Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 660 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 200
  2. Negative: 70 out of 200
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledgeThis is an excellent movie for the initiated. I could relate tremendously with the psychological profile of Lucy. Her strive for knowledge was detaching her away from humanity. The questionable actions she made throughout the movie explained the accelerated extent of her detachment from humanity as well... the random cut scenes in her mind were a bit annoying but exactly how some people use their imagination in critical moments. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Part action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippyPart action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higher level consciousness type stuff. I think some of the folks that are having such a negative response to it are those that don't like when things aren't totally spelled out for them. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    5
    When I saw Lucy, I thought of it like the third Matrix movie. Great concept. Very good and interesting set up and then the last 15 - 20 justWhen I saw Lucy, I thought of it like the third Matrix movie. Great concept. Very good and interesting set up and then the last 15 - 20 just sucked. I am a big Besson fan, but this movie lacked charm and style he usually brings to his movies. Much less action than I was hoping for. Scarlet does a decent job, but she could have and should have done better. Maybe she did not want to do what she does on the Marvel movies too much and I am not talking action wise. The score was terrible. Usually Besson movies scores draw you into the movie much more.

    This movie is worth a watch, but I would wait a few months for redbox or netflicks. Not worth $11 in the theaters.

    Overall, a great concept, but fails very short in my opinion. One guy was telling his girl that he thought it would be better. I have to agree with him. Very let down.....again.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2015
    4
    (Spoiler alert)

    The main character loses her charms after 25 minutes. First she is a human with heart, but changes to a heartless
    (Spoiler alert)

    The main character loses her charms after 25 minutes.
    First she is a human with heart, but changes to a heartless
    psychopath. Personally I find it important that the main character
    is a person I can relate to, but her actions makes me as viewer
    want to distant myself from her. Where this happens?
    Her coldness and emotionless starts in the hostipal where she
    just kills the patient on a table. The reason is that she wants the doctor
    to remove the bag of drugs. A pity that the script writer chose to
    make her personality so cold.

    A second issue in the movie:
    In the movie she archives a high brain capacity, thus I guess a high
    IQ. But what does she do?? She attaches a silencer to her gun.
    Walks with the gun in her hand, every one can she the gun, and walks
    slowly to the operation room. How can such an intelligent person do
    that?? Or was the movie script writer having a break?

    Third issue:
    The actors in the movie don't respond to Lucy at all. She has a gun in her
    hand, and no one notices it. How unrealistic.

    The movie stops taking me on the journey after Lucy's cold and heartless
    act.

    Apart from the first nice 25 minutes, the movie has another good thing.
    Gordon Freeman tells one of the people who listen to his idea that
    is about the brain is used for 10% is actually not real, it's a hypothesis.
    So says the Gordon Freeman. In real science should use that word more often, even some "proven" facts
    might be false ideas, that look truthful.... (humans are masters in telling half truths)
    Any detective knows that truths that connect, are not always a real presentation of the facts.

    If the movie continued the first 25 minutes to the very end, the movie would receive at least a 7.
    But with the flaws mentioned here in this review. I don't want to give it a higher value than 4/10
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2014
    3
    I sure hope Samsung paid big bucks for product placement! The special effects are cool, Could have been so much more....Jessica and MorganI sure hope Samsung paid big bucks for product placement! The special effects are cool, Could have been so much more....Jessica and Morgan are the best features. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    0
    I can't be any more helpful than to warn the reader NOT to buy this film. It's really really bad... Why? Well, just think of any bad movieI can't be any more helpful than to warn the reader NOT to buy this film. It's really really bad... Why? Well, just think of any bad movie you've seen in the last 10 years and you'll have your typical set of reasons. Expand

See all 200 User Reviews