Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the sterile setting of a powerful multinational corporation, two women compete ... Isabelle works under Christine, a woman she admires without reservation. But Christine is a dangerous, jealous woman who begins a game of perverse seduction and domination with Isabelle. This game goes too far ... to the point of no return. (Canal+) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Sep 8, 2011
    100
    The goal of this review - why not just say it? - is to disclose as little about the story as possible while instilling a ravenous and even rabid desire to see Love Crime immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Sep 1, 2011
    80
    A delicious thriller that gets under the skin à la "All About Eve," albeit with a twist: The craft here is still theater, but of the workplace rather than the stage.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 22, 2011
    75
    Scott Thomas can play these sorts of ice queens in her sleep, but I've long thought she's a more effective and nuanced performer in French-language projects than in English-language ones. The performance is laced with just enough wit to make it sting.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 10, 2011
    67
    It's all tease in the first half, and all implausibilities in the second. Still, Thomas is always worth watching, in French or in English, whether her mood be chilly or tropical.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 30, 2011
    60
    Love Crime soon plummets into a flashback-laden mess, a shame since it was marginally stronger as a psychosexual game of dominance.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 6, 2011
    50
    This is a ridiculous movie - a thriller so indifferent to suspense, so above mystery that one character literally stabs another in the front.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Dziemianowicz
    Sep 2, 2011
    40
    More cold fish than cold-blooded, director Alain Correau keeps his movie buttoned up and predictable.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good little thriller which has already been remade by Brian Depalma as 'Passion' and whose version I am sure will contain a lot more sex and style.That is not meant in any way to be detrimental to what we have here. Kristin Scott Thomas (always classy) and Ludivine Sagnier are both great as the sparring work colleagues. Friends, and enemies by turn, they are fascinating to watch as the fabric of their relationship unravels. The first hour of the film is compelling and one is engaged in a story that promises more than it ultimately delivers. Events become more puzzling and rather unsatisfactory however, following the demise of Scott Thomas. All along we know what the denouement will be, but the film is so long winded in getting there that a loss of interest is inevitable. The black and white inter cuts do a good job of clarifying things in the second half and the final scene ends on a high. Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    Ludivine Sagnier movies are always a little off-center and entertaining, and Kristin Scott Thomas is routinely excellent in English or French. This is an odd little movie - much like a TV procedural - but with the absolute worst "fill-in" details surrounding their workplace. They might as well have just referred to everything as widgets and every "other" person a Joe Bloggs. It was laughable- in fact, the crowd did a lot of laughing in this film. But I have a feeling the filmmakers were laughing with us when they wrote and directed it. I had fun - just don't take it too seriously. Collapse
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    5
    Rare for a mysterious thriller set in the high stakes business realm, Love Crime (Crime dâ
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    4
    I have not seen a French film in years that I liked. At least this one is tolerable, though unbelievable; what the characters say and do did not touch me any in away. At least this time I did not FFWD through as I as waiting for the resolve, the exposure, the truth. But has been said by better, "you can't handle the truth" which is, many French films are over rated. Perhaps there is a certain gene I am missing. Not worth my time but not as bad as the usual French output that gets outstanding American reviews. Expand