User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2660 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    5
    I wanted to like this movie as Superman was a mainstay around our old TV, but alas, it was not to be. This version, poorly written, acted, and presented was a great disappointment, filled with cliches and gratuitous violence. So sad. Left before it ended, thankfully.
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    1
    Disappointing. One of the most unimaginative creations to come out of Hollywood in a long time. Special effects distracted from what story there was. Minimal character development. Plenty of explosions, weapons and fistfights, though. I wondered frequently throughout if I was actually watching a "Superman" movie.
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Few people failed to appreciate that this is, by far, the best Superman movie. They can always be dissatisfied if they choose to instead of just enjoying and appreciating a film from its positive outlook versus the opposite. Opinions are drawn from either spectrum just like how one views a glass filled with water. I'm one of those who sees things half-filled instead of half-empty. ThisFew people failed to appreciate that this is, by far, the best Superman movie. They can always be dissatisfied if they choose to instead of just enjoying and appreciating a film from its positive outlook versus the opposite. Opinions are drawn from either spectrum just like how one views a glass filled with water. I'm one of those who sees things half-filled instead of half-empty. This review will attempt to point out the commonest complaints from dissatisfied critics & disappointed moviegoers. Hope this would help:
    1.) The most common complaint was the "disaster porn", the total annihilation of the fictional city, Metropolis. We assume that with total destruction, there also were countless lives sacrificed, right? Not exactly. During Supe & Zod's battle, one will noticed that the city wasn't filled with everyday working people & that is because majority stayed home heeding government's warning due to the earnestness of the matter (about this newly revealed threat to mankind) ergo it's fair to conclude that the number of casualties was under control & not in direct ratio to the amount of property damage. Daily Planet's employees need to be there to cover the news.
    2.) The Flashbacks. Understandably, some people don't like this editing approach. They find it tedious & annoying. But for many of us, they didn't really bother that much. It was a good thing, being artfully done, that Zack Snyder & team made the conscious effort to veer away from Donner's SUPERMAN films. For a second there, we cringed in our seats from the expectation that we were gonna be treated with a John Williams-like fanfare of an introduction complete with title credits as baby Kal-El's spaceship hurtles down to earth. It was actually a refreshing change.
    3.) Flat, Bland & Humorless---There's no chemistry between Henry Cavill & Amy Adams. Critics doesn't have to look away from that seemingly "unromantic" kiss. Any damsel in distress who has fallen, not once but twice, from the sky (not building) & got saved by the same flying "knight in shining armor" would definitely fall for her hero & give him that deserving kiss. Lois wanted to the first time it happened but Superman, in urgency to get to his mother, left before she could. Now ladies, wouldn't you do the same thing & let opportunity pass the second time around? The result of the litmus paper test for the chemistry between Cavill's Clark & Adams's Lois could not be fairly assessed in this first installment but in the next one since their romance was not the emphasis of the storytellers here. The central subject was Clark's search for his real identity hence leading the filmmakers drawing a theme of seriousness by deliberately keeping the whole atmosphere seemingly under-wraps dark & humor-in-check mysterious to make certain this come across believable especially that it involves the enigmatic question, "Are we alone in the universe?" Adam's Lois Lane character as the investigative reporter becomes the viewers' cursor as we keep track with her how Cavill's turn as Clark Kent become the Man of Steel. Not following Donner's ta-da treatment, this sensible approach in introducing our hero was timely brilliant & worked well for Snyder.
    4.) Lame--Jonathan Kent's "Maybe" answer to Clark's argumentative query & why he can't show his power & save lives like he used to in the old comic books. This is Superman 2013 & it's about time to upgrade him to this era. If his costume gets an update, why not his origin story as well. right? A little modification won't do no harm as long as it's grounded on logic & not stray too far away from the lore. Jonathan Kent's throw-caution-to-the-wind answer was just parental banter. Smart audiences understood it very well. Though not verbally expressed, Kevin Costner's Pa Kent character would really rather have those kids saved than left to die. The situation has become uncontrollable signalling that it was high time for them to reveal who Clark really was--for him to receive a lesson on subtleties & the importance of staying under the radar. If one is blessed with superpowers, should one flaunt or hide them? To quote another superhero movie line, "With great power comes great responsibility", it is from this cautionary premise that Clark's adopted parents were torn for their juvenile. They knew for the fact that the present government will not hesitate to take this child away from them and for the fear that, in captivity, he would be treated less than being human.
    5.) Why Lois? This referring to why Zod wanted her along with Supe's surrender. Remember that Lois Lane was rattled off by that fellow media person on TV--that she had knowledge of Kal-El. General Zod, being an advantage-driven military strategist, wanted to know to what extent that knowledge was by probing her mind. It's actually an interesting twist thoughtfully included & not just for the plot. It addresses & brings to mind "alien abduction phenomenon" & the things aliens do to their human subjects.
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    I don't normally write a superhero movie rant out of fear of showing my true nerdom and societal ridicule but I think it's worth it so here it goes:
    Man of Steel is one of the most underrated films of this year and you should see it. If you like alien invasion plots, go see this movie. If you like Russell Crow go this movie. If you like Michael Shannon's ridiculous angry face go this
    I don't normally write a superhero movie rant out of fear of showing my true nerdom and societal ridicule but I think it's worth it so here it goes:
    Man of Steel is one of the most underrated films of this year and you should see it. If you like alien invasion plots, go see this movie. If you like Russell Crow go this movie. If you like Michael Shannon's ridiculous angry face go this movie. If you like people being flung through large grain silos, or flung around in general go see this movie. If you think that anything that Christopher Nolan writes is Gospel, go see this movie. And most importantly if you want to see a something different in a superhero film, story about exploration, ability, empathy, and humanity, then go see this movie. And then go tell your friends.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Expectations are everything with movies. Before I saw Avengers I heard critics gushing about it and when I went to see it myself I was totally underwhelmed. Still not sure why everyone thought it was so great. I had just the opposite experience with Man of Steel. After hearing critics trash it I was expecting the worst. But I was pleasantly surprised.

    The actors are all top notch. Cavill plays Superman very well. He's big and brawny but has a soft side. Amy Adams was a very good Lois Lane. Not a damsel in distress at all, but an active part of the story. And it was smart to ditch the silly part of the Superman canon that Lois Lane is a top reporter but can't see through Clark's disguise. Zod was villainous, but not in a cartoony way. He's ruthless, but has his reasons. Faora is fantastic as well.

    The story does suffer a little bit from all of the flashbacks, they can be jarring. But they make sense in that they all tie back to the present. I liked the fact that they show him as a hero during all stages of his life. The pacing was excellent. After starting on Krypton, they jump to the present and he dons the suit and cape relatively early on.

    The action is off the charts. I know some critics have complained that it was too much CGI, but what did they expect? The had to show the epic scale of Superman's powers, so of course there would be a lot of special effects. Fun, fun stuff. It will leave you breathless. The final fight between Superman and Zod is brutal and more violent than seen in previous Superman films.

    The end set up a sequel perfectly. Can't wait for another film plus Justice League. The only problem with that is that given how powerful Superman is in this universe, i can't imagine what kind of threat they would have to come up with that he would need help with.

    Good movie, not great like Dark Knight, but fun and enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    A must-see of the year! Don't wait for the DVD or BluRay to come out. The big screen experience especially the IMAX 3D is total different. Undeniably, the best Superman movie ever! I've seen IRON MAN 3 three times while MAN OF STEEL I've seen five times (and counting) already. It's absolutely a joyride to watch! I say it's a cut above the rest of superhero movies. Dunno how Snyder &A must-see of the year! Don't wait for the DVD or BluRay to come out. The big screen experience especially the IMAX 3D is total different. Undeniably, the best Superman movie ever! I've seen IRON MAN 3 three times while MAN OF STEEL I've seen five times (and counting) already. It's absolutely a joyride to watch! I say it's a cut above the rest of superhero movies. Dunno how Snyder & other superhero filmmakers will top this one. It makes THE AVENGERS look like child's play (though I still love that movie). Faora makes the Black Widow look like Dora, the Explorer. This movie answers back Iron Man's joke on Thor, "Doth mother knows you're wearing her drapes?" in which Martha Kent compliments Clark as Superman with, "Nice suit, son!" If THE AVENGERS has a Tesseract, MAN OF STEEL has a Codex. Tom Hiddleston's Loki has nothing on Michael Shannon's Zod here. Even The Hulk will have to kneel before him & will just have to settle on a fight with Nam-Ek. MAN OF STEEL dominates, totally smashing & demolishing all competition in its wake! Can't wait how Zack Snyder will top this one out on MAN OF STEEL 2... Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I don't exactly know what other people watched but I think this is a great movie! If you want thought provoking drama movies, go to the sundance festival or some such! This movie is supposed to be action and it delivers! This is how superman fights should be!

