Love Crime

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    Love Crime has Hitchcockian pretentious, with perhaps a touch of film noir, but the "love" component is perfunctorily done and the "crime" pay-off is unconvincing (despite the twist in the tail). The Master would not have allowed the suspense to dissipate so wantonly.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 30, 2011
    60
    Love Crime soon plummets into a flashback-laden mess, a shame since it was marginally stronger as a psychosexual game of dominance.
  3. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Aug 31, 2011
    58
    A corporate crime thriller that explores the relationships of women in power, but while Corneau delivers a slick, well-acted piece with a surprising mid-movie twist, Love Crime is too thin and too on-point to deliver the jolt he and co-screenwriter Nathalie Carter most likely intended.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 6, 2011
    50
    This is a ridiculous movie - a thriller so indifferent to suspense, so above mystery that one character literally stabs another in the front.
  5. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    There's something wrong with a suspense film when the sets are more interesting than the characters.
  6. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Sep 6, 2011
    50
    The two-handed duet at the center of Love Crime radiates, but the parade of easily parodied men who stomp in and out of their corporate offices just seem like script rejects from "Mad Men."
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Sep 2, 2011
    50
    The lack of authenticity underlines the thinness of their conceit: Without a plausible backdrop, all that's left of Love Crime are the power games between two duplicitous women and the serpentine plotting that results. And even that, under the slightest scrutiny, frays like a thin layer of tissue paper.
  8. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Aug 30, 2011
    50
    Even KST is left floundering as the misconceived, underwritten totem of today's amoral, power-mad executive, wearing flowing trousers and medallion necklaces not seen since Faye Dunaway demanded a meeting in "Network."
  9. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Aug 27, 2011
    50
    The film is less corporate parable than intricately crafted revenge drama whose intensively detailed plotting can't hide the fact that the whole thing seems like a lot of work for a glaringly modest payoff.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Dziemianowicz
    Sep 2, 2011
    40
    More cold fish than cold-blooded, director Alain Correau keeps his movie buttoned up and predictable.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Lyn
    Dec 5, 2014
    2
    I adore Kristin Scott Thomas and cannot recall ever seeing her in a movie this bad. Her archly self-serving queen bee character -- even thoughI adore Kristin Scott Thomas and cannot recall ever seeing her in a movie this bad. Her archly self-serving queen bee character -- even though she does it well -- is one you've seen before. Her antagonist and the whole supporting cast are nondescript, as is their vague line of work. Makes me want to rewatch "I've Loved You So Long" just to see again how wonderful KST can be. Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A good little thriller which has already been remade by Brian Depalma as 'Passion' and whose version I am sure will contain a lot more sex and style.That is not meant in any way to be detrimental to what we have here. Kristin Scott Thomas (always classy) and Ludivine Sagnier are both great as the sparring work colleagues. Friends, and enemies by turn, they are fascinating to watch as the fabric of their relationship unravels. The first hour of the film is compelling and one is engaged in a story that promises more than it ultimately delivers. Events become more puzzling and rather unsatisfactory however, following the demise of Scott Thomas. All along we know what the denouement will be, but the film is so long winded in getting there that a loss of interest is inevitable. The black and white inter cuts do a good job of clarifying things in the second half and the final scene ends on a high. Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    I have not seen a French film in years that I liked. At least this one is tolerable, though unbelievable; what the characters say and do didI have not seen a French film in years that I liked. At least this one is tolerable, though unbelievable; what the characters say and do did not touch me any in away. At least this time I did not FFWD through as I as waiting for the resolve, the exposure, the truth. But has been said by better, "you can't handle the truth" which is, many French films are over rated. Perhaps there is a certain gene I am missing. Not worth my time but not as bad as the usual French output that gets outstanding American reviews. Full Review »