Made in Dagenham

Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Nov 18, 2010
    60
    Uplifting it may be, but to swallow it whole is to believe in happily ever after.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Nov 16, 2010
    60
    Though nothing here is as rousing as "The Pajama Game's" raise-baiting "Seven and a Half Cents," the always-welcome Miranda Richardson steals the film in a small role as Barbara Castle, Labour P.M.
  3. Reviewed by: Liz Beardsworth
    Nov 15, 2010
    60
    While the political grit behind the saga is somewhat sidelined, this is a fun watch enhanced by its stellar British cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Nov 18, 2010
    58
    Make no mistake. In spite of its worthy subject matter and good intentions, Made In Dagenham remains mediocre to the core.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 6, 2011
    50
    Made in Dagenham does a good job of capturing the period. But too often it's simply put in service to the obvious, as heard in those uplifting choruses of "You Can Get It If You Really Want."
  6. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Nov 24, 2010
    50
    Director Nigel Cole is best known for "Calendar Girls" (2003), another condescending exercise in you-go-girl uplift.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 18, 2010
    50
    Plays like "Norma Rae" on blood thinners. The movie is by no means bloodless; every once in a while a stirring scene comes along, though it's seldom a scene labeled as stirring by William Ivory's formulaic script and Nigel Cole's insistent direction.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Nov 18, 2010
    50
    Made in Dagenham offers girl power in a can, lightly seasoned with swinging London and topped with cute-clumsy Sally Hawkins charming us to pieces. But the real women of Dagenham deserve better, and so do their sisters in the audience.
  9. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Nov 17, 2010
    50
    Waving a dubious flag of feminist inclusivity, Cole and screenwriter William Ivory turn cartwheels insisting that girl power, even in the 1960s, trumped class divisions.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Sally Hawkins
  2. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    I grew up close to the Ford plant in Dagenham that dominated the local economy. So I probably have a vested interest in loving this film.I grew up close to the Ford plant in Dagenham that dominated the local economy. So I probably have a vested interest in loving this film. Actress Sally Hawkins is superb in the lead role as a young woman from a council estate who is tired of injustice and inequality and ends up leading her work mates out on a strike that had a profound global impact.
    This is revolutionary history and it all started with a couple of hundred women that changed the world. I couldn't believe how often it provoked tears in me (I'm a man by the way). I found it thoroughly engaging and entertaining and it even has a great soundtrack. Probably the most entertaining "political" film I've ever seen.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2011
    7
    I like well-made historical films, and I think this is one. It is based on the strike at the Ford Motor plant in Dagenham, England, in whichI like well-made historical films, and I think this is one. It is based on the strike at the Ford Motor plant in Dagenham, England, in which women in the plant striked for "equal pay for equal work." Although somewhat predictable, and a little hard to understand the English accents at times, I think it is definitely worth seeing. The acting is uniformly good, imo, and so is the story. Full Review »