Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Robert Stromberg
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Drama, Mystery, Thriller, Fantasy, Romance, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 97 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 29, 2014
    83
    Yet nothing in their visually stimulating film registers as strongly as Jolie’s enigmatic, ever-changing face.
  2. Reviewed by: Kate Taylor
    May 29, 2014
    75
    In truth, you just can’t wait until the wicked Jolie returns to the screen. Whether a malevolent twinkle illuminates her beady eye or a heartbreaking tear rolls down her alabaster cheek, she is the film’s power.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 31, 2014
    70
    Whatever its flaws, Maleficent is a family-friendly Disney adventure that offers a relaunched and thoroughly delightful Angelina Jolie.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Walsh
    May 28, 2014
    60
    Despite its pitfalls, Maleficent entertains because of Jolie, who holds the wavering threads of Stromberg's spinning wheel together with aplomb.
  5. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    May 29, 2014
    58
    While I can see how there is a version of this film that might be able to successfully grapple with its central metaphor, I'm not sure Stromberg is the guy to make that movie.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 29, 2014
    50
    Jolie's performance so overshadows the rest of the cast (and the rest of the movie) that you sometimes feel as if the other characters are, like us, just standing around watching her. This is not, however, the fault of the other actors. It's the fault of screenwriter Linda Woolverton, who doesn't give them much to do that's challenging or interesting.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 30, 2014
    30
    Except for Angelina Jolie, exemplary as the fairy badmother who laid a narcotic curse on an infant princess, this pricey live-action drama is a dismaying botch.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 130
  2. Negative: 21 out of 130
  1. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    Saw it yesterday. I don't even know what to say. It was absolutely incredible. Some people say it was a bit cliche-ish but all Disney movies are like that, and this is so unique I am sure if it didn't have to follow the initial story of sleeping beauty this would have been different. The visuals were incredible. I especially loved the flying and battle scenes near the beginning (I think you can probably tell why because of my user). Certainly one of the most unique and interesting Disney movies yet. I would recommend it to anyone! 10/10 for sure. Expand
  2. May 31, 2014
    10
    Wow! This movie is awesome! Just saw it last night and it was much better than I anticipated. The effects and visuals are great, the acting is great and the storyline has a few unexpected twists that make it so much more up to date and refreshing. My young niece said it was the best movie ever! Good for boys as well though, with dragons, creatures and fight scenes as well as a bit of tongue in cheek comedy. It also carries a subtle yet strong message with. it Will become a classic for sure, along the lines of the movies Wizard of Oz and Willy Wonka (the original one). Expand
  3. May 31, 2014
    10
    LOVE IT! I would definitely see it again. To the Top Critics: This is not American Hustle or The Wolf of Wall Street folks..THIS IS DISNEY. Treat it like a Disney movie. --- I thought they did a wonderful job recreating Maleficent! My whole family loved it. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Angelina Jolie gets crisply chiseled cheeks and a horned headdress as the villainous star of Disney's Sleeping Beauty legend. This is one of those origins stories that upends expectations and reveals the sad, touching truth behind the wicked profile. Luckily, Jolie is up to the demands. Her commanding performance is the film's strongest feature. The writing is not special, the visuals tend toward high-end animation and the 3 fairies that are supposed to provide comic relief don't. Luckily, its short running time (97 minutes), brisk pace and Jolie's presence help make this a moderately enjoyable film. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2014
    6
    It’s not like Frozen, not even close.

    Angelina Joline is the best thing with Malefecient, she is so great and no one could replace her and
    perform better! There are some entertaining moments in this movie that I truly enjoy and it’s both unique and groovy. But when it comes to the story and the bad CGI isn’t Malefecient a great movie. Malefecient doesn’t got the "Disney Magic” like Frozen or other big movies, it felt like a mix between a Disney movie and a reality based movie. The klimax of the film is another aspect that they could have done better, and there are some boring scenes. The worst thing is Sharlto Copley, the worst actor you could choose to play a king!

    Malefecient is Disney's weakest installment of the year.

    Malefecient get a 6/10.
    Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2014
    5
    I loved what was hinted at in this movie, not particularly what was done though. The visual splendor was riveting for sure. I knew that if any actress could pull off the Disney villain Maleficent, it was none other than Angelina Jolie, an all-time favorite of mine. But I cannot deny the fact that the things that made this a Disney movie is pretty much what ended up strangling it. I liked the angle of her being a fairy who isn't sure about humans but tries to connect and even love them and is betrayed in a gruesome fashion. The film seemed solid until she started to seem quite a bit softer than would be consistent for a dark fairy/witch who threatens an entire kingdom of people. It's not that she could have been more sadistic but more like all the other characters could have been smarter, like all of them. Everyone who wasn't Maleficent was either crazy or pin headed. Except maybe her helper crow. But that sort of made it an environment where she had to do everything for everyone like the nanny, kind of a weak approach for a character with such a strong presence. Meaning she needed a stronger antagonist, Sharlto Copley didn't deliver for me. Just came off a little too insane. The story just got too predictable and cliche' to stay intriguing. The visuals did not disappoint though and who can't help but love Angelina's portrayal of a famous villain. A different story all together may have proven better for her character. I mean, if everyone tells the story claiming that's how IT REALLY HAPPENED, i mean who actually knows how it really happened then? How many stories do you need to bleed dry Disney? Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2014
    0
    I don't even know what to say.......
    I have never seen anything worse than this, well maybe movie 43, but this is disnay this was supposed to
    be for kids.
    This movie has no balls to show blood or say some words that were even in books, but it still manages to be more violant than some 90's thriller movies.
    Such a lack of interesting or atleast logical plot.
    Feels like Angelina Jolie came and said something like - I want to be a main hero of the movie, so I could smile from a big screen to my kids.
    Thats not how you make a movie, thats not how you make a movie for kids and it's not even how you make trash. HAND-------->FACE
    This movie should be banned and not be shown for kids anywhare.
    Collapse

See all 130 User Reviews

Trailers