Magic Mike

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 227
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    Soderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable and uninspired storytelling
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    8
    The doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straight women find man-on-man hot. The "gayest" character is a bi female stripper we meet briefly and never see again. She's most likely thrown in becauseThe doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straight women find man-on-man hot. The "gayest" character is a bi female stripper we meet briefly and never see again. She's most likely thrown in because straight boyfriends find girl-on-girl hot. Every 20 minutes or so the script throws them a bone--some boobs here, an I-imagine-hot woman there--but it's easily ignorable. Anyway, aside from that odd and unnecessary omission, the movie was much better than I expected. The plot was decent--maybe a little slow and trite--the characters were somewhat interesting, and the guys were hot to really hot. I didn't find the dancing, especially Tatum's, particularly erotic, but it was well-choreographed and your mileage may vary. As for skin, there are numerous nice butt and torso shots; no full frontal unfortunately (and a lack of crotch closeups come to think of it) but it's not porn and not meant to be. It does what it's supposed to and does it well. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their realI am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their real life, women wanting to have sex with them 24/7. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    I wished I could have seen more of Matthew McConaughey! However, Channing Tatum was Great. I took my Male Friend with me. He and the other men (with their girlfriends and wives) enjoyed the movie as well. I don't think guys should be embarrassed if they do go to this movie. All the actors in this movie played their roles to the "T"! Excelleant Movie!
  5. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very much a Soderbergh film, Magic Mike definitely entertains - and is a tour de force for McConnahey's acting and Tatum's dancing. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a few more lines from Bomer. My single favorite aspect of the film is the chemistry between Mike and The Kid's sister. While the rest of the film is so seedy and in-your-face with its overt and aggressive sexuality, their relationship isn't consummated at all - instead, they come together in a very classy, traditional, romantic way, finally touching hands and sharing a kiss in the film's final frame. Nice. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home..
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    I thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the movies and watching our bfs get all hot and bothered by the female nude scenes, what I didn't like was there were some lesbians and two different girls thatI thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the movies and watching our bfs get all hot and bothered by the female nude scenes, what I didn't like was there were some lesbians and two different girls that showed their **** that was frustrating because that is not what us women came to this movie to see! We would like to see how hung Channing tatum is obviously, we don't want to see women's boobs, like really don't we have enough movies showing that? We want our movie showing what we want to see for once! Expand
  8. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    A very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazy enough to add character to his role. The only major problem is the love connection -- you know from the moment she appears on screen that Mike and TheA very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazy enough to add character to his role. The only major problem is the love connection -- you know from the moment she appears on screen that Mike and The Kid's sister will be an item. Sadly this predictable weight diminishes an otherwise excellent movie. Expand
  9. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    For once, Hollywood has turned the tables on the typical male-centric movie and given us a breath of fresh air. The actors were great in their respective roles, and Soderbergh's direction was superb as well. The best part, in my opinion, was the very original writing - kudos to Reid Carolin. This film has a lot of heart, and it showed because everyone in the theater had a great time!
  10. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    This semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody's taking it seriously. Director Steven Soderbergh has crafted the trite story into a winning narrative, but it's Tatum who's in every sense the star: hisThis semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody's taking it seriously. Director Steven Soderbergh has crafted the trite story into a winning narrative, but it's Tatum who's in every sense the star: his stature as THE leading man of his generation continues to develop, thanks to his charismatic presence and comic charms (not to mention his physique and flashy dance moves). As the boss, Matthew McConaughey turns in a enjoyable over-the-top performance that reflects the rowdy fun attitude of this movie. Expand
  11. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing! Channing Tatum was awesome and can dance his ass off! it is definitely worth the money and excitement and definitely a ladies night out! Ladies leave your man @ home..lol!
  12. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    There is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dry humping. Yes, this exploitation flick has a heart at its center and the entire cast is up to the task of making it work. Channing Tatum and Alex PetyferThere is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dry humping. Yes, this exploitation flick has a heart at its center and the entire cast is up to the task of making it work. Channing Tatum and Alex Petyfer shine as the film's central protagonists, the development of the their friendship central to the flow of the movie. Things do take a decidedly melodramatic turn towards darker themes but in the end, this shift is important to delivering the viewer to the film's final moment, the only moment of the film that features a genuine portrayal of sweetness. The biggest flaw is the development of the potential love story which seems rushed and at times it seems forgotten in the loose plot. Still, the actors all pull together to deliver some memorable moments. The eye candy is plentiful and there is plenty of nudity to satisfy men and women alike. The editing seems a little choppy but it only adds to the gritty nature of this story. All in all, this is a solid summer film with equal amounts of drama and comedy and a healthy dose of celebrity skin. Expand
  13. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    I felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allowsI felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allows women to actually relate to the movie and pretend they're there. The true plot and story line captures your heart, and then Channing and his sexy co stars take it to a whole new level. Well done! Expand
  14. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Magic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be likeMagic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be like to be in their shoes. www.screenspotlight.com Expand
  15. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Most fun film of the summer so far. Weird, dark, and not at all what you're expecting it to be, this movie stuck with me. Don't trust the trailer! This movie is all about stripping away your notions of sexiness and exposing (yes, I know) the world of male stripping as a neurotic little worm-hole. And yet to the director's credit the movie sails along and is almost always a blast!
  16. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    First, I'm a guy who went to this with my girlfriend. Second, there was only three guys in the theater, I never thought I would see this happen. Even with hardcore guy movies (say, Solaris or something) you still see tons of girls. Wierd. Anyways, here we go... if you remove the 20 minutes of guys dancing in leather underwear, you have a rockstar movie about a group of guys trying to makeFirst, I'm a guy who went to this with my girlfriend. Second, there was only three guys in the theater, I never thought I would see this happen. Even with hardcore guy movies (say, Solaris or something) you still see tons of girls. Wierd. Anyways, here we go... if you remove the 20 minutes of guys dancing in leather underwear, you have a rockstar movie about a group of guys trying to make it big. Acting's great, and Matt M. is playing himself so over the top that it's actually totally hilarious and you have to hand it to him for being so rediculous. Super-hot girls, drugs, some violence- it's got everything a guy needs in a movie, and just grin and bear the few dance seens (which actually contain quite a bit of comedy in themselves). Think the movie 'Rockstar' on a smaller scale with dancing instead of rock concerts. Oh, but it's better than the movie Rockstar (Rockstar's not a bad movie though). Expand
  17. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    I went to see this with my daughter-in-law and another friend. It is definitely a girls' night out movie! We all enjoyed it. Channing T and Matthew M really made the movie for us. Definitely recommend getting together with friends and going to see it.
  18. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Magic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. While the film does feature its fair share of stripped down men, it also has an incredible story and real emotional depth, something that might not beMagic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. While the film does feature its fair share of stripped down men, it also has an incredible story and real emotional depth, something that might not be assumed from initial expectations.

    Those familiar with Steven Soderbergh
    Expand
  19. Aug 11, 2012
    7
    Even though towards the end it takes its self too serious and perhaps misses the spot, this could well be the feel good fim of the year: plenty of laughs, great choreographies and music and a number of memorable performances from Tatum and especially McConaughey. This is entertainment!
  20. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    Magic Mike, ok... the movie can be boring on some parts of the story, but have some funny moments. The performances are really good, and the screenplay is cool. Magic Mike is only for enjoy amazing (*.*) bodies, and cool music.
  21. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    Soderbergh has crafted what I consider to be a possible future classic with
  22. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    I'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable and skillfully crafted. It's a thoroughly engaging party film (for those who just want the main attraction) as well as an intimate character study (forI'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable and skillfully crafted. It's a thoroughly engaging party film (for those who just want the main attraction) as well as an intimate character study (for all movie lovers alike). I recommend this to every girl as well as every guy. Unlike most films, this film has substance beneath the erotic stripping and dancing from the handsome cast of male actors. It's not Soderbergh's best film but it's probably his most enjoyable and commercially successful. Steven Soderbergh directs this film with style and flair, it's not a disappointment! Expand
  23. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    Magic Mike is much, much, much more than an entertaining piece of eye candy. It's deep and human. Yes, it has it's traditional rom-com tendencies--but there are energies and real stories to be told.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 12, 2012
    60
    Oddly, Magic Mike somehow looks like a much darker and more challenging movie than is actually the case.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Soderbergh lets his hair down with a frank, funny dramedy that bulges with humour, heart and smarts as McConaughey gives it everything he's got, in a potentially gong-grabbing turn.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven James Snyder
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Rarely do you see an actor harness such physical energy on the screen, much less dance at this level of intensity while converting raw muscle mass into raging sex appeal. But Tatum is the real McCoy.