Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 529 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jul 26, 2014
    90
    The summer’s best, coolest, juiciest, smartest action movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Stables
    Sep 5, 2014
    80
    Besson is at his balls-out bonkers best in this genre-scrambling, mind-expanding exhilarator.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jul 25, 2014
    75
    When it comes to sheer comic-book fun, few summer movies deliver a more consistent, satisfying, thoroughly enjoyable shot of cinematic jouissance than the delightfully adventurous actress Scarlett Johansson's latest bit of strange, Lucy.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 23, 2014
    70
    Giddily recycling everything from “2001: A Space Odyssey” and “The Matrix” to yakuza actioners and National Geographic documentaries, it’s a garish, trippy, wildly uneven and finally quite disarming piece of work, graced by a moment-to-moment unpredictability.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Sep 5, 2014
    60
    This ridiculous, highly watchable, at points startlingly psychedelic action thriller is probably Luc Besson’s best film since ‘Léon’ (which isn’t saying a great deal).
  6. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jul 23, 2014
    58
    There are moments of real wonder and even beauty amidst the slam and the bang and the big bada boom, and while Lucy is a mixed bag, it's been mixed by a master, and it is delightfully, happily insane.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 24, 2014
    12
    Besson has always demonstrated the ability to chuckle at the madness of his own material, and he provides some solid laughs from time to time. But these winks do nothing to erase the reality of a plot that becomes unintentionally hilarious.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 180
  2. Negative: 61 out of 180
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    I thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots ofI thought the movie was great. It had a spiritual message that provoked one to thought. I love action movies and this film does give lots of action; however, typically action movies don't offer any depth to the storyline. "Lucy," does provide depth and need for thought and I left contemplating its message. It reminded me a bit of the Matrix. The message was a labyrinth of possibilities. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2014
    9
    Great popcorn flick, moves fast, and it "makes you think". This material would work even better as a 10-episode tv mini-series with eachGreat popcorn flick, moves fast, and it "makes you think". This material would work even better as a 10-episode tv mini-series with each episode advancing her mental capabilities by 10% and depicting her new abilities. Yeh, that would be righteous. Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    Kinda dumb premise, but entertaining nonetheless. Lots of humor to offset the ridiculousness of the concept(s). If you like Sci-Fi andKinda dumb premise, but entertaining nonetheless. Lots of humor to offset the ridiculousness of the concept(s). If you like Sci-Fi and Scarlett, go see it just for fun. If you liked the movie "Limitless" (clear pills that made a person access all of their brain capacity), you will probably like this, although Limitless was a much better movie. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2015
    5
    I liked Lucy, that said I must say the movie is empty.
    I liked the effects and the theme but there is absolutely nothing else in there. the
    I liked Lucy, that said I must say the movie is empty.
    I liked the effects and the theme but there is absolutely nothing else in there. the movie is well produced and executed but totally meaningless. The characters are just plain and useless ( why bother to hire Johanson, Freeman and Min-Sink) and after watching the movie i felt totally empty and without any type of self-questioning about whatever the movie wanted to express me.
    It follows my theory that Luc Besson has nice ideas and good film starts but has no idea about how to end films.
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want to watch this movie on the merits of the trailer, be warned that the trailer is deceptive. It makes it look like the movie is an action thriller, but its not. It tries to blend sci-fi with incomprehensible philosophy that is badly written in, and whatever "action" you see is monotonous, without conflict, emotion or even any semblance of a good, traditional action scene. Towards the end of the movie, we get to see Luc Besson's ravers dream, with gratuitous use of post-production CG (even though the CG is mediocre at best), that does not add any substance to whatever message he wants to convey in this film. What is he trying to say, that if we go 100% of our brain, we become God??? Even at 20% the film suddenly morphs into X-Men territory.

    S. Jo's performance in this is the only worthy thing out of this tripe. She really conveyed the transformation from an ordinary young lady, terrified for being forced into a drug smuggler, into inhuman woman who knows everything and has the power of God. The problem is that the transformation is too sudden. One minute you see her crying, the next she's gunning down anyone who stands in her way. In trailers I feared that the action would make her look like Black Widow from Avengers, but in the movie, with how easily and coldly she could dispatch her foes, she (tries) to look like Famke Janssen from X-Men 3. I say tries because there is no subtle hint of any effort, or conflict, behind the action. Its just there, like she's on God mode.

    Morgan Freeman is one of the Lord's of exposition, but when you ask him to do anything but that (especially if its based on dodgy sci-fi that is poorly written), you actually undervalue the actor. That's what happened here. Any scene involving him apart from the first three is crap, because there is no more plot that requires his narration to advance.

    Which leads to my point with Lucy; the film is genuinely about her, and any other character is superfluous. The problem is that she's an unemotional woman who is trying to fulfill the basic purpose of life. There is no balancing act, because other characters simply do not make their presence felt at all. There was even a scene, where the French police was asked to follow Lucy shortly after she used God mode on a dozen Korean mooks. He blatantly asked why he should be there, to which Lucy outright kissed him, implying that he's her "balancing act" of reminding her of humanity. WTF, it just came out of the blue?????

    Speaking of Koreans, why them?? Is Besson afraid of pissing off the Russians? Can't he use the French mafia, or even Western villains (hell, there was one supporting villain character who was English)?

    Finally, what was the point of this movie? S Jo's. intro and ending narration is painting a picture of what is the purpose of human life? In between I see images of chimps, predators, the act of animals humping each other and birth, and the ravers dream of how the Earth was made??? The worst part was that it was clear that these images were meant to pad out the film, with no unifying theme whatsoever. They were used as a sort of analogy; the predator scene was interspersed with scenes of S.Jo being captured by Koreans, the animal sex interspersed with Freeman's lecture.... Why do we need to see this, Besson? It's clear what the scenes are, so stop cutting in and out!!!
    Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2015
    3
    Some cool visuals, other than that not much good to say. The main character, Lucy, basically becomes a god and if it wasn't for the fact thatSome cool visuals, other than that not much good to say. The main character, Lucy, basically becomes a god and if it wasn't for the fact that there wouldn't be much of a story or a movie if she actually dealt with all the challenges they faced head-on (which she definitely could have done) she probably would have if this were real. I dislike the false science about the brain, but I know it couldn't be helped because that false science is the foundation upon which the entire movie stands.

    As an aside, before I learned about what this movie was about, I honestly thought this was a live-action take on the anime show Lucy, which it has some similarities to.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2015
    0
    Stupid stupid stupid movie. Horrible representation of neuroscience and supporting the myth of only using 10% of your brain. This movie is aStupid stupid stupid movie. Horrible representation of neuroscience and supporting the myth of only using 10% of your brain. This movie is a lot like Ghost dad, it makes up any crap it wants and it will be legit because it runs on the excuse that nobody knows a thing about it. The human brain uses 100% as every brain scan has told us ever, maybe a percent is used consciously, but if a person were to control all of the subconscious functions of the brain they would surely die from having to process every bit of data taken in by the body manually. What is truly insulting is the extent they stretch that myth, saying that they can control matter with a whim? What in the hell did they smoke? Who in their right mind felt truly satisfied by this fairy tale that spat on everyone's intellect? Expand

See all 180 User Reviews