Machete

Machete Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 412 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Left for dead after clashing with notorious Mexican drug kingpin Torrez, Machete has escaped to Texas, looking to disappear and forget his tragic past. But what he finds is a web of corruption and deceit that leaves a bullet in Senator McLaughlin and Machete a wanted man. [20th Century Fox]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    88
    The movie's an unexpected end-of-summer tonic: a trash guilty pleasure with a healthy (if really violent) sense of outrage. It's also Rodriguez's freest movie yet, and possibly his best.
  2. 75
    What Machete does have -- and what saves it from itself -- is comic bloodthirst, shameless vulgarity and the determination of Rodriguez and Maniquis to wink at their audience at every moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    75
    Forget modulation, nuance or storytelling, this is a movie that hits hard from first to last, no questions asked or logic followed.
  4. 63
    Director Robert Rodriguez understands the exploitation genre and delivers everything one craves from it - over-the-top, graphic violence; scenery-chewing villains; cheesy one-liners; and plenty of naked boobs and bums.
  5. 63
    Any movie that finds a plausible reason to give Lindsay Lohan a nun's habit and a machine gun is worth your attention.
  6. 58
    It's often stylish and exciting, but the pile-up of cool kills, hot bodies, and other unprocessed bits of juvenilia doesn't add up to a good time.
  7. The whole thing is monumentally gruesome and just as monumentally cynical, a riot of grisly cliches designed to titillate and amuse.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 88
  2. Negative: 19 out of 88
  1. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    This movie is frggin awesome!!! Robert Rodriguez delivers yet another epic masterpiece!! The all star cast, including Danny Trejo, JessicaThis movie is frggin awesome!!! Robert Rodriguez delivers yet another epic masterpiece!! The all star cast, including Danny Trejo, Jessica Alba, Michelle Rodriguez, Robert de Niro, and more, is great!! The action is gory, bloody, and awesome!! The script is well written, suspenseful, and sometimes hilarious!! Don't forget the nudity!! You rock, Alba!! Overall, this movie rocks and I recommend it to action fans, Robert Rodriguez fans, guys who are in love with Jessica Alaba, and movie fans in general. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    MACHETE is one of the best movies I have ever seen I was pretty much having to hold myself back from laughing at the theater. I loved all theMACHETE is one of the best movies I have ever seen I was pretty much having to hold myself back from laughing at the theater. I loved all the characters and the storyline and music were both awesome. So far I am surprised that the major critics have not been able to get it. I hope Roger Ebert sees this film maybe we can get the 4 * rating from the best critic on the planet that this film certainly deserves Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    What a wonderful grindhouse tribute! It has all the things you love and would want, but then there is that odd little subplot with politicsWhat a wonderful grindhouse tribute! It has all the things you love and would want, but then there is that odd little subplot with politics involved. An interesting move, and let's face it- Dany Trejo is amazing and has enough of a following to get the buzz going. Shock and gore aside, there is a fun feeling all over this film, like the cast and crew had a lot of fun making it. It's a fun ride. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    The situation in the movie is a conspiracy of capitalists and political hardliners against Mexican immigration. Unfortunately, the showdown isThe situation in the movie is a conspiracy of capitalists and political hardliners against Mexican immigration. Unfortunately, the showdown is too dumb and therefore disappoints greater expectations. However, the movie is fast-paced and holds some hilarious moments. Worth watching. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    6
    This feels like two films in one. The first being the portions seen in the 'Grindhouse' trailer; explosions, sex, violence. The second a weakThis feels like two films in one. The first being the portions seen in the 'Grindhouse' trailer; explosions, sex, violence. The second a weak inner conflict between a man and his past. While this could have been good, its only so-so. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2010
    5
    If you enjoyed Planet Terror at all, then you will have fun with this movie. I do think it was way cooler and more entertaining as theIf you enjoyed Planet Terror at all, then you will have fun with this movie. I do think it was way cooler and more entertaining as the trailer on Planet Terror, because the actual movie isn't that great. Planet Terror had ridiculous action and hilarious cheap jokes. So does Machete, but it adds some crap you don't want like blind support for ILLEGAL immigration. Of course you expect a movie with the hero being mexican to sponsor ILLEGAL immigration, and to be ridiculous about it, but it goes beyond that to where it gets annoying. You can tell when something is supposed to be a joke, but whenever they make a comment about how ILLEGAL immigration is good, the tone gets quiet and serious. Towards the end you start to think "Wow, do the people involved with this movie actually believe this crap?" It was supposed to be a funny action movie about a mexican guy getting revenge, but I felt like a victim of bait and switch with all the political commentary. This is a pretty cool movie spoiled by somebody's desire to spread a false message. Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    0
    At least it was slightly better than Rodriguez' latest unbearable-to-watch flick, Predators. At some point in the life of an actor, you mustAt least it was slightly better than Rodriguez' latest unbearable-to-watch flick, Predators. At some point in the life of an actor, you must somehow say to yourself 'I am so old-looking now, nobody will take me serious anymore when I am trying to behave like an action hero'. Trejo can barely walk anymore, he has a huge pot belly, yet we are supposed to buy that he kills everyone just like that ? The whole movie was more like a parody, none of that could have happened in reality. To start out with, why wasn't he killed right in the beginning of the movie ? Nobody profited from him surviving.
    The gory effects are fun maybe a couple of times, in the end they become just boring. The last 15 minutes destroyed every credibility the flick possibly had. Shot through the head, but raised from the dead, to fight another day ?
    This is just filmmaking at its most primitive level.
    Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked

    20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked Image
    Published: June 14, 2016
    We rank 20 films featuring fictitious American presidents.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: September 20, 2013
    Catch up on this week's movie news, and watch all of the latest film trailers, including new looks at Alexander Payne's "Nebraska," the controversial "Blue Is the Warmest Color," "Machete Kills," and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: May 31, 2013
    Watch new trailers for Denis Villeneuve's "Prisoners," "Monsters University," "Machete Kills," "This Is the End," and more films, and get an update on the week's movie news.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  7. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.