Maleficent

Maleficent Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 559 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Driven by revenge and a fierce desire to protect the moors over which she presides, Maleficent cruelly places an irrevocable curse upon the human king’s newborn infant Aurora. As the child grows, Aurora is caught in the middle of the seething conflict between the forest kingdom she has grownDriven by revenge and a fierce desire to protect the moors over which she presides, Maleficent cruelly places an irrevocable curse upon the human king’s newborn infant Aurora. As the child grows, Aurora is caught in the middle of the seething conflict between the forest kingdom she has grown to love and the human kingdom that holds her legacy. Maleficent realizes that Aurora may hold the key to peace in the land and is forced to take drastic actions that will change both worlds forever. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 29, 2014
    83
    Yet nothing in their visually stimulating film registers as strongly as Jolie’s enigmatic, ever-changing face.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    May 29, 2014
    75
    In truth, you just can’t wait until the wicked Jolie returns to the screen. Whether a malevolent twinkle illuminates her beady eye or a heartbreaking tear rolls down her alabaster cheek, she is the film’s power.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 31, 2014
    70
    Whatever its flaws, Maleficent is a family-friendly Disney adventure that offers a relaunched and thoroughly delightful Angelina Jolie.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Walsh
    May 28, 2014
    60
    Despite its pitfalls, Maleficent entertains because of Jolie, who holds the wavering threads of Stromberg's spinning wheel together with aplomb.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    May 29, 2014
    58
    While I can see how there is a version of this film that might be able to successfully grapple with its central metaphor, I'm not sure Stromberg is the guy to make that movie.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 29, 2014
    50
    Jolie's performance so overshadows the rest of the cast (and the rest of the movie) that you sometimes feel as if the other characters are, like us, just standing around watching her. This is not, however, the fault of the other actors. It's the fault of screenwriter Linda Woolverton, who doesn't give them much to do that's challenging or interesting.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 30, 2014
    30
    Except for Angelina Jolie, exemplary as the fairy badmother who laid a narcotic curse on an infant princess, this pricey live-action drama is a dismaying botch.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 155
  2. Negative: 24 out of 155
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    Pienso volver a verla, iba pensando en un desastre y me encontré con una película que hasta hizo que se me saltasen las lagrimas con muchasPienso volver a verla, iba pensando en un desastre y me encontré con una película que hasta hizo que se me saltasen las lagrimas con muchas partes. Grandiosa la actuación de Angelina Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Great movie, haters gonna hate. Jolie plays an awesome role, lots of action to be had, cool effects, and it is a bit too violent for youngGreat movie, haters gonna hate. Jolie plays an awesome role, lots of action to be had, cool effects, and it is a bit too violent for young kids which means it is a darker Disney film for those worried about too much cute. Best of all....no singing! Collapse
  3. May 31, 2014
    10
    LOVE IT! I would definitely see it again. To the Top Critics: This is not American Hustle or The Wolf of Wall Street folks..THIS IS DISNEY.LOVE IT! I would definitely see it again. To the Top Critics: This is not American Hustle or The Wolf of Wall Street folks..THIS IS DISNEY. Treat it like a Disney movie. --- I thought they did a wonderful job recreating Maleficent! My whole family loved it. Expand
  4. May 30, 2014
    7
    Based on 'The Sleeping Beauty', my favourite of the old style animated Disney Films, this is a credible and mainly satisfying re-imagining ofBased on 'The Sleeping Beauty', my favourite of the old style animated Disney Films, this is a credible and mainly satisfying re-imagining of that film's iconic villainess. This version benefits from a refreshing twist in the story's telling and an inspired casting choice in Angelina Jolie to play the malevolent titular character. Eschewing the campy humour that essentially ruined 'Mirror Mirror' and balancing its dark tone much more successfully than 'Snow White and the Huntsman', this latest fairy tale adaptation hits most of the right notes. The film looks great and the visual effects can take their place amongst the year's best. James Newton Howard's score never pauses for breath, but delivers everything that we have come to expect of his lush and sweepingly epic music. Also the narration that accompanies the story is strong and complimentary to the overall style. It's only really the temptation to resort to cutesy humour, as when the three tiny fairies become peasant women, that threatens to topple the film in to the realms of pantomime. Otherwise it's surprisingly good!
    On the negative side the flat and charmless performances of the two youngsters playing Maleficent and King Stefan as children demonstrate all the attributes to make even the most doting parents consider adoption an option.
    A plot point near the movie's end would seem to owe a debt to last year's Oscar winning 'Frozen'.
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2015
    6
    Why, Why does Disney have to reboot Sleeping Beauty? Now, I wasn't the biggest fan of the original movie but it was a pretty decent flick.Why, Why does Disney have to reboot Sleeping Beauty? Now, I wasn't the biggest fan of the original movie but it was a pretty decent flick. But what I loved the most about the movie was the villain, Maleficent. She was so creepy and evil, it was awesome! So when I heard Disney was going to make a live action adaptation of Sleeping Beauty focused completely on Maleficent, I was excited. But my god was I wrong! For one, they make Maleficent good. That is such a bad idea and the worst part is they want us to simpithize with her! Uh, hello you realize she cursed and infant baby right? Speeking of which, Aurora is really bland in this movie. And don't even get me started on Prince Philip, he's pretty much useless in this film. King Stefen is probably the most forgettable Disney villains ever. The three fairies, WHAT THE HECK!!! They turned them into Three Stooges Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2016
    5
    Maleficent is Disney's first attempt at a movie that stars a villain to be the main role; --- correct me if I'm wrong --- however, there'sMaleficent is Disney's first attempt at a movie that stars a villain to be the main role; --- correct me if I'm wrong --- however, there's almost no attempt to survive this long movie. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2015
    0
    This movie is a disgrace to the original. It manages to twist all characters from good to evil, careless and dumb. It is another try toThis movie is a disgrace to the original. It manages to twist all characters from good to evil, careless and dumb. It is another try to justify evil, and to portrait the victims as the real villains. The only good part is that Disney seems to be learning from its mistakes (this one), as the new Cinderella movie (2015) is perfect. Expand

See all 155 User Reviews

Trailers