Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Apr 22, 2011
    80
    The film is best appreciated as a showcase for the hugely popular titular character, with Perry tearing into the role with hugely entertaining comic gusto.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Apr 25, 2011
    70
    That there is little difference in tone between the end credits gag reel and the previous 100 minutes represents a triumph of consistency that Burt Reynolds, even in his heyday, never achieved.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Apr 22, 2011
    70
    So satisfying and surprisingly fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 22, 2011
    67
    While I was watching Madea's Big Happy Family, I couldn't deny that it PLAYS. Madea, as always, is a figure of towering low-down wit.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 22, 2011
    63
    Stuffed to the gills with Perry's mix of the sacred and the silly and a serious dose of self-help for the self-absorbed.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    I laughed my butt off through much of this movie. No, it won't win any awards, but if you don't think this is funny movie, you're taking lifeI laughed my butt off through much of this movie. No, it won't win any awards, but if you don't think this is funny movie, you're taking life a little too seriously. Madea's message of putting parents back into an effective position of authority is important. It's an excellent cast, and Tyler Perry keeps delivering. Bring on the next! Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Regardless of what people say, people know what they like. People don't let society manipulate you into liking one style of work. You are free to like whatever you choose too.

    Madea's Big Happy Family IS OFF THE CHAIN! Listen, if I can stop laughing enough, I will TRY to tell you guys about the movie. 1st of all, the movie is absolutely HILARIOUS!. I couldnâ
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    This film was not good. But It's also hard to hate. I like Madea and Tyler Perry. Shocking to say but the works of Tyler Perry areThis film was not good. But It's also hard to hate. I like Madea and Tyler Perry. Shocking to say but the works of Tyler Perry are entertaining--- Occasionally entertaining. Like I said, I don't hate it, but it isn't exactly good. Full Review »