    I will watch the sequel if it comes out.
  8. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Awesome movie!!! Left us wanting for more. Can't wait for MAN OF STEEL 2. We wanna see more of the Clark & Lois romance in the sequel since there's less of it in this one. The action was just over the top! We came in famish for a good movie & came out fat-bellied with satisfaction, gluttons at best, wanting more of that cinematic buffet greatness. MAN OF STEEL is the beast of allAwesome movie!!! Left us wanting for more. Can't wait for MAN OF STEEL 2. We wanna see more of the Clark & Lois romance in the sequel since there's less of it in this one. The action was just over the top! We came in famish for a good movie & came out fat-bellied with satisfaction, gluttons at best, wanting more of that cinematic buffet greatness. MAN OF STEEL is the beast of all superhero action movies we kid you not! We love this movie so much that we clamor for the next installment to be as great if not greater. We want perhaps a Brainiac-controlled billionaire Lex Luthor versus billionaire Bruce Wayne in the mix as well as the introduction of Wonder Woman's character to pave the way for THE JUSTICE LEAGUE. How will Zack Snyder-David Goyer do it? DC & WB trusted them on the first installment, they couldn't go wrong to leave it up to this team-up for the next ones. Hope Chris Nolan is still on board cuz he does make a difference even for just consultation. Expand
  9. Jun 30, 2013
    6
    Man of Steel is a decent beginning to a new series of films. The film is action packed, with a semi-boring back story and a Superman that does not feel quite like Superman
  10. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    Was a good movie, wish I could see a bit more of everything. Looking forward to Superman man of steel 2 if it being made ^^D Underrated film, really I think this film needs a better metascore.
  11. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    Story-wise one of the best Superman movies made. It really showed in a great way how Superman's fate started out and how he ends up being Superman on Earth.

    Thumps up for the great storytelling. Visually the movie is a masterpiece! But sometimes the heavy filled CGI action scenes is way way too long in my opinion. This sadly ruins the story a little, or at least my ability to be
    Story-wise one of the best Superman movies made. It really showed in a great way how Superman's fate started out and how he ends up being Superman on Earth.

    Thumps up for the great storytelling.

    Visually the movie is a masterpiece! But sometimes the heavy filled CGI action scenes is way way too long in my opinion. This sadly ruins the story a little, or at least my ability to be fully captivated in the flow of the story.

    I give this a score of 9 because it really is a great movie! But the sometimes way too long action CGI scenes prevents it for getting a 10 when looking at the full perspective of the movie.
    Expand
  12. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    Here's the problem, most people want a fun, light-hearted, Superman can do anything movie like Christopher Reeve did. That was Superman Returns, and that was horrible. This movie strives for a new direction, in tone, style, and audience. This is jot for the 5 year old with a towel hanging like a cape over their back. This movie serves to satisfy the teenager or older audience. SupermanHere's the problem, most people want a fun, light-hearted, Superman can do anything movie like Christopher Reeve did. That was Superman Returns, and that was horrible. This movie strives for a new direction, in tone, style, and audience. This is jot for the 5 year old with a towel hanging like a cape over their back. This movie serves to satisfy the teenager or older audience. Superman doesn't just become super, there are learning pains. There are reasons now for things that have always been taken for granted. Even the slightly altered origin story is an acceptable change, as it adds complexity and new story elements without completely destroying the character in the process.

    Overall this was a good movie, if you were a fan of the comic books or are just looking for a movie that tries to actually ground itself in some sort of "reality" (lacking in "comic book reality) instead of just being a popcorn movie used to sell toys to kids.
    Expand
  13. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    By far the best movie for the year 2013. Critics: this is a newer version of the superman, its not a remake but its a reboot to the franchise. It does not necessary have to be in line with all the previous movies or the comic. Way better than Avengers or even iron man.
    Awesome, Legendary & Epic!!!!
  14. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    When I have first time heard about new superman, i thought it's a crap. But film is awesome, really I don't like superman franchise but this film is really good
  15. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    I believe critics try so hard to be the utmost movie minds that cynicism sometimes gets the best of them. Throw a Zack Snyder directed piece in there and cynicism ALWAYS gets the best of them. I've watched this movie several times and am a harsh Superman critic and there is a nothing seriously wrong with this movie. The acting was good and Henry Cavill is the perfect Superman. All theI believe critics try so hard to be the utmost movie minds that cynicism sometimes gets the best of them. Throw a Zack Snyder directed piece in there and cynicism ALWAYS gets the best of them. I've watched this movie several times and am a harsh Superman critic and there is a nothing seriously wrong with this movie. The acting was good and Henry Cavill is the perfect Superman. All the haters need to get over the fact that DC makes movies for adults, smart adults at that. If you want poking fun at how unrealistic itself is and not engaging on a simultaneous mental emotional level go watch a Disney movie. I myself would take a mature, realistic piece over the latter. This is one point of view of the character in one medium. Save the camp for the golden age! Expand
  16. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. CONTAINS SPOILERS.
    I love Man of Steel like a bunny loves jelly beans. This movie takes a poo on Iron Man 3. Don't listen to those one sided bias liberal s.o.p.r.w. critics. They suck the life out of life. I don't know what their motives are but they are not from God. The special effects in this movie are only third to District 9 and Avatar. The emotional intensity in this movie grips me like a hand grips a bird, not to hard but not to soft. This story is almost as well threaded as Gladiator. I think what it comes down to is the critics don't like the part where Superman has a conversation with the priest in front of the stain glass window of Jesus. They talk about what it is to give up your life for the world. So, let's talk about Superman's impressive physique. He was so much manlier than Christopher Reeves or Brandon Routh. Not only could he probably bench press more but his voice was deeper and he would look better in a mustache. Russel Crowe is the actor who plays Superman's dad in Man of Steel. His performance was picturesque. Michael Shannon was the perfect villain as he is in many of his movies. The development of Kripton was extremley well done. The film makers show a world full of alien animal life on Krypton and a diverse unique culture and society of Kriptonians. Overall, the superman movie "Man of Steel" is super good and you should definitely see it!
    Expand
  17. Jul 2, 2013
    1
    I was very upset when I left this movie...expecting that this was the rehash of Superman as we know it, the writers and director decided to change the entire history of Superman to fit their overblown, overkill, over detroy whatever city they were in, and change all of the known facts of Superman, like Lois Lane knows that Clark Kent is Superman right away??? and Clark's father, JonathanI was very upset when I left this movie...expecting that this was the rehash of Superman as we know it, the writers and director decided to change the entire history of Superman to fit their overblown, overkill, over detroy whatever city they were in, and change all of the known facts of Superman, like Lois Lane knows that Clark Kent is Superman right away??? and Clark's father, Jonathan Kent, is killed by a tornado and NOT a heart attack??? And after he lands on earth, we go straight to 33 years later and he has a beard and works on a crab ship?? Why are all these hollywood types think that they are better than the original authors!!!! And all the KILLING!!! I almost walked out. I like Henry Cavill as superman but pleaaaaaaassssseee get someone who KNOWS superman history to write the next story and stop with all the special effects. A few are needed but not all the destruction. And where was metropolis??? Expand
  18. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Man of steel is truly amazing. We get to see the emotion that superman has to the world hes different from the rest of the world as he has a hard time keep his secret. Because he is always saving people.
    The movie is really good as i recommend anybody to watch it A superman fan or not when i went to the cinema with a friend who hates superheroes and he absolutely loved the movie so is
    Man of steel is truly amazing. We get to see the emotion that superman has to the world hes different from the rest of the world as he has a hard time keep his secret. Because he is always saving people.
    The movie is really good as i recommend anybody to watch it A superman fan or not when i went to the cinema with a friend who hates superheroes and he absolutely loved the movie so is this movie good no its not its mind blowing. Get out and watch this flick its a really good movie.
    Expand
  19. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    It seems that this movie is incredibly polarizing. There was really only a few scenes that kept this movie from being "Dark Knight" caliber. Cavill is perfect for this role. Although this is not the traditional vision of Superman, It still makes for a compelling story. I feel that this whole series is going to be incredible when it is viewed as a whole trilogy.
  20. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel was an excellent movie, both emotionally gripping, suspenseful, and entertaining! I've seen this Movie twice and looking forward to owning it on DVD. I love the Modern version of superman. His Humility, kindness and moral was moving. I cried a few times thru out the film! I love superman but this by far has got to be my favorite version!
  21. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    Compared to Superman Returns this movie is a hundred times better and I'm surprised to see how it's getting such negative reviews from so many movie critics. Is it as good or better than the recent Batman movie? No but it doesn't have to be to be a good movie and I really like this modern re-telling of the Superman story. As well as the actors do a great job in the movie especiallyCompared to Superman Returns this movie is a hundred times better and I'm surprised to see how it's getting such negative reviews from so many movie critics. Is it as good or better than the recent Batman movie? No but it doesn't have to be to be a good movie and I really like this modern re-telling of the Superman story. As well as the actors do a great job in the movie especially Louis and Superman's Dad were great in the movie. The fight scenes are also amazing in this movie as well with the fight in Smallville being my favorite in the whole movie. Overall it's a good movie worth seeing if your either a Superman or superhero fan with it only having one huge major fault. But I won't spoil anything but Superman does one huge thing that is very, very un-Superman like. Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The true Superman movie for a new generation. This is not a love letter to Reeves tenure as the Man of Steel for which "Superman Returns" was, this is the start of a series that will seemingly ground Superman more realistically and reignite the passion for this hero once more. This movie in short was PHENOMENAL! An incredible spectacle from start to finish, the film sets up an enrichingThe true Superman movie for a new generation. This is not a love letter to Reeves tenure as the Man of Steel for which "Superman Returns" was, this is the start of a series that will seemingly ground Superman more realistically and reignite the passion for this hero once more. This movie in short was PHENOMENAL! An incredible spectacle from start to finish, the film sets up an enriching mythology of Kryptonian society, provides kinetic action sequences for which superhero movies have not been realized to this degree thus far and an emotional depth to these beloved characters which was lacking from previous theatrical incarnations.

