User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 127
  2. Negative: 12 out of 127

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    4
    It has lots of things that could have been great. With an interesting story and remarkable Viagra-Parkinson's backdrop, "Love and Other Drugs" could have been a great film. However, the romantic comedy aspect of it came in the way. I just cannot emphasise how much the predictable "romantic comedy" aspect of the film, ends up ultimately hurting the film. With a cliched story, predictable dialogues, and horrible horrible soundtrack (every time Gyllenhaal and Hathaway have a "romantic" moment, the same annoying song starts - oh.my.god. someone kill the composer/director). It is, as many have pointed out, refreshingly sexual and liberated in many ways, which is positive for Hollywood films, and its Parkinson's aspect is done tastefully. That much I can give it. However, overall, the film does not quite live up to its potential, being ultimately sunk by the heavy baggage that a romantic comedy has to carry with it. 4/10 Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    2
    Sorry this did not do it for me at all.
    I really thought it was a bad story.
    Nothing made sense.
    So what if they were naked throughout the movie. It was really bad.
    Do not waste your time or money on this one...trust me.
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    2
    Bad, bad, bad movie. sorry to see talented actors (Hathaway, Gyllenhaal, Platt, Azaria) in such a tasteless, unfunny, predictable "romantic comedy". Total waste of time and money.
  4. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This movie is simply embarrassing to watch, and must be the low point in both Gyllenhaal's and Hathaway's careers. Hard to understand why they would agree to act out this utter nonsense...
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    1
    This movie was a complete waste of time. Hathaway could have done better and the story was long and drawn out. Too much sex.. Good grief. We get the picture. The ending was weak but the boy learned the planet did not revolve around him.
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    If I had watched this movie a year later than it was set, 1997, I would have probably liked it a bit more as the viagra jokes and the fat IT geek brother comedic relief (or something like that!) would have probably fared a tad bit better. just a tad bit. However today it is simply tiresome, tasteless even. Hatheway-Gylenhall scenes feel contrived, scenes where one of them is missing feel even worse, Platt and Azaria's talents inelegantly wasted in brainless monologues with what looks like Gylenhall's life-size cardboard cutout right next to them throughout. All of these traits of weak movie making is attempted to be masked by uncalled nudity which really doesn't add anything, except to maybe appreciate two young actors in their physical prime. I really couldn't figure out why those two would agree to walk around in the nude in a movie where the script already leaves their characters naked and barren of any insight or originality. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    4
    The romance in this movie was its most compelling element, but the acting and casting was a stretch. Jake G doesn't play the d-bag well enough to believe he could be reformed and Josh Gad was way over the top with the comic relief.
  8. Jan 18, 2011
    3
    This was a sad excuse for a movie and I cannot believe the hype that surrounds it. It simply bored me to tears. Can't a girl enjoy a decent chick-flick anymore?
  9. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    4
    I wish Lucuna, Inc existed so I could erase this horrible romantic comedy out of my mind. The characters are thin and the plot is manipulatively stupid.
  10. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    A complete and total WASTE of my time. Unfortunately it was the movie my girlfriends picked for girl movie night, if I was in a theater seeing it, I would have left within the first half hour. The whole thing was porn.
  11. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    The film starts out acceptably but slips continuously into the realm of the average American rom-com and continues to lower itself with every misguided or half-hearted attempt to be inspirational until it becomes truly unbearable.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 13, 2010
    50
    While Hathaway and Gyllenhaal have good chemistry, and director Edward Zwick moves the narrative along nicely, the film is too self-satisfied to be genuinely touching.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 13, 2010
    60
    The film definitely gets it up, but has some commitment issues.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 13, 2010
    63
    Zwick's "Once and Again" and "Thirtysomething" portrayed emotion more honestly than many TV shows of their time. But in Love and Other Drugs, he unevenly weds the satirical and the sentimental.