Magic Mike

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jun 29, 2012
    100
    As we face yet another summer of brooding superheroes, it's Magic Mike to the rescue! He's got the civilian alter ego and the acrobatic skills to rival Spidey or Batman.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 29, 2012
    88
    Director Steven Soderbergh is working very near the top of his game here, and if Magic Mike tells an old, old story about a young man, his talent, his rise, and his fall - see everything from "Saturday Night Fever" to "Boogie Nights" - he brings the confidence of a born filmmaker and a cast that's sharper than their characters and ready to play.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Soderbergh lets his hair down with a frank, funny dramedy that bulges with humour, heart and smarts as McConaughey gives it everything he's got, in a potentially gong-grabbing turn.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Like "The Girlfriend Experience," Magic Mike doubles as an of-the-moment film about life in a down economy, so much so that it would play like a bait-and-switch if it didn't just as thoroughly deliver as a movie about stripping.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 28, 2012
    75
    Almost as impressive as Tatum's moves are his comic flair and breezy grace. He proved his comic talents earlier this year in "21 Jump Street" and shows them off winningly here.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 28, 2012
    70
    The process is called acting, and the man (Tatum) in the title role of Steven Soderbergh's flashy, not-so-trashy entertainment does it so well that the debate should be officially ended.
  7. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jun 28, 2012
    40
    Life, however, cannot be lived entirely on stage, and once the characters have to take off their thongs and return to their real lives, the film goes nowhere that is either interesting, involving or surprising.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 50
  2. Negative: 14 out of 50
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Amazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and itAmazing :) I had the best time yesterday with my sisters and mama.. The energy from the crowd. The movie was exactly what was promised and it was nice that finally the lady's had something good to watch and do while the men were at home.. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    I felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hystericallyI felt the movie did what it was meant to do, and that's get the ladies laughing and having a great time. I laughed, then I hysterically laughed and of course there was moments when I wanted to jump through the screen and join the cast...but never once did the smile leave my face. Channing is charming, sexy and played the role with perfection - his personality shines through and allows women to actually relate to the movie and pretend they're there. The true plot and story line captures your heart, and then Channing and his sexy co stars take it to a whole new level. Well done! Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    Soderbergh has crafted what I consider to be a possible future classic with
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Girls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possiblyGirls will be happy watching this movie for the sole purpose of seeing Channing Tatum shirtless. Woman will feel the same way, and possibly appreciate Matthew McConaughey. Guys will be dragged to it by their significant other, and suffer watching a chick flick with a lack of story or anything redeeming in the movie. That's about all I can say. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    5
    (skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
    What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it.
    (skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
    What kind of film is Magic Mike? No, seriously, think about it. Classically, Magic Mike is a drama about the consequences of a lost individual’s decision to become a male stripper. But is it a light drama, or a dark drama? Or some indescribable mix? The inherent sexuality of the film, combined with playful stage setups and fanciful choreography, lightens the mood of the film (and, of course, makes for a rowdy female audience) However, as director Steven Soderbergh rapturously depicts the slow enlightenment of “Magic Mike” and descent of “The Kid,” the film reveals itself to be a much darker drama than anyone (even Soderbergh) had anticipated.
    Now, logistics. Soderbergh has a talent when it comes to dialogue. The wordy drunk conversation style (mostly executed by Channing Tatum) is more impactful than the dialogue itself (which is often empty) in motivating the film, because it defines the fluctuating relationships “Magic Mike” has with every main character. Unfortunately, this talent doesn’t seem to apply to story writing and plot progression. The timing is often disappointing, and halfway through, Magic Mike loses most of its momentum. There should never be a point in these films where the only motivating factor is seeing what “The Kid” pulls out of his sleeve(less leather vest) next. And the awkwardly-placed drug-debt dilemma doesn’t help. Nor does the sudden ending, which leaves the obliviously-spiraling character of “The Kid” totally unresolved.
    In conclusion, this is what I have to say: Magic Mike is a sexually charged film with vibrant sets and choreography, but lacks a firm artistic vision (or any vision in general) and as a result falls off its hinges too quickly.

    FINAL SCORE: 47.5 (a little disappointing ---------------o----- fine)
    Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2012
    3
    I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic.I'm male, and I can appreciate films like this for what they are (or aspire to be), but this is just ridiculous and completely unrealistic. It's as if this film was made by a 40-year old feminist homophobic schoolteacher who hasn't ever even been to a strip club of any kind and just wanted something moderately acceptable to get her and her like-minded girlfriends panties wet in public. Avoid at all cost if you're a guy, and if you're a chick then watch it at home so you can do what everyone knows you want to do while watching it but social conventions don't allow. Collapse
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    This movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for herThis movie was terrible. I am so disappointed with Steven Soderbergh, and the writer Reid Carolin. I went with a couple of friends for her 16th birthday. We all were so disappointed. Yes, we did just go to see it for the hot guys, but come on, what a horrible plot line and camera angles. Right from the beginning, the camera above his truck...never do above shots for no reason, ever. I could have directed this better! There was no real ending to movie and there was just too many different plots happening at once. Don't see this movie. Maybe rent it from Redbox, to see the hot guys, but, ughhh. This was just the worst. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  3. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.