User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 211

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    Forgettable what was the aim of the movie what was Soderbergh trying to do i think that he failed there's no plot the actors were so weak the movie is nothing special M.McConaughey was the best thing to mention
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    I may not be a Steven Soderborgh, but i can easily say that this movie was a disaster. The storyline was stale, the characters were uninteresting and (lets face it) no man (unless they're gay) would want to watch a bunch of guys show to show us their junk. Truly one of the worst movies ever made!
  3. BKM
    Jan 3, 2013
    4
    I was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwrought melodrama? A romantic comedy? Perhaps a cautionary tale? Ultimately it doesn't really matter because it's one of his least inspired and most detached efforts to date. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    What a boring, unintresting movie! The whole story was bad, and worst of all the movie was not fun to watch.
    I was expexting to learn something new, from the life of male strippers, but it was the old same cheesy story.
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I MADE AN ACCOUNT JUST TO TALK ABOUT THIS MOVIE. It was horriable totally not worth 15 dollars. The plot could have been written by a child. The begging sucked. The movie had nothing and to make matters worse they dragged THAT NOTHING out for too long. Worst part is I can never get my money back from Walmart. Dumbest movie ever I felt like I was watch reality tv
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    I actually has to read Charles Darwin's "Origin of Species" in order to reconstitute the brain cells I lost whilst watching this movie. Seriously, its like Stupid and Retarded **** and had a rape baby that they named **** and then **** met the writer of this movie...
  7. Aug 18, 2012
    3
    I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever even been to a strip club of any kind and just wanted something moderately acceptable to get her and her like-minded girlfriends panties wet in public. Avoid at all cost if you're a guy, and if you're a chick then watch it at home so you can do what everyone knows you want to do while watching it but social conventions don't allow. Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2012
    0
    Ok, if you are a, how should i say this, woman looking for a good socially redeeming movie then this is for you! i dont see where this movie could have gone worse, there was no plot, there was no qualities that could make this movie better
  9. Aug 3, 2012
    1
    I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

    Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie about male strippers. It was made out to be cute, fun, sexy, with a main character that was stripping to get ahead in his actual business ventures. Some
    conflict in the character, Mike, falling for a girl who didn't fully approve of his career, but it was assumed that was going to be worked through as the movie progressed, and we'd have a happy feel-good ending after learning a little bit about these misunderstood hard-working normal people doing a thankless but profitable job. NO. Just no. Instead, while the character Mike was sort of relatable and empathy-inspiring, he was trapped in a world that was slowly sucking out his soul.

    Channing Tatum, the proposed main character (I doubted this after only ten minutes into the movie) was sexy and entertaining. This is true. His role made me cry for its hopelessness. There was no hope for something more. No work-hard-and-be-rewarded. Instead, it was a man who stripped because he wanted a way to fulfill a dream, but was stymied at every turn. I guess it may have been appealing to realism, claiming the economy is horrible and them's the breaks, but I'm thinking I don't go to the theater to be treated to a harsh dose of dreams-never-come-true. Not to mention, Mike suffers an extreme setback during the movie as a direct result of the actions of another character: never resolved. Heck, it was barely even addressed that this huge life-goal was just dashed by one man's utter childish stupidity.

    The setting, a male strip revenue, had potential to be sexy and interesting and humorous. There were elements of those included, but I found myself mostly depressed and torn between feeling ashamed and outraged at the behavior of these people. Yes, stripping may fall into the category of the sex industry. Yes, people in the industry of sins and indulgence might take things too far and fall on the wrong side of legality (not to mention morality). Here's the thing, though: its not a guarantee. The strippers, one and all, either participated in or causally accepted the pass-out alcoholism, the party drugs, partaking and supplying, and the infidelity. TLDR:Stripping doesn't have to mean awful people with awful lifestyles. It doesn't have to imply men (or women) that will never become anything more than drug-addicted sluts. Magic Mike has no uplifting story to accompany the bleak outlook on the industry, and I found myself utterly depressed after watching what I thought would be a sexy feel-good romp.
    Collapse
  10. Aug 1, 2012
    3
    There were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much like miming to a song badly..she needs to smile and look at people in the eye when talking to them..disappointing that somebody so bad at acting got a huge part in the film but we all know who her father is. Expand
  11. Jul 13, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was disappointing to me. This could of been tastefully done with some fun stripping and a plot with more meaning then all the drugs, sex and lesbians . 5 of us were disappointed with the movie and would not recommend it. Distasteful and story line was not good. Expand
  12. Jul 12, 2012
    0
    Three of my friends and I went to see this movie. We were disappointed with the plot. Channing Tatum is an excellent actor, however this role did not do him justice. I am aware that he did stripping in his youth. The acting was sub par for all the actors. My friends all agreed not to recommend Magic Mike as a must see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. Jul 12, 2012
    0
    This movie is horrible. Bad directing, set and script. Not enough story or dancing. They really could have made this into a fun movie. The actors apparently had no direction. Just get out there and do whatever is what it looked like. If you think the Twighlight series has bad acting etc.. dont even bother with this. The audience for the most part laughed. The few dancing scenes are not worth sitting through the whole movie. I will pass on the sequel. Sorry. great looking guys though. Expand
  14. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    This movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but come on, what a horrible plot line and camera angles. Right from the beginning, the camera above his truck...never do above shots for no reason, ever. I could have directed this better! There was no real ending to movie and there was just too many different plots happening at once. Don't see this movie. Maybe rent it from Redbox, to see the hot guys, but, ughhh. This was just the worst. Expand
  15. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average and the dance scenes seemed forced. Utterly forgettable, incredibly average, a total yawnfest that ran way too long. See this movie only as a last resort.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 12, 2012
    60
    Oddly, Magic Mike somehow looks like a much darker and more challenging movie than is actually the case.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Soderbergh lets his hair down with a frank, funny dramedy that bulges with humour, heart and smarts as McConaughey gives it everything he's got, in a potentially gong-grabbing turn.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven James Snyder
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Rarely do you see an actor harness such physical energy on the screen, much less dance at this level of intensity while converting raw muscle mass into raging sex appeal. But Tatum is the real McCoy.