Warner Home Video | Release Date: November 18, 1992
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 52 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
heeldavidJun 11, 2014
Denzel Washington's performance as the the controversial Malcolm X is very charismatic and smart. Spike Lee's biopic is very unique in a lot of departments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
googolendtimesApr 7, 2014
A fascinating illumination of one of American history's most influential, charismatic and complex individuals, "Malcolm X" has a raw, passionate power steeped in Spike Lee's sweeping, evocative direction and the towering performance of DenzelA fascinating illumination of one of American history's most influential, charismatic and complex individuals, "Malcolm X" has a raw, passionate power steeped in Spike Lee's sweeping, evocative direction and the towering performance of Denzel Washington in the lead, who throws himself into the role of Malcolm X so completely it's incomprehensible any other actor could do a better job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
In Spike Lee's epic tale of legendary civil rights leader Malcolm X, he successfully creates one of the most provocative, disturbing, but enlightening biographical dramas I've ever gotten the chance to watch. A film that is not only a way forIn Spike Lee's epic tale of legendary civil rights leader Malcolm X, he successfully creates one of the most provocative, disturbing, but enlightening biographical dramas I've ever gotten the chance to watch. A film that is not only a way for African-Americans everywhere to rightfully embrace their heritage, but a film that gives people of all creeds, races, and ethnicities a chance to realize that we can live in perpetual harmony with one another. The movie is anchored by arguably one of the most moving, dynamic, and emotional biographical performances thus far - Denzel Washington's Malcolm X. Washington gives such a diverse and vivid portrayal of the man. From his troubling days as a misunderstood youth, to his successful moments as a rising voice within the Nation of Islam, to his final days as an enlightened, reformed human being, Washington depicts every moment to a sharp and polished degree. Every technical aspect of the movie is executed to a near perfect degree. Whether it's the camerawork, the lighting, the sets, or the score, Spike Lee successfully manages to use every one of the aforementioned factors to add to the film's thick mood. "Malcolm X" is a drama that is long, yes, but it is necessary for everyone to see. For the rise and fall of this young man is not only complex and tragic, but it's unbelievably inspiring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DoehlMar 25, 2012
Spike Lee has brought one of the best biopics in american history with a performance from Washington that brings out the angry intensity his controversial character was known for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkoOct 19, 2006
Denzel Washington 'became' Malcolm X. It is still eerie and brilliant today. The film gives rare insight into Malcolm's 'anger' and life in America in the 40's-60's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeamusS.Mar 20, 2006
Compelling and mostly entertaining. A good job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkhilK.Jul 27, 2005
Wow! What can i say? Amazing? Excellent? Invigorating? No amount of adjectives are enough to appreciate this movie. So inspirational and so entertaining and yet i am dissapointed that it got pretty underrated reviews, not to mention not one Wow! What can i say? Amazing? Excellent? Invigorating? No amount of adjectives are enough to appreciate this movie. So inspirational and so entertaining and yet i am dissapointed that it got pretty underrated reviews, not to mention not one oscar! (cmon, Denzel should have won) A must see in every sense of that term. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinS.Nov 29, 2004
This film was necessary for our nation's film history. It was a colorful illustration of the life of Malcolm X not just in the media but behind the scenes. Spike Lee's colaboration with Denzel Washington to make the movie was not This film was necessary for our nation's film history. It was a colorful illustration of the life of Malcolm X not just in the media but behind the scenes. Spike Lee's colaboration with Denzel Washington to make the movie was not only a smart movie move but also a smart political move as an actor with Denzel's capicity was necessary to acurately depict Malcolm X with all the white hot fires of ambition and greatness flowing through his veins. I give it a 10 because it is, simply, the greatest film ever made about Malcolm X. Great show! An epic for the ages! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MasumM.May 30, 2004
A great and inspiring movie that may as well change your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamalK.Mar 16, 2004
This movie was hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EriccaP.Sep 12, 2003
GREAT!!!! GREAT!!!!! LOVED IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.T.Feb 23, 2003
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AvonB.Jul 2, 2002
I wasn't so wild about this film. I had seen a bunch of documentary footage of Malcolm, enough for me to realize that Denzel's performance really couldn't handle to the real thing. (Sort of like Will Smith trying to play Ali.) I wasn't so wild about this film. I had seen a bunch of documentary footage of Malcolm, enough for me to realize that Denzel's performance really couldn't handle to the real thing. (Sort of like Will Smith trying to play Ali.) X and Ali were in their primes during the age of T.V. Their charisma is tough to match. Why do films on their lives when we've already experienced them? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful