Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 8, 2012
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 261 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
151
Mixed:
77
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Gamer44Jan 13, 2013
Madagascar 3 is by far the best one yet the entire 93 minutes of the movie was very entertaining. The story was done to perfection the visual effects was spectacular and the animation was done brilliantly The creators of Madagascar did aMadagascar 3 is by far the best one yet the entire 93 minutes of the movie was very entertaining. The story was done to perfection the visual effects was spectacular and the animation was done brilliantly The creators of Madagascar did a really good job like I said before the story was very good and kept me very much entertained if Madagascar 3 was this good just imagine how good the next instalment will be. What I liked most was they kept the same actors to do the voices and this is one reason why madagascar 3 was so good.The music/songs they chose really suited the film everything was done to perfection.This movie is worthy of a solid 10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
crtlewJun 17, 2012
Typical Madagascar fare. Got a few chuckles out of myself and my kids. The real problem I had with it was the very strange antagonist animal catcher lady. Weird. Did not find the movie as polished or at the same pace as the first twoTypical Madagascar fare. Got a few chuckles out of myself and my kids. The real problem I had with it was the very strange antagonist animal catcher lady. Weird. Did not find the movie as polished or at the same pace as the first two movies. The King Julian/Bear scenes were the best in the movie. Penguins and Julian's bunch could carry a movie easily. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
frontpackNov 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm really surprised at all of the positive reviews on this. I don't make it to a lot of movies, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a while. I thought the first Madagascar was decent, but didn't see the second one. Two big issues with this version: the ridiculous plot and the message it seems to be sending.

The plot: lots of impossibilities, and they didn't seem to have any purpose rather than the animators thought these additions were amusing. The woman police officer could have been a great character, but the whole breaking through walls invincibility made her whole persona pointless and without substance. The climax of the film gave the clearest indication of this terrible plot. They basically gave up trying to show the acrobatics of Alex and Gia, instead resorting to flashes of color and flips through an endless space of black. Again, totally without substance and potentially without much effort on their part either.

The message: The film has a group of animals first wanting to leave nature for the zoo, and then deciding instead to be in the circus. Sure it's a circus that they are directing themselves, but this was only used as a motivational piece. The circus and the zoo, two places where animals have been badly mistreated, and here's a kids movie suggesting that animals love both. There was some realization about being in the zoo by Alex, and I get the references to freedom and doing things their own way, but again this still related just to the circus. A great kids movie? I almost can't believe it.

To those reviewers who say it's almost an insult to the viewer - I completely agree. We should be demanding a better movie than this. Instead it's been, 'O look, pretty colors.'
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kylitoJun 8, 2012
Madagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and the additional characters are hilarious. Although i wasn't a huge fan of the first two, this movie tookMadagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and the additional characters are hilarious. Although i wasn't a huge fan of the first two, this movie took me by surprise. It moves along at a loony tunes pace and never lets go. The climax circus scene is pure eye candy and reminds me of Elephants on Parade. Next to the Avengers, another great summer 2012 movie. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
wallofjericho42Jun 19, 2012
Horrendous on almost all accounts. The Colorful visuals and energy of the movie (the only possible good thins about the film) may keep the attention of a 2 year old, but the humor and the characters have no appeal. Not only is the filmHorrendous on almost all accounts. The Colorful visuals and energy of the movie (the only possible good thins about the film) may keep the attention of a 2 year old, but the humor and the characters have no appeal. Not only is the film obnoxious, but it's almost an insult to our intelligence. A movie with no thought, made as fast as possible to squeeze as much money as possible out of the dying "Madagascar" franchise I once found entertaining. The 3D is a gimmick too, providing no more than a few stupid moments of effects spewing towards the camera. Miss this one, unless you really enjoy wasting your money. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyJun 9, 2012
Again, one of my favorite animated sagas return to the big screen, and I need say: AMAZING!!. Madagascar 3 is the best movie of the saga, and again the critics have a mistake. The animation on this new Dreamworks movie is fantastic, and theAgain, one of my favorite animated sagas return to the big screen, and I need say: AMAZING!!. Madagascar 3 is the best movie of the saga, and again the critics have a mistake. The animation on this new Dreamworks movie is fantastic, and the 3D a big sorprise. The story is funny in all the moments, have an interesting parts, and the better is that close in a perfect mode the story of the madagasca movies. Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted is funny. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
DanielOnFilmJun 8, 2012
Madagascar 3 is a mixed bag, but visuals and humor are its strong suits. The CGI is detailed; you can see each of the hairs on Vitaly, a knife throwing circus tiger. The film plays to the 3D format; there is a constant barrage of debrisMadagascar 3 is a mixed bag, but visuals and humor are its strong suits. The CGI is detailed; you can see each of the hairs on Vitaly, a knife throwing circus tiger. The film plays to the 3D format; there is a constant barrage of debris flying at the camera. As far as the film's humor goes, there are sight gags and slapstick comedy, as well as some clever lines here and there. But as a narrative, it's overpopulated with side characters and overstuffed with action scenes and story beats. It rushes through the story, instead of building and developing it, investing us in the characters emotionally. There is too much going on, and we don't care about any of it. Full review on my blog. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
HeafJul 3, 2012
Absolutely the worst of the series. Bad jokes through out, and the animators chickened out on the best scenes for 3-d. Replacing the possibility for some cool playfulness during the circus scenes with neon rings and splashes of color in aAbsolutely the worst of the series. Bad jokes through out, and the animators chickened out on the best scenes for 3-d. Replacing the possibility for some cool playfulness during the circus scenes with neon rings and splashes of color in a floating no gravity environment. After suffering through the story for 2/3 of the film I was hoping for some visually stunning work. Only to be disappointed that they took the easy way out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
The_ReviewsterJun 19, 2012
This is a very enjoyable film for the entire family. Although a proper critic may pick on plot points and lack of "mature" humor, I have not met a child who didn't enjoy it immensely.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
GilbertoJul 24, 2012
Madagascar 3 is probably the best movie in the series so far, but still leaves some faulty holes. The film's most important characteristic, and the reason why its a worthwhile experience is that its funny. At times, really funny, but that mayMadagascar 3 is probably the best movie in the series so far, but still leaves some faulty holes. The film's most important characteristic, and the reason why its a worthwhile experience is that its funny. At times, really funny, but that may be its sole success. To be sincere though, the movie does open some interesting characters that have some intriguing back stories and this really opens the possibilities for future films. From this perspective it already surpasses Ice Age 4 which doesnt develop anything, but that doesnt mean Madagascar does it wonderfully. Theres a lot going on, too much craziness all in the name of humour, and visual fidelity. Literally this movie throws in 10 minutes of its life just filtering with visual spectacle. At the end of the day though, movies like Madagascar arent meant to have a lot of depth, but I feel this one managed to grow well with good characters, and most importantly the movie managed its goal of being a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobMay 20, 2013
Madgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back fromMadgascar 3 is an ok film. It has some great characters, a couple good laughs, and a lot of ambition and I appreciate it for that. The animation is great and the best of the franchise and film uses it to its advantage. What holds me back from loving this film is that one part of the movie I mentioned earlier and the fact I personally was not laughing the whole time but that could be me aging out of animated films. Just because I said this film was ok does not mean I hated it. I find the Madgascar films in general to be ok and not masterpieces. This film was consistent with the other ones in terms of quality and I appreciate the fact that the series maintained its quality even though it’s the third film, which in franchises is usually where things start to go sour. The characters are liked were still as funny as ever, there was a lot of ambition, and some great new characters and I appreciate the filmmakers for all of that. If like the first two ok you will probably feel more or less the same about this one. So if you do not like the previous films this one will not change your mind. While I personally still think the first one iss my favorite, but that could just be because I saw it as a kid when every movie I saw was great, this film has a enough ambition, great animation, and likeable characters to make it worth a watch for any Madagascar fan who likes to Move It! Afro Circus Style! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsJun 16, 2013
I seldom laugh out loud whilst watching a film, but this one easily passed the ‘6 laugh test’. There are some delightfully funny sight gags and some really subtle dialogue that, I’m guessing, was deliberately put in for the adults. All of theI seldom laugh out loud whilst watching a film, but this one easily passed the ‘6 laugh test’. There are some delightfully funny sight gags and some really subtle dialogue that, I’m guessing, was deliberately put in for the adults. All of the performances were great, as far as voice-only performances can be. The stand-out for me was Francis McDormand; she really got into the part! It’s a film that was never going to win any awards, but, you know, it did exactly what it was meant to do, and that’s entertain. Aside from a couple of annoying musical numbers (which are probably featured in the trailer) I found it quite a surprising delight. Definitely recommended for both young and old alike.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 7.9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
adhamhanyAug 13, 2013
The first two parts were very disappointing to me, so i watched this movie with very low expectations. To my surprise, i found this installment so much better than its predecessors in every way. Visuals. Humor. Story. Everything. I'm reallyThe first two parts were very disappointing to me, so i watched this movie with very low expectations. To my surprise, i found this installment so much better than its predecessors in every way. Visuals. Humor. Story. Everything. I'm really glad i checked it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroJun 20, 2012
Don't get me wrong, Madagascar 3 is not really good as the rating I gave. Even with its uneven pacing, Madagascar 3 is fresh, dazzling and ridiculously fun, the best on franchise entry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AdrianLunaJun 26, 2012
Madagascar 3, una cinta animada, con una bella manufactura, pese a estos recursos y elementos visuales elegantemente constituidos a traves de la trama, se podria decir que la misma trama, se desenvoca en muchas partes de la cinta, como si laMadagascar 3, una cinta animada, con una bella manufactura, pese a estos recursos y elementos visuales elegantemente constituidos a traves de la trama, se podria decir que la misma trama, se desenvoca en muchas partes de la cinta, como si la pelicula no tubiera una frecuencia lineal, o sentido por si misma. Personajes entran en la pelicula y salen de ella, de un momento a otro, inclusive pese a estos recursos cinematograficos no muy bien administrados, la pelicula, al final, no desaira puesto que nos ha sacado una que otra risa, es una pelicula muy inconsistente, pero al final cumple con lo que promete, hacer reir, de formas extrañamente incongruentes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
xXRenTyrellXxJun 27, 2012
Madagascar 3. A fast paced, over the top, hilarious animated comedy. Watching this movie almost made me feel like my head was going to explode. With so much going on all at once and not being able to process or think of what's actuallyMadagascar 3. A fast paced, over the top, hilarious animated comedy. Watching this movie almost made me feel like my head was going to explode. With so much going on all at once and not being able to process or think of what's actually happening at times, along with making you laugh non-stop can really give you a head ace by the end of this wild ride. Is it anything like the first two? Not really. Is it crazy and over the top for an animated movie? Yes. Is is funny? Definitely. Madagascar 3 is a winner for a summer hit. Take the kids, they'll be more then happy that you did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Tranquilbez22Sep 30, 2012
Can't believe I enjoyed this movie. the traillers didn't look promising. Best Madagascar than the first two combined. Well casted, great plot and humour is hilarious without having to reference pop-culture (Dreamworks are learning from theirCan't believe I enjoyed this movie. the traillers didn't look promising. Best Madagascar than the first two combined. Well casted, great plot and humour is hilarious without having to reference pop-culture (Dreamworks are learning from their mistakes judging by their last three films before this). The Animation is stunning. Once again Sacha Baron Cohen steals the show as King Julian, That man can do no wrong. If you felt burned by what Pixar and Blue Sky had to offer this year. Then I suggest you watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
iAGRDec 27, 2012
With talking animals and whatnot, it's obvious that they do not aim for absolute realism, but I feel like the amount of illogical solutions and plot holes in this movie was just-- well, a little over the top. Like someone else said, theirWith talking animals and whatnot, it's obvious that they do not aim for absolute realism, but I feel like the amount of illogical solutions and plot holes in this movie was just-- well, a little over the top. Like someone else said, their strong suit is visuals and humor. And well, I feel like their grasp on humor has always been great, and it didn't necessarily fail me this time either. Not to mention the amount of CGI detail.

Then, why does this lead to me rating the movie with a solid 5? Well, it was a bit over the top. They went too far with a few things and that was enough to make me change my opinion on the movie. It started out promising and it ended up in a satisfying way, but the over-all experience wasn't that satisfying. Honestly. Not to mention the unnecessary use of saturated colors and corny pop music. Really, ehh, didn't fit.

So, it's a 5 out of 10 for me. A movie worth watching, but not as good as the other two. And again, they overdid certain things. And when I say that, I mean it. Just watch it and you'll know what I mean.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaOct 8, 2012
I can't believe I am saying it, but Dreamworks has finally exceeded Pixar. While Pixar tries its hardest to emulate the Dreamworks formula, the studio itself has managed to perfect the formula it's done for a long time now. The firstI can't believe I am saying it, but Dreamworks has finally exceeded Pixar. While Pixar tries its hardest to emulate the Dreamworks formula, the studio itself has managed to perfect the formula it's done for a long time now. The first Madagascar was scatter shot, the second one was better, but the third one ranks with Kung Fu Panda as one of their best. Funny, moving, and well animated, it has a great theme for kids everywhere, that whilst has been done to death but done so well here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheDarkSoulNov 5, 2012
Madagascar 3 is tame, kid-friendly and pretty amusing. However its impossible to break the feeling that its very cut-standard kids fare and has very little entertainment value for any watching parents. Not a bad film, but very predictableMadagascar 3 is tame, kid-friendly and pretty amusing. However its impossible to break the feeling that its very cut-standard kids fare and has very little entertainment value for any watching parents. Not a bad film, but very predictable Hollywood fare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mschoaJun 14, 2012
Well developed characters continue their antics. I like the different European scenes. I think it was a bit too long for children to sit through, although the kids in the audience were captivated and behaved well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AwesomeReviewerJun 18, 2012
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerJul 6, 2013
Madagascar 3 is probably the most colourful, bright and energetic film you will see this year. Freshened up with additional characters, the writing is funny for both children and adults, although slightly uneven throughout the film.

Most
Madagascar 3 is probably the most colourful, bright and energetic film you will see this year. Freshened up with additional characters, the writing is funny for both children and adults, although slightly uneven throughout the film.

Most of the laughs come from Stefano the sea lion, King Julien or the penguins rather than the main characters, the voices of which can become borderline irritating after hearing them in three films. The writing makes homages to plenty of other films, my favourite being the banana gun fired from the plane, which shot in slow-motion as with many stylish action sequences, had banana skins flying out and building up rather than shell casings. The nationalities represented by the new characters of the circus, specifically Eastern Europe and Italy, are shamelessly stereotyped. Although I don't take issue with it, on the contrary the Italian sea lion (voiced by Martin Short) was the funniest character in my view, it is lazy writing to rely on these stereotypes so heavily.

The sequence from the film's start to the end of the chase through Monte Carlo, along parts of the F1 circuit no less, was a brilliant and the highlight of the film. It's unfortunate that this was the first twenty minutes.

Colourful, energetic and often funny third outing for the popular franchise
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Without a doubt, it's the best so far. It's so cheerful, frenzy and I had a lot of fun with it. The beginning was a bit "ehh", but from 20 minutes onward, it was great. If you enjoyed the first two, this one is a necessity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GagaForGhibliJul 28, 2012
Honestly This Is A Childrens Movie! Its A 7 Nothing Special..
Yes This Is The Weakest In The Series Sadly But Not Bad!
Voice Cast In Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
zendoaJun 13, 2012
Following the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", butFollowing the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", but the payoff is worthwhile as the resulting "show" that's put on is thoroughly enjoyable to see. Don't be surprised if all you hear from children and viewers coming out of the theater is how fantastic the "Circus" scene was. Kids will appreciate this movie, however if they beg to see a circus show afterwards, parents may find it difficult to explain why it won't be nearly as entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KapootisJun 19, 2012
This is a good movie, and the animation was great. I would really like to see DreamWorks make more movies like this. :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ESkaggsJun 24, 2012
The best of the 3. I loved this movie! It is definitely one of my favorite movies of the year. I must say it has been a great year for movies so far. We've gotten so many good films to come out. Also, there's been a lot of really funny moviesThe best of the 3. I loved this movie! It is definitely one of my favorite movies of the year. I must say it has been a great year for movies so far. We've gotten so many good films to come out. Also, there's been a lot of really funny movies to come out including my personal favorite comedy of the year so far Project X. Madagascar 3 is probably the second funniest movie I have seen all year. I was cracking up the whole time and was almost out of breath for laughing so hard at times. The scene that I laughed so hard with was the Polka-dot Afro scene. That part was HILARIOUS! I'm a big fan of the Madagascar movies and I'm sure those who are not big fans will even enjoy it. Bring on another one. I am ready for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheDRauchDec 5, 2012
Certainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on forCertainly the most energetic entry in the Madagascar series (so much so that it bears little resemblance to the earlier films), 'Europe's Most Wanted' delivers fairly well with crisp visuals and infectious fun. There isn't much to chew on for more serious moviegoers and the whole ordeal is rather predictable and ridiculous, but there are so many vigorous burst of color and frenetic action sequences that it's hard to have a bad time. The laws of physics, reason, and overall common-sense are thrown out the window in the gags that work best. The bits that don't work are really crude and ill formed (they're mostly directed at the kids). One major complaint I had (aside from the constant, irritating repetition of 'Afro Circus') is that the writers completely threw out any reference to Alex's parents. This is probably because of the death of Bernie Mac, who voiced his dad, but they could have at least done him justice and said something about the father character. Instead, the four animals departed from Africa without any good-byes, which left a bad taste of neglect in my mouth. There is also one key moment of irony in the film where Vitaly says that 'families aren't having fun because we're going through the motions'. At times, that can apply to the movie, too, but it's for the kids more than anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DOSHUJul 3, 2012
No doubt it is by far the best of the Madagascar series. However, it is still a fun family movie nevertheless. I feel most critics and users review and score this movie very seriously without looking at the fact that it is not meant to winNo doubt it is by far the best of the Madagascar series. However, it is still a fun family movie nevertheless. I feel most critics and users review and score this movie very seriously without looking at the fact that it is not meant to win awards or score points with critics. It is made for family's, for parents to take their kids to see so everyone can enjoy and laugh. Sure it is not a superb movie, but it delivers what it promises; Laughter and good old family summer fun. Anyone that scores or reviews this game on anything more than that I think needs to kick back and try to relax. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews