User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 794 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dan
    Feb 7, 2004
    5
    I lived in Tokyo for 5 years and I think LiT conveys pretty well how the city looks and feels, but I don't think it went far beyond that. What I didn't understand was the contradiction in that Coppola obviously has a great affection for the city and wanted the audience to find it alluring, and yet the two main characters seemed indifferent. I also think she confuses being lost I lived in Tokyo for 5 years and I think LiT conveys pretty well how the city looks and feels, but I don't think it went far beyond that. What I didn't understand was the contradiction in that Coppola obviously has a great affection for the city and wanted the audience to find it alluring, and yet the two main characters seemed indifferent. I also think she confuses being lost and lonely with being bored. I found Bob and Charlotte fairly realistic but very unengaging. I didn't really care for them at all. And to John S: Tokyo is full of caucasians - thousands of students, tens of thousands of English teachers, thousands of business people. And plenty of people speak English, if not fluently, especially professionals such as the doctors in hospitals. Expand
  2. DavidB.
    Oct 20, 2003
    6
    Easily the most overrated film of the season. I knew going in that it was meant to be a "film about nothing" but it turned out to be a film that lacked purpose instead. It is not so much a film as a collection of scenes, some of which are very good. On the whole, it is mildly diverting, but I put a strong emphasis on the qualifying adverb. The critical gushing is hard to understand. Easily the most overrated film of the season. I knew going in that it was meant to be a "film about nothing" but it turned out to be a film that lacked purpose instead. It is not so much a film as a collection of scenes, some of which are very good. On the whole, it is mildly diverting, but I put a strong emphasis on the qualifying adverb. The critical gushing is hard to understand. Murray is good, great in a few scences, but is generally given very little to work with, as is Scarlett Johansson, a relative newcomer and the granddaughter of the former heavyweight boxing champion Ingemar Johansson. The direction is first rate in some scenes, but most of the film is essentially background for a feature on Japanese hotels. This could have been a terrific short film of 20 or 30 minutes, but it turned into an overlong exercise in ambience creation. After reconciling the reviews with the film I have to ask if this is a case of grade inflation for a trustee's daughter. This is the kind of overselling reserved for the cute foreign film perceived to be the intelligent alternative to the usual blockbusters. Expand
  3. MarcK.
    Oct 10, 2003
    5
    I was glad I checked out other Metacritic opinions made by "regular" moviegoers before I saw this movie, because I noticed that the response was not as overwhelmingly favorable as the critics. Well, add me to the list of dissatisfied, and I'm completely clueless as to why the critics slobbered all over this one (as well as American Splendor, but that's another board!). I kept I was glad I checked out other Metacritic opinions made by "regular" moviegoers before I saw this movie, because I noticed that the response was not as overwhelmingly favorable as the critics. Well, add me to the list of dissatisfied, and I'm completely clueless as to why the critics slobbered all over this one (as well as American Splendor, but that's another board!). I kept waiting and waiting for something to happen. Then I realized that this film had just about no plot to speak of. If you're a great writer like John Sayles (see "Sunshine State") then you can get away with it. This film needed a Sayles-like screenplay to succeed. It wasn't even close. Expand
  4. M.Meadows
    Oct 4, 2003
    5
    Lost in Translation is an average rather depressing movie that seems to have captured the attention of the paid critics. Watch them all jump on the bandwagon.
  5. D.M.
    Oct 7, 2003
    4
    What a pretty movie to look at. And the music was good. I can see so many L.A. hipsters rushing to Amoeba to buy the soundtrack. But I don't understand the hype. Lost in Translation was good, but it wasn't ground-breaking or cathartic or pitch-perfect or like manna, like the critics are leading us to believe. Were they all taken by the Coppola mystique? Scarlett Johansson was What a pretty movie to look at. And the music was good. I can see so many L.A. hipsters rushing to Amoeba to buy the soundtrack. But I don't understand the hype. Lost in Translation was good, but it wasn't ground-breaking or cathartic or pitch-perfect or like manna, like the critics are leading us to believe. Were they all taken by the Coppola mystique? Scarlett Johansson was the biggest let-down, for starters. Not only did the story fail to establish why she was so taken by Bill Murray's character, her performance amounts to an 18-year-old flirting with a tired, droopy old white guy. It didn't seem like acting (Isn't she 18 anyway?). Murray though was very good. But was he acting? His performance was the same we've seen from him, and he might have been better in Groundhog Day. Worse, the way he interacted with the Japanese and how they were portrayed in general reinforced backward cliches and didn't seem to shed any light or nuance on stereotypes. This is something this movie should probably have been conscious of as Coppola put it together, because, look, you've already got one critic saying she can't wait to fly to Tokyo, presumably to meet those, nudge-nudge, wacky Japanese and be a lost, wandering, (privileged) American misfit. That's just lame. Expand
  6. ClaireM.
    Sep 15, 2003
    4
    Nicely shot but ultimately vapid. Self-indulgent. No one would see this movie if it weren't for the Coppola hype machine.
  7. GimmeabreaK.
    Sep 20, 2003
    4
    Read the Dallas Observer review above for a dead-on capture of this way overrated farce. I think Scarlett is hot, don't get me wrong, but the only person who would 'dig' her acting is similar but worse former actress Sofia. Sofia: you're no writer. Hire one please, and a good one by the way. Your story started somewhere, went nowhere, and refused to end. This movie is Read the Dallas Observer review above for a dead-on capture of this way overrated farce. I think Scarlett is hot, don't get me wrong, but the only person who would 'dig' her acting is similar but worse former actress Sofia. Sofia: you're no writer. Hire one please, and a good one by the way. Your story started somewhere, went nowhere, and refused to end. This movie is a rough draft. Expand
  8. CindyS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    4
    I guess it comes down to what you think film should do. to me this movie fails, because i think film is about appealing to the viewer instinctually. the beauty of the medium is that it communicates to the audience instantaneously. i don't want to have to THINK about a film. i don't want to have to struggle to get inside it and get inside the characters. a good film does these I guess it comes down to what you think film should do. to me this movie fails, because i think film is about appealing to the viewer instinctually. the beauty of the medium is that it communicates to the audience instantaneously. i don't want to have to THINK about a film. i don't want to have to struggle to get inside it and get inside the characters. a good film does these things FOR us. it uses imagery to tell the story, but not to excess. and in the end, the imagery needs to be balanced with dialogue and feeling. i'm betting this story was semi-autobiographical and has some meaning to coppola, but to an outsider it's just flat. almost like it's a story she's so intimate with that she forgets that we the viewers are out of the loop and will be until she clues us in. if that was her point, then great, she made her point...just like a lot of modern or rather "post-modern" art that says "haha! i don't have a point! i am art because i am not art and i refuse to play by traditional art rules!" how boring. the only other thing that might have saved the film or at least made it a bit more watchable for me would be a different female lead. maybe it was sofia's direction, but i found scarlett totally unreal and lifeless. Expand
  9. b00
    Dec 19, 2003
    4
    Let me just say that this movie is nothing more than a gimmick. There is no real character development, there is no real emotion, there is only a gimmick, the stereotypical view of Japanese culture. How much time was spent exaggerating quirks in japanese culture to an extreme? Becoming nothing more than a slapstick comedy? And now think about how much time was spent dealing with the Let me just say that this movie is nothing more than a gimmick. There is no real character development, there is no real emotion, there is only a gimmick, the stereotypical view of Japanese culture. How much time was spent exaggerating quirks in japanese culture to an extreme? Becoming nothing more than a slapstick comedy? And now think about how much time was spent dealing with the relationship Bob and Charlotte, which could have been so delicate yet compeling? I think Coppola should have learned about Japanese culture and delicate human relationships before trying to make a movie about it. Expand
  10. TRutt
    Oct 19, 2003
    6
    So, the movie itself was ok, but the biggest problem was that it was a really cliched (and inaccurate) depiction of Tokyo and Japanese life. You name the cliche about the Japanese, , it was there -Those Japanese love Karaoke! -Those crazy Japanese dance games! -Those crazy Japanese TV shows with their crazy hosts -Those Japanese can't R's -All those crazy Japanese streets with So, the movie itself was ok, but the biggest problem was that it was a really cliched (and inaccurate) depiction of Tokyo and Japanese life. You name the cliche about the Japanese, , it was there -Those Japanese love Karaoke! -Those crazy Japanese dance games! -Those crazy Japanese TV shows with their crazy hosts -Those Japanese can't R's -All those crazy Japanese streets with their neon! -They love American pitchmen! ...If only Tokyo was that interesting. The movie was ok, obviously semi-autobiographical (based upon Sophia Coppola and Spike Jones) and, amazingly enough, the character based on her is smart, sensitive, etc. I never bought the romance angle between the two protagonists. An ok film...not worth the backlash, but not the greatest movie either. I can't understand why the critics are all fawning over it. Expand
  11. J.Spurrier
    May 2, 2004
    4
    I agree with many that the movie showed a more shallow view of part of Japanese culture but part of our American culture is just as shallow. I think the movie brought out both aspects of shallowness ? although it might not have intended to do so. However you do get the impression that Charlotte and Bill think they are above it. Being Bill's age I thought he was somewhat a weak I agree with many that the movie showed a more shallow view of part of Japanese culture but part of our American culture is just as shallow. I think the movie brought out both aspects of shallowness ? although it might not have intended to do so. However you do get the impression that Charlotte and Bill think they are above it. Being Bill's age I thought he was somewhat a weak character. OK, he isn't too thrilled with his life and it lacks meaning and depth. That's life with no truth. Not being Charlotte's age anymore maybe the movie/character 'spoke more'. I could be too old to hear anything. She definitely found no answers in Bill. You're left with a "what is it worth" view of life. If our deepest questions (Charlotte) are left with liquor, one night stand and a miserable marriage (Bob) what's the use. Kids - He mentioned kids change your life completely but it is worth it. His kids didn't even want to talk to him on the phone. He missed a birthday. Those things happen but what life is he or his wife giving his kids. Are his kids destined to Charlotte's question or Bob's life in a glass? No, we get some "hope" by what is whispered in Charlotte's ear. Expand
  12. LucG.
    Oct 11, 2003
    6
    If it weren't for Bill Murray's brillant acting, this wallflower of a movie would be a waste of two hours. Coppola is a still-immature director who has gotten undeserved fame on account of her family name. In this she does pointless exercises, such as opening the movie with a shot of Johansson's panty-clad derriere. For no good reason. The movie is also heavy on stereotypes If it weren't for Bill Murray's brillant acting, this wallflower of a movie would be a waste of two hours. Coppola is a still-immature director who has gotten undeserved fame on account of her family name. In this she does pointless exercises, such as opening the movie with a shot of Johansson's panty-clad derriere. For no good reason. The movie is also heavy on stereotypes of Japanese. Expand
  13. JohnA
    Jul 2, 2009
    6
    lost in translation is one of those movies that makes a person feel good for watching it. most of its viewers love its small "Anti Hollywood" feel, but BELIEVE me, aside from being a respectable piece of art (at best), lost in translation really doesnt offer much more to its viewers then that nice little indie feel. the problem with the movie is that there isnt enough character lost in translation is one of those movies that makes a person feel good for watching it. most of its viewers love its small "Anti Hollywood" feel, but BELIEVE me, aside from being a respectable piece of art (at best), lost in translation really doesnt offer much more to its viewers then that nice little indie feel. the problem with the movie is that there isnt enough character development involved. at no point did i as a viewer have a specific feeling for anyone in the movie because theres really not enough that i knew about them as people. its hard to say this movie does much more then offer the occasional chuckle. the characters are too distant to be relatable so of course when they say something funny it feels like a sad attempt to be witty. im not asking that every movie have characters that i can identify with, but its really important that at some point in a movie the audience member has a see where the character is coming from. this movie is beautifully acted. the only problem is that they play roles of people that no one really wants to see. these are 2 very distant people who eventually come together to make sense of it all, but its hard to think that the director does a very good job in showing the audience any of that. at no point later on in the movie are these characters really more developed then they were to begin with. for what its worth the movie did have a small amount of its dry humor, but in NO WAY is this movie a comedy. (NO SPOILERS AHEAD....) the ending is much different from the rest of the film and just for a second the audience gets a little piece of emotion. and you really see the characters for who they are. problem is the entire rest of the movie never set us up for such an ending. nobody wants a romantic happy ending garbage heap, but this movie was just so fixated on trying to be real that it just ended up being boring. as a viewer i felt that i was finally given the ending only because the director knew its what i wanted to see, and NoT because it was the actual direction the movie was meant to take. life doesnt always have a clear cut road and there arent always yes or no answers. this movie tries so hard to convey that message, but from actor to audience, somewhere in between the message seems to have been Lost in Translation. Expand
  14. Jul 22, 2012
    4
    Lost in Translation is thoroughly disappointing. It appears to be pretty much universally praised, yet it's a flawed film. I'll concede that it's beautifully filmed, that Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson give great performances and that the relationship between their two characters is sweet and endearing, as a tale of two lost souls finding a connection is always compelling. DespiteLost in Translation is thoroughly disappointing. It appears to be pretty much universally praised, yet it's a flawed film. I'll concede that it's beautifully filmed, that Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson give great performances and that the relationship between their two characters is sweet and endearing, as a tale of two lost souls finding a connection is always compelling. Despite these positives, the film puts forward an extremely patronising, stereotypical and borderline racist view of Japanese culture. By depicting a steady procession of carefully cherry-picked Japanese "oddities", it's almost like the film's main objective is to say "hey, come laugh at the silly Japanese, they're not like Americans at all". A recurring joke in the film is the mockery of Japanese speech pattern of the replacement of the letter r with the letter l. This gag is barely funny the first time it is used, but it is reprised four or five times throughout the film. In one of the key "comedy" scenes, Murray's character struggles to understand a heavily accented Japanese director during a photo shoot, and his mimicry of the poor man's voice to decipher each instruction isn't funny, just embarrassing, akin to the lack of logic behind an English-speaking tourist abroad raising his voice to make themselves understood to non-English speakers. To make matters even worse, the film is all-too-often slow or just plain boring. Beyond great chemistry between Murray and Johansson and striking aesthetics, the appeal of Lost in Translation is, well, lost in translation chiefly thanks to some criminal cultural insensitivity that really shouldn't be applauded in the modern world. Expand
  15. Dave
    Dec 28, 2009
    5
    Definitely overrated by the critics. The humor is rather crass, and much of it stems from ignorance/intolerance of other cultures.
  16. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    I don't like this movie. After 10 minutes it is already obviously what will be in the end. Very boring story... It's not deserve even average 6,6 score, which it have now from users.
  17. JamieP.
    Jun 17, 2007
    5
    Coppola's idea is really great. too bad it was not presented in a good way. you cannot miss the fact that this movie is boring and overrated.
  18. CoryC.
    Feb 22, 2004
    5
    While the performances seem geniune enough and the atmosphere is intriguing, the film isn't nearly as engaging as it should be. I have no issue with "meandering" films such as this one (I love My Dinner With Andre, one of the great examples of fine plot-free thought-driven cinema), but the way the moments in the film are connected is loose, increasingly repetitive and obvious, and While the performances seem geniune enough and the atmosphere is intriguing, the film isn't nearly as engaging as it should be. I have no issue with "meandering" films such as this one (I love My Dinner With Andre, one of the great examples of fine plot-free thought-driven cinema), but the way the moments in the film are connected is loose, increasingly repetitive and obvious, and lacking any urgency. The truly funny moments in the film stand alone from the rest when they should gel together. And, with the two leads gaining little more insight than "I'm unhappy" and not doing much about it, the film peters out when it should have soared. Bill, hope you win an Oscar, but it should have been for Rushmore, not this. Expand
  19. BenA.
    Jun 4, 2004
    5
    Bah. Overrated. The humor in this movie is solely based on wittiness. That doesn't really work, because wittiness is a spontanious kind of humor; it can't really be written. There were also some scenes where it was just one of the characters sitting around. I got sick of these scenes real quick.
  20. PeteG.
    Nov 13, 2003
    6
    I am always intrigued by films such as this which seem to engender either complete admiration or disinterest. Ironically, which side of the fence you fall on with regards to Lost in Translation likely says more about the viewer than the film. It?s a very pretty film. The wide shots of steel and neon Tokyo, and the temples scenes with their soft light and textures, maple leaves, and I am always intrigued by films such as this which seem to engender either complete admiration or disinterest. Ironically, which side of the fence you fall on with regards to Lost in Translation likely says more about the viewer than the film. It?s a very pretty film. The wide shots of steel and neon Tokyo, and the temples scenes with their soft light and textures, maple leaves, and costumed visitors are truly gorgeous. Yes, the alienation the two main characters feel as a result of the surroundings is mirrored in their marriages. Yes, they find a sense of belonging with each other?..but, darn it, just not enough happens. The characters are stalled in their lives, at points of wavering indecision, and we are only left to wish they would pull their bootstraps up and make a decision. It has ample mood, but no plot. This film is a meditation on happiness and will appeal to those who feel the same sense of losing one?s way as the characters do. For the rest of us, it?s appropriate viewing on rainy afternoons when someone has let you down. Expand
  21. MikeH.
    Nov 4, 2003
    6
    A light comedy and a light drama. Don't you think the scenes in which the Japanese mispronounce English words ("Lip my stockings!" instead of "Rip my stockings!") are worn out comedic devices? And the ending, when Murray whisper's something in Scarlett's ear, is enigmatic. Yes? And? So?
  22. Everett
    Oct 19, 2003
    4
    First, Bill Murray is great in this movie, but he's not as big a part of it as one would like him to be...now... I loved the idea of this movie, but have to say I was disappointed by the "experience" of it all. The critics' reviews made it seem Ocsar-worthy, but it is defintiely nowhere close. The fact is that there is no real plot to Lost in Translatiion...the movie simply First, Bill Murray is great in this movie, but he's not as big a part of it as one would like him to be...now... I loved the idea of this movie, but have to say I was disappointed by the "experience" of it all. The critics' reviews made it seem Ocsar-worthy, but it is defintiely nowhere close. The fact is that there is no real plot to Lost in Translatiion...the movie simply exists. It does give you a nice warm feeling inside, but no more than would a hot chocolate and your favourite section of the newspaper. It is indeed beautiful to "look at" or "think about", but not quite as nice to actually "watch". This movie is perfect for people who spend a lot of time contempalting existence, but not much effort actually doing anything. Expand
  23. PortlandRadioLady
    Sep 12, 2003
    6
    Performances were wonderful, but in order to believe this film -- you have to accept that there are no Japanese people in Tokyo who speak English, that both of the marriages were bad, and that there are no Caucasian people available in one of Asia's largest cities. Simply too dumb a movie for me, although it was a great travelogue for Tokyo.
  24. S.S.
    Jan 31, 2004
    5
    An open letter to Francis Ford - "I want to spend more time with you Daddy!" - while throwing barbs at ex-husband Spike Jones and (for some reason) Cameron Diaz. Ms. Copola being touted as the new voice of film is a misnomer, unless the new voice is rife with travelogue cinematograpy and flimsy screenwriting that tries to pass off quiet ambiguity as subtlety.
  25. WendyC.
    Feb 12, 2004
    4
    I guess this is an ok movie to rent on a night in, but on the whole, I thought it's very overrated. Good acting from Murray, but the movie meanders aimlessly and fails to garner any sympathy when it tries to be wistful.
  26. GiuseppeA.
    Feb 25, 2004
    6
    My perspective is that the whole movie plays on the fact that someone in the audience at least once in a lifetime have had the chance to meet some intriguing person in some foreign country with whom they shared some incredible moments. But due to normal life circumstances these moments where going to be only moments and not the starting point for a new and more intriguing life. We all My perspective is that the whole movie plays on the fact that someone in the audience at least once in a lifetime have had the chance to meet some intriguing person in some foreign country with whom they shared some incredible moments. But due to normal life circumstances these moments where going to be only moments and not the starting point for a new and more intriguing life. We all wanted to see Bob get down from the cab run to Charlotte hold his hand and disappear in the crowded Tokyo. That is not the case, but that is the trick that stick u to the screen and ur desire to get back to that person that once u met in that exotic place with whom u spent those fantastic/crazy nights comes back to ur mind. To be honest after all the words spent on the movie I was expecting much more. but well .. We cannot have everything. Weak plot, fresh acting, foreign country .... entertaining. Score 6 Expand
  27. Groundfisher
    Mar 25, 2004
    6
    Unfortunately, and perhaps typically, those who left negative comments here are being accused of lacking refinement - that what they really want is big muscles, big explosions and gratuitous sex. Well, I don't want those things and I agree that this movie is over-rated. This movie is not subtle. The silences and awkward moments between the two main characters occur so frequently and Unfortunately, and perhaps typically, those who left negative comments here are being accused of lacking refinement - that what they really want is big muscles, big explosions and gratuitous sex. Well, I don't want those things and I agree that this movie is over-rated. This movie is not subtle. The silences and awkward moments between the two main characters occur so frequently and are so pronounced that it is inconceivable they don't do the intelligent or mature thing and address the situation - if only because they are both married. However, that aside (and ignoring some other dubious details) this movie is a welcome change from the inescapable big-budget franchise movies. It is an OK movie, but by no means is it a masterpiece, destined to become a classic. I would not watch it twice. Visually, Lost in Translation is a pleasure. The (patient) pace of the movie is another. It seems to promise a well-conceived, well-developed sophisticated exploration of (Western) personal relationships, but that promise evaporates. Bill Murray's character lapses into Bill Murray and the movie threatens to become a full-on Bill Murray movie. I like Bill Murray, but this movie needs a restrained, understated Bill Murray. What might have been a delicate, beautiful movie with great ambition becomes (in no particular order) somewhat funny, somewhat charming, somewhat crass, somewhat cliched, somewhat predictable and slightly dull. Some of the minor roles were brilliantly acted - the 'rip my tights' scene was hilarious. The comedy didn't come from Murray and it came at a time before the central relationship budded, where it belonged. Expand
  28. BertrandR.
    Jul 10, 2004
    6
    Not bad movie, but overrated. Bill Murray's performance was fairly good - understated and sardonic -but hardly superb, as so many critics were hyping. The movie was moderately amusing/diverting.
  29. JacksonP.
    Sep 29, 2003
    6
    Unfortunately I agree with a lot of Gregory Weinkauf's review for the Dallas Observer. While the film proves once again that Miss Coppola is a brilliant director, it also proves that she falls short when it comes to the task of writing. One thing I find odd is that so many people have somehow gotten the idea that the film is "racist" in some way. Coppola isn't portraying the Unfortunately I agree with a lot of Gregory Weinkauf's review for the Dallas Observer. While the film proves once again that Miss Coppola is a brilliant director, it also proves that she falls short when it comes to the task of writing. One thing I find odd is that so many people have somehow gotten the idea that the film is "racist" in some way. Coppola isn't portraying the Japanese badly because she thinks they are inferior, she's simply trying to show what the Japanese society would look like to two Americans who knew little or nothing about it and were completely unable to understand the language. The Japanese characters are flat and shallow because neither of the main characters takes the time to get to know any of them - they're too busy getting to know eachother, and wallowing in their "suffering" on foreign soil. If this film were a series of beautiful photographs, it would have been top-notch. Unfortunately, it's not, and as a film the story she's written (what little of it there is) falls far short of Coppola's directorial abilities. Expand
  30. ZacharyM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    4
    What a letdown. The movie itself was done well, however, there was no story. I waited and waited for something to catch my attention but I soon realized it wasn't coming. I like intelligent and unique movies as much as anyone else. I love drama and comedy. This movie barely had either. Eternal Sunshine is a good example of a movie that just blows this film out of the water. It What a letdown. The movie itself was done well, however, there was no story. I waited and waited for something to catch my attention but I soon realized it wasn't coming. I like intelligent and unique movies as much as anyone else. I love drama and comedy. This movie barely had either. Eternal Sunshine is a good example of a movie that just blows this film out of the water. It actually interested me, made me laugh, and made me think. Expand
  31. SpillyD.
    Feb 13, 2004
    5
    I can understand why bill murray may when awards for his acting, but the rest of this movie is very average. terribly slow, we actually had to stop half way through and finish the next day because we were losing interest. i feel like i'm missing something. i understand what she was going for, but it's just too damn dull. and i didn't feel like scarlet's characterI can understand why bill murray may when awards for his acting, but the rest of this movie is very average. terribly slow, we actually had to stop half way through and finish the next day because we were losing interest. i feel like i'm missing something. i understand what she was going for, but it's just too damn dull. and i didn't feel like scarlet's character deserved happiness. she was a miserable, depressing woman, who put herself in that position. not only does she marry an idiot, she then goes on a trip with him and acts depressed because he's working and she can't keep herself occupied in an amazing country like japan. Expand
  32. HerockM.
    Feb 15, 2004
    5
    How fantastic. Two people of different age and sex can hold a platonic relationship. Beyond that, is there anything else? Sure there are a few bits that are funny and yes, Scarlett Johansson is cute. Beyond that, it just needed to end. You know how good of a movie it is if you check the "time remaining" feature of your dvd player.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 80
    Not much happens, but Coppola is so gentle and witty an observer that the movie casts a spell. [15 September 2003, p. 100]
  2. Coppola both wrote and directed, and there’s a pleasing shapelessness to her scenes. She accomplishes the difficult feat of showing people being bored out of their skulls in such a way that we are never bored watching them.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    80
    The film's unhurried pace will target it for discerning audiences only, but its wry humor and coolly amused observation of contemporary Japan should score with smart urbanites.