Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 399 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Robert Stromberg
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Drama, Mystery, Thriller, Fantasy, Romance, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 97 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 29, 2014
    83
    Yet nothing in their visually stimulating film registers as strongly as Jolie’s enigmatic, ever-changing face.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    May 29, 2014
    75
    In truth, you just can’t wait until the wicked Jolie returns to the screen. Whether a malevolent twinkle illuminates her beady eye or a heartbreaking tear rolls down her alabaster cheek, she is the film’s power.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 31, 2014
    70
    Whatever its flaws, Maleficent is a family-friendly Disney adventure that offers a relaunched and thoroughly delightful Angelina Jolie.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Walsh
    May 28, 2014
    60
    Despite its pitfalls, Maleficent entertains because of Jolie, who holds the wavering threads of Stromberg's spinning wheel together with aplomb.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    May 29, 2014
    58
    While I can see how there is a version of this film that might be able to successfully grapple with its central metaphor, I'm not sure Stromberg is the guy to make that movie.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 29, 2014
    50
    Jolie's performance so overshadows the rest of the cast (and the rest of the movie) that you sometimes feel as if the other characters are, like us, just standing around watching her. This is not, however, the fault of the other actors. It's the fault of screenwriter Linda Woolverton, who doesn't give them much to do that's challenging or interesting.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 30, 2014
    30
    Except for Angelina Jolie, exemplary as the fairy badmother who laid a narcotic curse on an infant princess, this pricey live-action drama is a dismaying botch.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 119
  2. Negative: 20 out of 119
  1. May 31, 2014
    10
    LOVE IT! I would definitely see it again. To the Top Critics: This is not American Hustle or The Wolf of Wall Street folks..THIS IS DISNEY. Treat it like a Disney movie. --- I thought they did a wonderful job recreating Maleficent! My whole family loved it. Expand
  2. May 31, 2014
    10
    Absolutely spectacular! Angelina Jolie played the role to perfection. The story was great. I do wish they would have made it a little more dark, but overall, spectacular movie!! Must go see!!! Expand
  3. May 30, 2014
    9
    Does what it set out to do... recreates sleeping beauty as a slightly darker live action film... Go in expecting this and be happy... it will not wow in any department but it is an all around good flick that delivers what it promised

    Again I don't know what people expect from these Disney reboots ... I mean they are retelling the same story ... we know that and expect it... why try and complain about it just don't go see it
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Angelina Jolie gets crisply chiseled cheeks and a horned headdress as the villainous star of Disney's Sleeping Beauty legend. This is one of those origins stories that upends expectations and reveals the sad, touching truth behind the wicked profile. Luckily, Jolie is up to the demands. Her commanding performance is the film's strongest feature. The writing is not special, the visuals tend toward high-end animation and the 3 fairies that are supposed to provide comic relief don't. Luckily, its short running time (97 minutes), brisk pace and Jolie's presence help make this a moderately enjoyable film. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2014
    6
    "Maleficent" is a pretty satisfying retelling of the classic tale. Angelina Jolie flawlessly portrays the titular character (seriously, she deserves an Academy Award); however, this film is obviously directed by a visual effects person. Brenton Thwaites' character was shoo-horned in just to have a love interest, and it's a pretty predictable movie. If you can put those flaws beside, it's a very enjoyable action-fantasy flick. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2014
    5
    I just saw "Maleficent" and I liked it. It was an okay movie. Dazzling special effects, a great performance from Angelina Jolie but the movie itself could been a lot better. Such a shame really. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2014
    0
    I don't even know what to say.......
    I have never seen anything worse than this, well maybe movie 43, but this is disnay this was supposed to
    be for kids.
    This movie has no balls to show blood or say some words that were even in books, but it still manages to be more violant than some 90's thriller movies.
    Such a lack of interesting or atleast logical plot.
    Feels like Angelina Jolie came and said something like - I want to be a main hero of the movie, so I could smile from a big screen to my kids.
    Thats not how you make a movie, thats not how you make a movie for kids and it's not even how you make trash. HAND-------->FACE
    This movie should be banned and not be shown for kids anywhare.
    Expand

See all 119 User Reviews

Trailers