Lucy

Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 687 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 202
  2. Negative: 71 out of 202
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Scarlet's looking good, Movie was good.
    Plots a bit of a rip off of limitless, but overall was good
    Don't know how people can give this a
    Scarlet's looking good, Movie was good.
    Plots a bit of a rip off of limitless, but overall was good
    Don't know how people can give this a ZERO that's a bit ridiculous.
    Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    7
    Part action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippyPart action, part esoteric extrapolation, the movie was bound to draw a line down the middle with people. For me I enjoyed the deeper, trippy concepts that made up the heart of the story. Scarlett Johanson was perfect in her role and I doubt it would've been nearly as enjoyable without her leading the way. I recommend it if you like action and also enjoy contemplating spiritual of higher level consciousness type stuff. I think some of the folks that are having such a negative response to it are those that don't like when things aren't totally spelled out for them. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    5
    A spirited action film with a bit of lax in the display of its own comprehension. Scarlett Johansson clearly stepping into a careful roleA spirited action film with a bit of lax in the display of its own comprehension. Scarlett Johansson clearly stepping into a careful role fresh off the brilliant and curiously engaging "Under the Skin". The cinematography and prop placement standout but a solid environment could not carry this film. Loosely plotted and just below thought provoking, this film is one that takes itself a tad bit too seriously when it could have had much more fun with it's premise. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2015
    4
    While the premise and concept of this film is absolutely ridiculous, the special effects laughable, and the plot without actual resolution,While the premise and concept of this film is absolutely ridiculous, the special effects laughable, and the plot without actual resolution, the movie still finds a way to be at least slightly entertaining. I think that mostly stems from Scarlett Johansson doing a great job with the character and the movie, however outlandish, is actually a little bit interesting. It still isn't worth your time but it isn't a complete waste of time and being under and hour and a half guarantees that if you feel that it is, at least it didn't waste much of it. I do feel that they missed an opportunity to make a great movie though. There is a time between the film starting and Lucy becoming a superhero/magician/Neo that I thought we had a real gem on our hands. Unfortunately they left reality at the door and chose to make a borderline comedy instead. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2014
    3
    Four things great about this movie;

    The concept of what could happen with humans using X% of brain power. The Actors are a great Cast. (
    Four things great about this movie;

    The concept of what could happen with humans using X% of brain power.
    The Actors are a great Cast. ( reason I Pay)
    Three 2 minute / action packed moments.
    The few funny bits

    This movie was S8!T** It needs a better Screen Writer, Director, camera operator. Did I mention DIRECTOR!!
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    0
    I can't be any more helpful than to warn the reader NOT to buy this film. It's really really bad... Why? Well, just think of any bad movieI can't be any more helpful than to warn the reader NOT to buy this film. It's really really bad... Why? Well, just think of any bad movie you've seen in the last 10 years and you'll have your typical set of reasons. Expand

See all 202 User Reviews