User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 212

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    7
    Magic Mike is much, much, much more than an entertaining piece of eye candy. It's deep and human. Yes, it has it's traditional rom-com tendencies--but there are energies and real stories to be told.
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    I'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable and skillfully crafted. It's a thoroughly engaging party film (for those who just want the main attraction) as well as an intimate character study (forI'm a guy but I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The performances were great, especially from Channing Tatum and Matthew McConaughey. The screenplay is surprisingly smart, it's essentially a male version of Showgirls but it's more tolerable and skillfully crafted. It's a thoroughly engaging party film (for those who just want the main attraction) as well as an intimate character study (for all movie lovers alike). I recommend this to every girl as well as every guy. Unlike most films, this film has substance beneath the erotic stripping and dancing from the handsome cast of male actors. It's not Soderbergh's best film but it's probably his most enjoyable and commercially successful. Steven Soderbergh directs this film with style and flair, it's not a disappointment! Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Girls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possibly appreciate Matthew McConaughey. Guys will be dragged to it by their significant other, and suffer watching a chick flick with a lack of story or anything redeeming in the movie. That's about all I can say.
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    5
    It has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is the good things end there. The plot goes nowhere and the film becomes too superficial. Even boring in the second half, when the novelty is over. It had potential though.
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    5
    (skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
    What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become a male stripper. But is it a light drama, or a dark drama? Or some indescribable mix? The inherent sexuality of the film, combined with playful stage
    (skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
    What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become a male stripper. But is it a light drama, or a dark drama? Or some indescribable mix? The inherent sexuality of the film, combined with playful stage setups and fanciful choreography, lightens the mood of the film (and, of course, makes for a rowdy female audience) However, as director Steven Soderbergh rapturously depicts the slow enlightenment of “Magic Mike” and descent of “The Kid,” the film reveals itself to be a much darker drama than anyone (even Soderbergh) had anticipated.
    Now, logistics. Soderbergh has a talent when it comes to dialogue. The wordy drunk conversation style (mostly executed by Channing Tatum) is more impactful than the dialogue itself (which is often empty) in motivating the film, because it defines the fluctuating relationships “Magic Mike” has with every main character. Unfortunately, this talent doesn’t seem to apply to story writing and plot progression. The timing is often disappointing, and halfway through, Magic Mike loses most of its momentum. There should never be a point in these films where the only motivating factor is seeing what “The Kid” pulls out of his sleeve(less leather vest) next. And the awkwardly-placed drug-debt dilemma doesn’t help. Nor does the sudden ending, which leaves the obliviously-spiraling character of “The Kid” totally unresolved.
    In conclusion, this is what I have to say: Magic Mike is a sexually charged film with vibrant sets and choreography, but lacks a firm artistic vision (or any vision in general) and as a result falls off its hinges too quickly.

    FINAL SCORE: 47.5 (a little disappointing ---------------o----- fine)
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    Forgettable what was the aim of the movie what was Soderbergh trying to do i think that he failed there's no plot the actors were so weak the movie is nothing special M.McConaughey was the best thing to mention
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    Soderbergh does well to subvert expectation. After a while, however, the feeling of being pleasantly surprised wears off and the once rousing strip scenes begin to drag on. The film eventually loses its magic by relying on predictable and uninspired storytelling
  8. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    I may not be a Steven Soderborgh, but i can easily say that this movie was a disaster. The storyline was stale, the characters were uninteresting and (lets face it) no man (unless they're gay) would want to watch a bunch of guys show to show us their junk. Truly one of the worst movies ever made!
  9. BKM
    Jan 3, 2013
    4
    I was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwrought melodrama? A romantic comedy? Perhaps a cautionary tale? Ultimately it doesn't really matter because it's one of his least inspired and mostI was surprised by just how bland and unfocused Magic Mike turned out to be. Soderbergh is a genuinely talented director but he can't quite seem to decide what he wants his latest film to be. Is it a raucous crowd pleaser? An overwrought melodrama? A romantic comedy? Perhaps a cautionary tale? Ultimately it doesn't really matter because it's one of his least inspired and most detached efforts to date. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    a funny, yet kinda serious take on the life of male strippers, always classified in the lower strata, it is a reminder that some wish to achieve a higher level. However, this film lacked the sturdiness to make it truly outstanding
  11. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    Soderbergh has crafted what I consider to be a possible future classic with
  12. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    What a boring, unintresting movie! The whole story was bad, and worst of all the movie was not fun to watch.
    I was expexting to learn something new, from the life of male strippers, but it was the old same cheesy story.
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I MADE AN ACCOUNT JUST TO TALK ABOUT THIS MOVIE. It was horriable totally not worth 15 dollars. The plot could have been written by a child. The begging sucked. The movie had nothing and to make matters worse they dragged THAT NOTHING out for too long. Worst part is I can never get my money back from Walmart. Dumbest movie ever I felt like I was watch reality tv
  14. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    I loved the first half of Magic Mike. It oozed with originality. The screenplay was fantastically written by first-timer Reid Carolin. It just never went far enough dramatically.
  15. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    I actually has to read Charles Darwin's "Origin of Species" in order to reconstitute the brain cells I lost whilst watching this movie. Seriously, its like Stupid and Retarded **** and had a rape baby that they named **** and then **** met the writer of this movie...
  16. Oct 23, 2012
    8
    Magic Mike, ok... the movie can be boring on some parts of the story, but have some funny moments. The performances are really good, and the screenplay is cool. Magic Mike is only for enjoy amazing (*.*) bodies, and cool music.
  17. Sep 23, 2012
    6
    I was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, you will know up to the last scene how it will go. The ending is flat as again some 20 minutes before the end you are actually made aware how it will go.I was surprised to see that Channing Tatum can actually carry the whole movie. Up till this I really didn't think that the guy can seriously act, however he made it credible. The movie itself is full of cliches and after 20 minutes or so, you will know up to the last scene how it will go. The ending is flat as again some 20 minutes before the end you are actually made aware how it will go. As most of the movies nowadays the guy just has to get the girl at the end. All in all, the movie makes sense if you watch it with a bunch of girlfriends before going out on a Friday night. And yes, it is 30 minutes too long. Expand
  18. Aug 18, 2012
    3
    I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever even been to a strip club of any kind and just wanted something moderately acceptable to get her and her like-minded girlfriends panties wet in public.I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever even been to a strip club of any kind and just wanted something moderately acceptable to get her and her like-minded girlfriends panties wet in public. Avoid at all cost if you're a guy, and if you're a chick then watch it at home so you can do what everyone knows you want to do while watching it but social conventions don't allow. Expand
  19. Aug 11, 2012
    7
    Even though towards the end it takes its self too serious and perhaps misses the spot, this could well be the feel good fim of the year: plenty of laughs, great choreographies and music and a number of memorable performances from Tatum and especially McConaughey. This is entertainment!
  20. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    My wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh". The story is Ok but I felt I knew what was going to happen in the rest of the movie after the first 15 mins. The characters are likable, but outside ofMy wife took me to this movies as a trade off for Total Recall. I have enjoyed some of Soderbergs work and I am a fan of McConnahey's. Tatum was funny as hell in 21 jump street and is easy not to hate. Overall this movie is just "ehh". The story is Ok but I felt I knew what was going to happen in the rest of the movie after the first 15 mins. The characters are likable, but outside of McConnahey, forgettable. The love interest is beautiful and has a rare natural beauty about her, acting needs some work in the "dramatic" moments. This movies shows how disconnected reviewers are from the general public, they overhype this movies into something its not. Worth seeing as a rental. Expand
  21. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Magic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. While the film does feature its fair share of stripped down men, it also has an incredible story and real emotional depth, something that might not beMagic Mike should go down as having one of the most deceiving trailers of all time. The trailer makes the film seem like a quick cash grab, filled with meathead hunks taking their clothes off, to fill theater seats on opening night. While the film does feature its fair share of stripped down men, it also has an incredible story and real emotional depth, something that might not be assumed from initial expectations.

    Those familiar with Steven Soderbergh
    Expand
  22. Aug 5, 2012
    0
    Ok, if you are a, how should i say this, woman looking for a good socially redeeming movie then this is for you! i dont see where this movie could have gone worse, there was no plot, there was no qualities that could make this movie better
  23. Aug 3, 2012
    1
    I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

    Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie about male strippers. It was made out to be cute, fun, sexy, with a main character that was stripping to get ahead in his actual business ventures. Some
    I'm choosing not to check the spoiler box because I won't mention specific events, but I will discuss the themes and feeling I was left with at the end of the movie, so consider yourself warned....

    Magic Mike advertised as a fun movie about male strippers. It was made out to be cute, fun, sexy, with a main character that was stripping to get ahead in his actual business ventures. Some conflict in the character, Mike, falling for a girl who didn't fully approve of his career, but it was assumed that was going to be worked through as the movie progressed, and we'd have a happy feel-good ending after learning a little bit about these misunderstood hard-working normal people doing a thankless but profitable job. NO. Just no. Instead, while the character Mike was sort of relatable and empathy-inspiring, he was trapped in a world that was slowly sucking out his soul.

    Channing Tatum, the proposed main character (I doubted this after only ten minutes into the movie) was sexy and entertaining. This is true. His role made me cry for its hopelessness. There was no hope for something more. No work-hard-and-be-rewarded. Instead, it was a man who stripped because he wanted a way to fulfill a dream, but was stymied at every turn. I guess it may have been appealing to realism, claiming the economy is horrible and them's the breaks, but I'm thinking I don't go to the theater to be treated to a harsh dose of dreams-never-come-true. Not to mention, Mike suffers an extreme setback during the movie as a direct result of the actions of another character: never resolved. Heck, it was barely even addressed that this huge life-goal was just dashed by one man's utter childish stupidity.

    The setting, a male strip revenue, had potential to be sexy and interesting and humorous. There were elements of those included, but I found myself mostly depressed and torn between feeling ashamed and outraged at the behavior of these people. Yes, stripping may fall into the category of the sex industry. Yes, people in the industry of sins and indulgence might take things too far and fall on the wrong side of legality (not to mention morality). Here's the thing, though: its not a guarantee. The strippers, one and all, either participated in or causally accepted the pass-out alcoholism, the party drugs, partaking and supplying, and the infidelity. TLDR:Stripping doesn't have to mean awful people with awful lifestyles. It doesn't have to imply men (or women) that will never become anything more than drug-addicted sluts. Magic Mike has no uplifting story to accompany the bleak outlook on the industry, and I found myself utterly depressed after watching what I thought would be a sexy feel-good romp.
    Expand
  24. Aug 1, 2012
    3
    There were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much like miming to a song badly..she needs to smile and look at people in the eye when talking to them..disappointing that somebody so bad at acting got a hugeThere were some entertaining parts,funny in places and some hot bodies to lech over but my low score comes purely from the character of 'Brooke' played by Cody Horn,who was so miserable looking and so out of sync with every scene,much like miming to a song badly..she needs to smile and look at people in the eye when talking to them..disappointing that somebody so bad at acting got a huge part in the film but we all know who her father is. Collapse
  25. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    I went to see this with my daughter-in-law and another friend. It is definitely a girls' night out movie! We all enjoyed it. Channing T and Matthew M really made the movie for us. Definitely recommend getting together with friends and going to see it.
  26. Jul 19, 2012
    8
    The doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straight women find man-on-man hot. The "gayest" character is a bi female stripper we meet briefly and never see again. She's most likely thrown in becauseThe doorman must turn gay guys away from the club since none ever materialize inside. The film could have used more gay--for realism, to appeal more to gay men (I was the only one in my audience), and because, as I understand it, straight women find man-on-man hot. The "gayest" character is a bi female stripper we meet briefly and never see again. She's most likely thrown in because straight boyfriends find girl-on-girl hot. Every 20 minutes or so the script throws them a bone--some boobs here, an I-imagine-hot woman there--but it's easily ignorable. Anyway, aside from that odd and unnecessary omission, the movie was much better than I expected. The plot was decent--maybe a little slow and trite--the characters were somewhat interesting, and the guys were hot to really hot. I didn't find the dancing, especially Tatum's, particularly erotic, but it was well-choreographed and your mileage may vary. As for skin, there are numerous nice butt and torso shots; no full frontal unfortunately (and a lack of crotch closeups come to think of it) but it's not porn and not meant to be. It does what it's supposed to and does it well. Expand
  27. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    First, I'm a guy who went to this with my girlfriend. Second, there was only three guys in the theater, I never thought I would see this happen. Even with hardcore guy movies (say, Solaris or something) you still see tons of girls. Wierd. Anyways, here we go... if you remove the 20 minutes of guys dancing in leather underwear, you have a rockstar movie about a group of guys trying to makeFirst, I'm a guy who went to this with my girlfriend. Second, there was only three guys in the theater, I never thought I would see this happen. Even with hardcore guy movies (say, Solaris or something) you still see tons of girls. Wierd. Anyways, here we go... if you remove the 20 minutes of guys dancing in leather underwear, you have a rockstar movie about a group of guys trying to make it big. Acting's great, and Matt M. is playing himself so over the top that it's actually totally hilarious and you have to hand it to him for being so rediculous. Super-hot girls, drugs, some violence- it's got everything a guy needs in a movie, and just grin and bear the few dance seens (which actually contain quite a bit of comedy in themselves). Think the movie 'Rockstar' on a smaller scale with dancing instead of rock concerts. Oh, but it's better than the movie Rockstar (Rockstar's not a bad movie though). Expand
  28. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Most fun film of the summer so far. Weird, dark, and not at all what you're expecting it to be, this movie stuck with me. Don't trust the trailer! This movie is all about stripping away your notions of sexiness and exposing (yes, I know) the world of male stripping as a neurotic little worm-hole. And yet to the director's credit the movie sails along and is almost always a blast!
  29. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Magic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be likeMagic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be like to be in their shoes. www.screenspotlight.com Expand
  30. Jul 13, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was disappointing to me. This could of been tastefully done with some fun stripping and a plot with more meaning then all the drugs, sex and lesbians . 5 of us were disappointed with the movie and would not recommend it. Distasteful and story line was not good. Expand
  31. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    A very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazy enough to add character to his role. The only major problem is the love connection -- you know from the moment she appears on screen that Mike and TheA very good film that deserves a wider audience than the mostly female audience it now attracts. The honesty of the script and the performances are what makes the film enjoyable. Pettyfer and Tatum are excellent; McConaughey is sleazy enough to add character to his role. The only major problem is the love connection -- you know from the moment she appears on screen that Mike and The Kid's sister will be an item. Sadly this predictable weight diminishes an otherwise excellent movie. Expand
  32. Jul 12, 2012
    0
    Three of my friends and I went to see this movie. We were disappointed with the plot. Channing Tatum is an excellent actor, however this role did not do him justice. I am aware that he did stripping in his youth. The acting was sub par for all the actors. My friends all agreed not to recommend Magic Mike as a must see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  33. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    A film about male strippers without a gay angle? Preposterous! But Channing Tatum with and without clothes is worth the price of admission. As for that line in the movie where an unkempt looking Alex Pettyfer as the Kid gets a job as a male stripper on the spot because "...the Kid's got something...," my question is, "And what is that something exactly?"
  34. Jul 12, 2012
    0
    This movie is horrible. Bad directing, set and script. Not enough story or dancing. They really could have made this into a fun movie. The actors apparently had no direction. Just get out there and do whatever is what it looked like. If you think the Twighlight series has bad acting etc.. dont even bother with this. The audience for the most part laughed. The few dancing scenes areThis movie is horrible. Bad directing, set and script. Not enough story or dancing. They really could have made this into a fun movie. The actors apparently had no direction. Just get out there and do whatever is what it looked like. If you think the Twighlight series has bad acting etc.. dont even bother with this. The audience for the most part laughed. The few dancing scenes are not worth sitting through the whole movie. I will pass on the sequel. Sorry. great looking guys though. Expand
  35. Jul 9, 2012
    5
    I can think of only two messages that this film gives, and they are friendship and survival. I'm upset with this movie not because of the acting or actors, and not because of the plot or sets, but, rather, I'm upset with how this movie was put together. Male stripping is prevalent throughout it all, and this is where the survival message comes in. We, the audience, are presented with theI can think of only two messages that this film gives, and they are friendship and survival. I'm upset with this movie not because of the acting or actors, and not because of the plot or sets, but, rather, I'm upset with how this movie was put together. Male stripping is prevalent throughout it all, and this is where the survival message comes in. We, the audience, are presented with the dilemma of what somebody needs to do in order to provide for their well being and stability. Mike, played by Channing Tatum, has the goal of getting out of, "the business," and working on his own company. Unfortunately, since he only deals in cash, and you know why that is, his credit rating disqualifies him for a loan to start that business. A quick note, when doing a review, I hardly ever imagine that I'm going to mention a character's credit score. However, with this movie, it seems to stand out within the story line and that's not a good thing at all. The other message I mentioned was friendship. Mike has befriended a young nineteen year old named Adam, who is played by Alex Pettyfer. He's not a male stripper when the film starts, but, by the time it ends, he's completely immersed in this lucrative industry. It's a nice friendship between the two characters and they seem to have each other's back. Unfortunately, towards the end, the whole idea flops over with them parting ways. Friendship and survival are the two messages I got from this film, and I'm not even sure if those are the messages I'm supposed to get. The story line was all over the place with no clear direction until mid way through the movie when the actors are presented with the opportunity of expanding their stripping business. From there, everything goes down hill, with drugs, alcohol, and threatened relationships. I do not recommend this movie for anybody. Save your money or see another production. Expand
  36. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    This movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but come on, what a horrible plot line and camera angles. Right from the beginning, the camera above his truck...never do above shots for no reason, ever. IThis movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but come on, what a horrible plot line and camera angles. Right from the beginning, the camera above his truck...never do above shots for no reason, ever. I could have directed this better! There was no real ending to movie and there was just too many different plots happening at once. Don't see this movie. Maybe rent it from Redbox, to see the hot guys, but, ughhh. This was just the worst. Expand
  37. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    I felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allowsI felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allows women to actually relate to the movie and pretend they're there. The true plot and story line captures your heart, and then Channing and his sexy co stars take it to a whole new level. Well done! Expand
  38. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    There is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dry humping. Yes, this exploitation flick has a heart at its center and the entire cast is up to the task of making it work. Channing Tatum and Alex PetyferThere is some disappointment circulating as viewers learn that Magic Mike is not exclusively focused on male strippers strutting their goods for all to see. There is an actual story woven into the scenes of quasi-erotic gyrations and dry humping. Yes, this exploitation flick has a heart at its center and the entire cast is up to the task of making it work. Channing Tatum and Alex Petyfer shine as the film's central protagonists, the development of the their friendship central to the flow of the movie. Things do take a decidedly melodramatic turn towards darker themes but in the end, this shift is important to delivering the viewer to the film's final moment, the only moment of the film that features a genuine portrayal of sweetness. The biggest flaw is the development of the potential love story which seems rushed and at times it seems forgotten in the loose plot. Still, the actors all pull together to deliver some memorable moments. The eye candy is plentiful and there is plenty of nudity to satisfy men and women alike. The editing seems a little choppy but it only adds to the gritty nature of this story. All in all, this is a solid summer film with equal amounts of drama and comedy and a healthy dose of celebrity skin. Expand
  39. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing! Channing Tatum was awesome and can dance his ass off! it is definitely worth the money and excitement and definitely a ladies night out! Ladies leave your man @ home..lol!
  40. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    This semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody's taking it seriously. Director Steven Soderbergh has crafted the trite story into a winning narrative, but it's Tatum who's in every sense the star: hisThis semi-autobiographical story of Channing Tatum's own experiences as a male dancer casts him in the role of elder stripper, who introduces the newbie (Alex Pettyfer) into the biz. Of course, there is lots of buff male flesh, but nobody's taking it seriously. Director Steven Soderbergh has crafted the trite story into a winning narrative, but it's Tatum who's in every sense the star: his stature as THE leading man of his generation continues to develop, thanks to his charismatic presence and comic charms (not to mention his physique and flashy dance moves). As the boss, Matthew McConaughey turns in a enjoyable over-the-top performance that reflects the rowdy fun attitude of this movie. Expand
  41. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    I thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the movies and watching our bfs get all hot and bothered by the female nude scenes, what I didn't like was there were some lesbians and two different girls thatI thought that it was good, however it wasnt quite what I was expecting. This movie is sopose to be for the women! (And gay guys obviously) finally we have a movie showing off the men's sexual attributes and were sick of going to the movies and watching our bfs get all hot and bothered by the female nude scenes, what I didn't like was there were some lesbians and two different girls that showed their **** that was frustrating because that is not what us women came to this movie to see! We would like to see how hung Channing tatum is obviously, we don't want to see women's boobs, like really don't we have enough movies showing that? We want our movie showing what we want to see for once! Expand
  42. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very much a Soderbergh film, Magic Mike definitely entertains - and is a tour de force for McConnahey's acting and Tatum's dancing. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a few more lines from Bomer. My single favorite aspect of the film is the chemistry between Mike and The Kid's sister. While the rest of the film is so seedy and in-your-face with its overt and aggressive sexuality, their relationship isn't consummated at all - instead, they come together in a very classy, traditional, romantic way, finally touching hands and sharing a kiss in the film's final frame. Nice. Expand
  43. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    For once, Hollywood has turned the tables on the typical male-centric movie and given us a breath of fresh air. The actors were great in their respective roles, and Soderbergh's direction was superb as well. The best part, in my opinion, was the very original writing - kudos to Reid Carolin. This film has a lot of heart, and it showed because everyone in the theater had a great time!
  44. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home..
  45. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average and the dance scenes seemed forced. Utterly forgettable, incredibly average, a total yawnfest that ran way too long. See this movie only as a last resort.
  46. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    I wished I could have seen more of Matthew McConaughey! However, Channing Tatum was Great. I took my Male Friend with me. He and the other men (with their girlfriends and wives) enjoyed the movie as well. I don't think guys should be embarrassed if they do go to this movie. All the actors in this movie played their roles to the "T"! Excelleant Movie!
  47. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    I am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their realI am a 32 y/o man & went w/ my GF. I thought the movie was original, funny, and worth seeing. I think a lot of guys will feel embarassed about telling their guy friends that they saw this movie or even enjoyed it. Horny women, partying, drinking, drugs, sex: all the things I love in a movie. It was fun watching Channing Tatum and Matthew McConnahey* play a role that basically is their real life, women wanting to have sex with them 24/7. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 12, 2012
    60
    Oddly, Magic Mike somehow looks like a much darker and more challenging movie than is actually the case.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Soderbergh lets his hair down with a frank, funny dramedy that bulges with humour, heart and smarts as McConaughey gives it everything he's got, in a potentially gong-grabbing turn.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven James Snyder
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Rarely do you see an actor harness such physical energy on the screen, much less dance at this level of intensity while converting raw muscle mass into raging sex appeal. But Tatum is the real McCoy.