Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 21, 2010
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 123 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
28
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JPTCMay 21, 2010
One of the lamest skits on what is now one of the lamest shows on television. It is sickening to see what SNL has become.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
EddieMay 21, 2010
I have seen literally 100's of movies, and this was by far the worst movie that I have ever seen. Was this movie written and directed by a bunch of junior high kids or what? The movie tries to be funny, but the only joke is on the I have seen literally 100's of movies, and this was by far the worst movie that I have ever seen. Was this movie written and directed by a bunch of junior high kids or what? The movie tries to be funny, but the only joke is on the people who bought tickets to this disaster. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
EvanQMay 21, 2010
I actually MADE my wife go see this thinking that, ok, it's stupid, but I have a good sense of humor and it'll be dumb, but funny. Seriously though, it's hard to find anything good about this. I was thinking more about why I actually MADE my wife go see this thinking that, ok, it's stupid, but I have a good sense of humor and it'll be dumb, but funny. Seriously though, it's hard to find anything good about this. I was thinking more about why Will Forte thinks it's funny to constantly make 'sucking dick' and 'ass hole' jokes. It's just not funny. I wanted it to be funny but it was honestly just boring. Think SNL, but instead of commercial breaks and a change of scene, it's the same long boring sketch for 2 hours. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
dbMay 23, 2010
Avoid at all costs!!! The fact that the humor is juvenile does not a comedy make. There is simply no excuse for this adolescent drivel. And I'm a huge Howard Stern fan for god sakes. I get juvenile. I'm a huge fan of "potty" humor. Avoid at all costs!!! The fact that the humor is juvenile does not a comedy make. There is simply no excuse for this adolescent drivel. And I'm a huge Howard Stern fan for god sakes. I get juvenile. I'm a huge fan of "potty" humor. But this "film" couldn't find funny with a map. Everything, and I mean everything, every attempt at being funny falls flat with a thundering thud. It hurts me all the more because I was really looking forward to this effort. SNL hasn't had a cast this good in decades and the show rocks. But this poor excuse for a comedy sets them back about five years. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
AdamCMay 24, 2010
I love a smart funny movie as much as anyone. I'm a big fan of the American Pie series, South Park, and just about anything Judd Apatow puts out. But MacGruber, try as it might to use crudeness to garner laughs, just falls flat. Fans of I love a smart funny movie as much as anyone. I'm a big fan of the American Pie series, South Park, and just about anything Judd Apatow puts out. But MacGruber, try as it might to use crudeness to garner laughs, just falls flat. Fans of other crazy crude films like The Hangover need look elsewhere for their laughs. Heck, Hot Tub Time Machine was a better movie than MacGruber! To sum it up, I believe Lorne Michaels once told the SNL cast that their audience responds best to ensemble skits. This attempt to push Will Forte to the front is a major misstep. Even the devilishly delightful Kirsten Wiig is unable to salvage this stinker. And for Jimmy Fallon who said this movie was so funny while interviewing Will Forte the other night, man, I respect your loyalty to the SNL brand, but come on, really? Really, Jimmy, really? Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JeffF.May 24, 2010
I walked out at the 40 min mark. Excruciating. I doubt this would work as a 5 min scetch on SNL.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DevinS.May 24, 2010
Ridiculously unfunny. This movie reminded me of watching those kids in high school that thought everything they said was really funny but nobody really thought they were. I wanted to find this movie funny, I really did. But in the end, my Ridiculously unfunny. This movie reminded me of watching those kids in high school that thought everything they said was really funny but nobody really thought they were. I wanted to find this movie funny, I really did. But in the end, my free ticket to the sneak preview just ended up being a waste of an hour and a half of my life. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DrTonyOct 3, 2010
This movie is simply junk. For the millions they spent making this, couldn't the producers get a decent script, some funny jokes? And they wonder why movie studios are losing money.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
DarkCriticNov 2, 2010
This movie so terrible that I couldn't stand of this character is acting like a jerk,jackass,and retarded! This is the worst spinoff that it's based on the SNL and it's nothing interesting about him. I couldn't even laugh this movie to theThis movie so terrible that I couldn't stand of this character is acting like a jerk,jackass,and retarded! This is the worst spinoff that it's based on the SNL and it's nothing interesting about him. I couldn't even laugh this movie to the beginning and to the end. The jokes are so lame,the characters are so stupid,the story is a mess,the plot makes no sense about the character and they couldn't explain about him,it's just a based on the the character that he did shorts in SNL that's all they got. And how so STUPID that this movie is completely dumb that the viewers are enjoying this movie that is nothing to offer! Those viewers are idiots and that's fine like that! The critics are SO STUPID! Hey viewers,SHUT THE F@#$K UP,NO ONE CARES ABOUT HOW YOUR REVIEWING ARE,GO ENJOY IN THE WATER SLIDE FOR STUPID MOVIE! Collapse
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
rabidwildbeastNov 19, 2010
I was honestly stunned at how bad this movie was, considering how funny the SNL cast members are in general. This was one of the worst comedies I've seen in a long time, I'd place it in the same group as those horrible _____ Movie. Yes, thatI was honestly stunned at how bad this movie was, considering how funny the SNL cast members are in general. This was one of the worst comedies I've seen in a long time, I'd place it in the same group as those horrible _____ Movie. Yes, that bad. I laughed maybe twice in the entire movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
ydnar4Aug 10, 2015
Some people may see it as a guilty pleasure but I wouldn't consider MacGruber that. It tries so hard to be funny and it can't even do that. I don't think Will Forte's humour is for everyone so that is hy I didn't care for it. The misfiredSome people may see it as a guilty pleasure but I wouldn't consider MacGruber that. It tries so hard to be funny and it can't even do that. I don't think Will Forte's humour is for everyone so that is hy I didn't care for it. The misfired jokes are almost non-stop and it gets to be so lame. Val Kilmer definitely the best part of this movie playing the villain. MacGruber is nothing more than another failed Saturday Night Live film that boasts a fairly funny cast but Will Forte uses up all the screen time trying to toot his own horn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews