Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: For years, George Needleman, the gentle CFO of a Wall Street investment bank, has been living with his head in the clouds. His frustrated second wife, Kate, has reached her limit taking care of his senile mother, Barbara. His teenage daughter, Cindy, is spoiled beyond hope and his seven-year old son, Howie, wishes his father were around more. But George is finally forced to wake up when he learns that his firm, Lockwise Industries, has been operating a mob-backed Ponzi scheme - and he's been set up as the fall guy. Facing criminal charges and death from the mob, George and his entire family are put under witness protection in the safest place that Brian, a federal prosecutor from Atlanta, can think of...his Aunt Madea's house down South. (Lionsgate) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Jul 1, 2012
    75
    The film remains buoyed by the same open heart that makes Tyler Perry's best work so endearing.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    An agent of spiritual regeneration and showman, Perry's dramaturgy is as subtle as a Bible-thump, but until a logy last act that has Levy disguised as a faux-Frenchman, his instincts are on-target here.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    The interaction among opposites inspires an abundance of predictable race-based jokes, many of which have the saving grace of actually being funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 29, 2012
    50
    A comedy that's too late to the Ponzi-scheme party to be topical, and not outrageous enough to take advantage of its own setups.
  5. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Jul 1, 2012
    40
    How much of this is actually funny is a question of taste, but even a confirmed Perry hater might get caught laughing once or twice.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 30, 2012
    40
    While I fully support the appearance of a new Madea movie every six months, even Tyler Perry can't be bothered to take this setup seriously.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 4, 2012
    20
    The film is slapdash entertainment not meant to be further contemplated after leaving the theatre.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    I can't even begin to explain how hilarious this movie is! Ive been waiting for some time for a hardcore Madea film, and this film delivers. Its non-stop laughter. I lol'd, rofl'd, lmbo and cried my eyes out! I plan on going to see this twice! Usually his films are dramatic with a side of humor but this time it was hilarious with a side of drama and it fantastic! Well-written, good actors, and a great soundtrack! Made'a back with more jokes and funnier than EVER!!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    Very funny. It will have you laughing out loud frequently, well it will if your a fan. If you've never found one of these movies funny you probably won't find this one funny. I have no doubt however that it will please fans of the other Madea movies and comedies in general. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    So I went to see "Madea's Witness Protection Program" today and I honestly loved the overall movie itself but there were just some points in the movie where your like "Oh my gosh, when is it gonna get to a good part" and then there are Madea's scenes that are really on point but the rest was a little ok. It was worth the money overall but I wouldnt go see it again. But I also dont wanna ruin your trip so go out and support it, I dont wanna ruin it for but thats my Honest opinion. Enjoy! Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Witness Protection is alright, but I think it needs more than just Madea raising hell and backtalking. I don't think it's quite better than the rest of the Madea series. Madea Goes to Jail was by far my all-time favorite. Although it was not been a good year for Tyler Perry in 2012. Alex Cross bombed, Good Deeds was a disappointment, and I don't know about The Marriage Counselor part, but I hope it won't be any good in 2013. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    Madea's Witness Protection is funny and entertaining but not enough, it took itself more seriously this time, it has some really funny moments, but sometimes you will feel, not bored, but that the movie is somehow overlong and you will check your hour once or twice at least during this movie, it is clever somehow but ridiculously unbelievable, but on the brighter side, it is entertaining and has some capricious fun. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    A step down from other Tyler Perry films, but did however have its funny moments. However a lot of the humor was unusually raunchy, so less friendly to the church people in my circle. Glad I rented it and didn't watch it at the movies. Then again, never seen a Tyler Perry film at the movies. So, if your a fan of Tyler Perry, maybe you'll appreciated more than I did. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    While some may flock to see Madea's Witness Protection and laugh at its stereotypical jokes and formulaic plot, others are glad they stayed home and saved the extra 10 bucks. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews