Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Gloria the Hippo, and Melman the Giraffe are still fighting to get home to their beloved Big Apple and of course, King Julien, Maurice and the Penguins are all along for the comedic adventure. Their journey takes them through Europe where they find the perfectAlex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Gloria the Hippo, and Melman the Giraffe are still fighting to get home to their beloved Big Apple and of course, King Julien, Maurice and the Penguins are all along for the comedic adventure. Their journey takes them through Europe where they find the perfect cover: a traveling circus, which they reinvent – Madagascar style. [DreamWorks Animation] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 7, 2012
    88
    It's a kid's Cirque de Soleil, for a lot less money.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    May 23, 2012
    80
    Europe's Most Wanted is so full of laughs and great characters, it's easily the best in the series. Like "Toy Story 3," the Madagascar gang just gets better with time, and this new adventure is funny, exciting and heartwarming.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Oct 15, 2012
    80
    While it may blunder down the odd comedy cul-de-sac, Madagascar 3 is often inspired and very, very funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 7, 2012
    63
    Hardly fresh, but it never stints on energy or vivid colors.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 7, 2012
    60
    Madagascar 3 has a problem: It rarely slows down enough to let us really enjoy it.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    Madagascar 3 is all about exuberant motion, cute characters and gorgeous colors. It aims for the eyes, not the heart.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 7, 2012
    20
    Madagascar 3 can't upgrade its own shtick, becoming a craven example of a fast-buck, no-fun family film.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 56
  2. Negative: 4 out of 56
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Madagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and theMadagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and the additional characters are hilarious. Although i wasn't a huge fan of the first two, this movie took me by surprise. It moves along at a loony tunes pace and never lets go. The climax circus scene is pure eye candy and reminds me of Elephants on Parade. Next to the Avengers, another great summer 2012 movie. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    These are one of the few animated films I would think 10/10. All of what was done was brilliant, 93 minutes of fun, I was glad to see this onThese are one of the few animated films I would think 10/10. All of what was done was brilliant, 93 minutes of fun, I was glad to see this on the big screen. For all of those who hated it, why?!? Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Madagascar 3 is the best of the series. It has more action, jokes that make you laugh out loud, and an interesting storyline. The graphics areMadagascar 3 is the best of the series. It has more action, jokes that make you laugh out loud, and an interesting storyline. The graphics are stunning, especially in when they are performing in the circus. I watched this with my dad and he loved it even more then the children! To those who didn't like the movie, shame on you. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    I like the series, but nothing special about it. Not the most epic animation series. I do like the characters and the actors that play them,I like the series, but nothing special about it. Not the most epic animation series. I do like the characters and the actors that play them, the animals seem to match them in a strange way lol Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and
    "Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: The series has built up some pretty nice characters and that continues on in this film. Some new characters were added in and they didn't take away from the movie at all and fit in nicely. It is a nice idea for a third installment and at times is genuinely entertaining.

    The Bad: Much like the second film, it just doesn't live up to the first. A lot of the jokes fall flat and the film tries too hard to repeat the same general idea from the first two movies. It feels very much like the second film, just with a different setting. Lastly, the villain in the film was not entertaining at all and actually took away from the movie.
    Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    Following the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office.Following the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", but the payoff is worthwhile as the resulting "show" that's put on is thoroughly enjoyable to see. Don't be surprised if all you hear from children and viewers coming out of the theater is how fantastic the "Circus" scene was. Kids will appreciate this movie, however if they beg to see a circus show afterwards, parents may find it difficult to explain why it won't be nearly as entertaining. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    This is a very enjoyable film for the entire family. Although a proper critic may pick on plot points and lack of "mature" humor, I have notThis is a very enjoyable film for the entire family. Although a proper critic may pick on plot points and lack of "mature" humor, I have not met a child who didn't enjoy it immensely. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers