User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 198

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Madagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and the additional characters are hilarious. Although i wasn't a huge fan of the first two, this movie took me by surprise. It moves along at a loony tunes pace and never lets go. The climax circus scene is pure eye candy and reminds me of Elephants on Parade. Next to the Avengers, another great summer 2012 movie. Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Madagascar 3 is by far the best one yet the entire 93 minutes of the movie was very entertaining. The story was done to perfection the visual effects was spectacular and the animation was done brilliantly The creators of Madagascar did a really good job like I said before the story was very good and kept me very much entertained if Madagascar 3 was this good just imagine how good the next instalment will be. What I liked most was they kept the same actors to do the voices and this is one reason why madagascar 3 was so good.The music/songs they chose really suited the film everything was done to perfection.This movie is worthy of a solid 10 Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    Horrendous on almost all accounts. The Colorful visuals and energy of the movie (the only possible good thins about the film) may keep the attention of a 2 year old, but the humor and the characters have no appeal. Not only is the film obnoxious, but it's almost an insult to our intelligence. A movie with no thought, made as fast as possible to squeeze as much money as possible out of the dying "Madagascar" franchise I once found entertaining. The 3D is a gimmick too, providing no more than a few stupid moments of effects spewing towards the camera. Miss this one, unless you really enjoy wasting your money. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    Madagascar 3 is a mixed bag, but visuals and humor are its strong suits. The CGI is detailed; you can see each of the hairs on Vitaly, a knife throwing circus tiger. The film plays to the 3D format; there is a constant barrage of debris flying at the camera. As far as the film's humor goes, there are sight gags and slapstick comedy, as well as some clever lines here and there. But as a narrative, it's overpopulated with side characters and overstuffed with action scenes and story beats. It rushes through the story, instead of building and developing it, investing us in the characters emotionally. There is too much going on, and we don't care about any of it. Full review on my blog. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Again, one of my favorite animated sagas return to the big screen, and I need say: AMAZING!!. Madagascar 3 is the best movie of the saga, and again the critics have a mistake. The animation on this new Dreamworks movie is fantastic, and the 3D a big sorprise. The story is funny in all the moments, have an interesting parts, and the better is that close in a perfect mode the story of the madagasca movies. Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted is funny. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2012
    4
    Typical Madagascar fare. Got a few chuckles out of myself and my kids. The real problem I had with it was the very strange antagonist animal catcher lady. Weird. Did not find the movie as polished or at the same pace as the first two movies. The King Julian/Bear scenes were the best in the movie. Penguins and Julian's bunch could carry a movie easily.
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm really surprised at all of the positive reviews on this. I don't make it to a lot of movies, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a while. I thought the first Madagascar was decent, but didn't see the second one. Two big issues with this version: the ridiculous plot and the message it seems to be sending.

    The plot: lots of impossibilities, and they didn't seem to have any purpose rather than the animators thought these additions were amusing. The woman police officer could have been a great character, but the whole breaking through walls invincibility made her whole persona pointless and without substance. The climax of the film gave the clearest indication of this terrible plot. They basically gave up trying to show the acrobatics of Alex and Gia, instead resorting to flashes of color and flips through an endless space of black. Again, totally without substance and potentially without much effort on their part either.

    The message: The film has a group of animals first wanting to leave nature for the zoo, and then deciding instead to be in the circus. Sure it's a circus that they are directing themselves, but this was only used as a motivational piece. The circus and the zoo, two places where animals have been badly mistreated, and here's a kids movie suggesting that animals love both. There was some realization about being in the zoo by Alex, and I get the references to freedom and doing things their own way, but again this still related just to the circus. A great kids movie? I almost can't believe it.

    To those reviewers who say it's almost an insult to the viewer - I completely agree. We should be demanding a better movie than this. Instead it's been, 'O look, pretty colors.'
    Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    Madagascar 3 is probably the best movie in the series so far, but still leaves some faulty holes. The film's most important characteristic, and the reason why its a worthwhile experience is that its funny. At times, really funny, but that may be its sole success. To be sincere though, the movie does open some interesting characters that have some intriguing back stories and this really opens the possibilities for future films. From this perspective it already surpasses Ice Age 4 which doesnt develop anything, but that doesnt mean Madagascar does it wonderfully. Theres a lot going on, too much craziness all in the name of humour, and visual fidelity. Literally this movie throws in 10 minutes of its life just filtering with visual spectacle. At the end of the day though, movies like Madagascar arent meant to have a lot of depth, but I feel this one managed to grow well with good characters, and most importantly the movie managed its goal of being a lot of fun. Expand
  9. May 20, 2013
    6
    Madgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back from loving this film is that one part of the movie I mentioned earlier and the fact I personally was not laughing the whole time but that could be me aging out of animated films. Just because I said this film was ok does not mean I hated it. I find the Madgascar films in general to be ok and not masterpieces. This film was consistent with the other ones in terms of quality and I appreciate the fact that the series maintained its quality even though it’s the third film, which in franchises is usually where things start to go sour. The characters are liked were still as funny as ever, there was a lot of ambition, and some great new characters and I appreciate the filmmakers for all of that. If like the first two ok you will probably feel more or less the same about this one. So if you do not like the previous films this one will not change your mind. While I personally still think the first one iss my favorite, but that could just be because I saw it as a kid when every movie I saw was great, this film has a enough ambition, great animation, and likeable characters to make it worth a watch for any Madagascar fan who likes to Move It! Afro Circus Style! Expand
  10. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    I seldom laugh out loud whilst watching a film, but this one easily passed the ‘6 laugh test’. There are some delightfully funny sight gags and some really subtle dialogue that, I’m guessing, was deliberately put in for the adults. All of the performances were great, as far as voice-only performances can be. The stand-out for me was Francis McDormand; she really got into the part! It’s a film that was never going to win any awards, but, you know, it did exactly what it was meant to do, and that’s entertain. Aside from a couple of annoying musical numbers (which are probably featured in the trailer) I found it quite a surprising delight. Definitely recommended for both young and old alike.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 7.9/10
    Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2013
    7
    The first two parts were very disappointing to me, so i watched this movie with very low expectations. To my surprise, i found this installment so much better than its predecessors in every way. Visuals. Humor. Story. Everything. I'm really glad i checked it out.
  12. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Don't get me wrong, Madagascar 3 is not really good as the rating I gave. Even with its uneven pacing, Madagascar 3 is fresh, dazzling and ridiculously fun, the best on franchise entry.
  13. Jul 3, 2012
    3
    Absolutely the worst of the series. Bad jokes through out, and the animators chickened out on the best scenes for 3-d. Replacing the possibility for some cool playfulness during the circus scenes with neon rings and splashes of color in a floating no gravity environment. After suffering through the story for 2/3 of the film I was hoping for some visually stunning work. Only to be disappointed that they took the easy way out. Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2012
    6
    Madagascar 3, una cinta animada, con una bella manufactura, pese a estos recursos y elementos visuales elegantemente constituidos a traves de la trama, se podria decir que la misma trama, se desenvoca en muchas partes de la cinta, como si la pelicula no tubiera una frecuencia lineal, o sentido por si misma. Personajes entran en la pelicula y salen de ella, de un momento a otro, inclusive pese a estos recursos cinematograficos no muy bien administrados, la pelicula, al final, no desaira puesto que nos ha sacado una que otra risa, es una pelicula muy inconsistente, pero al final cumple con lo que promete, hacer reir, de formas extrañamente incongruentes. Expand
  15. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    Madagascar 3. A fast paced, over the top, hilarious animated comedy. Watching this movie almost made me feel like my head was going to explode. With so much going on all at once and not being able to process or think of what's actually happening at times, along with making you laugh non-stop can really give you a head ace by the end of this wild ride. Is it anything like the first two? Not really. Is it crazy and over the top for an animated movie? Yes. Is is funny? Definitely. Madagascar 3 is a winner for a summer hit. Take the kids, they'll be more then happy that you did. Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Can't believe I enjoyed this movie. the traillers didn't look promising. Best Madagascar than the first two combined. Well casted, great plot and humour is hilarious without having to reference pop-culture (Dreamworks are learning from their mistakes judging by their last three films before this). The Animation is stunning. Once again Sacha Baron Cohen steals the show as King Julian, That man can do no wrong. If you felt burned by what Pixar and Blue Sky had to offer this year. Then I suggest you watch this. Expand
  17. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    With talking animals and whatnot, it's obvious that they do not aim for absolute realism, but I feel like the amount of illogical solutions and plot holes in this movie was just-- well, a little over the top. Like someone else said, their strong suit is visuals and humor. And well, I feel like their grasp on humor has always been great, and it didn't necessarily fail me this time either. Not to mention the amount of CGI detail.

    Then, why does this lead to me rating the movie with a solid 5? Well, it was a bit over the top. They went too far with a few things and that was enough to make me change my opinion on the movie. It started out promising and it ended up in a satisfying way, but the over-all experience wasn't that satisfying. Honestly. Not to mention the unnecessary use of saturated colors and corny pop music. Really, ehh, didn't fit.

    So, it's a 5 out of 10 for me. A movie worth watching, but not as good as the other two. And again, they overdid certain things. And when I say that, I mean it. Just watch it and you'll know what I mean.
    Collapse
  18. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    I can't believe I am saying it, but Dreamworks has finally exceeded Pixar. While Pixar tries its hardest to emulate the Dreamworks formula, the studio itself has managed to perfect the formula it's done for a long time now. The first Madagascar was scatter shot, the second one was better, but the third one ranks with Kung Fu Panda as one of their best. Funny, moving, and well animated, it has a great theme for kids everywhere, that whilst has been done to death but done so well here. Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    Madagascar 3 is tame, kid-friendly and pretty amusing. However its impossible to break the feeling that its very cut-standard kids fare and has very little entertainment value for any watching parents. Not a bad film, but very predictable Hollywood fare.
  20. Jun 14, 2012
    6
    Well developed characters continue their antics. I like the different European scenes. I think it was a bit too long for children to sit through, although the kids in the audience were captivated and behaved well.
  21. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    Madagascar 3 is probably the most colourful, bright and energetic film you will see this year. Freshened up with additional characters, the writing is funny for both children and adults, although slightly uneven throughout the film.

    Most of the laughs come from Stefano the sea lion, King Julien or the penguins rather than the main characters, the voices of which can become borderline
    irritating after hearing them in three films. The writing makes homages to plenty of other films, my favourite being the banana gun fired from the plane, which shot in slow-motion as with many stylish action sequences, had banana skins flying out and building up rather than shell casings. The nationalities represented by the new characters of the circus, specifically Eastern Europe and Italy, are shamelessly stereotyped. Although I don't take issue with it, on the contrary the Italian sea lion (voiced by Martin Short) was the funniest character in my view, it is lazy writing to rely on these stereotypes so heavily.

    The sequence from the film's start to the end of the chase through Monte Carlo, along parts of the F1 circuit no less, was a brilliant and the highlight of the film. It's unfortunate that this was the first twenty minutes.

    Colourful, energetic and often funny third outing for the popular franchise
    Expand
  22. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    Without a doubt, it's the best so far. It's so cheerful, frenzy and I had a lot of fun with it. The beginning was a bit "ehh", but from 20 minutes onward, it was great. If you enjoyed the first two, this one is a necessity.
  23. Jul 28, 2012
    7
    Honestly This Is A Childrens Movie! Its A 7 Nothing Special..
    Yes This Is The Weakest In The Series Sadly But Not Bad!
    Voice Cast In Amazing!
  24. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    Following the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", but the payoff is worthwhile as the resulting "show" that's put on is thoroughly enjoyable to see. Don't be surprised if all you hear from children and viewers coming out of the theater is how fantastic the "Circus" scene was. Kids will appreciate this movie, however if they beg to see a circus show afterwards, parents may find it difficult to explain why it won't be nearly as entertaining. Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is a good movie, and the animation was great. I would really like to see DreamWorks make more movies like this. :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
  26. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    This is a very enjoyable film for the entire family. Although a proper critic may pick on plot points and lack of "mature" humor, I have not met a child who didn't enjoy it immensely.
  27. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    The best of the 3. I loved this movie! It is definitely one of my favorite movies of the year. I must say it has been a great year for movies so far. We've gotten so many good films to come out. Also, there's been a lot of really funny movies to come out including my personal favorite comedy of the year so far Project X. Madagascar 3 is probably the second funniest movie I have seen all year. I was cracking up the whole time and was almost out of breath for laughing so hard at times. The scene that I laughed so hard with was the Polka-dot Afro scene. That part was HILARIOUS! I'm a big fan of the Madagascar movies and I'm sure those who are not big fans will even enjoy it. Bring on another one. I am ready for it. Expand
  28. Dec 5, 2012
    5
    Certainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on for more serious moviegoers and the whole ordeal is rather predictable and ridiculous, but there are so many vigorous burst of color and frenetic action sequences that it's hard to have a bad time. The laws of physics, reason, and overall common-sense are thrown out the window in the gags that work best. The bits that don't work are really crude and ill formed (they're mostly directed at the kids). One major complaint I had (aside from the constant, irritating repetition of 'Afro Circus') is that the writers completely threw out any reference to Alex's parents. This is probably because of the death of Bernie Mac, who voiced his dad, but they could have at least done him justice and said something about the father character. Instead, the four animals departed from Africa without any good-byes, which left a bad taste of neglect in my mouth. There is also one key moment of irony in the film where Vitaly says that 'families aren't having fun because we're going through the motions'. At times, that can apply to the movie, too, but it's for the kids more than anything. Expand
  29. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    No doubt it is by far the best of the Madagascar series. However, it is still a fun family movie nevertheless. I feel most critics and users review and score this movie very seriously without looking at the fact that it is not meant to win awards or score points with critics. It is made for family's, for parents to take their kids to see so everyone can enjoy and laugh. Sure it is not a superb movie, but it delivers what it promises; Laughter and good old family summer fun. Anyone that scores or reviews this game on anything more than that I think needs to kick back and try to relax. Expand
  30. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Great movie. A great comedy as well. I love the story. Great movie for the whole family. I recommend it for everyone. And the scenes with animal control was truly very funny. I cracked up at a lot of scenes. Overall, great movie, and no work is needed, it was truly amazing.
  31. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    I liked it. I couldnt remember the first and second movies well enough to compare it to this one, but again, I liked this movie. There were a couple of good humor, although this movie is atrocious in terms of character development and follows through a string of generic animated movies.
  32. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    The best movie of the saga.
  33. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Madagascar 2 was bit boring, but this is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  34. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    I like the series, but nothing special about it. Not the most epic animation series. I do like the characters and the actors that play them, the animals seem to match them in a strange way lol
  35. Dec 9, 2012
    5
    More of the same as the other 2 films but like ice age 4, which is considerably worse, these characters need to remain in the zoo. The animation is of a high standard, but the plot is formulaic and uninspired with even the penguins failing to raise a smile. Their is some mileage to be had from the villainous French policewoman, but not enough to keep the yawns away. No more please!
  36. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    The critics need glasses, Madagascar 3 is excellent and has lots of comedy throughout it making look like a Saturday afternoon kids movie. This involves the first kids movie set in Monte Carlo and the circus scenes are breath-takingly beautiful. And Katy Perry singing Fireworks makes it like this is a superb movie. To the negative raters: YOU ARE BLIND :D!
  37. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the best of the Madagascar series. This movie has great visuals especially after the first hour. The movie left of where the second one ended. Alex, Marty, Gloria and Melvin decide to go the penguins instead of the penguins going to them. The villain is better than the past villains and the songs are more of a pop sort of soundtrack. The only lagging parts of the movie are the cliches especially the liar reviewed cliche. Over all it's a stunning visual movie over all one of Dreamworks' finest accomplishments. Expand
  38. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    I like that movie. "Madagascar 3" is one of my best favorite movies I ever liked and watched whatever I like. Give "Madagascar 3" a two thumbs up. It is awesome.
  39. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Madagascar 3 is the best of the series. It has more action, jokes that make you laugh out loud, and an interesting storyline. The graphics are stunning, especially in when they are performing in the circus. I watched this with my dad and he loved it even more then the children! To those who didn't like the movie, shame on you.
  40. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    These are one of the few animated films I would think 10/10. All of what was done was brilliant, 93 minutes of fun, I was glad to see this on the big screen. For all of those who hated it, why?!?
  41. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    What's up with the bad reviews? 6.5 is hardly what this movie deserves, I found it witty, cute and fun. What more can you possibly want from a family film? (I also really liked the voice acting, David Schwimmer and Chris Rock were epic)
  42. Jul 4, 2013
    5
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is an example of a comedy-filled production that leaves none to impress. Sure, it's got all the laughs it wants, but it's characters are only so-so now despite the penguins, and new characters aren't able to be explored to deeply. With so many different plots interacting with the main plot, I can only give this film a 5. While bearable, it certainly is far from the best animated fare. Expand
  43. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    Funny and colorful, with little dark setting. Afro Circus is best! Detailed CGI animation is also great, and i also like that penguins who are from first movie my fave characters get bigger role! But i gived quite negative review, because they get to circus what is i think even worse for animals than ZOO! But otherwise, great!
  44. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    They were obviously running out of ideas: the story line was weak and I was bored throughout. Certainly does not live up to the standards set by its predecessors.
  45. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Madagascar 1 was good, number 2 was better and this third one was amazing. I loved the craziness of it and its fast pacing. The dialogue is often very funny, even for an adult. The animation is superb, the voices (Swedish in my case) are very, very good. And the song number (Je ne regret rien) is one of the craziest, best and wonderfully avantgarde scenes in the often dull and conservative animation world. I could see this film over and over many times in contrast to most other films. Expand
  46. Mar 7, 2014
    5
    madagasar is not one of my favorite animated films but i enjoyed the circus acts in this movie also chris rock as the zebra . and i didnt enjoy the dick head sacha baron cohen as a **** king
  47. Oct 14, 2014
    8
    The third installment in the Madagascar series creates colorful visuals, interesting characters, and the story gets a lot more interesting. This is a series of films that just gets better and better.
  48. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and that continues on in this film. Some new characters were added in and they didn't take away from the movie at all and fit in nicely. It is a nice idea for a third installment and at times is genuinely entertaining.

    The Bad: Much like the second
    film, it just doesn't live up to the first. A lot of the jokes fall flat and the film tries too hard to repeat the same general idea from the first two movies. It feels very much like the second film, just with a different setting. Lastly, the villain in the film was not entertaining at all and actually took away from the movie. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Oct 15, 2012
    80
    While it may blunder down the odd comedy cul-de-sac, Madagascar 3 is often inspired and very, very funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    Oct 1, 2012
    60
    The ghost of Tex Avery is alive and well in a frenetic sequel that does more than reheat and serve. Madagascar 4? Don't bet against it.
  3. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jun 10, 2012
    75
    Manages to surprise with a charm and wit all its own.