Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Alex the Lion, Marty the Zebra, Gloria the Hippo, and Melman the Giraffe are still fighting to get home to their beloved Big Apple and of course, King Julien, Maurice and the Penguins are all along for the comedic adventure. Their journey takes them through Europe where they find the perfect cover: a traveling circus, which they reinvent – Madagascar style. [DreamWorks Animation] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jun 7, 2012
    88
    It's a kid's Cirque de Soleil, for a lot less money.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    May 23, 2012
    80
    Europe's Most Wanted is so full of laughs and great characters, it's easily the best in the series. Like "Toy Story 3," the Madagascar gang just gets better with time, and this new adventure is funny, exciting and heartwarming.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Oct 15, 2012
    80
    While it may blunder down the odd comedy cul-de-sac, Madagascar 3 is often inspired and very, very funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 7, 2012
    63
    Hardly fresh, but it never stints on energy or vivid colors.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 7, 2012
    60
    Madagascar 3 has a problem: It rarely slows down enough to let us really enjoy it.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    Madagascar 3 is all about exuberant motion, cute characters and gorgeous colors. It aims for the eyes, not the heart.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 7, 2012
    20
    Madagascar 3 can't upgrade its own shtick, becoming a craven example of a fast-buck, no-fun family film.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Madagascar 3: Europe's most wanted is a great family film. It has everything! The visuals are stunning, the jokes come out of nowhere, and the additional characters are hilarious. Although i wasn't a huge fan of the first two, this movie took me by surprise. It moves along at a loony tunes pace and never lets go. The climax circus scene is pure eye candy and reminds me of Elephants on Parade. Next to the Avengers, another great summer 2012 movie. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    I like that movie. "Madagascar 3" is one of my best favorite movies I ever liked and watched whatever I like. Give "Madagascar 3" a two thumbs up. It is awesome. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Madagascar 3 is the best of the series. It has more action, jokes that make you laugh out loud, and an interesting storyline. The graphics are stunning, especially in when they are performing in the circus. I watched this with my dad and he loved it even more then the children! To those who didn't like the movie, shame on you. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the best of the Madagascar series. This movie has great visuals especially after the first hour. The movie left of where the second one ended. Alex, Marty, Gloria and Melvin decide to go the penguins instead of the penguins going to them. The villain is better than the past villains and the songs are more of a pop sort of soundtrack. The only lagging parts of the movie are the cliches especially the liar reviewed cliche. Over all it's a stunning visual movie over all one of Dreamworks' finest accomplishments. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    Funny and colorful, with little dark setting. Afro Circus is best! Detailed CGI animation is also great, and i also like that penguins who are from first movie my fave characters get bigger role! But i gived quite negative review, because they get to circus what is i think even worse for animals than ZOO! But otherwise, great! Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    Following the somewhat redundant story-line from the first two films, it isn't hard to see why this film would do well at the box office. After a slow start, the film recycles a "comeback cliche" reminiscent of movies like "Bring It On", but the payoff is worthwhile as the resulting "show" that's put on is thoroughly enjoyable to see. Don't be surprised if all you hear from children and viewers coming out of the theater is how fantastic the "Circus" scene was. Kids will appreciate this movie, however if they beg to see a circus show afterwards, parents may find it difficult to explain why it won't be nearly as entertaining. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    This is a very enjoyable film for the entire family. Although a proper critic may pick on plot points and lack of "mature" humor, I have not met a child who didn't enjoy it immensely. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers