Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 100
    The kind of film I instinctively respond to. Leave logic at the door. Do not expect subdued taste and restraint, but instead a kind of operatic ecstasy.
  2. 100
    Part poem, part jungle blossom, all brilliance.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    Anderson must have needed that bonkers third-hour climax because there was nowhere to go short of spontaneous combustion.
  4. Drunk and disorderly on the pure joy of making movies. A frantic, flawed, fascinating film that is both impressive and a bit out of control, often at the same time.
  5. Anderson, 29, does so much in Magnolia, with such nerve, with wily humor and out-of-the-blue bravado, that the film's flaws and lapses don't really matter. It ain't perfect, but it's awe-inspiring.
  6. Reviewed by: Emanuel Levy
    70
    A remarkably inventive and audacious film that almost overcomes its flaws.
  7. A three-hour-and-10-minute exercise in slight characterization, pointlessly showy editing and vapid plotting.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 63
  2. Negative: 13 out of 63
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Magnolia is the kind of film that Paul Thomas Anderson likes: intelligent, full of symbolism and great characters that connect beautifully in the end.
  2. RyanD
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    An emotional masterpiece.
  3. MattZ
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    By far the best movie of 1999. Writer and director Paul Thomas Anderson has given birth to a true timeless masterpiece.
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Few people seem to understand this movie, but then few people understand me either. We are damaged, the film's characters and I. We struggle with pain and a crippled emotional life. It is a beautiful film. It sings a lovely and desperate song. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    This epic montage gives an incredibly honest yet dark insight into the lives of the average human being through a stunningly complex and intelligent script. The three hours goes by in seconds, as the complexity and likability/love-hate-ability of the superbly-acted characters (especially Julianne Moore as Linda Partridge and Melora Walters as Claudia Wilson Gator) keeps us engaged and guessing, as well as putting us through at least ten different emotions a minute. The climactic scenes are masterfully executed by P T Anderson, and give the perfect balance between satisfactory ending and a provocative one. The film is stylishly and atmospherically shot, indulging us and gripping us in the tense and unfulfilled, yet obscurely warm and wonderful world that is Magnolia. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Definately my kind of movie: it has multiple storylines with different characters, which are entwining and crossing each other in some points. They are mostly dramatic, telling about ruined lives, personal regrets and skeletons in the closet. Most of the characters have an amazing backstory, which is revealed during the movie. Also I'd like to mention Tom Cruise's role, probably his best one I've seen. Expand
  7. JonW.
    Jul 7, 2006
    0
    I thought "The Village", "Random Hearts" and "Intersection" were the worst movies of all time. Now they're only the 2nd - 4th worst movies of all time thank to this hunk of junk. The most interesting part of the film was the first 1 minute when 3 coincidences were summarized - the only coincidence involving the actual characters in the movie were the boredom in which they inflicted, the pointlessness of their stories and the over-the-top acting by all of the cast members. By the end of the movie, I was praying that they all would die together, quickly because I cared nothing for any of them and only wanted to stop my pain. It will be tough to top this one as the worst ever, but I'm sure some Hollywood genius is already hard at work. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Tom Cruise: All Films Considered

    Tom Cruise: All Films Considered Image
    Published: June 22, 2010
    It wasn't so long ago that Tom Cruise -- the star of this week's "Knight and Day" -- was a huge box office draw. We look back at his career to find the actor's best and worst films.