Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Jul 1, 2012
    75
    The film remains buoyed by the same open heart that makes Tyler Perry's best work so endearing.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    The interaction among opposites inspires an abundance of predictable race-based jokes, many of which have the saving grace of actually being funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    An agent of spiritual regeneration and showman, Perry's dramaturgy is as subtle as a Bible-thump, but until a logy last act that has Levy disguised as a faux-Frenchman, his instincts are on-target here.
  4. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    He's still a young guy, but all throughout Witness Protection I imagined Perry sitting glumly at a dressing-room mirror, like the aging Chaplin in "Limelight," forlornly rubbing makeup in his face - a tired, old clown stuck in a tired, old routine.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    Reviewing a Tyler Perry movie is a bit like reviewing the weather report. People who want to watch it are going to do so, regardless of what anyone says about it. And that's not even factoring in Charlie Sheen.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 29, 2012
    50
    There aren't many laughs in this vaudevillian gambit, and fewer still in the fish-out-of-water comedy of Madea hosting a rich white family that's chiefly concerned with yoga, wi-fi, and their carb intakes. Still, Perry remains a true outsider artist-nobody makes movies like his. (And please don't try.)
  7. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jun 29, 2012
    50
    Madea is starting to look a little tired.
  8. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 29, 2012
    50
    A comedy that's too late to the Ponzi-scheme party to be topical, and not outrageous enough to take advantage of its own setups.
  9. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Jul 1, 2012
    40
    How much of this is actually funny is a question of taste, but even a confirmed Perry hater might get caught laughing once or twice.
  10. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 30, 2012
    40
    While I fully support the appearance of a new Madea movie every six months, even Tyler Perry can't be bothered to take this setup seriously.
  11. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Perry's latest is crudely assembled and mostly emotionally unengaging.
  12. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Jun 29, 2012
    40
    The writer-director-star still hasn't learned to smoothly blend broad comedy and family-values sermonizing.
  13. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jun 29, 2012
    40
    With Tyler Perry gradually segueing toward non-drag leading man status with "Good Deeds" and the upcoming James Patterson thriller "Alex Cross," his latest appearance as the sassy, wisdom-dispensing matriarch of the title in Madea's Witness Protection has an aura of fatigued reluctance to it, as does the film itself.
  14. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jun 29, 2012
    30
    A spectacularly slapdash and wearingly half-hearted effort from the prolific writer-director-actor, lacking energy, structure or common sense.
  15. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 4, 2012
    20
    The film is slapdash entertainment not meant to be further contemplated after leaving the theatre.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    Madea's Witness Protection is funny and entertaining but not enough, it took itself more seriously this time, it has some really funny moments, but sometimes you will feel, not bored, but that the movie is somehow overlong and you will check your hour once or twice at least during this movie, it is clever somehow but ridiculously unbelievable, but on the brighter side, it is entertaining and has some capricious fun. Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    I can't even begin to explain how hilarious this movie is! Ive been waiting for some time for a hardcore Madea film, and this film delivers. Its non-stop laughter. I lol'd, rofl'd, lmbo and cried my eyes out! I plan on going to see this twice! Usually his films are dramatic with a side of humor but this time it was hilarious with a side of drama and it fantastic! Well-written, good actors, and a great soundtrack! Made'a back with more jokes and funnier than EVER!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    So I went to see "Madea's Witness Protection Program" today and I honestly loved the overall movie itself but there were just some points in the movie where your like "Oh my gosh, when is it gonna get to a good part" and then there are Madea's scenes that are really on point but the rest was a little ok. It was worth the money overall but I wouldnt go see it again. But I also dont wanna ruin your trip so go out and support it, I dont wanna ruin it for but thats my Honest opinion. Enjoy! Full Review »