User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 106
  2. Negative: 27 out of 106
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamD.
    May 22, 2010
    10
    Very fun, hilarious, and exciting. Its the hangover of 2010!
  2. CalebK.
    May 22, 2010
    10
    I've never laughed so much at the movie theater. Jorme and Will have managed to create a movie that is hilarious and action-packed from start to finish. Just when I thought I'd recovered from a laughing fit this movie would hit me with another ridiculous scene and I'd be struggling to catch my breath from laughter again.
  3. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    I just love this movie. Even though the newer cast of SNL isn't as good as the mid 90's to early 00's were. Still this movie makes me laugh. If you love mindless comedy and laugh, almost, at anything - you'll love this

    Don't go see this movie if you like to watch some crappy movie about a little boy who plays piano and want's to be a ballet dancer. Go home and suck your thumb.
  4. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Haters wanna hate. Lovers wanna love. I dont even want, none of the above. I want to piss on you. Yes I do. Ill piss on you. Ill pee on you. Drip-drip-drip.
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Some people hate it, some people love it. Macgruber is a kind of movie which has such immature and idiotic humor cause it to be a large success. Going into this, i thought it was going to suck, i came out realizing how wrong i had been. Iv'e seen Macgruber 4 times and i still laugh at the jokes
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    **** amazing, gold. Immature,yes. But hey we all need a bit of it. Sex scenes with ghosts, couldn't ask for much more. Oh wait, yes there was more, including an 'A-team" being blown to pieces by home made dynamite
  7. JacobW.
    May 22, 2010
    9
    This movie made the hangover look terrible, not that it didn't already. Honestly though, MacGruber had me laughing so hard that I couldn't breathe at some parts. I'd totally recommend this.
  8. RicoS.
    May 22, 2010
    9
    You can never accept something if you are closed minded. So when you go to see MacGruber, be open minded, expect a shallow plot, and don't expect witty comedy because you are going to get dumb yet very very funny comedy. Most comedy movies still have a meaning or a moral to the story meaning there will be many dramatic moments. MacGruber is only 100% funny moments, no drama what so You can never accept something if you are closed minded. So when you go to see MacGruber, be open minded, expect a shallow plot, and don't expect witty comedy because you are going to get dumb yet very very funny comedy. Most comedy movies still have a meaning or a moral to the story meaning there will be many dramatic moments. MacGruber is only 100% funny moments, no drama what so ever! That is what sells the movie. Every sentence has a joke in it. And believe me when I say you have never seen anything funnier than the sex scene with Mac and Viki St. Elmo. Most movies that recycle old jokes have it end up not very funny after a while. In MacGruber they expand on an old joke and make it funnier each time they mention it (You will know what I mean when you see the license plate scenes) All in all MacGruber will have you gasping for breath after every sentence. Everybody in the theater, teens to adults, men and women, were dying laughing. So go see it, be open minded, and you will probably say "wow I can't believe that was actually funny!" Expand
  9. MikeD.
    May 23, 2010
    9
    The entire theatre, though only half full, managed to laugh harder and louder than any movie I can remember attending. Its crude, its rough, and its freaking funny. If you cant handle swearing and gross jokes, then just don't go. But if you dig that kinda thing, this one will leave your abs hurting from laughter.
  10. JacobH.
    May 25, 2010
    9
    This film is the result of a dedication to comedy that is rarely seen out of today's SNL crew. This is a film that isn't just a cash-in on a marginally popular character (and it seems as if it won't be a cash-in period. Maybe on DVD...). This is a film made by people who love filmmaking. And it shows. "MacGruber" is constructed around the standard 80s action premise; a bad This film is the result of a dedication to comedy that is rarely seen out of today's SNL crew. This is a film that isn't just a cash-in on a marginally popular character (and it seems as if it won't be a cash-in period. Maybe on DVD...). This is a film made by people who love filmmaking. And it shows. "MacGruber" is constructed around the standard 80s action premise; a bad guy (in this case a wickedly funny Val Kilmer) has a bomb, and he is going to set it off. The U.S. can't stop the bad-guy without *him*; that war-hero who has long since shunned his past, instead living peacefully. But this bad-guy is connected to this war-hero personally (in this case, a murdered wife). Time for the war-hero to don the mullet one last time... And in this lies "MacGruber"'s great strength. It is knows it is stupid. When it is being immature and juvenile, it knows it is being immature and juvenile. When it is being hammy beyond comprehension, it knows it is being hammy beyond comprehension. MacGruber is the definition of self-aware. And that is rare in this genre. Expand
  11. CodyB.
    May 29, 2010
    9
    I seriously can't remember the last time I was in a theatre full of people laughing so hard CONSTANTLY! It was sooo funny. Things happened I would never allow my kids to see, nor tell them about. SO FUNNY!
  12. NateA.
    May 29, 2010
    9
    The Film MacGruber you may remember is a little 2mins SNL sketch that in the end every single time they blew up. Well i guess over there at SNL they had a little idea that they would make there little sketch into a movie and well when i heard that , I was a little edgy on the whole thing i was unsure if i wanted they to make a funny sketch into a full length feature film. So i went into The Film MacGruber you may remember is a little 2mins SNL sketch that in the end every single time they blew up. Well i guess over there at SNL they had a little idea that they would make there little sketch into a movie and well when i heard that , I was a little edgy on the whole thing i was unsure if i wanted they to make a funny sketch into a full length feature film. So i went into this film with very low expectations so maybe thats why i found this ridiculous, and very very funny. Your caught off guard, at many points of the movie , i found myself crying at one part and there were many more scenes after that. The movie feels very original like Hot Tub Time Machine which was Funnier than this , but original plot and i like that. This film moves at a very fast pace at some times , which i guess can be ok the reason this movie is so short because i guess they only had 30 days to make the movie. So at times i was kind of figuring if they were rushing some of the parts. Because they had such a tight schedule to work with , but honestly i couldn't tell you because i was laughing so hard! I'm shocked to as some of the material that the director got away with like with the villains name, which i don't think i can disclose any of the information into this review anyway, I felt the action mixed with the comedy was very authentic , and clever , some of the jokes it may be possible yes we have heard of that stuff before. This movie you have to pay attention to detail or your gonna miss out on a good movie at the movie theater. I was also actually surprise as to who they had to play the villain Val Kilmer. Who yes is very talented , but it was different seeing him take on this kind of character. The film starts off when this huge X5 missile is stolen after the people taking into its destination is killed. The government needs the best so who are they gonna call MacGruber the guy who makes "Life-saving devices out of household appliances. The infamous and suppose to be dead home making Bomb maker. The government needs him to bring down the man behind stealing the X5 missile or else they world as they know it could be over for good. But MacGruber is behind all of that and doesn't want to because of what happened to his wife. But soon after that he realizes that he needs to take revenge on Dieter the man who killed his wife. And he begins to really support of a team with a 100 years of combined Us Army combat. But i don't want to give away to much of the funny material in this movie. But he needs to assemble another team and thats where we meet Vicki St. Elmo the love interest of the film played with very great comedic talent which would be Kristen Wiig, and his right hand man which is Ryan Phillipe who also shows very well comedic talent in this film. The stealer of the show is really Will Forte as MacGruber i couldn't honestly seeing anyone else taking on such a great and Funny character. Its very well possible one of the best action comedies i have ever seen. But this movie i must warn you deserved its R Rating this movie was vile and Vulgar and at times unbelievable, see if that movie was not rated R then i don' know how good the film would have actually been. But yes this movie is very funny and ultimately i was shocked more than i thought i would be. I'm sure other critics are not going find this as funny as i did. Like i did say briefly this movie moves at a fast past and it maybe hard to keep with na you should just be fine. Its only 88mins which i'sent a bad running time i feel that time was perfect maybe they could have gotten some more in there but i cant believe after watching the film that it did only take 30 days to make and it with a roughly tight Budget. And i think mainly audiences will get out there and see this movie and maybe i hope make this movie profitable and help make this a very successful movie well i hope i don't know if audiences are gonna be turn away because of its strong R rating. But in the end when all is sad and done you will be extremely happy you went and saw the film, you just cant understand what I'm saying when it comes to how funny and crude and flat out disgusting this film is until you actually make the effort to go out and see this film. You will not be disappointed well and then again if you are than i'm sorry because well your sense of humor may not be into this kind of film but one thing was for sure.. i was all in! A ReviewdByNate RunTime88mins RatedR Thanks For Stoppin Buy! Expand
  13. Sep 25, 2010
    9
    "Funny from start to finish, i loved every second of this film, defiantly one of the best action comedies i have seen in a while, Will Forte does an awesome job bringing the SNL character to the Big screen. I love the Big screen feel of this film!" ... A
  14. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    I didn't expect it but it was a hilarious movie. A lot of very funny jokes and situations, funny and well played characters. Good cast and acting. Overall, a very good comedy.
  15. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    All you Hipster homos that bash movies like this really need to learn how to let go and laugh. This movie was hilarious! It's nothing like the SNL skit, so anyone using that connection didn't actually watch it. Probably the funniest movie since the greatest of them all: Tommy Boy.
  16. Sal
    May 21, 2010
    8
    I saw a preview showing in New York a few months ago. I was prepared for the worst, but came out very happy. I laughed pretty much the whole time. If you like stupid, you'll have a good time. Promise.
  17. CarlosL.
    May 24, 2010
    8
    Actually funny, just dont think too hard.
  18. KeatonJ.
    May 28, 2010
    8
    It's immature, crude, juvenile, and really darn funny. I don't remember the last time I laughed this hard in a movie. All of the humor is low-brow, but that doesn't make it unfunny. I laughed a lot, and because of that i enjoyed this flick. It pokes fun at 80's action movies while tossing potty humor at you, and if you're open-minded enough you'll be laughing It's immature, crude, juvenile, and really darn funny. I don't remember the last time I laughed this hard in a movie. All of the humor is low-brow, but that doesn't make it unfunny. I laughed a lot, and because of that i enjoyed this flick. It pokes fun at 80's action movies while tossing potty humor at you, and if you're open-minded enough you'll be laughing the entire time. If you like somewhat messed up and stupid humor, see this. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    May 31, 2010
    8
    At first it's slow, cliched, and even tasteless, but the movie eventually gets REALLY funny. Will Forte really freaks me out when his eyes and mouth are all the way open, but MacGruber is the most badass protagonist so far this year.
  20. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    The jokes are entirely hit or miss, but the misses are far less frequent. Forte and Wiig are predictably daft and hilarious, but Phillippe surprises with comedic chops not really seen before. It is over-the-top, incredibly silly, and mostly hilarious. And I laughed every time "Von Cunth" was spoken.
  21. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    I heard this movie sucked when it was out in theaters but when I saw it it exceeded my expectations. I personally thought it was funny as hell. You're either gonna really like this movie, or you have a whack sense of humor and you're gonna think it's one of the stupidest films ever.
  22. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    hahahahahahahah i love this movie for some strange reason. yes macgruber was a dick and an **** but he was funny. the movie is fun and it keeps you going. its cool. i liked it a lot. macgruber is a hit.
  23. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    I didn't have high expectations when going into this movie. I remember enjoying the Macgyver TV show as a kid. I also enjoyed the MacGruber skits on SNL. This was a really silly movie as is to be expected. The movie had some good laughs in it, that's all I really expect from a silly parody film. Was it one of the best comedies I've ever seen? -- no. Was it decently funny and entertaining? - - yes.
  24. NathanL.
    May 21, 2010
    7
    Macgruber is a film that will go as far as it can to make you laugh. It will go into your bowels with a stick of celery and then put it in it's own mouth and do a little chewing. The last movie I saw like this was the Zohan. The difference in why this works and the other didn't is in it's ability to say **** you to the ratings board and just do what it wants. That is Macgruber is a film that will go as far as it can to make you laugh. It will go into your bowels with a stick of celery and then put it in it's own mouth and do a little chewing. The last movie I saw like this was the Zohan. The difference in why this works and the other didn't is in it's ability to say **** you to the ratings board and just do what it wants. That is exactly what it does. And while much of the humor is low brow, it is so consistently funny that you do not care. Same with the story. They have kept thing s so simple here that it has no holes (other than the ones Macgruber is always talking about) and would have been difficult to have created any. This is largly because this is a film so in love with the old Stallone,Schwarzenneger, and Willis movies of the late 80's and early 90's that you have been there before and seen every twist that is coming. This would be a bad thing if the movie was taking itself seriously but, it is so very much not. So, I say that if you are a fan of old action flicks and not easily offended than this movie is right up your ***, I mean alley. Expand
  25. ChadS.
    May 24, 2010
    7
    As the numbers tick down on a nuclear warhead poised for D.C., MacGruber tells Piper(Ryan Phillippe), "I've been in this situation before, but nothing bad has ever happened," in the film's most blatantly metafictional moment, since the special operations agent alludes to the intertextual relationship between the movie and the "Saturday Night Live" sketches, which creates a As the numbers tick down on a nuclear warhead poised for D.C., MacGruber tells Piper(Ryan Phillippe), "I've been in this situation before, but nothing bad has ever happened," in the film's most blatantly metafictional moment, since the special operations agent alludes to the intertextual relationship between the movie and the "Saturday Night Live" sketches, which creates a fantasy/reality binary that delimitates life and death. Because MacGruber and his companions die on television, the snatch of self-aware dialogue implies that their death would be permanent this time, unlike the domain of sketch comedy where rejuvenation will transpire in each upcoming episode. MacGruber thinks his world is real, that he's real, while at the same he remembers his other self, his perpetual self from the world of make-believe. MacGruber is turning into Betty. This interconnection which merges fantasy and reality for the resourceful mercenary plays like an inverse of the waitress(played by Renee Zelwegger) in Neal LaBute's "Nurse Betty", as both characters become out of sorts with their respective diegeses after watching a loved one die violently. Whereas MacGruber thinks his world is authentic(as proof, the timer on the detonator he disarms has more than three wires), Betty believes that the world of television and the world she lives in is one and the same, a soap opera called "A Reason to Love". Essentially a comedy in the vein of Kevin Smith's "Cop-Out"(a tribute to eighties pop culture), "MacGruber" understands why he has to save the day. Unlike his prior incarnation as a Jesus of the idiot box, people bleed and don't come back to life, as evidenced by Casey(Maya Rudolph), who is no longer corporeal, but a ghost. On the other hand, in the LaBute film, the discharged blood of a patient that splatters all over Betty's scrubs never phases the "nurse", since on some level, despite her trance, she remembers that nothing on television is real. Both MacGruber and Betty have double-consciousnesses. Expand
  26. PrimusM
    May 23, 2010
    6
    I can honestly say that this is the worst movie I have ever enjoyed. It was nonstop. There were no depths to which they would not sink and everything they did was with full commitment. If you are already interested in seeing it, you probably wont be disappointed, but I can't really recommend the movie to anyone. The SNL skit this was based on is unfunny and tedious, but during the I can honestly say that this is the worst movie I have ever enjoyed. It was nonstop. There were no depths to which they would not sink and everything they did was with full commitment. If you are already interested in seeing it, you probably wont be disappointed, but I can't really recommend the movie to anyone. The SNL skit this was based on is unfunny and tedious, but during the movie I was never bored, and often in tears of astonishment and laughter. Expand
  27. GeneR
    May 23, 2010
    6
    This is not a movie that paces itself particularly well. 60 minutes of it's play time are kind of a mediocre bore, the other 39 are pure gross-out brilliance however. Seeing it won't be a total waste if you enjoy gross-out humor, but the long stretches in between the funny skits don't make for much of a movie.
  28. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    Silly, juvenile, sophomoric...and absolutely brilliant. How could anyone have expected more from a full-length version of a MacGruber skit?? It is a silly SNL skit, for God's sake! Gratuitous in language, violence and 80's references, the only reason not to like this movie is if you thought they shouldn't have made a movie version of it. Deal with it. They made it. And if you were aSilly, juvenile, sophomoric...and absolutely brilliant. How could anyone have expected more from a full-length version of a MacGruber skit?? It is a silly SNL skit, for God's sake! Gratuitous in language, violence and 80's references, the only reason not to like this movie is if you thought they shouldn't have made a movie version of it. Deal with it. They made it. And if you were a fan of the skit, I cannot imagine why you wouldn't have loved the film. Expand
  29. Sep 1, 2010
    4
    Consistently idiotic (that's a plus here), very rude and timely given this year's flood of 80s style dumb action movies but only sporadically funny. Kristen Wiig is great as always and the love/sex scene is worth the price of admission alone. If you like action cliches spoofs, general silliness and have 95 minutes to waste... you'll probably have some fun.
  30. Sep 15, 2010
    4
    how do you take a mildley funny 3 min sketch from SNL and make it into a 90 min movie for the big screen? the answer is you dont . atleast not a very funny one. macgruber in its sketch form is kinda funny with the way they poke fun of mcguyver and him getting blown up at the end of every sketch and the funny song but as a movie it shoulda never been done. the humor in this movie is sohow do you take a mildley funny 3 min sketch from SNL and make it into a 90 min movie for the big screen? the answer is you dont . atleast not a very funny one. macgruber in its sketch form is kinda funny with the way they poke fun of mcguyver and him getting blown up at the end of every sketch and the funny song but as a movie it shoulda never been done. the humor in this movie is so childish its rediculas . if you are in the age of 10-16 you might find this funny. i found most of it unfunny. there was a couple of funny moments where i had a good laugh but most of it was just to stupid and just had me shaking my head in disbelief that some thing could be this stupid. Expand
  31. Nov 15, 2010
    4
    Just if you have not better to do in a rainy Sunday afternoon... Few laughs, tries to have the essence of Tropic Thunder but fails. Best parts are the car stereos one
  32. CRL
    Aug 30, 2011
    4
    It's funny that Hollywood keeps trying to make SNL skits into movies. News flash: it doesn't work. Another news flash: there are only so many f-bombs one can drop, so many sex-jokes one can make, so many completely overpowered explosions one can show, before they stop being funny and just start being stupid.
  33. AdamC
    May 24, 2010
    3
    I love a smart funny movie as much as anyone. I'm a big fan of the American Pie series, South Park, and just about anything Judd Apatow puts out. But MacGruber, try as it might to use crudeness to garner laughs, just falls flat. Fans of other crazy crude films like The Hangover need look elsewhere for their laughs. Heck, Hot Tub Time Machine was a better movie than MacGruber! To sum I love a smart funny movie as much as anyone. I'm a big fan of the American Pie series, South Park, and just about anything Judd Apatow puts out. But MacGruber, try as it might to use crudeness to garner laughs, just falls flat. Fans of other crazy crude films like The Hangover need look elsewhere for their laughs. Heck, Hot Tub Time Machine was a better movie than MacGruber! To sum it up, I believe Lorne Michaels once told the SNL cast that their audience responds best to ensemble skits. This attempt to push Will Forte to the front is a major misstep. Even the devilishly delightful Kirsten Wiig is unable to salvage this stinker. And for Jimmy Fallon who said this movie was so funny while interviewing Will Forte the other night, man, I respect your loyalty to the SNL brand, but come on, really? Really, Jimmy, really? Expand
  34. db
    May 23, 2010
    1
    Avoid at all costs!!! The fact that the humor is juvenile does not a comedy make. There is simply no excuse for this adolescent drivel. And I'm a huge Howard Stern fan for god sakes. I get juvenile. I'm a huge fan of "potty" humor. But this "film" couldn't find funny with a map. Everything, and I mean everything, every attempt at being funny falls flat with a thundering Avoid at all costs!!! The fact that the humor is juvenile does not a comedy make. There is simply no excuse for this adolescent drivel. And I'm a huge Howard Stern fan for god sakes. I get juvenile. I'm a huge fan of "potty" humor. But this "film" couldn't find funny with a map. Everything, and I mean everything, every attempt at being funny falls flat with a thundering thud. It hurts me all the more because I was really looking forward to this effort. SNL hasn't had a cast this good in decades and the show rocks. But this poor excuse for a comedy sets them back about five years. Expand
  35. DevinS.
    May 24, 2010
    1
    Ridiculously unfunny. This movie reminded me of watching those kids in high school that thought everything they said was really funny but nobody really thought they were. I wanted to find this movie funny, I really did. But in the end, my free ticket to the sneak preview just ended up being a waste of an hour and a half of my life.
  36. Nov 2, 2010
    1
    This movie so terrible that I couldn't stand of this character is acting like a jerk,jackass,and retarded! This is the worst spinoff that it's based on the SNL and it's nothing interesting about him. I couldn't even laugh this movie to the beginning and to the end. The jokes are so lame,the characters are so stupid,the story is a mess,the plot makes no sense about the character and theyThis movie so terrible that I couldn't stand of this character is acting like a jerk,jackass,and retarded! This is the worst spinoff that it's based on the SNL and it's nothing interesting about him. I couldn't even laugh this movie to the beginning and to the end. The jokes are so lame,the characters are so stupid,the story is a mess,the plot makes no sense about the character and they couldn't explain about him,it's just a based on the the character that he did shorts in SNL that's all they got. And how so STUPID that this movie is completely dumb that the viewers are enjoying this movie that is nothing to offer! Those viewers are idiots and that's fine like that! The critics are SO STUPID! Hey viewers,SHUT THE F@#$K UP,NO ONE CARES ABOUT HOW YOUR REVIEWING ARE,GO ENJOY IN THE WATER SLIDE FOR STUPID MOVIE! Expand
  37. JPTC
    May 21, 2010
    0
    One of the lamest skits on what is now one of the lamest shows on television. It is sickening to see what SNL has become.
  38. Eddie
    May 21, 2010
    0
    I have seen literally 100's of movies, and this was by far the worst movie that I have ever seen. Was this movie written and directed by a bunch of junior high kids or what? The movie tries to be funny, but the only joke is on the people who bought tickets to this disaster.
  39. EvanQ
    May 21, 2010
    0
    I actually MADE my wife go see this thinking that, ok, it's stupid, but I have a good sense of humor and it'll be dumb, but funny. Seriously though, it's hard to find anything good about this. I was thinking more about why Will Forte thinks it's funny to constantly make 'sucking dick' and 'ass hole' jokes. It's just not funny. I wanted it to be I actually MADE my wife go see this thinking that, ok, it's stupid, but I have a good sense of humor and it'll be dumb, but funny. Seriously though, it's hard to find anything good about this. I was thinking more about why Will Forte thinks it's funny to constantly make 'sucking dick' and 'ass hole' jokes. It's just not funny. I wanted it to be funny but it was honestly just boring. Think SNL, but instead of commercial breaks and a change of scene, it's the same long boring sketch for 2 hours. Expand
  40. JeffF.
    May 24, 2010
    0
    I walked out at the 40 min mark. Excruciating. I doubt this would work as a 5 min scetch on SNL.
  41. Oct 3, 2010
    0
    This movie is simply junk. For the millions they spent making this, couldn't the producers get a decent script, some funny jokes? And they wonder why movie studios are losing money.
  42. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    I was honestly stunned at how bad this movie was, considering how funny the SNL cast members are in general. This was one of the worst comedies I've seen in a long time, I'd place it in the same group as those horrible _____ Movie. Yes, that bad. I laughed maybe twice in the entire movie.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    60
    Utterly disposable but diverting, MacGruber manages to spin feature-length product out of an idea that few would try expanding beyond a "Saturday Night Live" skit.
  2. 75
    How the hell can you take an SNL skit that runs 90 seconds and stretch it to a 90-minute feature? Sounds excruciating. But MacGruber breaks the jinx by putting the skit in the context of a 1980s action movie and creating its own brand of explosive lunacy.
  3. Think of a really bad, uncensored Saturday Night Live comedy sketch. Then make it worse – make it longer.