesn't take THAT long to arrive.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews