User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    Madea's Witness Protection is funny and entertaining but not enough, it took itself more seriously this time, it has some really funny moments, but sometimes you will feel, not bored, but that the movie is somehow overlong and you will check your hour once or twice at least during this movie, it is clever somehow but ridiculously unbelievable, but on the brighter side, it is entertaining and has some capricious fun. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    I can't even begin to explain how hilarious this movie is! Ive been waiting for some time for a hardcore Madea film, and this film delivers. Its non-stop laughter. I lol'd, rofl'd, lmbo and cried my eyes out! I plan on going to see this twice! Usually his films are dramatic with a side of humor but this time it was hilarious with a side of drama and it fantastic! Well-written, good actors, and a great soundtrack! Made'a back with more jokes and funnier than EVER!!!!! Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    So I went to see "Madea's Witness Protection Program" today and I honestly loved the overall movie itself but there were just some points in the movie where your like "Oh my gosh, when is it gonna get to a good part" and then there are Madea's scenes that are really on point but the rest was a little ok. It was worth the money overall but I wouldnt go see it again. But I also dont wanna ruin your trip so go out and support it, I dont wanna ruin it for but thats my Honest opinion. Enjoy! Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    Very funny. It will have you laughing out loud frequently, well it will if your a fan. If you've never found one of these movies funny you probably won't find this one funny. I have no doubt however that it will please fans of the other Madea movies and comedies in general.
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Witness Protection is alright, but I think it needs more than just Madea raising hell and backtalking. I don't think it's quite better than the rest of the Madea series. Madea Goes to Jail was by far my all-time favorite. Although it was not been a good year for Tyler Perry in 2012. Alex Cross bombed, Good Deeds was a disappointment, and I don't know about The Marriage Counselor part, but I hope it won't be any good in 2013. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    5
    Not your typical Madea movie/screen play and one Tyler Perry actually did well at capturing. You wont find that much christian overtones or black woman drama this time around as it involves a white family in need of some help. The whole plot is summed up in the trailer and hidden underneath is a small episode of black drama involving a Pastor's son and church money lost to the bank. Being as this is a Madea movie, the family is about as "white bread" as they come and as a white man I will raise my hand first and say "yes, that is how we is." Also typical of a Madea movie, the good parts do not occur until she enters the scene which means waiting a good 30min until she hits the stage front and center. This time around Perry puts her in early with a few scenes to help set the stage then lets her go full blast in the second act. From then on its mostly her but for a change of pace Joe makes a huge scene in this movie and he is funny as hell. The downside of the movie is that it is a typical Tyler Perry Madea movie and it is almost expected as to what ol' Mabel Simmons is going to do but there is at least one scene where her character does the opposite of what would be expected of her. Also it's a bunch of white people in a black comedy which usually ends up making them a joke but in toning it down a bit Perry took a gamble and at times during the movie it worked, and at other times is made them very bland and boring. I would have loved to see more down with Joe and the grandmother (played by Doris Roberts) or Madea and George's daughter. Throughout the movie there were scenes involving the pastor's son and every time he popped up I thought to myself "oh yeah, him" because so much comedy is happening before and after his short scenes that you forget his story is part of the movie or that he's actually involved some how. Collapse
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    A nice family comedy that gives the pleasure only the psychopathic killer lady Madea can give, but faces the problem of "We've Seen This Before" syndrome but is extremely better than the terrible waste of Larry the Cable Guy's Witless Protection.
  8. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    What works is gut-busting funny (the wake-up segments, for example). What doesn't work really bombs (the voice switch on agents/the Jackson family references). Tyler Perry is a joy to watch and when Madea is on screen his physical performance, itself, is to be treasured. Sadly, though, John Amos' role is so poorly written he practically disappears and Marla Gibbs does disappear except for her name in the credits. Eugene Levy's performance hits one-note, there's no chemistry between him and Denise Richards, and Doris Roberts seems to have escaped from a zombie festival. A very uneven film. Expand
  9. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    While some may flock to see Madea's Witness Protection and laugh at its stereotypical jokes and formulaic plot, others are glad they stayed home and saved the extra 10 bucks.
  10. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    A step down from other Tyler Perry films, but did however have its funny moments. However a lot of the humor was unusually raunchy, so less friendly to the church people in my circle. Glad I rented it and didn't watch it at the movies. Then again, never seen a Tyler Perry film at the movies. So, if your a fan of Tyler Perry, maybe you'll appreciated more than I did.
  11. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    [7.0] This is Tyler Perry's smartest move, and possibly the best film he'll ever make. Away with the extremely exaggerated social drama that made his previous movies so dreadful (yet somehow entertaining). Now it's all about the six foot five 300 pound black woman.
  12. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    everytime someone sees a tyler perry's madea . it will result as a hilarious film . every madea movie always ends up funny . at least this movie was better then tempation .
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 4, 2012
    20
    The film is slapdash entertainment not meant to be further contemplated after leaving the theatre.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    He's still a young guy, but all throughout Witness Protection I imagined Perry sitting glumly at a dressing-room mirror, like the aging Chaplin in "Limelight," forlornly rubbing makeup in his face - a tired, old clown stuck in a tired, old routine.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    Reviewing a Tyler Perry movie is a bit like reviewing the weather report. People who want to watch it are going to do so, regardless of what anyone says about it. And that's not even factoring in Charlie Sheen.