Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Apr 27, 2011
    60
    Like most of Perry's movies, this one oscillates wildly and shamelessly between raunch and pathos, leaving plenty of room for the performers to work. The lively ensemble includes a scene-stealing Cassi Davis as pothead Aunt Bam.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 25, 2011
    60
    This time the suds outweigh the humor, and to its credit Mr. Perry's script doesn't duck tragic consequences.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Apr 26, 2011
    50
    Too lazy (and, it seems, cynical) to give his audiences any more than he thinks they want, Perry appears to have given up on making a coherent movie altogether.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 25, 2011
    50
    The movie proved to be an exasperating, fitfully enjoyable jumble of Perryana, full of insult humor, a gospel choir and, not to give too much away, plot elements borrowed from "Chinatown," "Precious," "Imitation of Life" and "Cheech and Chong's Up in Smoke" - all restitched and Tyler-made.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Apr 23, 2011
    50
    Another lumpy mix of broadly played ethnic comedy, deadly serious soap operatics, and aggressively rousing religious uplift. Picture may help him reconnect with faithful fans.
  6. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 22, 2011
    45
    As an insult comic, Madea has gone the way of her low-hanging bosom. There's little pleasure in watching her go off, and Perry's direction is reliably drab: Sitcom setups dominate, with strange blown-out lighting occasionally swapped in for the flat tones of a WB soundstage.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    I laughed my butt off through much of this movie. No, it won't win any awards, but if you don't think this is funny movie, you're taking lifeI laughed my butt off through much of this movie. No, it won't win any awards, but if you don't think this is funny movie, you're taking life a little too seriously. Madea's message of putting parents back into an effective position of authority is important. It's an excellent cast, and Tyler Perry keeps delivering. Bring on the next! Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Regardless of what people say, people know what they like. People don't let society manipulate you into liking one style of work. You are free to like whatever you choose too.

    Madea's Big Happy Family IS OFF THE CHAIN! Listen, if I can stop laughing enough, I will TRY to tell you guys about the movie. 1st of all, the movie is absolutely HILARIOUS!. I couldnâ
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    This film was not good. But It's also hard to hate. I like Madea and Tyler Perry. Shocking to say but the works of Tyler Perry areThis film was not good. But It's also hard to hate. I like Madea and Tyler Perry. Shocking to say but the works of Tyler Perry are entertaining--- Occasionally entertaining. Like I said, I don't hate it, but it isn't exactly good. Full Review »