New Line Cinema | Release Date: December 17, 1999
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 503 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
233
Mixed:
16
Negative:
254
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PaxsterOct 7, 2010
A rare success with this film is that it is a Tom Cruise film I like. But to be honest,it's not really about him it's how the cinematography is so interwoven you can't remember where you went last and where you are going to go next. To thinkA rare success with this film is that it is a Tom Cruise film I like. But to be honest,it's not really about him it's how the cinematography is so interwoven you can't remember where you went last and where you are going to go next. To think of a story like this takes time and dedication and to keep you hanging on for 3 Hours isn't a bad feat either. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuFeb 19, 2012
Interesting interwoven tale of numerous lives although the Tom Cruise character dominates the movie. A superbly acted and directed movie which everybody should see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaSep 19, 2012
What a raw and powerful film that succeeds in every category possible. Writing, directing, acting, editing, camera work are all fantastic in another PT Anderson masterpiece. All the more great because it is a film that denies hollywoodWhat a raw and powerful film that succeeds in every category possible. Writing, directing, acting, editing, camera work are all fantastic in another PT Anderson masterpiece. All the more great because it is a film that denies hollywood convention and instead creates something more bizarre and memorable and a work of art that demands to be seen and talked about. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FilmVirtueApr 6, 2015
A modern masterpiece in unique storytelling that from start to finish will have you captivated inside It's killer plot that never lets up, only becoming more and more intense as the story progresses. Afterwards it won't matter that the filmA modern masterpiece in unique storytelling that from start to finish will have you captivated inside It's killer plot that never lets up, only becoming more and more intense as the story progresses. Afterwards it won't matter that the film is 3 hours, because It's 3 hours well spent and many more to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
UCSD1978Jun 28, 2014
PT Anderson's second Masterpiece after Boogie Nights, showcases some of the best acting performances of 1999. Tom Cruise's acting is first rate and completely haunting. Magnolia is a roller coaster ride with many characters to marvel at. JohnPT Anderson's second Masterpiece after Boogie Nights, showcases some of the best acting performances of 1999. Tom Cruise's acting is first rate and completely haunting. Magnolia is a roller coaster ride with many characters to marvel at. John C. Riley also shows a sensitivity that is usually overshadowed by his command of comedy. In addition, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Julianne Moore give intense and emotional performances that deserve recognition. Overall, its a long movie that flies by without notice. There is a scene towards the end that has to witnessed to believe it. It really makes this movie memorable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
Grandly emotional, brilliantly edited, and makes use of music in startlingly original and profound ways. However, this sprawling opus isn't perfect; It's a bit hard to follow and some plot points get left dangling. The cast is excellent, andGrandly emotional, brilliantly edited, and makes use of music in startlingly original and profound ways. However, this sprawling opus isn't perfect; It's a bit hard to follow and some plot points get left dangling. The cast is excellent, and while it isn't flawless, it is a great film. Definitely worth seeing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleAug 23, 2014
Who would guess that a film like this would be successful? However, it absolutely is. Magnolia explores the themes of loneliness, regret, forgiveness, the past, and parent-child relationships, with snapshots of the life of a group of brokenWho would guess that a film like this would be successful? However, it absolutely is. Magnolia explores the themes of loneliness, regret, forgiveness, the past, and parent-child relationships, with snapshots of the life of a group of broken and troubled people who are all linked, even if they do not know it. Thanks to great acting from the ensemble cast featuring Tom Cruise, Melinda Dillon, Jeremy Blackman, Philip Baker Hall, Philip Seymour Hoffman, William H. Macy, Julianne Moore, John C. Reilly, Jason Robards, and Melora Walters, Magnolia's diverse (yet not as diverse as you may think) are brought to life brilliantly. It also does not hurt that the writing is superb and the depth we go to with these characters in just three hours is amazing. On that note, this one comes in at three hours and in spite of it, it feels like it was nothing more than an hour and a half, as the runtime just flies by. The ending is incredibly odd, though it brings the biblical references and the freak happenings of this one to conclusion nicely, as odd as it may truly be. Overall, Magnolia is a beautiful and brilliantly made film that will move and entertain you. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Don't treat Magnolia like a movie. Surrender yourself to it's awesomeness and allow it to play on your emotions like music. It'll blow you away.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidMay 4, 2014
Magnolia is a very intelligent film from a usually impressive director Paul Thomas Anderson, Magnolia is very unique and watchable. The cast delivers great performances. Tom Cruise is in one of his strongest role as Frank T.J Mackey. A greatMagnolia is a very intelligent film from a usually impressive director Paul Thomas Anderson, Magnolia is very unique and watchable. The cast delivers great performances. Tom Cruise is in one of his strongest role as Frank T.J Mackey. A great way to follow up Boogie Nights! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
bobmeierAug 1, 2016
Magnolia is a great film on any level, but the cliche about never seeing a film in a vacuum certainly is addressed to this film. I saw it just after a close friend died and everything about this film rang so true.
