Love Crime

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Sep 8, 2011
    100
    The goal of this review - why not just say it? - is to disclose as little about the story as possible while instilling a ravenous and even rabid desire to see Love Crime immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Sep 22, 2011
    88
    Like some murderous version of "Working Girl," the ruthless exec and the seemingly naive underling go at one another - turning the film, at a pivotal moment, into a satisfying whodunit.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Sep 1, 2011
    80
    A delicious thriller that gets under the skin à la "All About Eve," albeit with a twist: The craft here is still theater, but of the workplace rather than the stage.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 6, 2011
    75
    The movie is called Love Crime. But its hidden message has more to do with business than with passion. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. Especially one in a power suit, who knows how to work a room.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 22, 2011
    75
    Scott Thomas can play these sorts of ice queens in her sleep, but I've long thought she's a more effective and nuanced performer in French-language projects than in English-language ones. The performance is laced with just enough wit to make it sting.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    One of the pleasures is watching the gears mesh. The screenplay has been written by Corneau and Nathalie Carter with meticulous attention to detail. Like classic mystery authors, they play fair, so that the surprises at the end are consistent with what we've seen - although we didn't realize it at the time.
  7. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Sep 2, 2011
    75
    Brings to mind "Working Girl" and "The Devil Wears Prada" -- but it has delightful differences only the French could conjure up, plus a musical soundtrack from jazz saxophone great Pharoah Sanders.
  8. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Sep 2, 2011
    70
    Picture initially suggests a sort of Gallic "Damages," with Kristin Scott Thomas and Ludivine Sagnier in the Glenn Close and Rose Byrne roles, but the corporate catfight soon gives way to a cleverly designed whodunit.
  9. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 2, 2011
    70
    Despite this provocative introduction Love Crime isn't some Sapphic French answer to "Disclosure."
  10. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 1, 2011
    70
    It is interesting and ingenious, even if some of the kinky, queasy fascination that had been so intoxicating in the earlier scenes ebbs away.
  11. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 10, 2011
    67
    It's all tease in the first half, and all implausibilities in the second. Still, Thomas is always worth watching, in French or in English, whether her mood be chilly or tropical.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Lyn
    Dec 5, 2014
    2
    I adore Kristin Scott Thomas and cannot recall ever seeing her in a movie this bad. Her archly self-serving queen bee character -- even thoughI adore Kristin Scott Thomas and cannot recall ever seeing her in a movie this bad. Her archly self-serving queen bee character -- even though she does it well -- is one you've seen before. Her antagonist and the whole supporting cast are nondescript, as is their vague line of work. Makes me want to rewatch "I've Loved You So Long" just to see again how wonderful KST can be. Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A good little thriller which has already been remade by Brian Depalma as 'Passion' and whose version I am sure will contain a lot more sex and style.That is not meant in any way to be detrimental to what we have here. Kristin Scott Thomas (always classy) and Ludivine Sagnier are both great as the sparring work colleagues. Friends, and enemies by turn, they are fascinating to watch as the fabric of their relationship unravels. The first hour of the film is compelling and one is engaged in a story that promises more than it ultimately delivers. Events become more puzzling and rather unsatisfactory however, following the demise of Scott Thomas. All along we know what the denouement will be, but the film is so long winded in getting there that a loss of interest is inevitable. The black and white inter cuts do a good job of clarifying things in the second half and the final scene ends on a high. Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    I have not seen a French film in years that I liked. At least this one is tolerable, though unbelievable; what the characters say and do didI have not seen a French film in years that I liked. At least this one is tolerable, though unbelievable; what the characters say and do did not touch me any in away. At least this time I did not FFWD through as I as waiting for the resolve, the exposure, the truth. But has been said by better, "you can't handle the truth" which is, many French films are over rated. Perhaps there is a certain gene I am missing. Not worth my time but not as bad as the usual French output that gets outstanding American reviews. Full Review »