Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 253 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
66
Negative:
53
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
BKMJan 3, 2013
I was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwroughtI was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwrought melodrama? A romantic comedy? Perhaps a cautionary tale? Ultimately it doesn't really matter because it's one of his least inspired and most detached efforts to date. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
holmanpatrickJul 9, 2012
I can think of only two messages that this film gives, and they are friendship and survival. I'm upset with this movie not because of the acting or actors, and not because of the plot or sets, but, rather, I'm upset with how this movie wasI can think of only two messages that this film gives, and they are friendship and survival. I'm upset with this movie not because of the acting or actors, and not because of the plot or sets, but, rather, I'm upset with how this movie was put together. Male stripping is prevalent throughout it all, and this is where the survival message comes in. We, the audience, are presented with the dilemma of what somebody needs to do in order to provide for their well being and stability. Mike, played by Channing Tatum, has the goal of getting out of, "the business," and working on his own company. Unfortunately, since he only deals in cash, and you know why that is, his credit rating disqualifies him for a loan to start that business. A quick note, when doing a review, I hardly ever imagine that I'm going to mention a character's credit score. However, with this movie, it seems to stand out within the story line and that's not a good thing at all. The other message I mentioned was friendship. Mike has befriended a young nineteen year old named Adam, who is played by Alex Pettyfer. He's not a male stripper when the film starts, but, by the time it ends, he's completely immersed in this lucrative industry. It's a nice friendship between the two characters and they seem to have each other's back. Unfortunately, towards the end, the whole idea flops over with them parting ways. Friendship and survival are the two messages I got from this film, and I'm not even sure if those are the messages I'm supposed to get. The story line was all over the place with no clear direction until mid way through the movie when the actors are presented with the opportunity of expanding their stripping business. From there, everything goes down hill, with drugs, alcohol, and threatened relationships. I do not recommend this movie for anybody. Save your money or see another production. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imaginingdesireJul 12, 2012
A film about male strippers without a gay angle? Preposterous! But Channing Tatum with and without clothes is worth the price of admission. As for that line in the movie where an unkempt looking Alex Pettyfer as the Kid gets a job as a maleA film about male strippers without a gay angle? Preposterous! But Channing Tatum with and without clothes is worth the price of admission. As for that line in the movie where an unkempt looking Alex Pettyfer as the Kid gets a job as a male stripper on the spot because "...the Kid's got something...," my question is, "And what is that something exactly?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JW00042Aug 8, 2012
My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh".My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh". The story is Ok but I felt I knew what was going to happen in the rest of the movie after the first 15 mins. The characters are likable, but outside of McConnahey, forgettable. The love interest is beautiful and has a rare natural beauty about her, acting needs some work in the "dramatic" moments. This movies shows how disconnected reviewers are from the general public, they overhype this movies into something its not. Worth seeing as a rental. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tara61Sep 23, 2012
I was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, youI was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, you will know up to the last scene how it will go. The ending is flat as again some 20 minutes before the end you are actually made aware how it will go. As most of the movies nowadays the guy just has to get the girl at the end. All in all, the movie makes sense if you watch it with a bunch of girlfriends before going out on a Friday night. And yes, it is 30 minutes too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
I loved the first half of Magic Mike. It oozed with originality. The screenplay was fantastically written by first-timer Reid Carolin. It just never went far enough dramatically.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
swan19Dec 28, 2012
a funny, yet kinda serious take on the life of male strippers, always classified in the lower strata, it is a reminder that some wish to achieve a higher level. However, this film lacked the sturdiness to make it truly outstanding
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RedOwlReviewsJul 18, 2013
(skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become
(skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become a male stripper. But is it a light drama, or a dark drama? Or some indescribable mix? The inherent sexuality of the film, combined with playful stage setups and fanciful choreography, lightens the mood of the film (and, of course, makes for a rowdy female audience) However, as director Steven Soderbergh rapturously depicts the slow enlightenment of “Magic Mike” and descent of “The Kid,” the film reveals itself to be a much darker drama than anyone (even Soderbergh) had anticipated.
Now, logistics. Soderbergh has a talent when it comes to dialogue. The wordy drunk conversation style (mostly executed by Channing Tatum) is more impactful than the dialogue itself (which is often empty) in motivating the film, because it defines the fluctuating relationships “Magic Mike” has with every main character. Unfortunately, this talent doesn’t seem to apply to story writing and plot progression. The timing is often disappointing, and halfway through, Magic Mike loses most of its momentum. There should never be a point in these films where the only motivating factor is seeing what “The Kid” pulls out of his sleeve(less leather vest) next. And the awkwardly-placed drug-debt dilemma doesn’t help. Nor does the sudden ending, which leaves the obliviously-spiraling character of “The Kid” totally unresolved.
In conclusion, this is what I have to say: Magic Mike is a sexually charged film with vibrant sets and choreography, but lacks a firm artistic vision (or any vision in general) and as a result falls off its hinges too quickly.

FINAL SCORE: 47.5 (a little disappointing ---------------o----- fine)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubDec 13, 2013
It has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is the good things end there. The plot goes nowhere and the film becomes too superficial. Even boring in theIt has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is the good things end there. The plot goes nowhere and the film becomes too superficial. Even boring in the second half, when the novelty is over. It had potential though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysFeb 3, 2014
Girls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possibly appreciate Matthew McConaughey. Guys will be dragged to it by their significant other, and sufferGirls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possibly appreciate Matthew McConaughey. Guys will be dragged to it by their significant other, and suffer watching a chick flick with a lack of story or anything redeeming in the movie. That's about all I can say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobJun 26, 2015
While Magic Mike may be based off of Tatum’s life as a stripper you wouldn’t know it from the film which feels uninspired. Tatum and McConoughey come alive in a film that features well shot scenes especially during the strip shows, which areWhile Magic Mike may be based off of Tatum’s life as a stripper you wouldn’t know it from the film which feels uninspired. Tatum and McConoughey come alive in a film that features well shot scenes especially during the strip shows, which are creative and for ladies probably satisfying. Unfortunately, its hard to appreciate the strengths of the film at times. Often the stripping and humping scenes exist just for the sake of having eye candy lacking any purpose in the story and while the characters may be intriguing, they lose their interest as the film falls back on clichés with the film boasting the obligatory mopey and dopey third act. Women will no doubt be swept away by the wonders of Tatum’s abs while males are averting their eyes and/or wishing there was something to this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews