Magic Mike

Magic Mike Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jun 29, 2012
    100
    As we face yet another summer of brooding superheroes, it's Magic Mike to the rescue! He's got the civilian alter ego and the acrobatic skills to rival Spidey or Batman.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 29, 2012
    88
    Director Steven Soderbergh is working very near the top of his game here, and if Magic Mike tells an old, old story about a young man, his talent, his rise, and his fall - see everything from "Saturday Night Fever" to "Boogie Nights" - he brings the confidence of a born filmmaker and a cast that's sharper than their characters and ready to play.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Soderbergh lets his hair down with a frank, funny dramedy that bulges with humour, heart and smarts as McConaughey gives it everything he's got, in a potentially gong-grabbing turn.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Like "The Girlfriend Experience," Magic Mike doubles as an of-the-moment film about life in a down economy, so much so that it would play like a bait-and-switch if it didn't just as thoroughly deliver as a movie about stripping.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    Almost as impressive as Tatum's moves are his comic flair and breezy grace. He proved his comic talents earlier this year in "21 Jump Street" and shows them off winningly here.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 28, 2012
    70
    The process is called acting, and the man (Tatum) in the title role of Steven Soderbergh's flashy, not-so-trashy entertainment does it so well that the debate should be officially ended.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 28, 2012
    40
    Life, however, cannot be lived entirely on stage, and once the characters have to take off their thongs and return to their real lives, the film goes nowhere that is either interesting, involving or surprising.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 14 out of 53
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and itAmazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home.. Collapse
  2. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Most fun film of the summer so far. Weird, dark, and not at all what you're expecting it to be, this movie stuck with me. Don't trust theMost fun film of the summer so far. Weird, dark, and not at all what you're expecting it to be, this movie stuck with me. Don't trust the trailer! This movie is all about stripping away your notions of sexiness and exposing (yes, I know) the world of male stripping as a neurotic little worm-hole. And yet to the director's credit the movie sails along and is almost always a blast! Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very much a Soderbergh film, Magic Mike definitely entertains - and is a tour de force for McConnahey's acting and Tatum's dancing. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a few more lines from Bomer. My single favorite aspect of the film is the chemistry between Mike and The Kid's sister. While the rest of the film is so seedy and in-your-face with its overt and aggressive sexuality, their relationship isn't consummated at all - instead, they come together in a very classy, traditional, romantic way, finally touching hands and sharing a kiss in the film's final frame. Nice. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Magic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America.Magic Mike is an excellent picture because it is more than showing Channing Tatum's ass to screaming morons at movie theaters across America. This film shows us insider details of male strippers which is a topic or career that rarely receives attention. Few of us will become doctors, and even fewer strippers, but that does not make us curious about how they live and what it would be like to be in their shoes. www.screenspotlight.com Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    5
    It has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is theIt has a surprising factor. It´s pretty fun to watch all these actors taking these roles, they do it surprisingly good. The problem is the good things end there. The plot goes nowhere and the film becomes too superficial. Even boring in the second half, when the novelty is over. It had potential though. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    This movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average andThis movie wasn't anything. It was air. The plot was more or less non-existent, the acting was sub-par at best, the dialogue was average and the dance scenes seemed forced. Utterly forgettable, incredibly average, a total yawnfest that ran way too long. See this movie only as a last resort. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    This movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for herThis movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but come on, what a horrible plot line and camera angles. Right from the beginning, the camera above his truck...never do above shots for no reason, ever. I could have directed this better! There was no real ending to movie and there was just too many different plots happening at once. Don't see this movie. Maybe rent it from Redbox, to see the hot guys, but, ughhh. This was just the worst. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  3. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  4. Film Friday (5/8): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (5/8): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: May 8, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's movie trailers, including new looks at Vacation, San Andreas, Magic Mike XXL, Ricki and the Flash, and much more.
  5. Film Friday (2/6): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (2/6): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: February 6, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's new movie trailers, including new looks at Magic Mike XXL, Minions, Furious 7, Poltergeist, Ned Rifle, Lost River, and much more.