Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 251 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
65
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SchroederRockFeb 7, 2017
A little bit of fun, a little bit engaging, a little bit beside myself. Magic Mike is based on Channing Tatum's earlier life as a male stripper. That is enough to merit a try, but there's a bit of magic on-screen that will entertain justA little bit of fun, a little bit engaging, a little bit beside myself. Magic Mike is based on Channing Tatum's earlier life as a male stripper. That is enough to merit a try, but there's a bit of magic on-screen that will entertain just about anyone giving it a go. If you are absolutely repulsed by the thought of dudes stripping down to their underoos and dancing about, then why would you even consider this movie? You wouldn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cjm868Apr 1, 2016
People have a tendency to simplify movies down to a sentence or a few words in an attempt to disparage them. For example, Brokeback Mountain is: "the gay cowboy movie," I'm sure most people have heard that said about that movie. Those of usPeople have a tendency to simplify movies down to a sentence or a few words in an attempt to disparage them. For example, Brokeback Mountain is: "the gay cowboy movie," I'm sure most people have heard that said about that movie. Those of us who have seen Brokeback Mountain know that it is so much more than a "gay cowboy movie."

Magic Mike has been simplified to "that male stripper movie." Now this movie is no Brokeback Mountain but it's so much more than what "male stripper movie" people would have you believe. It is an interesting character movie, and yes the main character happens to be a male stripper. The male stripper parts of the movie give us a rare insight into a profession that we don't often see in films. Also the dance scenes are very energetic and fun and provide a healthy dose of entertainment.

I don't like it but maybe it's a good thing that Magic Mike is known as "that male stripper movie," because when you watch it it really will defy your expectations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMar 5, 2016
Many people right off Magic Mike before they even watch the film and I am here to tell you that these people are wrong. A film about human beings who happen to be strippers (this does not define them in any sense), Magic Mike is a down toMany people right off Magic Mike before they even watch the film and I am here to tell you that these people are wrong. A film about human beings who happen to be strippers (this does not define them in any sense), Magic Mike is a down to earth and engrossing character study. Channing Tatum, Alex Pettfyer, and Matthew McConaughey, are all phenomenal here and McConaughey especially nails his role. The direction from Steven Soderbergh is very good and the film does a good job making the story be more about than the stripping. Rather, it is about these characters, their struggles, and the things they must overcome. Magic Mike, however, is held back by a few things. First, there is some filler here. Some scenes really added nothing, namely the scene where Adam (Pettfyer) fondles the breasts of another male stripper's wife. While she does have a nice set, admittedly, the scene adds absolutely nothing to the film. Cody Horn is also entirely unconvincing here and her character's role in the film really does very little. She is entirely useless for this film. However, aside from that, Magic Mike is a pretty good film. Both entertaining and an entertaining character study, do not judge a book by its cover here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Jan 25, 2016
Funny, wild, sexy, entertaining ooh I really enjoyed this movie.

