User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 240

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    4
    What I sure know is that they have the crappiest script of the year...
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    2
    There were some great actors in this movie, but everything else was the mot bizarre piece of film work I had ever seen. It certainly seemed like everybody in the movie was having fun, but I wanted to find the nearest match so I could set the T.V. on fire. Weird as hell.
  3. Oct 6, 2010
    2
    I don't like Abba's music and I really don't like this film. How cheesy and boring the musical genre has become. How degrading this must of been for the cool and calm 007 Piers Brosnan, give the man a medal for actually singing. Give me any other film (Seriously,anything?) to watch cause this one is shocking.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really wanted to like this movie, but I couldn't. The problem with this movie was that there were too many songs. Sure, there were three ABBA songs I loved listening to while watching, but musicals don't have to have a song every second of the movie. The greatest musicals ever (ranging from The Sound of Music to some Disney movies in the 90s) had songs, but left room for actual dialogue to move the plot forward. That is where Mamma Mia fails at, being one long music video instead. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    7
    It is another musical movie, the songs are tribute for ABBA, the popular pop band in 70s and 80s. There is simple story about a girl that wants his father presence in her wedding day. The problem is she did not know who her father is. She has been raised by her mother alone. According to his mother diary, there are three possibilities represent with three persons that could be her father. The thing is she finally invites all three of them. You just cannot imagine what could be happens next. The Movie starred by a lot of senior artists, such as: Meryl Streep, Pierce Brosnan, Colin Firth, etc. Apparently there is another rising star that performs lovely, Amanda Seyfried. She brought her role with some compassion and easy-going character. The ABBA hits, like HONEY, DANCING QUEEN, MAMMA MIA ! sang by all the Actor/Actress itself. The songs on my opinion are successfully refreshed. On top of that, I think musical movie is more acceptable nowadays. It begins to sound familiar because the music is now more based on pop-rock trends. Contrary with musical movie that made from 50s to 60s, which based on classic orchestra. The movie in overall is so fresh and full of joy, but in few scenes shows over-acting. Before I watched thiz movie, I thought it was teen movie, but after I watched it I went to the conclusion the movie is for middle-age viewers or maybe for family.


    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2011
    3
    Mix one part Streep, four parts Abba, and two parts fun. Stir vigorously. Baked for 2 hours. Let cool and serve cold. Very cold. Very very cold. How could so many good ingredients combine to produce what is best described as tofu? This movie was like a juggler taking 5 very shiny and mezmerizing balls and tossing them in the air one at a time - never engaging with each other, trying to convince you that some spectacular feat has just occured. Upbeat? Yes. Disjointed? Yes. The most forgettable Meryl Streep character ever? Possibly. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An enjoyable movie, I found. I loved the musical, and personally I loved the actors chosen for their specific parts. Under the assumption that Mamma Mia was a sort of comedy as well as a musical, I supposed the hilariously horrendous singing of Pierce Brosnan had to be put in for that reason. I could watch it again. The movie that is. Expand
  8. Jul 29, 2011
    3
    In 2008, the famous broadway musical, â
  9. Oct 22, 2011
    5
    'ABBA' are a great band but I didn't really think that 'Mamma Mia' was very good. Colin Firth unfortunately didn't pull off his role. Julie Walters is one of the best actresses ever but she definitly shouldn't have done this film. Amanda Seyfreid screaming along a pier is just wrong, AND MERYL STREEP IN DUNGAREES!!!! The story is rubbish aswell, but apart from that it was good.
  10. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you like ABBA then this will be one of your favorites. The musical numbers are fun through. It was hard not to dance or sing along to this(Not that I actually danced or sang along because I'm a guy). This featured a great cast including some great actors like Meryl Streep and Colin Firth. The plot itself was very horrible. It was actually laughable and not in a good way. If this is a comedy then where are the jokes? Either way, it stars Amanda Seyfried playing Sophie. She and her mom live on an island. She has no idea who her farther is so she invites the three men who could be her farther to her wedding. At the end all three of them decide to share her as a daughter. What kind of resolution was that? To add to the stupidity Sophie decides not to get married. Instead Sophie's mom and Sam get married after all the years. The only real reason to watch this is for the musical numbers. Expand
  11. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Fun, it was fun! there is no much more to say. A nice comedy with great, old music! and of course there were Meryl Streep and Pierce Brosnan! Yeah, as someone else said here, critics should relax I never trust them anyway... So yeah, a movie to enjoy, and sing along...!
  12. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    Mamma Mia! manages to take the best parts of the hit Broadway musical, the best ABBA songs of all-time and one of the finest ensembles in recent years. Altogether, we have what every musical aspires to be: entertaining. Nevertheless, let's leave the singing to Meryl, Christine and Amanda--clearly the Fathers were chosen on other merits.
  13. Jul 10, 2013
    4
    De un momento a otro sale Mamma mia reviviendo el genero del musical, un genero que no aparecia o vivia hace aƱos y que se remonta en una pelicula, resalto cosas como los grandes actores, sin embargo hace falta un poco mas de cosas
  14. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Seyfried, Streep, Brosnan, Firth, Walters A Super size Actor in A super size Movie What's wrong about that It's definitely a 10 out of 10 for me Way to Go
  15. Aug 13, 2014
    5
    The most weaknesses of "Mamma Mia!" the film are actually weaknesses of the original musical. An uninteresting story about how a woman had sex with three men and she didn't know whose daughter the child she gave birth to was. It's all brainless, but perhaps this craziness is the purpose of this musical, and, in any case, musicals are there to entertain. Anyway, it is the first imperfect performance by Meryl Streep I have ever seen, and this is due to some overacted scenes, such as the number before the wedding. Overall, of course, she is outstanding, as is Seyfried in her portrayal of Sophie. Exceptional photography and impressive setting are wasted in a Bollywood-style movie, full of natural colours, largely incongruous disco music and rampant cougars, that oddly feels more like a California themed park than Donna's Greek island. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. It's a delightful piece of filmmaking with a marvelous cast topped by Meryl Streep in one of her smartest and most entertaining performances ever.
  2. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Scribe-creator Catherine Johnson (also in her first screen outing) and theater-opera vet Lloyd can't seem to find the right tone or style for their globally celebrated material.
  3. Seyfried (of Big Love and Mean Girls) is a radiant object and can sing, but I'd like to forget the others--especially Brosnan, whose singing is the best imitation I've heard of a water buffalo.