Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Apr 22, 2011
    80
    The film is best appreciated as a showcase for the hugely popular titular character, with Perry tearing into the role with hugely entertaining comic gusto.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Apr 25, 2011
    70
    That there is little difference in tone between the end credits gag reel and the previous 100 minutes represents a triumph of consistency that Burt Reynolds, even in his heyday, never achieved.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Apr 22, 2011
    70
    So satisfying and surprisingly fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 22, 2011
    67
    While I was watching Madea's Big Happy Family, I couldn't deny that it PLAYS. Madea, as always, is a figure of towering low-down wit.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 22, 2011
    63
    Stuffed to the gills with Perry's mix of the sacred and the silly and a serious dose of self-help for the self-absorbed.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Apr 27, 2011
    60
    Like most of Perry's movies, this one oscillates wildly and shamelessly between raunch and pathos, leaving plenty of room for the performers to work. The lively ensemble includes a scene-stealing Cassi Davis as pothead Aunt Bam.
  7. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 25, 2011
    60
    This time the suds outweigh the humor, and to its credit Mr. Perry's script doesn't duck tragic consequences.
  8. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Apr 26, 2011
    50
    Too lazy (and, it seems, cynical) to give his audiences any more than he thinks they want, Perry appears to have given up on making a coherent movie altogether.
  9. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 25, 2011
    50
    The movie proved to be an exasperating, fitfully enjoyable jumble of Perryana, full of insult humor, a gospel choir and, not to give too much away, plot elements borrowed from "Chinatown," "Precious," "Imitation of Life" and "Cheech and Chong's Up in Smoke" - all restitched and Tyler-made.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Apr 23, 2011
    50
    Another lumpy mix of broadly played ethnic comedy, deadly serious soap operatics, and aggressively rousing religious uplift. Picture may help him reconnect with faithful fans.
  11. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 22, 2011
    45
    As an insult comic, Madea has gone the way of her low-hanging bosom. There's little pleasure in watching her go off, and Perry's direction is reliably drab: Sitcom setups dominate, with strange blown-out lighting occasionally swapped in for the flat tones of a WB soundstage.
  12. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Apr 22, 2011
    33
    Everything is pitched to jarring emotional extremes of good and evil, joy and pain, chitlin'-circuit broad comedy, and melodramatic speeches.
  13. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    Deathbed scenes and colonoscopy humor, Bible quotations and Maury Povich "Who Is the Real Baby Daddy" episodes: All cohabit with equal relevance in the world of Tyler Perry.
  14. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Apr 26, 2011
    20
    Epitomizing the shrill franchise's schizophrenic tonal shifts, Madea metes out Christian life lessons with one hand-and righteously bitch-slaps with the other.
  15. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 22, 2011
    20
    Perry's characters have always been drawn with broad strokes, as heroes or villains. In this case, all the villains are young women, and all the young women in this film-without exception--are monstrous.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    I laughed my butt off through much of this movie. No, it won't win any awards, but if you don't think this is funny movie, you're taking life a little too seriously. Madea's message of putting parents back into an effective position of authority is important. It's an excellent cast, and Tyler Perry keeps delivering. Bring on the next! Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Regardless of what people say, people know what they like. People don't let society manipulate you into liking one style of work. You are free to like whatever you choose too.

    Madea's Big Happy Family IS OFF THE CHAIN! Listen, if I can stop laughing enough, I will TRY to tell you guys about the movie. 1st of all, the movie is absolutely HILARIOUS!. I couldnâ
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    This film was not good. But It's also hard to hate. I like Madea and Tyler Perry. Shocking to say but the works of Tyler Perry are entertaining--- Occasionally entertaining. Like I said, I don't hate it, but it isn't exactly good. Full Review »