    The actors portraying their roles bring about a gravitas that isn't cheesy and actually makes the audience feel for them in a heart moving way. Cavill perfectly plays his role that has undoubtedly brought dimensions of characterization unrealized to the masses who believe the last son of Krypton is a boy scout or indestructible...he is nothing of the kind! This Clark Kent is a highly conflicted individual who bears the burden of being an alien of two worlds, Cavill's solemn performance is much reminiscent of Christian Bale's take on Batman in The Dark Knight trilogy.

    With Zack Snyders signature stylistic shooting, David Goyer and Christopher Nolan's writing, the film provides a breathtaking experience of Superman's capabilities fully realized with a threat to match. The action was outstanding, far surpassing any I have seen in this genre, the destruction as ridiculous as it seems IS warranted within the story and finally provides a devastation with lasting consequences (which some superhero films tend to shy away from). Hans Zimmer score compliments the film brilliantly and really made (for me anyways) a memorable modern score up there with the likes of Spider-man (First trilogy) and The Dark Knight trilogy.

    Doing away with the constant barrage of one liners and comedy overloads, this film was a rather refreshing take on Superheroes, as much as it is in that genre the movie is also strongly based on high sci-fi concepts that will wet the appetite of lovers of that variety. The depth of story will leave people mesmerized, which is impressive in that it did not take/need several movies to build to a tale of this magnitude.

    I have seen this movie twice already and if you have yet to see it well...WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?! If this is Superman's never ending battle debut for the rumored "DC Comics Cinematic Universe", I seriously cannot wait to see what the future holds for "Sector 2814" and the rest of the galaxy. This movie really resonated with me on many levels and I hope you feel for it as I did (not like the unforgiving critics who refuse the present and are too conflicted with the past notions of the Man of Steel to enjoy the film for what it is). A new take on the never ending battle begins here...Superman has really returned to the forefront!
    Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    I loved Man of Steel. It lived up to my expectations. It gave me that same feeling I had watching Justice League on Cartoon Network. Felt real and was not made mostly for little kids in mind. I hope it continues with this tone.
  24. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    What the film does well is set tone and deliver a story that is equally grounded, interesting, and enjoyable. Unfortunately, the film suffers from a number of technical shortcomings that may break the experience for some. After the film's opening sequence on Krypton, the Man of Steal focuses on Clark's journey to find a place in the only world he has ever known. To show the hardships thatWhat the film does well is set tone and deliver a story that is equally grounded, interesting, and enjoyable. Unfortunately, the film suffers from a number of technical shortcomings that may break the experience for some. After the film's opening sequence on Krypton, the Man of Steal focuses on Clark's journey to find a place in the only world he has ever known. To show the hardships that young Clark endured, flashbacks are used, generally showing different points in Clark's youth as he struggled to deal with his differences. The film then jumps back to adult Clark, as he wonders the United States, looking for some clue as to his origins and what his purpose in life may be. While both the past and present stories are interesting, the movie never stops to allow the audience time to really take in what is happening on screen. The scenes between young Clark and his Earth father are particularly endearing, but the audience is never really afforded time to absorb and appreciate the importance of their relationship. Instead, viewers are allowed a small sequence of dialogue, before they are jarred back in the present where adult Clark is in a completely different situation than he was the last time we saw him. In fact, the film plays leap frog over itself through half of the movie, trying to tell two stories at the cost of making both of them feel hollow.
    The second half of the movie is much more focused but highlights another major flaw in The Man of Steel: The action was disappointing. Some time in the production of the Man of Steel, Snyder and Co. decided that they needed action. Lots and LOTS of action. Bigger is better right? In this case, no. What starts off as over the top fighting, soon becomes a series of monotone action sequences lost in a white noise of fallen buildings and explosions. There came a point in the film's final battle where I became completely bored with the demi-gods that were battling on screen. Instead of fighting hand to hand, the Man of Steel's Superman (and its villains) generally just throw each other around. Usually through sky scrapers and chain restaurants. Seriously, if you watch it, count how many times somebody throws someone else through, into, or at a building. Though there is always a place for over the top action in the Super Hero genre, the inclusion of more technical hand-to-hand fighting (In addition to the 'splosions) would have broken up the action while making Superman seem like more of a fighter and less of a brutish brawler.
    So, action and story aside, who is the Man of Steel's Superman? To my surprise, he was surprisingly human. Though he is 100% good guy, Superman is not the virtuous boyscout you may know from other versions of the hero. TMOS presents a Superman that is man first and extraterrestrial super-hero second. He isn't completely sure of himself nor his actions. This leads to one of the most surprise (and controversial) endings to a Super Hero movie to date. Superman's ability to be fallible adds a texture to the character that is rarely seen and becomes easily one of the most enjoyable parts of the film.
    All in all, The Man of Steel is an Okay movie. It gets a lot of things right but never seems to overcome its glaring flaws. Superman has never been more relatable and perhaps with the origin out of the way, the next outing by Snyder and DC will be much more enjoyable.
    Expand
  25. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    The terrible hype machine has played to much into this movie for me. I watched the movie in 2d and thank god I did the shaky and mass debris really put me off the action in man of steel, the story was done differently than expected and has its up and downs some good some bad, i felt the story tried to do to much and cram in way more than it could chew and clearly can see some rushed partsThe terrible hype machine has played to much into this movie for me. I watched the movie in 2d and thank god I did the shaky and mass debris really put me off the action in man of steel, the story was done differently than expected and has its up and downs some good some bad, i felt the story tried to do to much and cram in way more than it could chew and clearly can see some rushed parts if they spaced it out and kept in one story mode, basically its the original Christopher reeves movies 1 and 2 meshed up and it suffers from being crammed into one movie. The acting was solid and holds the movie together and the cast deserves praise especially Antje Traue who completely stole it for me, while it would make a great blu-ray movie I cannot say this was the rip roaring summer blockbuster it was meant to be and if they didn't fill so much in so little time it would of made a great superman movie however my biggest memory of this movie was the debris factor so much flew around i couldn't make out what was happening to whom and where and since superman is about action i felt quite disappointed in what should be its strongest sequences and scenes the biggest problem is reviewing what is most likely going to be a series of movies and the development of Louis and Superman or Clark Kent not alot was hit upon on its starting settings which will be built upon in its blatant sequels. This isn't a bad movie but it isn't the new awesome superman that seemed to be promised this isn't what the dark knight movies did for batman but its not to far off but if a definitive sequel is made it will have to surely deliver more or suffer the same fate as the transformers. Expand
  26. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    My biggest issue with this movie is that the fight scenes went on way too long. Other than that, best Superman movie I’ve seen. It is what a Superman movie should be. Plenty action, great story, introduced Krypton nicely and flashbacks were really cool. Compared to Superman Returns, Man Of Steel is far superior. It's such a good elseworld movie, this is not the Superman of the comics,My biggest issue with this movie is that the fight scenes went on way too long. Other than that, best Superman movie I’ve seen. It is what a Superman movie should be. Plenty action, great story, introduced Krypton nicely and flashbacks were really cool. Compared to Superman Returns, Man Of Steel is far superior. It's such a good elseworld movie, this is not the Superman of the comics, people die in this movie. Expand
  27. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    What a great movie!!! Henry Cavill plays the best Superman ever, he has the look, the demeanor, the right attitude and emotion. He conveys the emotional turmoil of Superman's actions with stunning effect. The action is beyond top-shelf and care was taken to provide a "realistic" portrayal of Kryptonian strength. When Superman punches an enemy, he does not just fall down, or get knockedWhat a great movie!!! Henry Cavill plays the best Superman ever, he has the look, the demeanor, the right attitude and emotion. He conveys the emotional turmoil of Superman's actions with stunning effect. The action is beyond top-shelf and care was taken to provide a "realistic" portrayal of Kryptonian strength. When Superman punches an enemy, he does not just fall down, or get knocked into a car and leave a dented door. He is sent through three buildings and a concrete parking garage. If Superman falls into a mountain, he doesn't just make a small crater, he takes the mountaintop off. The true strength and power of Superman is finally done justice and portrayed as it always should have been.

