Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2012
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 253 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
66
Negative:
53
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
BKMJan 3, 2013
I was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwroughtI was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwrought melodrama? A romantic comedy? Perhaps a cautionary tale? Ultimately it doesn't really matter because it's one of his least inspired and most detached efforts to date. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LaGuertaApr 18, 2013
Soderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable andSoderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable and uninspired storytelling Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JoshSJul 19, 2012
The doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straightThe doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straight women find man-on-man hot. The "gayest" character is a bi female stripper we meet briefly and never see again. She's most likely thrown in because straight boyfriends find girl-on-girl hot. Every 20 minutes or so the script throws them a bone--some boobs here, an I-imagine-hot woman there--but it's easily ignorable. Anyway, aside from that odd and unnecessary omission, the movie was much better than I expected. The plot was decent--maybe a little slow and trite--the characters were somewhat interesting, and the guys were hot to really hot. I didn't find the dancing, especially Tatum's, particularly erotic, but it was well-choreographed and your mileage may vary. As for skin, there are numerous nice butt and torso shots; no full frontal unfortunately (and a lack of crotch closeups come to think of it) but it's not porn and not meant to be. It does what it's supposed to and does it well. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
mostmoviessuckJun 29, 2012
I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying,I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their real life, women wanting to have sex with them 24/7. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
3
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever evenI'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever even been to a strip club of any kind and just wanted something moderately acceptable to get her and her like-minded girlfriends panties wet in public. Avoid at all cost if you're a guy, and if you're a chick then watch it at home so you can do what everyone knows you want to do while watching it but social conventions don't allow. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Lize40Jun 29, 2012
I wished I could have seen more of Matthew McConaughey! However, Channing Tatum was Great. I took my Male Friend with me. He and the other men (with their girlfriends and wives) enjoyed the movie as well. I don't think guys should beI wished I could have seen more of Matthew McConaughey! However, Channing Tatum was Great. I took my Male Friend with me. He and the other men (with their girlfriends and wives) enjoyed the movie as well. I don't think guys should be embarrassed if they do go to this movie. All the actors in this movie played their roles to the "T"! Excelleant Movie! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
LusyJun 29, 2012
This movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average and the dance scenes seemed forced. Utterly forgettable, incredibly average, a total yawnfest that ranThis movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average and the dance scenes seemed forced. Utterly forgettable, incredibly average, a total yawnfest that ran way too long. See this movie only as a last resort. Expand
11 of 21 users found this helpful1110
All this user's reviews
10
JordanspickJun 30, 2012
Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home..
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleJul 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very much a Soderbergh film, Magic Mike definitely entertains - and is a tour de force for McConnahey's acting and Tatum's dancing. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a few more lines from Bomer. My single favorite aspect of the film is the chemistry between Mike and The Kid's sister. While the rest of the film is so seedy and in-your-face with its overt and aggressive sexuality, their relationship isn't consummated at all - instead, they come together in a very classy, traditional, romantic way, finally touching hands and sharing a kiss in the film's final frame. Nice. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
HazelWolfAug 3, 2012
I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie
I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie about male strippers. It was made out to be cute, fun, sexy, with a main character that was stripping to get ahead in his actual business ventures. Some conflict in the character, Mike, falling for a girl who didn't fully approve of his career, but it was assumed that was going to be worked through as the movie progressed, and we'd have a happy feel-good ending after learning a little bit about these misunderstood hard-working normal people doing a thankless but profitable job. NO. Just no. Instead, while the character Mike was sort of relatable and empathy-inspiring, he was trapped in a world that was slowly sucking out his soul.

Channing Tatum, the proposed main character (I doubted this after only ten minutes into the movie) was sexy and entertaining. This is true. His role made me cry for its hopelessness. There was no hope for something more. No work-hard-and-be-rewarded. Instead, it was a man who stripped because he wanted a way to fulfill a dream, but was stymied at every turn. I guess it may have been appealing to realism, claiming the economy is horrible and them's the breaks, but I'm thinking I don't go to the theater to be treated to a harsh dose of dreams-never-come-true. Not to mention, Mike suffers an extreme setback during the movie as a direct result of the actions of another character: never resolved. Heck, it was barely even addressed that this huge life-goal was just dashed by one man's utter childish stupidity.

The setting, a male strip revenue, had potential to be sexy and interesting and humorous. There were elements of those included, but I found myself mostly depressed and torn between feeling ashamed and outraged at the behavior of these people. Yes, stripping may fall into the category of the sex industry. Yes, people in the industry of sins and indulgence might take things too far and fall on the wrong side of legality (not to mention morality). Here's the thing, though: its not a guarantee. The strippers, one and all, either participated in or causally accepted the pass-out alcoholism, the party drugs, partaking and supplying, and the infidelity. TLDR:Stripping doesn't have to mean awful people with awful lifestyles. It doesn't have to imply men (or women) that will never become anything more than drug-addicted sluts. Magic Mike has no uplifting story to accompany the bleak outlook on the industry, and I found myself utterly depressed after watching what I thought would be a sexy feel-good romp.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
I may not be a Steven Soderborgh, but i can easily say that this movie was a disaster. The storyline was stale, the characters were uninteresting and (lets face it) no man (unless they're gay) would want to watch a bunch of guys show to showI may not be a Steven Soderborgh, but i can easily say that this movie was a disaster. The storyline was stale, the characters were uninteresting and (lets face it) no man (unless they're gay) would want to watch a bunch of guys show to show us their junk. Truly one of the worst movies ever made! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CharCriticJul 1, 2012
I thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the moviesI thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the movies and watching our bfs get all hot and bothered by the female nude scenes, what I didn't like was there were some lesbians and two different girls that showed their **** that was frustrating because that is not what us women came to this movie to see! We would like to see how hung Channing tatum is obviously, we don't want to see women's boobs, like really don't we have enough movies showing that? We want our movie showing what we want to see for once! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
AnnieAllisonJul 9, 2012
This movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but comeThis movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but come on, what a horrible plot line and camera angles. Right from the beginning, the camera above his truck...never do above shots for no reason, ever. I could have directed this better! There was no real ending to movie and there was just too many different plots happening at once. Don't see this movie. Maybe rent it from Redbox, to see the hot guys, but, ughhh. This was just the worst. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Jillmi63Jul 12, 2012
This movie is horrible. Bad directing, set and script. Not enough story or dancing. They really could have made this into a fun movie. The actors apparently had no direction. Just get out there and do whatever is what it looked like. IfThis movie is horrible. Bad directing, set and script. Not enough story or dancing. They really could have made this into a fun movie. The actors apparently had no direction. Just get out there and do whatever is what it looked like. If you think the Twighlight series has bad acting etc.. dont even bother with this. The audience for the most part laughed. The few dancing scenes are not worth sitting through the whole movie. I will pass on the sequel. Sorry. great looking guys though. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
myrrJul 12, 2012
Three of my friends and I went to see this movie. We were disappointed with the plot. Channing Tatum is an excellent actor, however this role did not do him justice. I am aware that he did stripping in his youth. The acting was sub par forThree of my friends and I went to see this movie. We were disappointed with the plot. Channing Tatum is an excellent actor, however this role did not do him justice. I am aware that he did stripping in his youth. The acting was sub par for all the actors. My friends all agreed not to recommend Magic Mike as a must see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
wvmoviefanJul 12, 2012
A very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazyA very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazy enough to add character to his role. The only major problem is the love connection -- you know from the moment she appears on screen that Mike and The Kid's sister will be an item. Sadly this predictable weight diminishes an otherwise excellent movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
realistbutfunJul 13, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was disappointing to me. This could of been tastefully done with some fun stripping and a plot with more meaning then all the drugs, sex and lesbians . 5 of us were disappointed with the movie and would not recommend it. Distasteful and story line was not good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
itsmevixAug 1, 2012
There were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much likeThere were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much like miming to a song badly..she needs to smile and look at people in the eye when talking to them..disappointing that somebody so bad at acting got a huge part in the film but we all know who her father is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
pedob3arAug 5, 2012
Ok, if you are a, how should i say this, woman looking for a good socially redeeming movie then this is for you! i dont see where this movie could have gone worse, there was no plot, there was no qualities that could make this movie better
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
RobYes92Oct 27, 2012
I actually has to read Charles Darwin's "Origin of Species" in order to reconstitute the brain cells I lost whilst watching this movie. Seriously, its like Stupid and Retarded **** and had a rape baby that they named **** and then **** metI actually has to read Charles Darwin's "Origin of Species" in order to reconstitute the brain cells I lost whilst watching this movie. Seriously, its like Stupid and Retarded **** and had a rape baby that they named **** and then **** met the writer of this movie... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
courtcourt101Nov 13, 2012
I MADE AN ACCOUNT JUST TO TALK ABOUT THIS MOVIE. It was horriable totally not worth 15 dollars. The plot could have been written by a child. The begging sucked. The movie had nothing and to make matters worse they dragged THAT NOTHING outI MADE AN ACCOUNT JUST TO TALK ABOUT THIS MOVIE. It was horriable totally not worth 15 dollars. The plot could have been written by a child. The begging sucked. The movie had nothing and to make matters worse they dragged THAT NOTHING out for too long. Worst part is I can never get my money back from Walmart. Dumbest movie ever I felt like I was watch reality tv Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusNov 23, 2012
What a boring, unintresting movie! The whole story was bad, and worst of all the movie was not fun to watch.
I was expexting to learn something new, from the life of male strippers, but it was the old same cheesy story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kwbmusicmanJul 1, 2012
For once, Hollywood has turned the tables on the typical male-centric movie and given us a breath of fresh air. The actors were great in their respective roles, and Soderbergh's direction was superb as well. The best part, in my opinion, wasFor once, Hollywood has turned the tables on the typical male-centric movie and given us a breath of fresh air. The actors were great in their respective roles, and Soderbergh's direction was superb as well. The best part, in my opinion, was the very original writing - kudos to Reid Carolin. This film has a lot of heart, and it showed because everyone in the theater had a great time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJul 2, 2012
This semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody'sThis semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody's taking it seriously. Director Steven Soderbergh has crafted the trite story into a winning narrative, but it's Tatum who's in every sense the star: his stature as THE leading man of his generation continues to develop, thanks to his charismatic presence and comic charms (not to mention his physique and flashy dance moves). As the boss, Matthew McConaughey turns in a enjoyable over-the-top performance that reflects the rowdy fun attitude of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AYIMJul 2, 2012
Amazing! Channing Tatum was awesome and can dance his ass off! it is definitely worth the money and excitement and definitely a ladies night out! Ladies leave your man @ home..lol!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gemini0577Jul 2, 2012
There is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dryThere is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dry humping. Yes, this exploitation flick has a heart at its center and the entire cast is up to the task of making it work. Channing Tatum and Alex Petyfer shine as the film's central protagonists, the development of the their friendship central to the flow of the movie. Things do take a decidedly melodramatic turn towards darker themes but in the end, this shift is important to delivering the viewer to the film's final moment, the only moment of the film that features a genuine portrayal of sweetness. The biggest flaw is the development of the potential love story which seems rushed and at times it seems forgotten in the loose plot. Still, the actors all pull together to deliver some memorable moments. The eye candy is plentiful and there is plenty of nudity to satisfy men and women alike. The editing seems a little choppy but it only adds to the gritty nature of this story. All in all, this is a solid summer film with equal amounts of drama and comedy and a healthy dose of celebrity skin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NMReynoldsJul 2, 2012
I felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...butI felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allows women to actually relate to the movie and pretend they're there. The true plot and story line captures your heart, and then Channing and his sexy co stars take it to a whole new level. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
holmanpatrickJul 9, 2012
I can think of only two messages that this film gives, and they are friendship and survival. I'm upset with this movie not because of the acting or actors, and not because of the plot or sets, but, rather, I'm upset with how this movie wasI can think of only two messages that this film gives, and they are friendship and survival. I'm upset with this movie not because of the acting or actors, and not because of the plot or sets, but, rather, I'm upset with how this movie was put together. Male stripping is prevalent throughout it all, and this is where the survival message comes in. We, the audience, are presented with the dilemma of what somebody needs to do in order to provide for their well being and stability. Mike, played by Channing Tatum, has the goal of getting out of, "the business," and working on his own company. Unfortunately, since he only deals in cash, and you know why that is, his credit rating disqualifies him for a loan to start that business. A quick note, when doing a review, I hardly ever imagine that I'm going to mention a character's credit score. However, with this movie, it seems to stand out within the story line and that's not a good thing at all. The other message I mentioned was friendship. Mike has befriended a young nineteen year old named Adam, who is played by Alex Pettyfer. He's not a male stripper when the film starts, but, by the time it ends, he's completely immersed in this lucrative industry. It's a nice friendship between the two characters and they seem to have each other's back. Unfortunately, towards the end, the whole idea flops over with them parting ways. Friendship and survival are the two messages I got from this film, and I'm not even sure if those are the messages I'm supposed to get. The story line was all over the place with no clear direction until mid way through the movie when the actors are presented with the opportunity of expanding their stripping business. From there, everything goes down hill, with drugs, alcohol, and threatened relationships. I do not recommend this movie for anybody. Save your money or see another production. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imaginingdesireJul 12, 2012
A film about male strippers without a gay angle? Preposterous! But Channing Tatum with and without clothes is worth the price of admission. As for that line in the movie where an unkempt looking Alex Pettyfer as the Kid gets a job as a maleA film about male strippers without a gay angle? Preposterous! But Channing Tatum with and without clothes is worth the price of admission. As for that line in the movie where an unkempt looking Alex Pettyfer as the Kid gets a job as a male stripper on the spot because "...the Kid's got something...," my question is, "And what is that something exactly?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
screenspotlightJul 14, 2012
Magic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receivesMagic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be like to be in their shoes. www.screenspotlight.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews