User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 210
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    4
    Typical Madagascar fare. Got a few chuckles out of myself and my kids. The real problem I had with it was the very strange antagonist animal catcher lady. Weird. Did not find the movie as polished or at the same pace as the first two movies. The King Julian/Bear scenes were the best in the movie. Penguins and Julian's bunch could carry a movie easily.
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    Madagascar 3 is a mixed bag, but visuals and humor are its strong suits. The CGI is detailed; you can see each of the hairs on Vitaly, a knife throwing circus tiger. The film plays to the 3D format; there is a constant barrage of debris flying at the camera. As far as the film's humor goes, there are sight gags and slapstick comedy, as well as some clever lines here and there. ButMadagascar 3 is a mixed bag, but visuals and humor are its strong suits. The CGI is detailed; you can see each of the hairs on Vitaly, a knife throwing circus tiger. The film plays to the 3D format; there is a constant barrage of debris flying at the camera. As far as the film's humor goes, there are sight gags and slapstick comedy, as well as some clever lines here and there. But as a narrative, it's overpopulated with side characters and overstuffed with action scenes and story beats. It rushes through the story, instead of building and developing it, investing us in the characters emotionally. There is too much going on, and we don't care about any of it. Full review on my blog. Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Madagascar 3 is probably the best movie in the series so far, but still leaves some faulty holes. The film's most important characteristic, and the reason why its a worthwhile experience is that its funny. At times, really funny, but that may be its sole success. To be sincere though, the movie does open some interesting characters that have some intriguing back stories and this reallyMadagascar 3 is probably the best movie in the series so far, but still leaves some faulty holes. The film's most important characteristic, and the reason why its a worthwhile experience is that its funny. At times, really funny, but that may be its sole success. To be sincere though, the movie does open some interesting characters that have some intriguing back stories and this really opens the possibilities for future films. From this perspective it already surpasses Ice Age 4 which doesnt develop anything, but that doesnt mean Madagascar does it wonderfully. Theres a lot going on, too much craziness all in the name of humour, and visual fidelity. Literally this movie throws in 10 minutes of its life just filtering with visual spectacle. At the end of the day though, movies like Madagascar arent meant to have a lot of depth, but I feel this one managed to grow well with good characters, and most importantly the movie managed its goal of being a lot of fun. Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    6
    Madgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back from loving this film is that one part of the movie I mentioned earlier and the fact I personally was not laughing the whole time but that could be meMadgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back from loving this film is that one part of the movie I mentioned earlier and the fact I personally was not laughing the whole time but that could be me aging out of animated films. Just because I said this film was ok does not mean I hated it. I find the Madgascar films in general to be ok and not masterpieces. This film was consistent with the other ones in terms of quality and I appreciate the fact that the series maintained its quality even though it’s the third film, which in franchises is usually where things start to go sour. The characters are liked were still as funny as ever, there was a lot of ambition, and some great new characters and I appreciate the filmmakers for all of that. If like the first two ok you will probably feel more or less the same about this one. So if you do not like the previous films this one will not change your mind. While I personally still think the first one iss my favorite, but that could just be because I saw it as a kid when every movie I saw was great, this film has a enough ambition, great animation, and likeable characters to make it worth a watch for any Madagascar fan who likes to Move It! Afro Circus Style! Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    6
    Madagascar 3, una cinta animada, con una bella manufactura, pese a estos recursos y elementos visuales elegantemente constituidos a traves de la trama, se podria decir que la misma trama, se desenvoca en muchas partes de la cinta, como si la pelicula no tubiera una frecuencia lineal, o sentido por si misma. Personajes entran en la pelicula y salen de ella, de un momento a otro, inclusiveMadagascar 3, una cinta animada, con una bella manufactura, pese a estos recursos y elementos visuales elegantemente constituidos a traves de la trama, se podria decir que la misma trama, se desenvoca en muchas partes de la cinta, como si la pelicula no tubiera una frecuencia lineal, o sentido por si misma. Personajes entran en la pelicula y salen de ella, de un momento a otro, inclusive pese a estos recursos cinematograficos no muy bien administrados, la pelicula, al final, no desaira puesto que nos ha sacado una que otra risa, es una pelicula muy inconsistente, pero al final cumple con lo que promete, hacer reir, de formas extrañamente incongruentes. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    With talking animals and whatnot, it's obvious that they do not aim for absolute realism, but I feel like the amount of illogical solutions and plot holes in this movie was just-- well, a little over the top. Like someone else said, their strong suit is visuals and humor. And well, I feel like their grasp on humor has always been great, and it didn't necessarily fail me this time either.With talking animals and whatnot, it's obvious that they do not aim for absolute realism, but I feel like the amount of illogical solutions and plot holes in this movie was just-- well, a little over the top. Like someone else said, their strong suit is visuals and humor. And well, I feel like their grasp on humor has always been great, and it didn't necessarily fail me this time either. Not to mention the amount of CGI detail.

    Then, why does this lead to me rating the movie with a solid 5? Well, it was a bit over the top. They went too far with a few things and that was enough to make me change my opinion on the movie. It started out promising and it ended up in a satisfying way, but the over-all experience wasn't that satisfying. Honestly. Not to mention the unnecessary use of saturated colors and corny pop music. Really, ehh, didn't fit.

    So, it's a 5 out of 10 for me. A movie worth watching, but not as good as the other two. And again, they overdid certain things. And when I say that, I mean it. Just watch it and you'll know what I mean.
    Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    6
    Well developed characters continue their antics. I like the different European scenes. I think it was a bit too long for children to sit through, although the kids in the audience were captivated and behaved well.
  8. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    Following the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", but the payoff is worthwhile as the resulting "show" that's put on is thoroughly enjoyable to see. Don't be surprised if all you hear from children andFollowing the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", but the payoff is worthwhile as the resulting "show" that's put on is thoroughly enjoyable to see. Don't be surprised if all you hear from children and viewers coming out of the theater is how fantastic the "Circus" scene was. Kids will appreciate this movie, however if they beg to see a circus show afterwards, parents may find it difficult to explain why it won't be nearly as entertaining. Expand
  9. Dec 5, 2012
    5
    Certainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on for more serious moviegoers and the whole ordeal is rather predictable and ridiculous, but there are so many vigorous burst of color and frenetic actionCertainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on for more serious moviegoers and the whole ordeal is rather predictable and ridiculous, but there are so many vigorous burst of color and frenetic action sequences that it's hard to have a bad time. The laws of physics, reason, and overall common-sense are thrown out the window in the gags that work best. The bits that don't work are really crude and ill formed (they're mostly directed at the kids). One major complaint I had (aside from the constant, irritating repetition of 'Afro Circus') is that the writers completely threw out any reference to Alex's parents. This is probably because of the death of Bernie Mac, who voiced his dad, but they could have at least done him justice and said something about the father character. Instead, the four animals departed from Africa without any good-byes, which left a bad taste of neglect in my mouth. There is also one key moment of irony in the film where Vitaly says that 'families aren't having fun because we're going through the motions'. At times, that can apply to the movie, too, but it's for the kids more than anything. Expand
  10. Dec 9, 2012
    5
    More of the same as the other 2 films but like ice age 4, which is considerably worse, these characters need to remain in the zoo. The animation is of a high standard, but the plot is formulaic and uninspired with even the penguins failing to raise a smile. Their is some mileage to be had from the villainous French policewoman, but not enough to keep the yawns away. No more please!
  11. Jul 4, 2013
    5
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is an example of a comedy-filled production that leaves none to impress. Sure, it's got all the laughs it wants, but it's characters are only so-so now despite the penguins, and new characters aren't able to be explored to deeply. With so many different plots interacting with the main plot, I can only give this film a 5. While bearable, it certainly is"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is an example of a comedy-filled production that leaves none to impress. Sure, it's got all the laughs it wants, but it's characters are only so-so now despite the penguins, and new characters aren't able to be explored to deeply. With so many different plots interacting with the main plot, I can only give this film a 5. While bearable, it certainly is far from the best animated fare. Expand
  12. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    Funny and colorful, with little dark setting. Afro Circus is best! Detailed CGI animation is also great, and i also like that penguins who are from first movie my fave characters get bigger role! But i gived quite negative review, because they get to circus what is i think even worse for animals than ZOO! But otherwise, great!
  13. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    They were obviously running out of ideas: the story line was weak and I was bored throughout. Certainly does not live up to the standards set by its predecessors.
  14. Mar 7, 2014
    5
    madagasar is not one of my favorite animated films but i enjoyed the circus acts in this movie also chris rock as the zebra . and i didnt enjoy the dick head sacha baron cohen as a **** king
  15. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and that continues on in this film. Some new characters were added in and they didn't take away from the movie at all and fit in nicely. It is a nice idea for a third installment and at times is genuinely entertaining. The Bad: Much like the second
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and that continues on in this film. Some new characters were added in and they didn't take away from the movie at all and fit in nicely. It is a nice idea for a third installment and at times is genuinely entertaining.

    The Bad: Much like the second film, it just doesn't live up to the first. A lot of the jokes fall flat and the film tries too hard to repeat the same general idea from the first two movies. It feels very much like the second film, just with a different setting. Lastly, the villain in the film was not entertaining at all and actually took away from the movie.
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Oct 15, 2012
    80
    While it may blunder down the odd comedy cul-de-sac, Madagascar 3 is often inspired and very, very funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    Oct 1, 2012
    60
    The ghost of Tex Avery is alive and well in a frenetic sequel that does more than reheat and serve. Madagascar 4? Don't bet against it.
  3. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jun 10, 2012
    75
    Manages to surprise with a charm and wit all its own.