    The character is re-imagined and remade to bear more relevance to today than 1940. Superman is feared by the military, just like a real-life alien would be. Krypton is not portrayed as a lifeless chunk of ice, but as a living, breathing world meeting its end.

    Special effects are dazzling. You can feel every impact, even almost experience the sensation of flight (seen in the NYC IMAX theater with a screen 8 stories tall). Like his strength, his speed is portrayed accurately and effectively. You can tell Superman can fly at nearly the speed of light by just observing the convincing special effects.

    Some may say the ending is controversial, but anyone that really knows Superman will know that it is not. His actions at the end are consistent with his comic book history and even actions he had taken in prior films.

    Not only one of the best super hero movies ever made (only the Dark Knight trilogy ranks on par), but one of the best movies ever made. Period.
    Expand
  28. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    Finally a fantastic superman movie. Good story, great actors, crazy visual fx and action scenes. I knew that Snyder plus Nolan people could not go bad. They really know how to make the things deal together. Can't wait for the number 2.
  29. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    I'll just make it simple and mention good and bad aspects of the movie, in my opinion.
    GOOD THINGS: The story is great, you won't be bored; The visual effects are amazing; There are tons of epicness; The characters are very good, not only Superman will catch your attention; The happenings are well explained; There's lots of action; The movie is very well-balanced between innovation and
    I'll just make it simple and mention good and bad aspects of the movie, in my opinion.
    GOOD THINGS: The story is great, you won't be bored; The visual effects are amazing; There are tons of epicness; The characters are very good, not only Superman will catch your attention; The happenings are well explained; There's lots of action; The movie is very well-balanced between innovation and those Superman clichés we all like; The climax is amazing.
    BAD THINGS: the movie is 100 minutes of begining and goes too quickly to 40 minutes of climax and ending; There are no big turnovers, which some people would expect from a movie Christopher Nolan is part of; The characters are good but none is fascinating. That's just the opinion of a fan. If you value epicness and action, it will be an amazing movie. If you want a suspenseful story, you'll rate it 'just regular'.
    Expand
  30. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As it seems superman is not a character loved by the world, but the world has to love this one
    cause it is entirely a different theme now. For people complaining about "the same story" well
    it cannot change would you change the story of Mahatma Gandhi......
    No of course not because it will make it a fake.
    For those who speak of too much demolition have you ever questioned the hulk?
    it is Superman we are talking about what would expect from him, plucking flowers and throwing them at
    general Zod.
    well if anyone can tell a better story go ahead forge a real man of steel is all I would say.....
    Expand
  31. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    I had low expectations from this movie, since the last one was pretty lame. Well, i really liked it, a lot. For sure it was COMPLETELY different from Superman 1, with Christopher Reeve. There is just something about that first movie that this new one did not have, a little more passion, feelings. What i mean is that this new movie DID NOT give me any goose bumps during the movieI had low expectations from this movie, since the last one was pretty lame. Well, i really liked it, a lot. For sure it was COMPLETELY different from Superman 1, with Christopher Reeve. There is just something about that first movie that this new one did not have, a little more passion, feelings. What i mean is that this new movie DID NOT give me any goose bumps during the movie whatsoever. And that is a very bad thing. One thing that killed it for me is that the superman song is not in it. After the movie ended i was like: "What the hell???" What happened to the superman song, the super hero song??? From what i recall, THAT is what gave me goose bumps in superman 1 as soon as the song began playing for the first time, you know, when superman begins to fly? Heck, even now after decades when i watch Christopher Reeve's first superman I still gives me goose bumps. I think the music in the man of steel was not so good, music during a movie matters SOOO MUCH! Very disappointing for me!

    Other than that, the fights were awesome, the effects were nice, the cast i liked a lot. Another thing i liked about this movie is that Henry Cavill is more muscular, definitely helps a super hero look. I did thought that his hair was too long, again, compared to Christopher Reeve's superman look. I also liked this movie because i felt as if i was watching the original superman 1 and 2, "combined". Awesome! What i did not like is the end, the way superman kills general zod, and again, the MUSIC had not too much impact in me. They HAVE to correct this in the next movie for sure.

    Over all i really liked the movie, but i think i still like the more recent Star Trek and bat man movies more.

    One of the reasons why i LOVE the new Star Trek movies is because they started playing the original song, an awesome and classic song. Some things should just NOT be changed.
    Expand
  32. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    this is the single worst thing I have ever seen in the theater. It's nothing but a bunch of noise and smashing around for at least half of the movie; the other half was incredibly slow; The two best acting jobs in it are Russell Crow and Kevin Costner; there's pretty munch no meaningful dialogue what-so-ever and none of the characters give you any reason to care about them. The best thingthis is the single worst thing I have ever seen in the theater. It's nothing but a bunch of noise and smashing around for at least half of the movie; the other half was incredibly slow; The two best acting jobs in it are Russell Crow and Kevin Costner; there's pretty munch no meaningful dialogue what-so-ever and none of the characters give you any reason to care about them. The best thing to do is wait until it comes out on video, then wait a little longer for it to air on TV, then change the channel and watch something else. Expand
  33. Jul 11, 2013
    1
    What a bore! Overblown, soulless, unimaginative, uninteresting, dull, dull, dull. You would be more entertained if you watched a couple of the Dean Cain Superman tv series. I couldn't make it to the end, and I was not he first to walk out of this movie tonight. Really, don't waste your time.
  34. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel is the Superman movie we've been waiting for! As someone that has seen the past Superman films, this film is for the new generation! But, as some told me. "This is not grandfather's Superman!" This movie the beginning of the DC cinematic universe, and it has a great plot and has humor! What I have at the cinema's is that all generations are embracing this just like they didMan of Steel is the Superman movie we've been waiting for! As someone that has seen the past Superman films, this film is for the new generation! But, as some told me. "This is not grandfather's Superman!" This movie the beginning of the DC cinematic universe, and it has a great plot and has humor! What I have at the cinema's is that all generations are embracing this just like they did with Batman in 2005 with Batman Begins! Now it's time for Superman to get his moment in the sun! Go see this movie! Expand
  35. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    First off, I read all the bad reviews, that lowered my expectations a lot, then I had a Superman marathon watching all the old ones and then I went to see Man of Steel, and the only thing I can say after seeing it is; Superman really needed a good solid reboot and I think this is the best Superman movie ever!
  36. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    I really looked forward to the movie especially when I saw Christopher Nolan was involved. The big problem for me is the big time lapses that occur in the film. It almost felt that they had this great story to tell us but the film would have been too long so they deleted a few scenes which left a few holes for me. I really enjoyed the filming techniques the used especially in the flightI really looked forward to the movie especially when I saw Christopher Nolan was involved. The big problem for me is the big time lapses that occur in the film. It almost felt that they had this great story to tell us but the film would have been too long so they deleted a few scenes which left a few holes for me. I really enjoyed the filming techniques the used especially in the flight scenes. Overall it was an enjoyable film. Just expected a bit more. Enjoyed the childhood scenes and felt Kevin Costner did an outstanding job in the portrayal of Clarke's dad. Expand
  37. Jul 20, 2013
    0
    The most heavy handed piece of self righteous dribble I've ever seen, with sloppily directed action scenes, appalling dialogue and constant "Jesus" poses makes this film the worst film I've seen in years. It's the closest I've ever come to walking out of a movie.
  38. Jul 21, 2013
    2
    just boring, cheesy and monotone. henry cavill is just annoying -sonny boy...no edges....certainly no super-hero! music won`t stop during the entire film, it´s totally packed and you feel nothing else than relieved when it's over! booo!
  39. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    First viewing I came out conflicted. I had gone in with a few too many preconceived notions, and despite a deep admiration for Zack Snyder, I left the theater with mixed feelings.
    Namely, the overall tone of the film (fairly dark), the seeming portrayal of Pa Kent, and the end resolution of the final conflict of the film.
    On a second viewing, however, everything fit together nearly
    First viewing I came out conflicted. I had gone in with a few too many preconceived notions, and despite a deep admiration for Zack Snyder, I left the theater with mixed feelings.
    Namely, the overall tone of the film (fairly dark), the seeming portrayal of Pa Kent, and the end resolution of the final conflict of the film.

    On a second viewing, however, everything fit together nearly perfectly. It may not have been the Superman film I expected or wanted, but in the end it was an amazing film and a great introduction to the DC extended film universe.

    The action scenes are, of course, amazing this is Zack Snyder. The acting (with minor quibbles about Amy Adams) is excellent. The biggest fault to the film has to be the script it feels like an attempt to Dark Knight the Man of Steel but the director working with Cavill (Superman's actor) gave us a modern day but still very true-to-form Last Son of Krypton. The storytelling is great, but the plot itself is not what I would have necessarily wanted overall.

    To clarify, however, I'm not saying the plot is bad. I'm saying that, in a perfect world with me calling the shots, the plot would have been different. It's not a perfect world (part of the point of the film's story) and it's the plot we got. Snyder and crew make it more than work, they almost make it sing.

    The score grew on me with repeat viewings as well. It certainly adds perfectly to the emotions of the various scenes. If they continue to use it I expect it to fall into line with the classic Williams theme (though, to be fair, it will never supplant it.)

    Easily worth a 10 out of 10. Not quite Snyder's best work, but considering how much was riding on this and how constrained he surely was, this was a stellar piece of cinematic storytelling.
    Expand
  40. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. Was it great scriptwise and with some acting?, no. Did it show the Superman I´ve always wanted to see?, ABSOLUTELY. This is Superman.
  41. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Man of Steel attempts to tackle profound and interesting concepts in a world with a realistic, overly emotional Superman, yet in the process scorches some of the character's foundation. There are some truly touching scenes, but it all feels like trailer content making these feel like a sizzle reel for a possible Superman movie. These are the golden source to an otherwise disjointedMan of Steel attempts to tackle profound and interesting concepts in a world with a realistic, overly emotional Superman, yet in the process scorches some of the character's foundation. There are some truly touching scenes, but it all feels like trailer content making these feel like a sizzle reel for a possible Superman movie. These are the golden source to an otherwise disjointed construction of cinematic stupidity, but there is enough pretty visuals and those touching scenes do help carry the final product. Expand
  42. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    A reboot is that, a reboot. An origin story tells the beginning of the character. I loved the new take on our classical and beloved Superman and while shocked by the ending I understand this is the explanation needed for Superman values and personality. There is a lot more to tell and I wish the creative group find its way the present us a modern mature all powered Superman in MOS2
  43. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    First of all, I loved the movie. Zack Snyder and his team really did a great job with this movie. Henry Cavill is in my opinion the best Superman I have ever seen. I can't really say anything bad about this movie. To see Clack Kent on his journey, trying to find himself it was perfect. Great acting, great story. But you should not see this movie, and expect it is like the ones withFirst of all, I loved the movie. Zack Snyder and his team really did a great job with this movie. Henry Cavill is in my opinion the best Superman I have ever seen. I can't really say anything bad about this movie. To see Clack Kent on his journey, trying to find himself it was perfect. Great acting, great story. But you should not see this movie, and expect it is like the ones with Christopher Reeve. Those were good, but like many says, it is time to change something. Just the idea of using the suit from the new 52 was great. I couldn't have taken it serious, if he had the red underwear on
    In my opinion, this is the best "superhero" movie I have seen, together with The Dark Knight.
    No movie is perfect, but I can't see the reason why some can it is pure garbage. IT IS NOT. It is a MASTERPIECE in the comic-hero genre.
    Expand
  44. Aug 11, 2013
    0
    The Nolanites and Hack Snyder fan boys are in self-denial that this was a horrible film. It makes them want to cry when every reputable critic has pointed out the glaring flaws with this mess. Blatant ripping off every other summer blockbuster that came from it including Independence Day, Avatar, and Transformers while trying desperately to be all serious like The Dark Knight. SupermanThe Nolanites and Hack Snyder fan boys are in self-denial that this was a horrible film. It makes them want to cry when every reputable critic has pointed out the glaring flaws with this mess. Blatant ripping off every other summer blockbuster that came from it including Independence Day, Avatar, and Transformers while trying desperately to be all serious like The Dark Knight. Superman is a fantasy film and not a dark grim ripoff of Batman which it also tries but fails badly. Worst movie of 2013 and any followup or sequel to this tripe will be worse. Expand
  45. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    The movie is great, performance, acting, effects, and the way they tell the story is very refreshing, of course people old or more than 30 years old and with little space in his heads cant undestand or acept that christofer reeves was great, but.... guys is other time, is a new movie, came on the effects here is extremilly more incredible that in the all movies ever made of this iconicThe movie is great, performance, acting, effects, and the way they tell the story is very refreshing, of course people old or more than 30 years old and with little space in his heads cant undestand or acept that christofer reeves was great, but.... guys is other time, is a new movie, came on the effects here is extremilly more incredible that in the all movies ever made of this iconic heroe. i hate to allways see a superman who with a little crystal can be defeated, came on... inclusive in superman returns he can carrie out of earth a planet basically made of cryptonite.... how time he was expose to that and dont die... well of course all fans of batman will be not funny to se a superman who can kick ass of batman in a wisper but is the reallity of this universe. if existed. superman will be basically indestructible... and came on batman cant live for ever. and all forget basic things like supernan is not human so pls, dont thing in him like a human, because is not. Excelent job guys i know man of steel II will be a great movie and batman will be great too in this cross over. But pls!!! dont try batman like a person capable to defeat superman because all know....is more tham imposible... and if you take lex on the bigscreen pls a lex like in smallville tv show will be great. Not an idiot like superman I, II, and others. Is a new world, we need new points of view and olders with close minds critic must be ignored. Expand
  46. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Although rather loosely based on the Superman story, this movie provides a fantastic kick start for a new superman. In a era of Iron Man and The Avengers for the superman story to survive it needs to adapt. I believe this movie is a step in that direction. Stunning special effects and strong performances from the leading actors makes for a must see movie.
  47. Aug 26, 2013
    1
    a Superman film that's embarrassed to be Superman, Lois exists for the sole job of Exposition, No emotional impact at all like the Trailers sold it to have. but hey if you like Transformers 3 and cant wait to see Transformers 4 this is the perfect movie for you, a Main actor who is as good as a Plank of wood with a cape, Action that's just there to blow up and a resolution that leavesa Superman film that's embarrassed to be Superman, Lois exists for the sole job of Exposition, No emotional impact at all like the Trailers sold it to have. but hey if you like Transformers 3 and cant wait to see Transformers 4 this is the perfect movie for you, a Main actor who is as good as a Plank of wood with a cape, Action that's just there to blow up and a resolution that leaves even the dumbest DC fanboys in shock as to just how dumb it is. 1/10 and that 1 stands for the 1 time i saw the film and will never watch this train wreck gain. Expand
  48. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Over the years, the Superman movies have all had quite the sentimental hold on my heart. Of course I have had my favorites and my least favorites, beloved nonetheless, but there was always this sense of longing I felt at the end of them. When I first heard about the "Man of Steel" and it's epic, amazing, beautiful production team I absolutely knew that that wistful feeling would finally beOver the years, the Superman movies have all had quite the sentimental hold on my heart. Of course I have had my favorites and my least favorites, beloved nonetheless, but there was always this sense of longing I felt at the end of them. When I first heard about the "Man of Steel" and it's epic, amazing, beautiful production team I absolutely knew that that wistful feeling would finally be sated. This was the take on Superman I had been waiting for since I had first seen the original. No longer confined by the limits of the technology of our time meant a vision that was unhindered by the laws of what was realistically attainable.

    Unfortunately, I knew that not everyone was going to give this movie the respect and appreciation it undoubtedly earned. Though Superman is a fictional character, he in fact receives very real factual scrutiny. I believe this is due to a number of different ill perceived reasons: As the most widely known, first and original superhero, his story has been told a great number of different times and people are easily desensitized, especially in this "golden age of superhero movies". Another reason, I believe, is that people love to tear down and criticize icons. They splash their names on them with abated acrimony, laced with obtuse accusations and fallacy just to create a controversy, all for a little attention. It's really such a shame.

    Entertainment Weekly is quoted saying, "...he's been transformed into the latest in a long line of soul-searching super-brooders." An article on cbsnews.com says something similar stating, "The film wallows in sorrow more than soars. It lacks the fun and lightheartedness of previous (Superman) movies." Even Richard Roeper of the Chicago Sun writes, "Very little joy or humor in this story. Leaves something to be wanted."

    Saying these allegations are preposterously incredulous is a severe understatement. I mean, do the critics actually try and understand the movie they are writing about? Is it not realistic that Clark would be "soul-searching" from the moment he not only found out he had not been born into his family, but also from an entirely different planet? Are you saying it isn't pragmatic for the film to lack "joyfulness and humor" when once the protagonist finally meets the handful of people from his obliterated home world he's been searching for the last 33 years, he is forced to banish them into an eternal prison dimension and beat the rest to death with his bare hands in order to protect the innocent people and his adopted home from utter destruction? Is he not allowed to "wallow in sorrow"? It's not like these are new-age ideas and story-theories in the Superman universe, the director just puts that event in a tangible, real world setting. How would you feel if you had to endure something as immeasurably agonizing as that?

    Despite some of it's extremely negligent, distasteful reviews, "Man of Steel" is the absolute greatest depiction of Superman I have ever seen. It's story telling is incredibly flawless and it moves between Clark's origin and the main theme of the movie with a graceful and fulfilling ease. From the breathtaking opening scene of the struggle on dying Krypton to the legendary, groundbreaking, afflicted battle between the Man of Steel and General Zod, it is an epic showcase of achievement. The cast is absolutely incredible and their talent is unsurpassed as every scene they will pull you in and make you feel like you are a part of the immeasurable grandeur of this awe-inspiring motion picture. I look forward to the sequel with the same tenacity and impatience that I held for this piece of history.
    Expand
  49. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best superhero movies ever made. I loved the direction it took; it was very similar to the dark knight series (sans the extensive visual effects) Also like the dark knight series, it was loaded with great actors and sub stories. Hands down to a movie. I consider superior to Iron Man 3.
  50. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    all around it was good with things like effects, action, dialog and so on but i fell that the back story about Clark's past was a bit rushed but at least it was not to long
  51. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    Destroyed New York, ruined millions, (so much damage even mankind itself could not have caused, even starting a world war.) So how many exist olzhen world (I admit that Superman is immortal, will work tirelessly) to wreak damage, do not say more about the benefits of mankind. The film is not bad, but the story would be better.
  52. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    After watching Man of Steel the first time I had mixed feelings, its was an amazing new take. Especially compared to the previous films. The was so much action going on throughout the film.
    But after watching it for the second time i really appreciate this movie in all its own glory. The time was ripe for the new take on the franchise, and Zack did it great, from the actors to the abrupt
    After watching Man of Steel the first time I had mixed feelings, its was an amazing new take. Especially compared to the previous films. The was so much action going on throughout the film.
    But after watching it for the second time i really appreciate this movie in all its own glory. The time was ripe for the new take on the franchise, and Zack did it great, from the actors to the abrupt ending which only show how much the superman character cares about all life in general! Great Movie the more you watch it and can't wait for the sequel!
    Expand
  53. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredibly average reboot that relies on excessive CGI (a' la Transformers) to try to make an impact, but misses the mark script wise in so many ways.

    Zod is badly cast and nowhere near villainous enough to be a compelling main enemy, Kent's parents are shocking role models, and Lois Lane was wetter than a mermaid's brassiere...

    Also, I still don't quite get why they felt the need to cast Laurence Fishburne in the role of Perry White, he was criminally underused and the job could just as easily have been played by any old actor they'd simply pulled off the street and thrown a script!

    Whilst the CGI is ok, the plot and overall pacing just don't work, with the laughably poor 'disguise' to end the film, being the crowning turd in the water bowl.

    If you're into the typical action popcorn flick that seems to have taken over modern cinema these days, then chances are you'll find it fairly entertaining, but die hard comic fans and anyone who doesn't clap at the end of a movie in the cinema can find more interesting fare in many other places...
    Expand
  54. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    this movie sucks so badly. i think superman return 2006 was better then this crap.............................. F THIS MOVIE...................................................................it sucks. the acting is terrible and the action isnt very good
  55. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Simply the best movie of the year, Man of Steel, based on the story that counts, unique special effects, great actors, great director, could only leave a great movie too, thought of every detail so that pleased everyone, with a beginning adventurer takes shape throughout the film breakneck action, battles worthy of a Superman story is consecrated with the flashbacks, Clark's parents, theSimply the best movie of the year, Man of Steel, based on the story that counts, unique special effects, great actors, great director, could only leave a great movie too, thought of every detail so that pleased everyone, with a beginning adventurer takes shape throughout the film breakneck action, battles worthy of a Superman story is consecrated with the flashbacks, Clark's parents, the planet Krypton, General. Eagerly looking forward to the sequel promises much more to come and the Justice League. Expand
  56. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the best Superman movie I have ever watched. Snyder has given us a 2hr 15 min film filled with action, sentiment and most importantly grounding Superman in our 2013 world.

