Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 526 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 178
  2. Negative: 61 out of 178
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2014
    9
    Great popcorn flick, moves fast, and it "makes you think". This material would work even better as a 10-episode tv mini-series with eachGreat popcorn flick, moves fast, and it "makes you think". This material would work even better as a 10-episode tv mini-series with each episode advancing her mental capabilities by 10% and depicting her new abilities. Yeh, that would be righteous. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Part action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippyPart action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higher level consciousness type stuff. I think some of the folks that are having such a negative response to it are those that don't like when things aren't totally spelled out for them. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2015
    5
    I was a little disappointed on how short the movie was. It introduced a lot of deep concepts, but did not explore any of them in depth to myI was a little disappointed on how short the movie was. It introduced a lot of deep concepts, but did not explore any of them in depth to my liking. There was a potential story that was wasted.... Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie could/should have been a lot better. The concept was interesting although scientifically inaccurate. Lucy OD's on some obscure pregnancy hormone and transcends physical reality when her brain hits 100% utilization. Too much padding in the form of intercut scenes and CGI to flesh out an otherwise boring plot. Just barely worth the $1.58 at Redbox. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    Bad thriller, but if you wanna see a comedy, it's very good haha. I think it's exaggerated to the point of ridiculousness, so bad that makesBad thriller, but if you wanna see a comedy, it's very good haha. I think it's exaggerated to the point of ridiculousness, so bad that makes it funny!
    But in the end i feel bad por Morgan Freeman.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2015
    0
    Stupid stupid stupid movie. Horrible representation of neuroscience and supporting the myth of only using 10% of your brain. This movie is aStupid stupid stupid movie. Horrible representation of neuroscience and supporting the myth of only using 10% of your brain. This movie is a lot like Ghost dad, it makes up any crap it wants and it will be legit because it runs on the excuse that nobody knows a thing about it. The human brain uses 100% as every brain scan has told us ever, maybe a percent is used consciously, but if a person were to control all of the subconscious functions of the brain they would surely die from having to process every bit of data taken in by the body manually. What is truly insulting is the extent they stretch that myth, saying that they can control matter with a whim? What in the hell did they smoke? Who in their right mind felt truly satisfied by this fairy tale that spat on everyone's intellect? Expand

See all 178 User Reviews