Man of Steel

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2743 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind..A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not from Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become a symbol of hope for all mankind.. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Man of Steel is more than just Avengers-sized escapism; it's an artistic introduction to a movie superhero we only thought we knew.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Deploying an impeccable American accent, Brit Henry Cavill may be as charming as the late great Christopher Reeve.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    75
    The most striking and curious aspect of Man of Steel is the way it minimizes and even shuts out women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    It has heft, it looks amazing, and it's businesslike to a fault.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    If this version of Superman is to have a future — as Warner Brothers seems convinced he will, having already green-lit the sequel — I hope Snyder will dial back both the casualty count and the Krypton mythmaking and instead focus on establishing a fictional Earth that’s rich enough to be worth saving.
  6. 50
    The movie isn’t dead on arrival, like Snyder’s over-reverent "Watchmen." But it’s pleasure-free.
  7. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 13, 2013
    37
    Snyder tries to up the spectacle ante with ever more explosions, crashes, thermal blasts, topological realignments, gunfire and mano-a-mano fistfights. But the result is a punishing sense of diminishing returns and a genre that has finally reached the point of mayhem-induced exhaustion.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Great Movie, Excited to see where they go with the sequels. I just wish they would have made Superman more vocal and emotionally connectedGreat Movie, Excited to see where they go with the sequels. I just wish they would have made Superman more vocal and emotionally connected with the audience in order for everyone to embrace him and cheer for him more in his moment of triumph. Good Job! Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    If you enjoyed The Avengers & Iron Man 3, then you haven't seen MAN OF STEEL yet. This movie up the ante for the superheroes genre. TheIf you enjoyed The Avengers & Iron Man 3, then you haven't seen MAN OF STEEL yet. This movie up the ante for the superheroes genre. The action alone leaves all others in the dustbin. While all other superheroes in recent past were all patterned after Donner's Superman films (except for Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy), this one is not. You won't find Robert Downey Jr.'s humor here. Henry Cavill's elusive "brooding" take of the comic character is far different from Christopher Reeve's charismatic friendly turn because Snyder's darkly-serious MAN OF STEEL is not Donner's straight-from-the-comic-book colorful SUPERMAN. Despite the stark contrast, Cavill was able to capture the magic back that was long-missing since Chris Reeve hang up his bright red cape. Cavill on film, you would swear, on several scenes and at certain angles, looking like the late great Reeve. He has the same convincing intensity onscreen as the late actor. You wouldn't wince but nod in familiar recognition that this actor is indeed the Superman we all missed all these years despite of many others' attempt to measure up with Reeve's indelible iconic take. We remember the media were all hailing Brandon Routh's close resemblance to Chris Reeve but after getting picked & cast for this reason in 2006's SUPERMAN RETURNS, it turned out he didn't look the part & came across unconvincing. Indeed, good things come to those who are willing to wait & the wait paid off for Henry Cavill and for this reboot. It's everything we ever wanted from a Superman film minus the cheesiness. With today's technical advances, Snyder & company were able to re-imagine for us what our favorite hero could be without limits. Forget about what critics are saying about MAN OF STEEL. They did not get a pay cut from the film's promoters that's why. Instead, listen to the movie-going public who were right to give it an A- rating in Cinemascore. In Rotten Tomatoes, SUPERMAN RETURNS got a 75% rating from the critics while MAN OF STEEL gets only 56%? Go figure... Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The filmI had my doubts about Man Of Steel but after watching Superman come alive and kick some serious ass, I was happily proved wrong. The film captures the humanity of Superman's search to be human even after finding out who he really is. David S. Goyer's screenplay perfectly reflects Kal-El's struggles and challenges growing up in today's world. Zack Snyder has managed to do the impossible, he has successfully made the Man Of Steel relevant and above all human. With a strong cast including Russel Crowe as Jor-El, Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and of course Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El. Michael Shannon makes a truly menacing General Zod that you actually respect for his notions but understand his questionable motives. Overall, Man Of Steel is a pleasant surprise filled with plenty of little Easter eggs for DC fans to look out for. This is one summer blockbuster you won't want to miss, Zack Snyder has created another epic superhero masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The critics who have rated this down strike me as some what shortsighted. There are some valid complaints in their reviews that I think didThe critics who have rated this down strike me as some what shortsighted. There are some valid complaints in their reviews that I think did detract from the movie (the shaking camera is my biggest pet peeve), but as far as the core of the movie is concerned, this is a Superman movie. No critic can convince me otherwise.
    What the critics who say it fails to live up to the Superman brand do not realize is that this is a new Superman. This is a reboot of the franchise after the abysmal "dead-beat dad" story of "Superman Returns". Very similar to the Dark Knight reboot of Batman, this is a different Superman. He has different issues and a different history, he is not ripped from the comic books or garnered from the Christopher Reeves movies. He is a unique and completely different Man of Steel. That is not to say that he does not share similarities with the previous Superman, of course he does. At his core he is Superman, the Man of Steel, a Kryptonian sent to Earth by his parents to escape a dying world.

    In fact my only big complaint is the shaky camera. There are moments when the footage looks as if it is being shot by a guy holding a camcorder and it steals from the theatrical overture as well as making the scene itself nauseating to watch. This only happens maybe a half dozen times in the movie, but every time it happens it is annoying and unwarranted. My only other complaint is minor and that is with some of the story elements regarding Zodd's banishment and his return as well as the so called "Kryptonian Empire". These are minor as I am aware this is a different Superman, but these elements seemed to have been written in too hastily and not thought through properly.
    Aside from that this is an Epic movie and I look forward to the sequel. Also eagle eyed viewers will catch a few easter eggs in the movie hinting at some great future possibilites, most notably was the LexCorp and Wayne Enterprises logos cleverly shown during some of the fighting.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    "Man of Steel" is decent enough. Yes, there are problems in this 2-1/2hr epic but overall it gets its job done. My main problems are with the"Man of Steel" is decent enough. Yes, there are problems in this 2-1/2hr epic but overall it gets its job done. My main problems are with the casting of all the major characters (Henry is great but he's too pretty, I wanted a grittier Superman and Zod was not menacing enough), the wholesome childhood, the lack of emotional reaction when he finds out he's from another freakin' world, and how Lois Lane can't stay out of scenes. Then there's the very final scene where he joins the Daily Planet which makes absolutely no sense in the context of this re-telling, I mean, the dude just saved the entire planet from some very bad characters so now he takes a menial job at a newspaper. I guess they have to adhere to canon but it's just so unmotivated in 2013. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I became of Zack Snyder fan with Watchmen, a film that is very near and dear to my heart. I was totally excited when I heard that he was making MOS, and became more so as the trailers were trickled out. MOS is an unusual movie and part of that feeling may come from its otherworldly music score. It wastes no time at all and gets to the meat of the story quickly, giving it a kind of dense feel. However, there are points in the movie that are hard to digest. The plot always finds a contrived way of getting Lois Lane in all of Superman's set pieces on board a space ship, in the tundra, in Kansas she never far behind. She might as well have been in the Zod fights. Also, Superman's never flown until the events of this movie?! I give Snyder huge credit for making this movie all his own, it's different in the same way Tim Burton made Batman in his own vision. I had fun, see this movie but don't nit pick its odd parts. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    0
    es una muy mala pelicula, ni buenas actuaciones, excesivamente larga, tediosa. Las escenas de accion están muy largas y el actor no es ni laes una muy mala pelicula, ni buenas actuaciones, excesivamente larga, tediosa. Las escenas de accion están muy largas y el actor no es ni la mitad del Superman que fue el anterior. Expand

See all 887 User Reviews

Trailers