    The film starts off with Jor El, magnificently played by Russel Crowe, trying his best to send his son away from dying Krypton. He encounter general Zod whom would do anything to safeguard his people. A fist fight follows up and Crowe successfully sends Superman to earth. This whole sequence was shot with great spectacle by Snyder. The action when Crowe rides on the dragon and when he fights with Zod were shot fantastically. Hans's music stands out big time during these sequences as he follows a theme in the entire movie. I will come back to this later.

    After Superman is grounded in our world, we see him wandering around just like everyone else and meanwhile David S Goyer gives us an interlinked childhood life of Superman in his screenplay. He simultaneously shows us superman's childhood problems while still holding on to Superman's present stature. Screenplay wise, a great job by Goyer. Even the scene where a lorry driver pissing superman off in a bar he is working in shows us how bad humans can get as compared to superman. This makes us think are we worth it. Kudos to Christopher Nolan for this story. Then comes one of the most emotional scenes in the film where young superman asks his dad whether he can still pretend to be his son. And Costner says that 'you are my son', hugging him. Nolans scripts are always emotionally good with various shades of love and relationshps. The dad-son relationship between them was penned with perfection and the main reason for this is when Nolan writes off Costner. Costner dies in a tornado, beleiving that the world was not ready for superman to reveal himself. Cavil's acting in this particular scene deserves mention. This guy has talent.

    Fast forward and we see an action set piece in the middle of the road. Snyder has used fast action visuals to showcase superman's powers differently as the action is now much faster and quicker. Planes get blowed up,choppers get blatsed, glass shatters in every frame and explosions are vast in this sequence. The visual effects are top notch here as well.

    Now, moving on to the climax of the film which occupies nearly the last half an hour of the film. Superman has to stop a machine that's turning earth into krypton by general zod. He has to create a black hole so that zod and his team will get sucked in. Here is where Han's background score scores highly. His heavy drums together with the theme of the film gels well. I particularly loved the scene where superman rushes to save lois from free falling while zod's team get sucked into the black hole behind him. His acting in this sequence is very good.

    Even after all of theses ends, Nolan's touch of sentiment comes into play in the last 5 mins of the film. After crashing into a church after crazy fist fighting with superman, zod tries to kill a family with his laser eyes. Here, Zimmer's background score of just the piano works wonders as superman asks him to stop, only for Zod to say never. Cavil has huge talent and he cries in this scene so well that a tear drop fell from my eye in the theatre. Very rarely does someone cry in a superhero film, but Nolan shows us his quality of writing.

    So, in the end, this is definitely a 5-star rating from me. A must watch for me and you wont be disappointed.
    Expand
  57. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    What a disappointment! What a cobbled together reel of clips, jumping from place to place and time to time! With nonsensical renditions of SOME of the historical elements, and new illusions that make the ongoing story virtually impossible, as Lois knows who he is from the beginning!

    Also, since no one even knew him before he became the reason for this invasion of Earth and its
    What a disappointment! What a cobbled together reel of clips, jumping from place to place and time to time! With nonsensical renditions of SOME of the historical elements, and new illusions that make the ongoing story virtually impossible, as Lois knows who he is from the beginning!

    Also, since no one even knew him before he became the reason for this invasion of Earth and its possible annihilation, who would want the guy around!?

    And, what's with the incessant destruction, without regard for human life, as they meaninglessly push each other around through buildings, knowing they're supposedly invulnerable!

    This looks more like another silly effort for a franchise that could be one of the best movies every year it came out, with a lineage like James Bond but superhuman; but they keep getting these troubled, misguided directors who want to recreate the myth! It's ridiculous!
    Expand
  58. Nov 15, 2013
    2
    The soulless byproduct of committee thinking: no heart, no warmth, no character, no charm; and a script that has all of the narrative sophistication of the back of a dozen cereal boxes stapled together and left in the rain.
  59. Dec 27, 2013
    2
    First of all I agree with critiqs, Secondly i refoosed to watch lis but my husband and wif bot me it 4 chrissmas. lis movie is new. whiich we all know means it's bad becoz lis genreation suks. in the steel boy there is a boy baby lat shoots into earth on rockit ship, len Peter Parker is at a farm len his unclile ben dies in tornado. len Loki coms up in new york and try blow up erth len heFirst of all I agree with critiqs, Secondly i refoosed to watch lis but my husband and wif bot me it 4 chrissmas. lis movie is new. whiich we all know means it's bad becoz lis genreation suks. in the steel boy there is a boy baby lat shoots into earth on rockit ship, len Peter Parker is at a farm len his unclile ben dies in tornado. len Loki coms up in new york and try blow up erth len he kills loki len he lovs Jean Grey and kiss her len a army gurl says he hot. movee ovur it new which mean it bad coz lis generateiotn sux coz i miss youth WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. Say helpfool coz vry sarcasteec revyew. Expand
  60. Nov 30, 2013
    5
    This movie is a great new look on Superman, this movie is a terrible look at superman. This movie is a great new look at cinema while it also is said to have killed movie. This movie is so controversial that I say it is just meh. The people who like it don't see the problems while the people who hate it don't see the good side. To me with every good thing there is a bad thing. This is aThis movie is a great new look on Superman, this movie is a terrible look at superman. This movie is a great new look at cinema while it also is said to have killed movie. This movie is so controversial that I say it is just meh. The people who like it don't see the problems while the people who hate it don't see the good side. To me with every good thing there is a bad thing. This is a movie I shall 4 times and never again. Expand
  61. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    This is the quintessential Superman Movie to date. It pays its respects to the source material and delivers a superman that people have been waiting to see. Snyder delivers on the action and Cavill's both physical appearance and personality is the Superman I grew up with since watching the animated series through to justice league and any recent adaptations. There is no Kryptonite andThis is the quintessential Superman Movie to date. It pays its respects to the source material and delivers a superman that people have been waiting to see. Snyder delivers on the action and Cavill's both physical appearance and personality is the Superman I grew up with since watching the animated series through to justice league and any recent adaptations. There is no Kryptonite and Superman punches people. Thank you Mr Snyder. Cant wait for Superman Vs Batman Expand
  62. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Man of Steel hooked me from start to finish. The movie is longer than most, but I think the time it takes to lay out the story is time well spent. It ended up being a more satisfying experience than watching the usual action movie. I'll be watching it a second time.
  63. Dec 16, 2013
    2
    not the superman i know.good FX,bad movie.This was like watching Smallville but worse.
    Snyder next time read the comic book.This is a good example on how to ruin a comic book character.
  64. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Superman has finally been given the justice he deserves in film. The action is phenomenal, the origin story feels fresh, and General Zod is as threatening as ever. Seeing Cavil in the Superman costume for the first time is an inspiring moment. The complaints I've heard about this movie seem ridiculous at times. It's time to let go of Reeves' dated Superman movies. Perhaps they were goodSuperman has finally been given the justice he deserves in film. The action is phenomenal, the origin story feels fresh, and General Zod is as threatening as ever. Seeing Cavil in the Superman costume for the first time is an inspiring moment. The complaints I've heard about this movie seem ridiculous at times. It's time to let go of Reeves' dated Superman movies. Perhaps they were good for their time, but it's time Superman step properly into the present day. Expand
  65. Feb 27, 2014
    1
    I would have posted a lengthy review of Man of Steel, until I read Ann Hornaday's Washington Post article on this film. I recommend you find it here on Metacritic and read it completely because she took the words right out of my mouth.
  66. Apr 1, 2014
    0
    Kevin Costner jumps in a tornado to show superman how it works. He dies. I've laughed for the rest of the film. Lois imprisoned in the room with every single button to escape from the ship, people trapped in a cock shaped ship that want revenge.
  67. May 11, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie pulls us in with a captivating new design and story for Krypton and then pulls the rug from under us as quickly as the film cuts to some 20 or 30 years later. "Man of Steel" suffers from poor writing, poor characterization, a loud, but bland musical score (of course, by Hans Zimmer, the king of loud and bland), an over reliance on CGI (which isn't all that great anyways), illogical tornadoes, and cheesy scenes.

    The only thing the film had going for it in the end was the increasingly human portrayal of Superman. Henry Cavill looked the part, and acted his best given his very inconsistently written character, in fact, basically all the characters flop about changing their minds and what makes them...them...constantly throughout the film. Lois Lane's first line is a dick joke...and the next..."Where do I tinkle?". Can we get anymore inconsistent? Make a choice for who a character is and STICK TO IT unless you're gradually changing them over time.

    My other main issue is the organization of the story. The Krypton sequence goes on far too long to cut to 20 years later. Either keep your pace and continue on with his childhood helping us figure out who he is and how he became who you want us to follow- OR- START with the present day him and stick with the flashbacks and let us figure out his Krypton origins when HE does. The sequence in which he finds out his origin feels redundant because guess what...We've seen it already. It just feels like they shot a bunch of random, unconnected scenes and had to find some way to stitch them together.

    Overall, "Man of Steel" is inconsistent, jarringly disorganized, bland, and filled with bad CGI...all disguised with beautiful imagery and cinematography.
    Expand
  68. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    the movie is great , before the release of the movie i was not very much interested because i did not like superman returns but it was way better than that it has jaw dropping visuals why the hell the critics gave the movie a very low score but this movie movie deserved a very high score i would give the movie 8 but because is was underrated i give the movie a 10
  69. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    This movie was great, It was a game changer for comic book movies, it change the tone from usually seeing childish superheros to a more serious superhero who does not take crap from anyone. The visual effects were absolutely stunning, Zack Snyder is a pure genius. Henry Cavil is a perfect Superman, he did a fantastic job, Michael Shannon as General Zod was brilliant to the point where heThis movie was great, It was a game changer for comic book movies, it change the tone from usually seeing childish superheros to a more serious superhero who does not take crap from anyone. The visual effects were absolutely stunning, Zack Snyder is a pure genius. Henry Cavil is a perfect Superman, he did a fantastic job, Michael Shannon as General Zod was brilliant to the point where he made you hate his character Expand
  70. Sep 4, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I realize this movie came out over a year ago but I just wanted to say that I walked out from watching Man of Steel at the theatre simply feeling down. It was waay too much destruction and towards the end of the movie where like half the city is destroyed and you can visibly see thousands upon thousands of innocent humans plus thousands more off-screen inside of the buildings get killed in some way or another. Don't get me wrong, this is an amazing put together movie with awesome effects and all but all I'm saying is there is A LOT more destruction and death of innocents than is needed. I couldn't really be proud and happy for superman even after he won and saved Earth because the fact that all those people, no doubt including children who's lives were more cut short(not shown being killed on-screen but saying hundreds or even thousands die off screen is perfectly fine for some reason...). Superman saves people right? Well that did happen in this movie but on a small scale so to be honest, I simply could not appreciate this movie or even Superman. But then again this could just be me and my really sensitive heart... But I'm sure some people will agree though. Expand
  71. Sep 9, 2014
    2
    I must be getting old or just really old fashioned. It wasn't the worst movie I've ever seen, but it sure wasn't one I'd want to watch again. It's the worst "Superman" movie I've ever seen.
  72. Apr 19, 2015
    1
    The fact that anybody tries to defend this is beyond me. The characters are lifeless, the plot events are absolutely absurd, the acting is bland, and Superman possibly kills more people than he saves! Superman leads Zod to locations with more civilians just for some more cool action scenes. Here is the problem with that, SUPERMAN IS PUTTING LIVES AT RISK FOR NO REASON! People try to defendThe fact that anybody tries to defend this is beyond me. The characters are lifeless, the plot events are absolutely absurd, the acting is bland, and Superman possibly kills more people than he saves! Superman leads Zod to locations with more civilians just for some more cool action scenes. Here is the problem with that, SUPERMAN IS PUTTING LIVES AT RISK FOR NO REASON! People try to defend this movie by saying "Its dark and gritty you just don't understand it". Don't let those idiots fool you, this movie is not respectably dark. This movie takes no risks with its narrative or characters, making it loose any chance of being actually dark. This movie is just disgraceful. Don't spend money on it. Expand
  73. Dec 24, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give the first 30 minutes of the movie a 10/10 and the proceeding hour and a half a 0/10.

    It honestly felt like the first half hour couldn't have been done any better and the latter part of the movie could not have been done worst. Every event surrounding his father and protecting his identity was wrought with logic that doesn't stand up to outside scrutiny. A reporter who had no prior contact with him tracked him down effortlessly and there's at least a few dozen people that have seen him in action and seen his face and yet when it comes time to save his father it becomes a necessity to protect his identity and let the father die. That entire scene was a mess though as the family as it makes no sense whatsoever. They open their car doors, start talking about how a tornado is about to reach them, and they feel the need to close the car doors after the realization and locking their dog inside which they somehow forgot about. "A tornadoes coming?! I should first shut all the car doors and THEN run for shelter!"

    The movie also killed the magic of superman as an extremely competent superhero with a few scripting blunders. First of all, only superman seemed to be having difficulty with General Zod's men. In that spaceship Lois managed to kill like 4 or 5 of the enemy alone using one of their own guns which undermines Supermans struggle with them as he kept getting knocked around in fist fights. I'm also used to Superman media having him save the day before anything tragic has a chance to happen but in this movie a whole city gets totaled with an expected casualty count in the millions and we're supposed to think it was a happy ending just because an army girl calls superman "hot"? We're all used to Superman films, cartoons, and comics having lots of collateral damage to buildings and the city but there was never the implication people died in the process and yet this movie ends with the explicit message that many innocent people of that city were caught and killed in the turmoil. Superman just felt like a sham of a hero with how incompetent he was at handling the situation and his failure to protect the people.
    Expand
  74. Jan 7, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first watched Man of Steel I was completely against it. After actually watching it as a movie and not an anti-superman fan, I really enjoyed the movie. I had a really hard time finding a flaw outside the movie, that is besides the main flaw: Lois Lane. Now my reasoning is this: She comes in on a dig site to be in the right place at the right time, wants to find the mysterious man she met, does basic research and I do mean basic, asks a couple questions and find Clark. She also stated that he has spent a lifetime hiding. When Zod comes and demands Clark/Cal they specifically ask for her even though she has no bearing at all besides the comic book relation. Forced into more of the story by being on a Military aircraft during a bombing, and needs saving on more than one occasion. Zack Snyder forced Lois to be the love interest to fill the comic fans of the golden age. As for the rest of the movie, it was great. The fights showed how Superman is truly Superman who is struggling with his full potential. Great origin and cast. All of the movie besides the forcing of Lois Lane to be the love interest was amazing. Expand
  75. Apr 25, 2015
    9
    I think this film is a suited film for people who already know what Superman is about and kinda know the basic story. Man of Steel doesn't feel like it gives a full understanding of what Superman is. I think it's more of a interpretive sequel to the current understanding of Superman in people's mind. This is why I think it's lost some people, but I think this is a great movie. I don'tI think this film is a suited film for people who already know what Superman is about and kinda know the basic story. Man of Steel doesn't feel like it gives a full understanding of what Superman is. I think it's more of a interpretive sequel to the current understanding of Superman in people's mind. This is why I think it's lost some people, but I think this is a great movie. I don't think it stands on it's own two feet as a movie in itself but as an addition and reinvention without completely explaining everything that Superman is that we already know. Expand
  76. May 23, 2015
    8
    "Man of Steel" breaks with past "Superman" films. Visually, this is an impressive film. The action sequences are pretty epic and certainly the smart selection of scenes and abundance of this action make this two-plus-hour ride go rather quickly. This is a new and smart version of Superman.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 14, 2013
    60
    What it fails to supply much of — surprisingly, it must be said — is fun. This is serious business, Snyder seems always to be saying. This is badass. And given the sheer logistical size of the spectacle on display, it's a position that's hard to argue with.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 13, 2013
    75
    David Goyer, who wrote the script for Man of Steel from a story he concocted with Christopher Nolan, found a new way to make us care: The title character is disturbed by everything in his adopted home.