Watch this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29b81b-Magic-Mike-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobJun 26, 2015
While Magic Mike may be based off of Tatum’s life as a stripper you wouldn’t know it from the film which feels uninspired. Tatum and McConoughey come alive in a film that features well shot scenes especially during the strip shows, which areWhile Magic Mike may be based off of Tatum’s life as a stripper you wouldn’t know it from the film which feels uninspired. Tatum and McConoughey come alive in a film that features well shot scenes especially during the strip shows, which are creative and for ladies probably satisfying. Unfortunately, its hard to appreciate the strengths of the film at times. Often the stripping and humping scenes exist just for the sake of having eye candy lacking any purpose in the story and while the characters may be intriguing, they lose their interest as the film falls back on clichés with the film boasting the obligatory mopey and dopey third act. Women will no doubt be swept away by the wonders of Tatum’s abs while males are averting their eyes and/or wishing there was something to this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Magic Mike is much, much, much more than an entertaining piece of eye candy. It's deep and human. Yes, it has it's traditional rom-com tendencies--but there are energies and real stories to be told.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kaizidokillerApr 20, 2014
I'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable andI'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable and skillfully crafted. It's a thoroughly engaging party film (for those who just want the main attraction) as well as an intimate character study (for all movie lovers alike). I recommend this to every girl as well as every guy. Unlike most films, this film has substance beneath the erotic stripping and dancing from the handsome cast of male actors. It's not Soderbergh's best film but it's probably his most enjoyable and commercially successful. Steven Soderbergh directs this film with style and flair, it's not a disappointment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysFeb 3, 2014
Girls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possibly appreciate Matthew McConaughey. Guys will be dragged to it by their significant other, and sufferGirls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possibly appreciate Matthew McConaughey. Guys will be dragged to it by their significant other, and suffer watching a chick flick with a lack of story or anything redeeming in the movie. That's about all I can say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubDec 13, 2013
It has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is the good things end there. The plot goes nowhere and the film becomes too superficial. Even boring in theIt has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is the good things end there. The plot goes nowhere and the film becomes too superficial. Even boring in the second half, when the novelty is over. It had potential though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RedOwlReviewsJul 18, 2013
(skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become
(skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become a male stripper. But is it a light drama, or a dark drama? Or some indescribable mix? The inherent sexuality of the film, combined with playful stage setups and fanciful choreography, lightens the mood of the film (and, of course, makes for a rowdy female audience) However, as director Steven Soderbergh rapturously depicts the slow enlightenment of “Magic Mike” and descent of “The Kid,” the film reveals itself to be a much darker drama than anyone (even Soderbergh) had anticipated.
Now, logistics. Soderbergh has a talent when it comes to dialogue. The wordy drunk conversation style (mostly executed by Channing Tatum) is more impactful than the dialogue itself (which is often empty) in motivating the film, because it defines the fluctuating relationships “Magic Mike” has with every main character. Unfortunately, this talent doesn’t seem to apply to story writing and plot progression. The timing is often disappointing, and halfway through, Magic Mike loses most of its momentum. There should never be a point in these films where the only motivating factor is seeing what “The Kid” pulls out of his sleeve(less leather vest) next. And the awkwardly-placed drug-debt dilemma doesn’t help. Nor does the sudden ending, which leaves the obliviously-spiraling character of “The Kid” totally unresolved.
In conclusion, this is what I have to say: Magic Mike is a sexually charged film with vibrant sets and choreography, but lacks a firm artistic vision (or any vision in general) and as a result falls off its hinges too quickly.

FINAL SCORE: 47.5 (a little disappointing ---------------o----- fine)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
AliBenzekriJun 17, 2013
Forgettable what was the aim of the movie what was Soderbergh trying to do i think that he failed there's no plot the actors were so weak the movie is nothing special M.McConaughey was the best thing to mention
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LaGuertaApr 18, 2013
Soderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable andSoderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable and uninspired storytelling Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
I may not be a Steven Soderborgh, but i can easily say that this movie was a disaster. The storyline was stale, the characters were uninteresting and (lets face it) no man (unless they're gay) would want to watch a bunch of guys show to showI may not be a Steven Soderborgh, but i can easily say that this movie was a disaster. The storyline was stale, the characters were uninteresting and (lets face it) no man (unless they're gay) would want to watch a bunch of guys show to show us their junk. Truly one of the worst movies ever made! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
BKMJan 3, 2013
I was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwroughtI was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwrought melodrama? A romantic comedy? Perhaps a cautionary tale? Ultimately it doesn't really matter because it's one of his least inspired and most detached efforts to date. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
swan19Dec 28, 2012
a funny, yet kinda serious take on the life of male strippers, always classified in the lower strata, it is a reminder that some wish to achieve a higher level. However, this film lacked the sturdiness to make it truly outstanding
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheDRauchDec 12, 2012
Soderbergh has crafted what I consider to be a possible future classic with
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusNov 23, 2012
What a boring, unintresting movie! The whole story was bad, and worst of all the movie was not fun to watch.
I was expexting to learn something new, from the life of male strippers, but it was the old same cheesy story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
courtcourt101Nov 13, 2012
I MADE AN ACCOUNT JUST TO TALK ABOUT THIS MOVIE. It was horriable totally not worth 15 dollars. The plot could have been written by a child. The begging sucked. The movie had nothing and to make matters worse they dragged THAT NOTHING outI MADE AN ACCOUNT JUST TO TALK ABOUT THIS MOVIE. It was horriable totally not worth 15 dollars. The plot could have been written by a child. The begging sucked. The movie had nothing and to make matters worse they dragged THAT NOTHING out for too long. Worst part is I can never get my money back from Walmart. Dumbest movie ever I felt like I was watch reality tv Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
I loved the first half of Magic Mike. It oozed with originality. The screenplay was fantastically written by first-timer Reid Carolin. It just never went far enough dramatically.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RobYes92Oct 27, 2012
I actually has to read Charles Darwin's "Origin of Species" in order to reconstitute the brain cells I lost whilst watching this movie. Seriously, its like Stupid and Retarded **** and had a rape baby that they named **** and then **** metI actually has to read Charles Darwin's "Origin of Species" in order to reconstitute the brain cells I lost whilst watching this movie. Seriously, its like Stupid and Retarded **** and had a rape baby that they named **** and then **** met the writer of this movie... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MegWhiteleyOct 23, 2012
Magic Mike, ok... the movie can be boring on some parts of the story, but have some funny moments. The performances are really good, and the screenplay is cool. Magic Mike is only for enjoy amazing (*.*) bodies, and cool music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tara61Sep 23, 2012
I was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, youI was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, you will know up to the last scene how it will go. The ending is flat as again some 20 minutes before the end you are actually made aware how it will go. As most of the movies nowadays the guy just has to get the girl at the end. All in all, the movie makes sense if you watch it with a bunch of girlfriends before going out on a Friday night. And yes, it is 30 minutes too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever evenI'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever even been to a strip club of any kind and just wanted something moderately acceptable to get her and her like-minded girlfriends panties wet in public. Avoid at all cost if you're a guy, and if you're a chick then watch it at home so you can do what everyone knows you want to do while watching it but social conventions don't allow. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrAug 11, 2012
Even though towards the end it takes its self too serious and perhaps misses the spot, this could well be the feel good fim of the year: plenty of laughs, great choreographies and music and a number of memorable performances from Tatum andEven though towards the end it takes its self too serious and perhaps misses the spot, this could well be the feel good fim of the year: plenty of laughs, great choreographies and music and a number of memorable performances from Tatum and especially McConaughey. This is entertainment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JW00042Aug 8, 2012
My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh".My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh". The story is Ok but I felt I knew what was going to happen in the rest of the movie after the first 15 mins. The characters are likable, but outside of McConnahey, forgettable. The love interest is beautiful and has a rare natural beauty about her, acting needs some work in the "dramatic" moments. This movies shows how disconnected reviewers are from the general public, they overhype this movies into something its not. Worth seeing as a rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawAug 6, 2012
Soderbergh
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sanctuaryreviewAug 6, 2012
Magic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. WhileMagic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. While the film does feature its fair share of stripped down men, it also has an incredible story and real emotional depth, something that might not be assumed from initial expectations.