I think that Anderson was
Magnolia is a great film on any level, but the cliche about never seeing a film in a vacuum certainly is addressed to this film. I saw it just after a close friend died and everything about this film rang so true.
I think that Anderson was saying was don't hold back having the BIG discussions or you may find it's too late to do so. And we all are somewhat guilty of that. What an experience Magnolia is...and so sad to see it now with Phil Hoffman gone. Wonder if he had the time to have the discussions.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
seancriswellOct 7, 2012
Every so often a movie that you have heard a lot about but never seen blows your mind. Magnolia is one of those movies for me. Immediately after viewing this film I knew that it would be on my mind for weeks and that it would become one of myEvery so often a movie that you have heard a lot about but never seen blows your mind. Magnolia is one of those movies for me. Immediately after viewing this film I knew that it would be on my mind for weeks and that it would become one of my top 10 films. Every character in this movie is interesting on multiple levels. Every scene in this movie is thoughtful and poignant. The scenes that opponents of this film have problems with, the frogs and the musical interlude, work for me in every way. Both these scenes do seem out of place in this story, but for me that is what makes them amazing. They come from nowhere, but interlock these characters in a visceral, interesting way. There is so much to unravel in a film this large, with multiple plot lines and characters running both separate from each other and together at various times. You could probably write a book trying to accurately review this movie. I look forward to watching this movie again and again over the years, and trying to unravel all the characters and premises in my mind. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
BKMJul 17, 2012
Magnolia is a beast of a movie, and not just in terms of its 3 hour plus running time. Paul Thomas Anderson's ambitious and challenging film (in some ways it's more daring than Boogie Nights) juggles an enormous cast of characters who areMagnolia is a beast of a movie, and not just in terms of its 3 hour plus running time. Paul Thomas Anderson's ambitious and challenging film (in some ways it's more daring than Boogie Nights) juggles an enormous cast of characters who are all in desperate need of love and redemption, and sometimes both. The film digs deep emotionally into the souls of its characters and suggests that each and every one of them is deserving of these very qualities despite their sins and transgressions. Magnolia is an art film that begs to be attacked for its pretentiousness and for a gonzo finale, but it's all the better for those very things. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
JonW.Jul 7, 2006
I thought "The Village", "Random Hearts" and "Intersection" were the worst movies of all time. Now they're only the 2nd - 4th worst movies of all time thank to this hunk of junk. The most interesting part of the film was the first 1 I thought "The Village", "Random Hearts" and "Intersection" were the worst movies of all time. Now they're only the 2nd - 4th worst movies of all time thank to this hunk of junk. The most interesting part of the film was the first 1 minute when 3 coincidences were summarized - the only coincidence involving the actual characters in the movie were the boredom in which they inflicted, the pointlessness of their stories and the over-the-top acting by all of the cast members. By the end of the movie, I was praying that they all would die together, quickly because I cared nothing for any of them and only wanted to stop my pain. It will be tough to top this one as the worst ever, but I'm sure some Hollywood genius is already hard at work. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
BJonesFeb 13, 2009
This movie was garbage, and every scene was drawn out long enough for you to be begging for the next scene, and it added up to a 3 hour piece of junk. Really garbage.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BiffL.Jul 12, 2009
Various blighted, phony, humorless characters strutting and fretting between ridiculous marginally intelligent speechifying, all of them so dishonest, lost and damned that the only salvation (or relief at least) possible would be a plague of Various blighted, phony, humorless characters strutting and fretting between ridiculous marginally intelligent speechifying, all of them so dishonest, lost and damned that the only salvation (or relief at least) possible would be a plague of equally phony frogs dropping from the sky. Reminded me of the Sam Kinison routine about the people starving in the desert. Like, if your life is really anything like that, why the fuck don't you MOVE? It made my 10 worst films of all time list, nearer the top than the bottom. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JalemanyOct 3, 2015
I keep trying, but I cannot connect with Paul Thomas Anderson supposed genius and mystery. This film is a fantastic formal exercise. Editing, music, acting, characters ... but, I cannot feel anything else. For me, it lacks depth andI keep trying, but I cannot connect with Paul Thomas Anderson supposed genius and mystery. This film is a fantastic formal exercise. Editing, music, acting, characters ... but, I cannot feel anything else. For me, it lacks depth and exploration, heart and truth. Maybe it is there, but I certainly cannot see it.i Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
ExKingApr 1, 2013
this movie without a doubt is the most creepiest 3 hours i spent on the big screen for long long time the writing is so weird that after finish watching the movie i felt manipulated and i felt that Paul Thomas Anderson should made a betterthis movie without a doubt is the most creepiest 3 hours i spent on the big screen for long long time the writing is so weird that after finish watching the movie i felt manipulated and i felt that Paul Thomas Anderson should made a better explanation for all the events that been going on for the entire movie i get the idea that everyone was acting hard but some of them tried so hard it's ridiculous for example Alfred Molina has a 10 minutes of fame and he was acting like it was a scene from the godfather ,Tom Cruise and Julianne Moore did their parts very well but after all the movie is awkward but that make sense since Paul Thomas Anderson is also the director and the writer of there will be blood that awkward movie with a very questionable ending. after this i will never watch his movies again. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Aug 20, 2015
Paul Thomas Anderson knows how to write interesting characters. "Magnolia" centers around the different stories of multiple people. We have two characters dying of cancer. One is a cop that falls in love with a drug addict. Tom Cruise is aPaul Thomas Anderson knows how to write interesting characters. "Magnolia" centers around the different stories of multiple people. We have two characters dying of cancer. One is a cop that falls in love with a drug addict. Tom Cruise is a sex mentor. The list goes on. As a result I love this movie. Grant it, it's not a perfect movie and has its issues. But we'll get to that later. To be fair, there is a lot to love about this movie. Anderson wrote and directed the living crap out of this movie. He has such a beautiful vision not just from a cinematic scope, but from a storytelling point of view. And he has also written tons of interesting characters. John C Reily as the cop. Jason Robards and Phillip Baker Hall as the two men dying of cancer. Phillip Seymour Hoffman as Robards nurse. TOM CRUISE AS A SEX MENTOR! There are tons of more characters than that, but can't talk about them all day. However the performances from the cast is stellar. They hold their own emotional weight to their specific stories and carry the film. Sure some were better than others, but all their stories were nevertheless engaging. And Tom Cruise just kills it in this movie. In a movie filled with literally top notch performances, he stands out as my favorite character. It was just something totally different from what we've seen him do before. I loved how the stories are interconnected but never to the point that they have to try to have everyone come across everyone in some forced way or fashion. It's not like those ensemble movies in which everyone meets up at the end. For a 3 hour long movie, it keeps me engaged the whole way through. If anything only the last 5 maybe 10 minutes dragged. That's it! Plus it also has a rewatchability factor to it. Again, it goes back to having all the interesting characters keep you engaged the entire movie. Ive seen this movie twice and still plan on watching it a third time in the near future. As far as issues, I will say that Julianne Moore's character was the one that I could never care about. It's the fault of Anderson's writing rather Moore's performance is completely over the top. Luckily she doesn't have as big of a story as essentially every other character. But I could never get into to her character like I did with everyone else. And there is a big event near the end of the movie, while a great scene, it just felt completely over the top and absurd. Maybe because that the whole movie felt so grounded in reality up until that point. I guess it's just something I have to look further into. But overall, it's such an entertaining movie with stunning performances by almost everyone, fantastic writing and a great vision (for the most part) by Anderson. I'm going to give "Magnolia" an A-! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MarcusDJul 30, 2007
The 2nd greatest film ever. The most ambitious direction and story ever. The best cast every assembled with Cruise standing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelA.Jan 2, 2006
My favorite movie! I was entraped in the first opening seconds and it honestly did not let go until it all ended. On top of that my investment of time was rewarded by a truly unforgettable climax. Everyone of the actors in this movie are at My favorite movie! I was entraped in the first opening seconds and it honestly did not let go until it all ended. On top of that my investment of time was rewarded by a truly unforgettable climax. Everyone of the actors in this movie are at the top of their game. I can watch this over and over again, and each time there is something new to ponder about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RedlightJun 5, 2007
Mesmerizing movie. It's hard to choose a favourite performance but for now it's Julianne Moore. She doesn't portray her character in a sentimental fashion, which would be typical for the situation her character's in.Mesmerizing movie. It's hard to choose a favourite performance but for now it's Julianne Moore. She doesn't portray her character in a sentimental fashion, which would be typical for the situation her character's in. instead, her behaviour is erratic, almost farcical, which makes her grief all the more devastating. Shame she never got nominated for an Oscar or Golden Globe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MayaL.Aug 6, 2008
Riveting film with brilliant ensemble!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJul 18, 2009
I noticed most of the zero's on here dismiss Magnolia as a boring or artsy film people enjoy because it makes them feel smart. Magnolia makes you feel smart because it IS smart. In fact, P.T. Anderson's shattering of narrative I noticed most of the zero's on here dismiss Magnolia as a boring or artsy film people enjoy because it makes them feel smart. Magnolia makes you feel smart because it IS smart. In fact, P.T. Anderson's shattering of narrative convention is the most unique undertaking since Citizen Kane. I won't ruin the ending, but I will say that different aspects of the film, from the characters to the themes, have already started to converge, making the ending acceptable. Some character studies are boring and have an unwarranted reputation, but not here. If your smart enough and want to invest some time towards wrapping your head around this one, you'll be amazed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Dec 16, 2005
Definately of the best films in the history of the cinema. at first i was slightly confused by the entire thing, especially the ending, but i thought about it for weeks, and i realized that i don't have to understand the wild ending, if Definately of the best films in the history of the cinema. at first i was slightly confused by the entire thing, especially the ending, but i thought about it for weeks, and i realized that i don't have to understand the wild ending, if a film makes me think about it for a week, it is amazing. I just came to except that the ending was a biblical referance which kind of brought everyone back to reality. amazing!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidSep 12, 2005
One of the best films in the last 10 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeGDec 9, 2007
Jaw droppingly awesome. John C. Reily was phenomenal in his goodie too shoes cop role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanDFeb 1, 2008
An emotional masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleSJun 20, 2008
My favorite movie ever. A beautiful, bold and downright astonishing exploration of a group of realistic and convoluted characters with so many interlocking themes, similarities and events you could fill a book. Incredible acting, an My favorite movie ever. A beautiful, bold and downright astonishing exploration of a group of realistic and convoluted characters with so many interlocking themes, similarities and events you could fill a book. Incredible acting, an ingenious and entrancing ending sequence, praiseworthy direction, a wonderful script and original songs by the terrific Aimee Mann all bolster this into a hypnotic masterpiece. One thing I will say, though, is that you need to watch this film when you have 3 free hours and nothing on your mind. Let it suck you in... if you are not paying attention, or if you are overthinking, you will hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarryA.Nov 28, 2006
It's the film I've seen the most and I find new details every time. It's absolutely great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OCuculizaMar 16, 2006
A miracle. I couldn't believe what I was watching. Every single scene is absolute magic. This movie touched me in ways I could never expect, and I wished it would never end. The cast is flawless, the cinematography is amazing, and most A miracle. I couldn't believe what I was watching. Every single scene is absolute magic. This movie touched me in ways I could never expect, and I wished it would never end. The cast is flawless, the cinematography is amazing, and most importantly, the script and directing are just cinematic perfection. Hands down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful