Relativity Media | Release Date: September 23, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
8
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
lachaczOct 8, 2011
I am not sure why this movie is rated so low. Absolutely incredible. very moving and varying degrees of emotion. I would call this a must see! Dont be fooled by the low ratings
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Sir_BrandonOct 13, 2011
In his best performance yet, Gerard Butler plays a troubled, complex guy who leaves his life of crime for God and becomes a real life hero in Sudan. Machine Gun Preacher is violent and, at times, hard to watch, but the story is inspirationalIn his best performance yet, Gerard Butler plays a troubled, complex guy who leaves his life of crime for God and becomes a real life hero in Sudan. Machine Gun Preacher is violent and, at times, hard to watch, but the story is inspirational and puts the spotlight on an ordinary man doing extraordinary things. But he is far from subtle and chooses to use a gun to get them done. The film can certainly be upsetting, especially when you see how kids in Sudan are treated and what happens if they disobey. But no matter how gruesome some parts may be, Machine Gun Preacher only shows the audience the brutal truth and the cause that Sam Childers is fighting for.

Based on a true story and directed by Marc Forster (Monsterâ
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MrjoelvOct 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an amazing real life story. I found it inspirational how the main character "Sam Childers" changed his life from from a drug addict thug to putting his life on the line to help the orphan kids in Southern Sudan. I like his realism after his conversion. I believe the way he channeled his fearlessness from something dark into something great challenges the audience to greater potential as well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
theMKlifeMar 27, 2012
"MACHINE GUN PREACHER" - A very powerful movie. My question is: how many modern American Preachers would actually teach in support of the efforts of San Childers and how many would condemn his methods? This R-rated film is a gritty and"MACHINE GUN PREACHER" - A very powerful movie. My question is: how many modern American Preachers would actually teach in support of the efforts of San Childers and how many would condemn his methods? This R-rated film is a gritty and realistic portrayal of the unimaginable brutality still going on in the Sudan. My favorite aspect of this film was that it showed the deep flaws and humanity of Childers, his struggles, doubts and anger.

My hat is off to Relativity Media and the other production companies for their courage in bringing this movie to us. Stars Gerard Butler, Michelle Monaghan, Kathy Baker, Michael Shannon, Madeline Carroll, Souleymane Sy Savane and the rest really put it on the line here!

Too often "christian: films paint an unbelievable picture of the faith process and the way God works in this world. It would be very hard for me to imagine any American church showing this movie to its congregations, but church leaders themselves, at least, need to watch and deal with these realities. How do we reconcile God of the Old Testament with God in the New Testament? Did David have Bible study with Goliath? Was not King Saul commanded by God to wipe out nations? How does this "fit" with the Gospel of peace Jesus preached? We know "the Lord our God is one God" and that He is immutable (never-changing). The concept of Dispensations only shallowly addresses this topic. Preachers: let's hear it!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Jul 10, 2013
Machine Gun Preacher was a fantastic movie with a plot that almost felt like a modern day version of Schindler's List. Now don't get me wrong. In no way am I saying that this film was anywhere near that level. I'm just saying that some of theMachine Gun Preacher was a fantastic movie with a plot that almost felt like a modern day version of Schindler's List. Now don't get me wrong. In no way am I saying that this film was anywhere near that level. I'm just saying that some of the emotions were similar due to the similarly tragic nature of the true stories they tell. Gerard Butler leads a cast that provide great acting throughout the film and deliver on those emotions. The plot develops well and the reality of the story adds an additional layer of depth. The action sequences were a little weak and unfortunately the movie leans a little too heavily on those scenes. The constant varying perspectives makes you think and the drama is effective. I think the ending felt a bit rushed and the film lacked that climactic emotional sequence that sticks with you but overall, I think most people would really enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EriasteJul 31, 2012
The movie is amazing, on the whole. The beginning is a bit hard to bear, as it's *extremely* vulgar and painful. Although, it is an good representation of what Sam Childers' life used to be like. The accuracy of what is going on over inThe movie is amazing, on the whole. The beginning is a bit hard to bear, as it's *extremely* vulgar and painful. Although, it is an good representation of what Sam Childers' life used to be like. The accuracy of what is going on over in Africa is heart wrenching and makes you want to go over to help them yourself. And watching the development of Sam is interesting and will have you feeling for him. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheMessyMar 21, 2013
Gritty, gray life. And some red too. The movie wades from deep, murky pond to deep, murky pond. It isn't your typical formulaic, black/white entertainment where the good guys save the day and everything works out. Reality isn't like that.Gritty, gray life. And some red too. The movie wades from deep, murky pond to deep, murky pond. It isn't your typical formulaic, black/white entertainment where the good guys save the day and everything works out. Reality isn't like that. Sometimes sacrifices (even big, soul-wrenching sacrifices) have to happen. Sometimes you have to beg and plead for help from people who will never understand because they are so far removed from you. Can you imagine trying to live these two lives in the movie? I don't mean biker and Christian, or even AKs and Christian. I mean Sudan and America. One week you're with kids who are happy to have food, health, and a ball to kick and the next your wife and daughter think you don't love them if you say 'No" to a limo for the prom. I'm guessing all these talking about whether or not Gerald Butler was a good fit for the role and "white savior tropes" didn't relate to the film. Which is a shame. It is so powerful and shines a bright light on the West's spoiled, self-centered society if you're willing to look. I only wish they had used a different title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aedrone12Apr 9, 2013
I don't see how this movie is rated so low, this movie was amazing yet sad and touching at the same time. Gerald Butler was a great actor chosen for this movie. This movie is actually a true story, they are still alive to this day. It's soI don't see how this movie is rated so low, this movie was amazing yet sad and touching at the same time. Gerald Butler was a great actor chosen for this movie. This movie is actually a true story, they are still alive to this day. It's so hard to see good true movies now-a-days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
debbthatsmeAug 5, 2014
This story held me glued to the screen from the very beginning. I was touched deeply by Sam Childers' heroic efforts. At least he is trying to make a difference. It only takes a spark to get a fire burning. Bravo for Sam, who stands up forThis story held me glued to the screen from the very beginning. I was touched deeply by Sam Childers' heroic efforts. At least he is trying to make a difference. It only takes a spark to get a fire burning. Bravo for Sam, who stands up for what he believes is right. This movie definitely inspired me to think about what is really important. Saving children and helping the needy should be our primary focus, but unfortunately in our society, its all about taking care of numeral Uno. I loved this movie, and I'm proud of the fact that it is based on actual events. We need more inspiring characters and movies like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 12, 2016
Despite a competent performance from Butler, Machine Gun Preacher tackles way too much material to present a cohesive onscreen telling of the Sam Childers story.

Watch this movie here for free
Despite a competent performance from Butler, Machine Gun Preacher tackles way too much material to present a cohesive onscreen telling of the Sam Childers story.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-27fa77-Machine-Gun-Preacher-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews