Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 580 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 188
  2. Negative: 65 out of 188
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledgeThis is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movie explained the accelerated extent of her detachment from humanity as well... the random cut scenes in her mind were a bit annoying but exactly how some people use their imagination in critical moments. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Part action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippyPart action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higher level consciousness type stuff. I think some of the folks that are having such a negative response to it are those that don't like when things aren't totally spelled out for them. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2015
    5
    While I love psychic powers and abilities in moving in games anything with that gets bonus points. Chronicle and Push, cough cough. I gotWhile I love psychic powers and abilities in moving in games anything with that gets bonus points. Chronicle and Push, cough cough. I got excited when she first started getting her powers, but I soon found they sucked all the fun out of it. While this could have been a great action movie with a good story it tried to be all philosophical and had forced scenes where she could have easily killed or knocked out all the enemies with her powers but instead didn't. Half-way through I was begging for some cool looking fight scene and never got it. I guess what I thought I was getting was a big bowl of super nachos and instead got a poorly cooked steak. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie could/should have been a lot better. The concept was interesting although scientifically inaccurate. Lucy OD's on some obscure pregnancy hormone and transcends physical reality when her brain hits 100% utilization. Too much padding in the form of intercut scenes and CGI to flesh out an otherwise boring plot. Just barely worth the $1.58 at Redbox. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2014
    3
    I sure hope Samsung paid big bucks for product placement! The special effects are cool, Could have been so much more....Jessica and MorganI sure hope Samsung paid big bucks for product placement! The special effects are cool, Could have been so much more....Jessica and Morgan are the best features. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2015
    0
    Achei o filme horrível. Simplesmente não consegui gostar de nada. Nem da ação (completamente previsível), nem das viagens da interação cérebroAchei o filme horrível. Simplesmente não consegui gostar de nada. Nem da ação (completamente previsível), nem das viagens da interação cérebro x matéria, nem do enredo, nem da desculpa para ela ficar daquele jeito. Nem o drama (que drama?) sobre o que é mais importante para os seres vivos, enfim, nada. Expand

See all 188 User Reviews