Those familiar with Steven Soderbergh
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
pedob3arAug 5, 2012
Ok, if you are a, how should i say this, woman looking for a good socially redeeming movie then this is for you! i dont see where this movie could have gone worse, there was no plot, there was no qualities that could make this movie better
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
HazelWolfAug 3, 2012
I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie
I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie about male strippers. It was made out to be cute, fun, sexy, with a main character that was stripping to get ahead in his actual business ventures. Some conflict in the character, Mike, falling for a girl who didn't fully approve of his career, but it was assumed that was going to be worked through as the movie progressed, and we'd have a happy feel-good ending after learning a little bit about these misunderstood hard-working normal people doing a thankless but profitable job. NO. Just no. Instead, while the character Mike was sort of relatable and empathy-inspiring, he was trapped in a world that was slowly sucking out his soul.

Channing Tatum, the proposed main character (I doubted this after only ten minutes into the movie) was sexy and entertaining. This is true. His role made me cry for its hopelessness. There was no hope for something more. No work-hard-and-be-rewarded. Instead, it was a man who stripped because he wanted a way to fulfill a dream, but was stymied at every turn. I guess it may have been appealing to realism, claiming the economy is horrible and them's the breaks, but I'm thinking I don't go to the theater to be treated to a harsh dose of dreams-never-come-true. Not to mention, Mike suffers an extreme setback during the movie as a direct result of the actions of another character: never resolved. Heck, it was barely even addressed that this huge life-goal was just dashed by one man's utter childish stupidity.

The setting, a male strip revenue, had potential to be sexy and interesting and humorous. There were elements of those included, but I found myself mostly depressed and torn between feeling ashamed and outraged at the behavior of these people. Yes, stripping may fall into the category of the sex industry. Yes, people in the industry of sins and indulgence might take things too far and fall on the wrong side of legality (not to mention morality). Here's the thing, though: its not a guarantee. The strippers, one and all, either participated in or causally accepted the pass-out alcoholism, the party drugs, partaking and supplying, and the infidelity. TLDR:Stripping doesn't have to mean awful people with awful lifestyles. It doesn't have to imply men (or women) that will never become anything more than drug-addicted sluts. Magic Mike has no uplifting story to accompany the bleak outlook on the industry, and I found myself utterly depressed after watching what I thought would be a sexy feel-good romp.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
itsmevixAug 1, 2012
There were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much likeThere were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much like miming to a song badly..she needs to smile and look at people in the eye when talking to them..disappointing that somebody so bad at acting got a huge part in the film but we all know who her father is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews