User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 192

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Madagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and the additional characters are hilarious. Although i wasn't a huge fan of the first two, this movie took me by surprise. It moves along at a loony tunes pace and never lets go. The climax circus scene is pure eye candy and reminds me of Elephants on Parade. Next to the Avengers, another great summer 2012 movie. Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Madagascar 3 is by far the best one yet the entire 93 minutes of the movie was very entertaining. The story was done to perfection the visual effects was spectacular and the animation was done brilliantly The creators of Madagascar did a really good job like I said before the story was very good and kept me very much entertained if Madagascar 3 was this good just imagine how good the next instalment will be. What I liked most was they kept the same actors to do the voices and this is one reason why madagascar 3 was so good.The music/songs they chose really suited the film everything was done to perfection.This movie is worthy of a solid 10 Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Again, one of my favorite animated sagas return to the big screen, and I need say: AMAZING!!. Madagascar 3 is the best movie of the saga, and again the critics have a mistake. The animation on this new Dreamworks movie is fantastic, and the 3D a big sorprise. The story is funny in all the moments, have an interesting parts, and the better is that close in a perfect mode the story of the madagasca movies. Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted is funny. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Can't believe I enjoyed this movie. the traillers didn't look promising. Best Madagascar than the first two combined. Well casted, great plot and humour is hilarious without having to reference pop-culture (Dreamworks are learning from their mistakes judging by their last three films before this). The Animation is stunning. Once again Sacha Baron Cohen steals the show as King Julian, That man can do no wrong. If you felt burned by what Pixar and Blue Sky had to offer this year. Then I suggest you watch this. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is a good movie, and the animation was great. I would really like to see DreamWorks make more movies like this. :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    The best of the 3. I loved this movie! It is definitely one of my favorite movies of the year. I must say it has been a great year for movies so far. We've gotten so many good films to come out. Also, there's been a lot of really funny movies to come out including my personal favorite comedy of the year so far Project X. Madagascar 3 is probably the second funniest movie I have seen all year. I was cracking up the whole time and was almost out of breath for laughing so hard at times. The scene that I laughed so hard with was the Polka-dot Afro scene. That part was HILARIOUS! I'm a big fan of the Madagascar movies and I'm sure those who are not big fans will even enjoy it. Bring on another one. I am ready for it. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    Great movie. A great comedy as well. I love the story. Great movie for the whole family. I recommend it for everyone. And the scenes with animal control was truly very funny. I cracked up at a lot of scenes. Overall, great movie, and no work is needed, it was truly amazing.
  8. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Madagascar 2 was bit boring, but this is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    The critics need glasses, Madagascar 3 is excellent and has lots of comedy throughout it making look like a Saturday afternoon kids movie. This involves the first kids movie set in Monte Carlo and the circus scenes are breath-takingly beautiful. And Katy Perry singing Fireworks makes it like this is a superb movie. To the negative raters: YOU ARE BLIND :D!
  10. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    I like that movie. "Madagascar 3" is one of my best favorite movies I ever liked and watched whatever I like. Give "Madagascar 3" a two thumbs up. It is awesome.
  11. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Madagascar 3 is the best of the series. It has more action, jokes that make you laugh out loud, and an interesting storyline. The graphics are stunning, especially in when they are performing in the circus. I watched this with my dad and he loved it even more then the children! To those who didn't like the movie, shame on you.
  12. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    These are one of the few animated films I would think 10/10. All of what was done was brilliant, 93 minutes of fun, I was glad to see this on the big screen. For all of those who hated it, why?!?
  13. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    What's up with the bad reviews? 6.5 is hardly what this movie deserves, I found it witty, cute and fun. What more can you possibly want from a family film? (I also really liked the voice acting, David Schwimmer and Chris Rock were epic)
  14. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Madagascar 1 was good, number 2 was better and this third one was amazing. I loved the craziness of it and its fast pacing. The dialogue is often very funny, even for an adult. The animation is superb, the voices (Swedish in my case) are very, very good. And the song number (Je ne regret rien) is one of the craziest, best and wonderfully avantgarde scenes in the often dull and conservative animation world. I could see this film over and over many times in contrast to most other films. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Oct 15, 2012
    80
    While it may blunder down the odd comedy cul-de-sac, Madagascar 3 is often inspired and very, very funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    Oct 1, 2012
    60
    The ghost of Tex Avery is alive and well in a frenetic sequel that does more than reheat and serve. Madagascar 4? Don't bet against it.
  3. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Jun 10, 2012
    75
    Manages to surprise with a charm and wit all its own.