Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 8, 2012
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
145
Mixed:
75
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 21, 2016
It's literally the best in the franchise. Others not saying so and giving it bad reviews is pleased to go check my profile and go find my latest low score and give that a 0 on the way too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lukechristianscMar 7, 2014
madagasar is not one of my favorite animated films but i enjoyed the circus acts in this movie also chris rock as the zebra . and i didnt enjoy the dick head sacha baron cohen as a **** king
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 6, 2015
Very good movie of our favorite New Yorkers animals, now throwing on the run in Monaco , also knowing circus animals , taking into account an amazing adventure , but good not returned to New York ?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
foxgroveDec 9, 2012
More of the same as the other 2 films but like ice age 4, which is considerably worse, these characters need to remain in the zoo. The animation is of a high standard, but the plot is formulaic and uninspired with even the penguins failing toMore of the same as the other 2 films but like ice age 4, which is considerably worse, these characters need to remain in the zoo. The animation is of a high standard, but the plot is formulaic and uninspired with even the penguins failing to raise a smile. Their is some mileage to be had from the villainous French policewoman, but not enough to keep the yawns away. No more please! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobMay 20, 2013
Madgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back fromMadgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back from loving this film is that one part of the movie I mentioned earlier and the fact I personally was not laughing the whole time but that could be me aging out of animated films. Just because I said this film was ok does not mean I hated it. I find the Madgascar films in general to be ok and not masterpieces. This film was consistent with the other ones in terms of quality and I appreciate the fact that the series maintained its quality even though it’s the third film, which in franchises is usually where things start to go sour. The characters are liked were still as funny as ever, there was a lot of ambition, and some great new characters and I appreciate the filmmakers for all of that. If like the first two ok you will probably feel more or less the same about this one. So if you do not like the previous films this one will not change your mind. While I personally still think the first one iss my favorite, but that could just be because I saw it as a kid when every movie I saw was great, this film has a enough ambition, great animation, and likeable characters to make it worth a watch for any Madagascar fan who likes to Move It! Afro Circus Style! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Does make you wonder why the franchise is still called 'Madagascar' seeing as it has nothing to do with that island anymore but hey. I feel that another may be stretching the premise end of the day, they have come full circle and we've seen aDoes make you wonder why the franchise is still called 'Madagascar' seeing as it has nothing to do with that island anymore but hey. I feel that another may be stretching the premise end of the day, they have come full circle and we've seen a good array of animalistic sights from the city, native Africa, at sea and a classic circus. 'Always leave them wanting more' I believe is the well known saying, but that doesn't necessarily mean do loads more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and that continues on in this film. Some new characters were added in and they didn't take away from the
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and that continues on in this film. Some new characters were added in and they didn't take away from the movie at all and fit in nicely. It is a nice idea for a third installment and at times is genuinely entertaining.

The Bad: Much like the second film, it just doesn't live up to the first. A lot of the jokes fall flat and the film tries too hard to repeat the same general idea from the first two movies. It feels very much like the second film, just with a different setting. Lastly, the villain in the film was not entertaining at all and actually took away from the movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Without a doubt, it's the best so far. It's so cheerful, frenzy and I had a lot of fun with it. The beginning was a bit "ehh", but from 20 minutes onward, it was great. If you enjoyed the first two, this one is a necessity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
I liked it. I couldn't remember the first and second movies well enough to compare it to this one, but again, I liked this movie. There were a couple of good humour, although this movie is atrocious in terms of character development andI liked it. I couldn't remember the first and second movies well enough to compare it to this one, but again, I liked this movie. There were a couple of good humour, although this movie is atrocious in terms of character development and follows through a string of generic animated movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeNov 3, 2012
The best movie of the saga.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyJun 9, 2012
Again, one of my favorite animated sagas return to the big screen, and I need say: AMAZING!!. Madagascar 3 is the best movie of the saga, and again the critics have a mistake. The animation on this new Dreamworks movie is fantastic, and theAgain, one of my favorite animated sagas return to the big screen, and I need say: AMAZING!!. Madagascar 3 is the best movie of the saga, and again the critics have a mistake. The animation on this new Dreamworks movie is fantastic, and the 3D a big sorprise. The story is funny in all the moments, have an interesting parts, and the better is that close in a perfect mode the story of the madagasca movies. Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted is funny. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Feb 16, 2013
I like the series, but nothing special about it. Not the most epic animation series. I do like the characters and the actors that play them, the animals seem to match them in a strange way lol
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersDec 21, 2016
Some might think I'm overrating the film a bit too much, but I truly feel that "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is the best of the "Madagascar" films and it's definitely a great film. It's exciting, entertaining, well-written,Some might think I'm overrating the film a bit too much, but I truly feel that "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is the best of the "Madagascar" films and it's definitely a great film. It's exciting, entertaining, well-written, wonderfully-acted, visually stunning and pretty funny. "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" proves that sequels that outdo their predecessors and it should entertain both children and adults alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DanBurritoSep 12, 2015
I don't get why this is sometimes regarded as the best in the trilogy. It's the worst! It produces some laughs, but-don't panic-even the penguins seem to just be in it for fan appeal. They don't crack as many witty one-liners as they used toI don't get why this is sometimes regarded as the best in the trilogy. It's the worst! It produces some laughs, but-don't panic-even the penguins seem to just be in it for fan appeal. They don't crack as many witty one-liners as they used to and the ones they do aren't as LOL funny as you'd hope. At least they make up for it by being in pretty much every frame of their own movie (which is better than this). I'm not saying it was bad, but it's rather disappointing compared to the first 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaOct 8, 2012
I can't believe I am saying it, but Dreamworks has finally exceeded Pixar. While Pixar tries its hardest to emulate the Dreamworks formula, the studio itself has managed to perfect the formula it's done for a long time now. The firstI can't believe I am saying it, but Dreamworks has finally exceeded Pixar. While Pixar tries its hardest to emulate the Dreamworks formula, the studio itself has managed to perfect the formula it's done for a long time now. The first Madagascar was scatter shot, the second one was better, but the third one ranks with Kung Fu Panda as one of their best. Funny, moving, and well animated, it has a great theme for kids everywhere, that whilst has been done to death but done so well here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gameguardian21Aug 25, 2016
With this one improving over its two predecessors, Madagascar europes most wanted is a great story that actually got me to care about the characters and what was going on. Plus, there are lots of great and memorable moments with it's muchWith this one improving over its two predecessors, Madagascar europes most wanted is a great story that actually got me to care about the characters and what was going on. Plus, there are lots of great and memorable moments with it's much improved animation. Overall, this is a much more developed movie than the first two, and I would recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsJun 16, 2013
I seldom laugh out loud whilst watching a film, but this one easily passed the ‘6 laugh test’. There are some delightfully funny sight gags and some really subtle dialogue that, I’m guessing, was deliberately put in for the adults. All of theI seldom laugh out loud whilst watching a film, but this one easily passed the ‘6 laugh test’. There are some delightfully funny sight gags and some really subtle dialogue that, I’m guessing, was deliberately put in for the adults. All of the performances were great, as far as voice-only performances can be. The stand-out for me was Francis McDormand; she really got into the part! It’s a film that was never going to win any awards, but, you know, it did exactly what it was meant to do, and that’s entertain. Aside from a couple of annoying musical numbers (which are probably featured in the trailer) I found it quite a surprising delight. Definitely recommended for both young and old alike.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 7.9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorJan 29, 2015
Absolutamente o melhor da série,Super divertido até para um adulto e adolescentes,Cheio de cor de ação boas risadas uma boa viagem no mundo do circo e de Madagascar!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroJun 20, 2012
Don't get me wrong, Madagascar 3 is not really good as the rating I gave. Even with its uneven pacing, Madagascar 3 is fresh, dazzling and ridiculously fun, the best on franchise entry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJul 6, 2013
Madagascar 3 is probably the most colourful, bright and energetic film you will see this year. Freshened up with additional characters, the writing is funny for both children and adults, although slightly uneven throughout the film.

Most
Madagascar 3 is probably the most colourful, bright and energetic film you will see this year. Freshened up with additional characters, the writing is funny for both children and adults, although slightly uneven throughout the film.

Most of the laughs come from Stefano the sea lion, King Julien or the penguins rather than the main characters, the voices of which can become borderline irritating after hearing them in three films. The writing makes homages to plenty of other films, my favourite being the banana gun fired from the plane, which shot in slow-motion as with many stylish action sequences, had banana skins flying out and building up rather than shell casings. The nationalities represented by the new characters of the circus, specifically Eastern Europe and Italy, are shamelessly stereotyped. Although I don't take issue with it, on the contrary the Italian sea lion (voiced by Martin Short) was the funniest character in my view, it is lazy writing to rely on these stereotypes so heavily.

The sequence from the film's start to the end of the chase through Monte Carlo, along parts of the F1 circuit no less, was a brilliant and the highlight of the film. It's unfortunate that this was the first twenty minutes.

Colourful, energetic and often funny third outing for the popular franchise
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaSep 16, 2016
Madagascar Europe's Most Wanted has reflected the best of the three, with more action, funny situations and an entertainment for children. It's such as a memorable Dreamworks production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheDRauchDec 5, 2012
Certainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on forCertainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on for more serious moviegoers and the whole ordeal is rather predictable and ridiculous, but there are so many vigorous burst of color and frenetic action sequences that it's hard to have a bad time. The laws of physics, reason, and overall common-sense are thrown out the window in the gags that work best. The bits that don't work are really crude and ill formed (they're mostly directed at the kids). One major complaint I had (aside from the constant, irritating repetition of 'Afro Circus') is that the writers completely threw out any reference to Alex's parents. This is probably because of the death of Bernie Mac, who voiced his dad, but they could have at least done him justice and said something about the father character. Instead, the four animals departed from Africa without any good-byes, which left a bad taste of neglect in my mouth. There is also one key moment of irony in the film where Vitaly says that 'families aren't having fun because we're going through the motions'. At times, that can apply to the movie, too, but it's for the kids more than anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is an example of a comedy-filled production that leaves none to impress. Sure, it's got all the laughs it wants, but it's characters are only so-so now despite the penguins, and new characters aren't able"Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" is an example of a comedy-filled production that leaves none to impress. Sure, it's got all the laughs it wants, but it's characters are only so-so now despite the penguins, and new characters aren't able to be explored to deeply. With so many different plots interacting with the main plot, I can only give this film a 5. While bearable, it certainly is far from the best animated fare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AwesomeReviewerJun 18, 2012
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GagaForGhibliJul 28, 2012
Honestly This Is A Childrens Movie! Its A 7 Nothing Special..
Yes This Is The Weakest In The Series Sadly But Not Bad!
Voice Cast In Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Dec 9, 2015
The entire thing is a master peace,Firework (by Katy perry) is a good song to use in the movie.And I like the new character's and the old ones, everything here is a improvement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Annoymous1Jan 7, 2013
The critics need glasses, Madagascar 3 is excellent and has lots of comedy throughout it making look like a Saturday afternoon kids movie. This involves the first kids movie set in Monte Carlo and the circus scenes are breath-takinglyThe critics need glasses, Madagascar 3 is excellent and has lots of comedy throughout it making look like a Saturday afternoon kids movie. This involves the first kids movie set in Monte Carlo and the circus scenes are breath-takingly beautiful. And Katy Perry singing Fireworks makes it like this is a superb movie. To the negative raters: YOU ARE BLIND :D! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
adhamhanyAug 13, 2013
The first two parts were very disappointing to me, so i watched this movie with very low expectations. To my surprise, i found this installment so much better than its predecessors in every way. Visuals. Humor. Story. Everything. I'm reallyThe first two parts were very disappointing to me, so i watched this movie with very low expectations. To my surprise, i found this installment so much better than its predecessors in every way. Visuals. Humor. Story. Everything. I'm really glad i checked it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Delaforce828Oct 14, 2014
The third installment in the Madagascar series creates colorful visuals, interesting characters, and the story gets a lot more interesting. This is a series of films that just gets better and better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
btzneb92Aug 12, 2012
I liked it. I couldnt remember the first and second movies well enough to compare it to this one, but again, I liked this movie. There were a couple of good humor, although this movie is atrocious in terms of character development and followsI liked it. I couldnt remember the first and second movies well enough to compare it to this one, but again, I liked this movie. There were a couple of good humor, although this movie is atrocious in terms of character development and follows through a string of generic animated movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews