DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: May 27, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
142
Mixed:
75
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RamiW.Jun 3, 2006
the lemurs are so funny i cracked up laughing and dancing about that song so everybody stop giving this movie a low score and MOVE IT!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
MiriamMJul 20, 2005
I enjoyed the cute lemur, the penguins and the giraffe. Not so much the movie it's self. "Just smile and wave boys, smile and wave."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MadagascarbeakerJul 27, 2005
The penguins were hilarious and cute. The lemur king was also amusing, and so was Melman the the giraffe. It was, however packed with corny jokes and some of the sub-plots dragged on a bit. I won't be seeing the sequel if their is one.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FranzHcriticNov 15, 2013
A delightful ploy of city animals desperately attempting to get back home, 'Madagascar' has a sort of panache that most animation films try to have, but fail. All the animals are fun and hilarious, significantly the penguins. I don't see whyA delightful ploy of city animals desperately attempting to get back home, 'Madagascar' has a sort of panache that most animation films try to have, but fail. All the animals are fun and hilarious, significantly the penguins. I don't see why this film is an average. It's a charming spectacle. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 30, 2014
Madagascar is an okay movie, but it lacks in substance and story. Most of the movie relies on corny jokes and sight gags to get its humor, which can be hit or miss.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
thomast.May 27, 2005
A lot a fun for all, Ben Stiller is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielH.May 30, 2005
Absolute cool movie! great! Just love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DiegoD.Jun 24, 2005
It's very funny, but too short! When it ended I thought I was in the middle of the story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicJun 30, 2005
Good Movie.. The characters were funny and cute.. I really like the show.. I hope there's part 2 of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatG.Jun 5, 2005
Plot more complex than the Disney animated features. The "bad" guy is one of the "good" guys, and the morals (forgiving even a flawed friend, even good people can make mistakes, etc) are not as black and white as your average kid's Plot more complex than the Disney animated features. The "bad" guy is one of the "good" guys, and the morals (forgiving even a flawed friend, even good people can make mistakes, etc) are not as black and white as your average kid's movie. Ali-G steals a few scenes from the stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarrisonB.Jul 16, 2005
So far, the oscar winning animated feature. It is incredibly hilarious. It was a good, beginning, funny, animated movie that delivers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianS.Nov 1, 2006
Funny,Sweet and Highly Addicting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeyMay 10, 2006
I could see a fantastic movie here - until the end. It was really good start -middle but it just ended suddenly. I enjoyed the film but I would've given it a higher score if it had a better ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
mAug 6, 2006
Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mememem.Nov 1, 2005
Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
I was expecting the best animated feature film of the year, it wasn't, but it has the wit and style we look for in one. It's funny and the kids will love it. ps: the penquins are hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
joshh.May 26, 2005
This movie can be corny but other than that it is gr8 fun to watch, a nice film to watch after the brill revenge of the sith :)) make sure u go see this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HorktheGreenMay 28, 2005
Our local critic gave this a D+ rating, so I wasn't expecting much going in. However, we were in a full theatre and everyone ended up laughing their heads off (which I think always helps). There were some very funny lines in this show, Our local critic gave this a D+ rating, so I wasn't expecting much going in. However, we were in a full theatre and everyone ended up laughing their heads off (which I think always helps). There were some very funny lines in this show, and some great slapstick comedy. The penguins were hilarious. The Lemur King definitely steals the show. Worth seeing just to see that oddball character! Contains some great references to other movies/TV the kids won't get, but parents will... Planet of the Apes, Twilight Zone "To Serve Man" episode, etc... I say ignore the naysayers and get a group together and go have fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimV.May 28, 2005
Very entertaining and funny. Great animation and visuals. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanM.May 30, 2005
Not bad...not as good as Shark Tale or Nemo. My 10 year old neice said it was the best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jordanm.Jun 12, 2005
This movie was great.I loved all the animals. They all had alot of humor. They were funny especially the penguins. The one that always had his eyes crossed was especially funny. I liked the lemur especially when he goes," i like to move it This movie was great.I loved all the animals. They all had alot of humor. They were funny especially the penguins. The one that always had his eyes crossed was especially funny. I liked the lemur especially when he goes," i like to move it move it i like to MOVE IT!!!" I also liked Alex the lion and my mom liked Gloria the hippo and my sister liked the lemur and my grandma came with us and she seemed to like all of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexJun 13, 2005
Madagascar was actually pretty good. i had wanted to see it for some time, but i didn't have the highest of expectations for it. i was (thankfully) proven wrong. quite funny, especially when it came to the Lemurs singing "I Like to Move Madagascar was actually pretty good. i had wanted to see it for some time, but i didn't have the highest of expectations for it. i was (thankfully) proven wrong. quite funny, especially when it came to the Lemurs singing "I Like to Move It", and the penguins discovering antartica. i'm waiting for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelmanFanJun 2, 2005
YAY! Melman was the best ever! the whole movie was amazing but the penguins and Melman made it hilarious. David schwimmer is my hero and always will be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigT.Nov 19, 2005
One of the best movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesC.May 22, 2005
Greatest animated family movie ever! Not as good as other animated movies such as the south park movie or the upcoming simpsons movie (oops have i said too much).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanM.May 25, 2005
Great comic timing. Very funny for all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mohdh.May 25, 2005
Awesome,superb & excellent creativity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RadioLadyMay 25, 2005
Great flick! This 65-year-old grandmother (and movie reviewer) took her 4-year-old grandson to a preview on Tuesday night! I don't know who enjoyed it more -- me or him. There are all clear signs that "Madagascar" has blockbuster Great flick! This 65-year-old grandmother (and movie reviewer) took her 4-year-old grandson to a preview on Tuesday night! I don't know who enjoyed it more -- me or him. There are all clear signs that "Madagascar" has blockbuster written all over it. Hop in the SUV and come on down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mMay 26, 2005
Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jacko.May 26, 2005
Witty and hilarious. Great animation and sumptuous images. Wished the story had a more satisfying ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful