Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Nicholson
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    This undeniably silly, but raucously entertaining, off-the-wall transhumanist actioner is an absolute riot.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 148
  2. Negative: 51 out of 148
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Collapse
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Scarlet's looking good, Movie was good.
    Plots a bit of a rip off of limitless, but overall was good
    Don't know how people can give this a
    Scarlet's looking good, Movie was good.
    Plots a bit of a rip off of limitless, but overall was good
    Don't know how people can give this a ZERO that's a bit ridiculous.
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    Kinda dumb premise, but entertaining nonetheless. Lots of humor to offset the ridiculousness of the concept(s). If you like Sci-Fi andKinda dumb premise, but entertaining nonetheless. Lots of humor to offset the ridiculousness of the concept(s). If you like Sci-Fi and Scarlett, go see it just for fun. If you liked the movie "Limitless" (clear pills that made a person access all of their brain capacity), you will probably like this, although Limitless was a much better movie. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2014
    5
    This movie tries way to hard. ScarJo is good but there's better similar movies (looking at you Limitless). Some of the science is bit (very)This movie tries way to hard. ScarJo is good but there's better similar movies (looking at you Limitless). Some of the science is bit (very) dodgy too. Even as a straight action film, it's just not interesting enough. This movie needed a better script. Skip Lucy and see one of the better films it tried to imitate. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2014
    4
    it's really dumb.

    for me I couldn’t suspend my disbelief enough. This is not how the brain works, this is not how humanity itself works
    it's really dumb.

    for me I couldn’t suspend my disbelief enough. This is not how the brain works, this is not how humanity itself works and this is not how evolution works, and for a film that’s trying to report that it knows that! That’s a big sin.
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    Bad thriller, but if you wanna see a comedy, it's very good haha. I think it's exaggerated to the point of ridiculousness, so bad that makesBad thriller, but if you wanna see a comedy, it's very good haha. I think it's exaggerated to the point of ridiculousness, so bad that makes it funny!
    But in the end i feel bad por Morgan Freeman.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    0
    I want to say Lucy is the worst movie I've ever seen but I'm sure if I think hard enough there is something worse so I'm going to settle onI want to say Lucy is the worst movie I've ever seen but I'm sure if I think hard enough there is something worse so I'm going to settle on "the worst movie in recent memory." Lucy can't seem to decide what kind of movie it's meant to be so it ends up not really being any kind of movie at all. At times boring, at times cheesy, always predictable and full of bad pseudo-science. The ridiculous gang of Korean gangsters feel like they were lifted straight out of Kung Fu Hustle and dumped into the wrong movie. It's only an hour and a half long and frankly I couldn't wait for it to be over. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews